CTNF 18/177,835 CTNF 89996 Notice of Non-Final Rejection Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) anticipated by US20180137428 A1 by Abdo (Abdo2018) Referring to claim 1, Abdo201 reference Fig 1-18 teaches: A superconducting circulator (Fig 16A item 100 superconducting circulator paragraph [0005], [0032]) comprising: an input port (Fig 16A Port 1 input port [0116]) coupled to a first tunable filter (item 20) such that the input port (port 1) is configured to selectively operate in a first mode and a second mode (See paragraphs [0006] and [0116] the first mode being reflective signal and second mode being transmissive); and PNG media_image1.png 484 596 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 490 612 media_image2.png Greyscale an output port (port 2 output port [0116]) coupled to a second tunable filter (item 20) such that the output port (port 2) is configured to selectively operate in the first mode and the second mode (See paragraphs [0006], [0116]), the input port being operable in the first mode to transmit a signal to a quantum system (item 1650), the output port being operable in the second mode to receive a reflected signal from the quantum system (Fig 16 C paragraphs[0113]-[0116]). Referring to claim 2 Abdo2018 teaches the superconducting circulator of claim 1, wherein in the first mode the input port is configured to receive the signal for transmission to the quantum system (Fig 16 B and paragraph [0006] and [0113] The readout signal is transmitted through port 3 to quantum system 1650) PNG media_image3.png 496 588 media_image3.png Greyscale Referring to claim 3 Abdo2018 teaches the superconducting circulator of claim 1, wherein in the first mode the output port is in reflection (See paragraph [0114]). Referring to claim 4 Abdo2018 teaches the superconducting circulator of claim 1, wherein in the second mode the output port is configured to output the reflected signal. (see paragraphs [0007] and [0115]) Referring to claim 5 Abdo2018 teaches the superconducting circulator of claim 1, wherein in the second mode the input port is in reflection. (See paragraph [0007], [0115]) Referring to claim 6 Abdo2018 teaches the superconducting circulator of claim 1, further comprising a common port (See Fig 16A item port 3 connected at node 905 and paragraph [0113]) couplable to the input port (port 1) and the output port (port 2). Referring to claim 7 Abdo2018 teaches the superconducting circulator of claim 6, wherein the common port (Fig 16A item port 3 paragraph [0113]_is configured to couple to the quantum system. (item 1650). Referring to claim 8 Abdo2018 Fig 16A system comprising: a quantum system (item 1650); and a superconducting switch (item 100) comprising an input port ( item port1) and an output port (item port 2), the superconducting switch (100) being configured to receive at the input port a signal for transmission to the quantum system, the superconducting switch being configured to output at the output port a reflected signal received from the quantum system (see paragraph [0113-[0114]] where Abdo2018 teaches this in Fig 16A-D).. PNG media_image1.png 484 596 media_image1.png Greyscale Referring to claim 9 Abdo2018 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the superconducting switch (Fig 16A item 100 Superconducting Switch) comprises a common port (Item port 3) couplable to the input port (item port1) and the output port (item port 2). Referring to claim 10 Abdo2018 teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the common port (Fig 16 A item port 3) is configured to couple to the quantum system (See port 3 is connected to quantum system item 1650 paragraph [0113]).. Referring to claim 11 Abdo2018 reference Fig 1, 16A-D, 17, and 18 teaches a method comprising: operating a superconducting router (Fig 17 item 100 and paragraph [0105]) in a first mode (paragraph [0106]), the superconducting router (100) comprising ports (item 10) configured to be in reflection in the first mode (paragraph [0106]); and PNG media_image4.png 486 642 media_image4.png Greyscale operating the superconducting router (item 100) in a second mode, a given pair of the ports being coupled together and in transmission in the second mode (See paragraph [0107]), one of the given pair of the ports being associated with an individual tunable filter (item 20) having a unit cell (See Fig 1 item 60 paragraph [0038]). Referring to claim 12 Abdo2018 teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the ports are in reflection in the first mode for a predefined frequency ( Fig 16A item 305 paragraph [0108]) Referring to claim 13 Abdo2018 teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the given pair of the ports are in transmission in the second mode for a predefined frequency (See paragraph [0108]).. Referring to claim 14 Abdo2018 teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the ports are configured to be communicatively isolated from one another. (See paragraph [0109]) Referring to claim 15 Abdo2018 teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the superconducting router comprises superconducting materials (paragraph [0110]) Conclusion Claims 1-15 are rejected over prior art. 07-96 The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU whose telephone number is (571)272-4250. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-3:30PM, 5PM -8:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ALEXANDER H TANINGCO can be reached at 5712728048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU Primary Examiner Art Unit 2844 05/09/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/177,835 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/177,835 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/177,835 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/177,835 Page 6 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 18/177,835 Page 7 Art Unit: 2845