Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 23 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20130252429 A1 (hereby referred to as Okamoto).
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 6 to recite that the alignment mark is defined by a first pattern disposed on the reflective layer, the anti-reflection pattern is spaced apart from the alignment mark with the first pattern interposed therebetween, and the width of the first pattern is greater than the first line width of the anti-reflection pattern in a first direction. The Examiner’s understanding is that these limitations reflect the invention as depicted in Fig. 9 of the instant application, for instance. Applicant argues that the previously cited prior art (Suga and Abe) fails to teach or otherwise render obvious the amended claim limitations. Applicant argues that Abe does not describe an anti-reflection pattern spaced apart from the alignment mark with the first pattern interposed therebetween. Applicant argues that Suga does not remedy this deficiency of Abe. Therefore, Applicant argues that the amendments to instant claims 1 and 6 has overcome the previously cited prior art. Upon review of the prior art in light of the Applicant’s amendments, the arguments are found to be persuasive and therefore the previous rejection is withdrawn. However, a new rejection is presented in view of US 20130252429 A1 (hereby referred to as Okamoto), as explained below.
Applicant further argues that the previously cited prior art relied upon to reject instant claim 16 (Suga, Abe, and Fan) fails to teach or render obvious every limitation of the claim. In particular, Applicant argues that the methodology utilized by Fan does not describe calculating a parabolic width from an aerial image. The instant application describes the parabolic width as the width of intensity points having half the maximum intensity (see paragraph 0068 of the instant application’s specification). Fan describes a simulation of light flux intensity through the mask materials (Fan, paragraph 0153). The flux intensity is truncated in the x- and y-directions to reflect the simulation accounting for the mask material blocking or affecting incident radiation (Fan, paragraph 0153 and Fig. 10). The simulation is used to determine patterning parameters, such as dimensional offset and pattern dimensions (Fan, paragraph 0102, 0120, and 0160-0161). Applicant argues that Fan does not describe a parabolic shape, but instead uses a Gaussian. The Examiner does not dispute this fact. However, the Applicant’s own definition of the parabolic width, as described above, appears to align with the methodology utilized by Fan. Due to the apparent similarity in Fan’s method with the claimed parabolic width, the Applicant’s arguments are not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection of instant claim 16 is not withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110117479 A1 (hereby referred to as Suga) in view of JP 2012151368 A (hereby referred to as Abe) and US 20130252429 A1 (hereby referred to as Okamoto).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3-5, Suga discloses a reflective exposure mask and a method of manufacturing the same. The mask comprises a mask substrate, a reflecting film disposed on the mask substrate, and an absorber disposed on the reflecting film (Suga, paragraph 0025). Fig. 2 of Suga shows the reflective mask layout in plan view (Suga, paragraph 0084). The mask comprises a main patterning region (RP1), a light-shielding region (SD1), and a peripheral region surrounding the light-shielding region (not labeled) (Suga, paragraph 0087 and Fig. 2). When EUV light is irradiated to the light-shielding region, reflected light is not generated from the region (Suga, paragraph 0072), and therefore the light-shielding region is analogous to the out-of-band region described by the instant application (refer to paragraph 0038 of the instant application’s specification). Suga further describes that the light-shielding region is a portion of the mask where the reflecting film has been removed in a groove-like shape (Suga, paragraph 0025). As can be seen in Fig. 1 of Suga, the peripheral regions (formed between the edges of the mask and the light-shielding region (SD1)) has the absorber and reflective film formed upon the substrate (Suga, paragraph 0084-0087 and Fig. 1). In the peripheral region, a plurality of marks for mask position alignment and mark regions (RM1) are provided (Suga, paragraph 0088).
However, Suga is silent in regards to an anti-reflection pattern. Abe teaches a reflective mask and method for manufacturing the same. The mask comprises a substrate, a reflective layer formed on the substrate, an absorber pattern formed on the reflective layer, a light-shielding region around the pattern region, and an alignment mark (Abe, paragraph 0022 of the English translation). The structure of Abe’s mask is analogous to the structure of Suga’s mask. Abe teaches that the mask acts as a phase-inversion mask (Abe, paragraph 0032 of the English translation). Furthermore, Abe teaches that the reflectivity in the line-and-space pattern is lower than the reflectivity in the regions adjacent to the line-and-space pattern (Abe, paragraph 0039 of the English translation). The alignment mark region includes a line-and-space pattern (Abe, paragraph 0022 of the English translation). The alignment mark and the line-and-space pattern have openings penetrating the absorption layer (and thus expose the reflective layer underlying the absorption layer) (Abe, paragraph 0035). The line-and-space pattern has a predetermined line width and pitch, and the line width is less than the width of the alignment mark (Abe, paragraph 0035 of the English translation). The line-and-space pattern is formed on a material constituting a light-shielding region (Abe, paragraph 0023), indicating that the line-and-space pattern is an anti-reflection pattern. The patterns according to instant claims 8-10 and 14 could thus be obtained, wherein the patterns are placed according to where one having ordinary skill in the art seeks low-reflectivity. See MPEP 2143 I. E.
