DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 and 13-15 in the reply filed on 8/5/25 is acknowledged. Further, the applicant failed to respond the species restriction of 8/5/25, for the restriction purpose, it is assumed that the elected claims are directed to species 1 (likely figures 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niwa (US pub 20220005779).
With respect to claim 1, Niwa teaches a wiring board, comprising (see figs. 1-14, particularly fig. 1 and associated text):
a conductive layer 11 on a first surface (upper); and
an insulating layer 14 covering a portion of the conductive layer, wherein the conductive layer includes:
a first connection portion (part of 11 directly under 70, right) exposed from the insulating layer and having a first wettability to solder;
a lead-out portion (part of 11 right of the first connection portion, right) connected to the first connection portion and exposed from the insulating layer and having a second wettability to solder; and
a wiring portion (part of 11 directly under 14, right) connected to the first connection portion via the lead-out portion and covered with the insulating layer.
With respect to claim 2, Niwa teaches an exposed surface of the first connection portion is coated with a gold layer. See para 0037.
With respect to claim 3, Niwa teaches the lead-out portion is copper or a copper alloy. See para 0033.
With respect to claim 6, Niwa teaches an upper surface of first connection portion facing away from the first surface is a plated gold layer. See fig. 1 and associated text and para 0037.
With respect to claim 7, Niwa teaches the plated gold layer extends onto a side surface of the first connection layer but not onto the lead-out portion. See fig. 1 and associated text and para 0037.
With respect to claim 8, Niwa teaches a copper pillar 21 extending in a direction away from the first surface, wherein the copper pillar is soldered to the first connection portion. See para 003.
With respect to claim 9, Niwa teaches the solder does not extend onto the lead-out portion. See fig. 1 and associated text and para 0036.
With respect to claim 10, Niwa teaches the copper pillar is connected to a semiconductor chip 20. See fig. 1 and associated text and para 0036.
With respect to claim 11, Niwa teaches a height of the lead- out portion from the first surface and a height of the wiring portion from the first surface are substantially the same. See fig. 1 and associated text.
With respect to claim 12, Niwa teaches the second wettability is lower than the first wettability (because of the presence the metal layer 70 over the first connection portion). See fig. 1 and associated text.
Claim(s) 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niwa (US pub 20220005779).
With respect to claim 13, Niwa teaches a semiconductor device, comprising (see figs. 1-14, particularly fig. 1 and associated text):
a wiring board 10 with a conductive layer 11 on a first surface (upper) and an insulating layer 14 covering a portion of the conductive layer, the conductive layer including:
a first connection portion (part of 11 directly under 70, right,) exposed from the insulating layer and having a first wettability to solder;
a lead-out portion (part of 11 right of the first connection portion, right) connected to the first connection portion and exposed from the insulating layer and having a second wettability to solder; and
a wiring portion (part of 11 directly under 14, right) connected to the first connection portion via the lead-out portion and covered with the insulating layer; and
a first semiconductor element 20 with a first electrode 21 soldered to the first connection portion
With respect to claim 14, Niwa teaches a second opening (left side where 70 occupies) is in the insulating layer, and the conductive layer further includes: a third connection portion (left 70) in the second opening, the third connection portion having an upper surface facing away from the first surface that is coated with a gold layer 70. See fig. 1 and associated text.
With respect to claim 15, Niwa teaches a plurality of second semiconductor elements 30, 33 stacked on the first semiconductor element; and a wire connecting 90 right/left at least one of the second semiconductor elements and the third connection portion (11 of right and left edges). See fig. 1 and associated text.
Examiner’s Cited References
The cited references generally show the similar or related structure having a conductor having an exposed portion having overlying metal and an exposed portion and a portion under an insulating layer and a connector connected to the metal as presently claimed by applicant.
Conclusion
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897