However, Suga and Abe are silent in regards to a line-and-space pattern spaced apart from the alignment mark. Okamoto teaches a mask and a method for fabricating a semiconductor device. The mask comprises a main pattern region and an alignment mark region (Okamoto, paragraph 0026 and Fig. 1). In the alignment mark region, a line and space pattern is arranged such that a mark pattern is surrounded by the line and space pattern (Okamoto, paragraph 0027 and Fig. 2). As shown in Fig. 3 of Okamoto, the mark pattern is spaced apart from the line and space pattern (Okamoto, paragraph 0028 and Fig. 3). The pattern is formed in a light-shielding film, which is formed from a material such as chromium (Cr) (Okamoto, paragraph 0028). The light-shielding film is thus functionally the same as the absorption layer of the instant application’s mask. As can be seen in Fig. 2 of Okamoto, the line width of the anti-reflection pattern is less than the width of the mark pattern (Okamoto, paragraph 0027 and Fig. 2). The patterns according to instant claims 4 and 5 could thus be obtained, wherein the patterns are placed according to where one having ordinary skill in the art seeks low-reflectivity. See MPEP 2143 I. E.
Suga, Abe, and Okamoto are analogous art because each reference pertains to masks and their manufacture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to include the anti-reflective patterns, as taught by Abe, in the mask disclosed by Suga because the patterns yield a sufficiently smaller reflected light intensity, allowing for the alignment to be performed with high positional accuracy (Abe, paragraph 0039). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to include the anti-reflective line-and-space patterns spaced apart from the alignment marks, as taught by Okamoto, in the mask obtained by combining the teachings of Suga and Abe because the patterns allow for an alignment mark pattern to be formed that can be measured by an optical microscope even if the mark pattern is formed by a technology that forms a pattern in dimensions less than the resolution limit of the exposure light (Okamoto, paragraph 0030).
Regarding Claim 2, Suga discloses that the absorber may have a surface layer formed of a low reflection material, such as tantalum materials (Suga, paragraph 0088). However, Suga fails to teach a phase inversion mask.
Abe teaches that the mask acts as a phase-inversion mask (Abe, paragraph 0032 of the English translation). Furthermore, Abe teaches that the reflectivity in the line-and-space pattern is lower than the reflectivity in the regions adjacent to the line-and-space pattern (Abe, paragraph 0039 of the English translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to make the reflective mask obtained by combining the teachings of Suga, Abe, and Okamoto a phase inversion mask, as taught by Abe, because inverting the phase of the light improves the resolution of the resist pattern formed on the wafer during patterning (Abe, paragraph 0032). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to configure the mask such that the anti-reflection pattern provides lower reflectivity than the adjacent region, as taught by Abe, because doing so creates high contrast for detecting the alignment mark, thus allowing for high positional accuracy (Abe, paragraph 0039).
Regarding Claims 6-10, 12, and 14, Suga discloses a reflective exposure mask and a method of manufacturing the same. The mask comprises a mask substrate, a reflecting film disposed on the mask substrate, and an absorber disposed on the reflecting film (Suga, paragraph 0025). Fig. 2 of Suga shows the reflective mask layout in plan view (Suga, paragraph 0084). The mask comprises a main patterning region (RP1), a light-shielding region (SD1), and a peripheral region surrounding the light-shielding region (not labeled) (Suga, paragraph 0087 and Fig. 2). When EUV light is irradiated to the light-shielding region, reflected light is not generated from the region (Suga, paragraph 0072), and therefore the light-shielding region is analogous to the out-of-band region described by the instant application (refer to paragraph 0038 of the instant application’s specification). Suga further describes that the light-shielding region is a portion of the mask where the reflecting film has been removed in a groove-like shape (Suga, paragraph 0025). As can be seen in Fig. 1 of Suga, the peripheral regions (formed between the edges of the mask and the light-shielding region (SD1)) has the absorber and reflective film formed upon the substrate (Suga, paragraph 0084-0087 and Fig. 1). In the peripheral region, a plurality of marks for mask position alignment and mark regions (RM1) are provided (Suga, paragraph 0088).
However, Suga is silent in regards to an anti-reflection pattern. Abe teaches a reflective mask and method for manufacturing the same. The mask comprises a substrate, a reflective layer formed on the substrate, an absorber pattern formed on the reflective layer, a light-shielding region around the pattern region, and an alignment mark (Abe, paragraph 0022 of the English translation). The structure of Abe’s mask is analogous to the structure of Suga’s mask. Abe teaches that the mask acts as a phase-inversion mask (Abe, paragraph 0032 of the English translation). Furthermore, Abe teaches that the reflectivity in the line-and-space pattern is lower than the reflectivity in the regions adjacent to the line-and-space pattern (Abe, paragraph 0039 of the English translation). The alignment mark region includes a line-and-space pattern (Abe, paragraph 0022 of the English translation). The alignment mark and the line-and-space pattern have openings penetrating the absorption layer (and thus expose the reflective layer underlying the absorption layer) (Abe, paragraph 0035). The line-and-space pattern has a predetermined line width and pitch, and the line width is less than the width of the alignment mark (Abe, paragraph 0035 of the English translation). The line-and-space pattern is formed on a material constituting a light-shielding region (Abe, paragraph 0023), indicating that the line-and-space pattern is an anti-reflection pattern. The patterns according to instant claims 8-10 and 14 could thus be obtained, wherein the patterns are placed according to where one having ordinary skill in the art seeks low-reflectivity. See MPEP 2143 I. E.
However, Suga and Abe are silent in regards to a line-and-space pattern spaced apart from the alignment mark. Okamoto teaches a mask and a method for fabricating a semiconductor device. The mask comprises a main pattern region and an alignment mark region (Okamoto, paragraph 0026 and Fig. 1). In the alignment mark region, a line and space pattern is arranged such that a mark pattern is surrounded by the line and space pattern (Okamoto, paragraph 0027 and Fig. 2). As shown in Fig. 3 of Okamoto, the mark pattern is spaced apart from the line and space pattern (Okamoto, paragraph 0028 and Fig. 3). The pattern is formed in a light-shielding film, which is formed from a material such as chromium (Cr) (Okamoto, paragraph 0028). The light-shielding film is thus functionally the same as the absorption layer of the instant application’s mask. As can be seen in Fig. 2 of Okamoto, the line width of the anti-reflection pattern is less than the width of the mark pattern (Okamoto, paragraph 0027 and Fig. 2). The patterns according to instant claims 8-10 and 14 could thus be obtained, wherein the patterns are placed according to where one having ordinary skill in the art seeks low-reflectivity. See MPEP 2143 I. E.
Suga, Abe, and Okamoto are analogous art because each reference pertains to masks and their manufacture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to include the anti-reflective patterns, as taught by Abe, in the mask disclosed by Suga because the patterns yield a sufficiently smaller reflected light intensity, allowing for the alignment to be performed with high positional accuracy (Abe, paragraph 0039). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to include the anti-reflective line-and-space patterns spaced apart from the alignment marks, as taught by Okamoto, in the mask obtained by combining the teachings of Suga and Abe because the patterns allow for an alignment mark pattern to be formed that can be measured by an optical microscope even if the mark pattern is formed by a technology that forms a pattern in dimensions less than the resolution limit of the exposure light (Okamoto, paragraph 0030). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to make the reflective mask obtained by combining the teachings of Suga, Abe, and Okamoto a phase inversion mask, as taught by Abe, because inverting the phase of the light improves the resolution of the resist pattern formed on the wafer during patterning (Abe, paragraph 0032). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to configure the mask such that the anti-reflection pattern provides lower reflectivity than the adjacent region, as taught by Abe, because doing so creates high contrast for detecting the alignment mark, thus allowing for high positional accuracy (Abe, paragraph 0039).
Regarding Claim 13, Suga discloses that the absorber may have a surface layer formed of a low reflection material, such as tantalum materials (Suga, paragraph 0088).
Regarding Claim 15, Suga discloses that the alignment mark region includes marks for mask alignment and/or wafer alignment (Suga, paragraph 0062). Similarly, Abe teaches that the alignment marks are detected by an alignment light to obtain positional information (Abe, paragraph 0028).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110117479 A1 (hereby referred to as Suga) in view of JP 2012151368 A (hereby referred to as Abe) and US 20130252429 A1 (hereby referred to as Okamoto) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 20090239177 A1 (hereby referred to as Mashita).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Suga, Abe, and Okamoto, as described above, renders obvious the EUV phase shift mask recited by instant claim 6. In the combination of Suga, Abe, and Okamoto, the anti-reflection pattern is a line-and-space pattern. However, each reference is silent in regards to hole patterns.
Mashita teaches a mask pattern data generation method and a mask manufacturing method. The mask pattern taught by Mashita is a line-and-space pattern having a space width and a line width having fine dimensions (Mashita, paragraph 0034). Mashita further teaches that mask patterns other than line-and-space patterns can be utilized. Specifically, isolated patterns and hole patterns may be used in place of the line-and-space pattern (Mashita, paragraph 0092 and 0094).
Suga, Abe, Okamoto, and Mashita are analogous art because each reference pertains to mask manufacturing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to replace the line-and-space anti-reflection pattern in the mask obtained by combining Suga, Abe, and Okamoto with the hole pattern taught by Mashita because a line-and-space pattern has been taught to be functionally equivalent to a hole pattern (Mashita, paragraph 0092 and 0094). Per MPEP 2144.06 II., a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110117479 A1 (hereby referred to as Suga) in view of JP 2012151368 A (hereby referred to as Abe) and US 20210150116 A1 (hereby referred to as Fan).
Regarding Claims 16-20, Suga discloses a reflective exposure mask and a method of manufacturing the same. The mask comprises a mask substrate, a reflecting film disposed on the mask substrate, and an absorber disposed on the reflecting film (Suga, paragraph 0025). Suga discloses that the absorber may have a surface layer formed of a low reflection material, such as tantalum materials (Suga, paragraph 0088). Fig. 2 of Suga shows the reflective mask layout in plan view (Suga, paragraph 0084). The mask comprises a main patterning region (RP1), a light-shielding region (SD1), and a peripheral region surrounding the light-shielding region (not labeled) (Suga, paragraph 0087 and Fig. 2). When EUV light is irradiated to the light-shielding region, reflected light is not generated from the region (Suga, paragraph 0072), and therefore the light-shielding region is analogous to the out-of-band region described by the instant application (refer to paragraph 0038 of the instant application’s specification). Suga further describes that the light-shielding region is a portion of the mask where the reflecting film has been removed in a groove-like shape (Suga, paragraph 0025). As can be seen in Fig. 1 of Suga, the peripheral regions (formed between the edges of the mask and the light-shielding region (SD1)) has the absorber and reflective film formed upon the substrate (Suga, paragraph 0084-0087 and Fig. 1). In the peripheral region, a plurality of marks for mask position alignment and mark regions (RM1) are provided (Suga, paragraph 0088).
However, Suga is silent in regards to an anti-reflection pattern adjacent to the alignment mark. Abe teaches a reflective mask and method for manufacturing the same. The mask comprises a substrate, a reflective layer formed on the substrate, an absorber pattern formed on the reflective layer, a light-shielding region around the pattern region, and an alignment mark (Abe, paragraph 0022 of the English translation). The structure of Abe’s mask is analogous to the structure of Suga’s mask. Abe teaches that the mask acts as a phase-inversion mask (Abe, paragraph 0032 of the English translation). Furthermore, Abe teaches that the reflectivity in the line-and-space pattern is lower than the reflectivity in the regions adjacent to the line-and-space pattern (Abe, paragraph 0039 of the English translation). The alignment mark region includes a line-and-space pattern (Abe, paragraph 0022 of the English translation). The line-and-space pattern has a predetermined line width and pitch, and the line width is less than the width of the alignment mark (Abe, paragraph 0035 of the English translation). The line-and-space pattern is formed on a material constituting a light-shielding region (Abe, paragraph 0023), indicating that the line-and-space pattern is an anti-reflection pattern.
However, Suga and Abe are both silent in regards to the method of fabricating the anti-reflection pattern. Fan teaches a method for determining an etch profile. Specifically, the method determines a masking layer profile for a semiconductor wafer (Fan, paragraph 0126). Fan utilizes a computer system to execute the method (Fan, paragraph 0163). The method uses alignment simulation and overlay simulation and compares the simulations with measured data to obtain model parameters (Fan, paragraph 0161). Alignment measurements using alignment sensor parameters may be used (Fan, paragraph 0089). Line width or critical dimension may be modified and be used to evaluate effects (Fan, paragraph 0102 and 0120). As seen in Fig. 10, aerial image intensity is measured after changing variables (Fan, paragraph 0153 and Fig. 10). The pattern parameters are determined based on the above methodology (Fan, paragraph 0160-0161). The pattern is then fabricated based upon the obtained parameters (Fan, paragraph 0091).
Suga, Abe, and Fan are analogous art because each reference pertains to masks, mask manufacturing, and mask design. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to include the anti-reflective line-and-space patterns adjacent to the alignment marks, as taught by Abe, in the mask disclosed by Suga because the patterns yield a sufficiently smaller reflected light intensity, allowing for the alignment to be performed with high positional accuracy (Abe, paragraph 0039). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to produce the mask obtained by combining Suga and Abe by performing the manufacturing method taught by Fan because the methods taught by Fan can be used to generate better designs of overlay or alignment marks (Fan, paragraph 0160) and accurately produce patterns (Fan, paragraph 0125).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYSON D COSGROVE/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734