Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/2025. Applicant has elected Group II, corresponding to claims 1-7. Invention Group I, corresponding to claims 8-14, is withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The specification submitted 3/8/2023 has been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 7: The semiconductor memory device according to claim 6, further comprising
a third semiconductor part provided on the cap layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao (US # 20210159169).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao (US # 20210159169) teaches a semiconductor memory device (see Figs. 1 and 15 and corresponding text) comprising:
a peripheral circuit ([0034] teaches about peripheral devices such as device 700) provided on a surface (top) of a semiconductor substrate (9, 10); and
a memory cell array (100) provided above the peripheral circuit, wherein
the memory cell array includes:
a stack (32, 46W, 46S, 46D) having conductive layers (46W, 46S, 46D) and insulating layers (32), each conductive layer and each insulating layer being alternately stacked and extending in a first direction (horizontal across the page),
the conductive layers including
a first select gate line (46S) connected to a gate of a first select transistor (shown in Fig. 16, and see [0102]),
a word line (46W) provided above the first select gate line and connected to a gate of a memory transistor (see [0102]), and
a second select gate line (46D) provided above the word line and connected to a gate of a second select transistor (see [0102]);
a core insulating layer (see Fig. 15, feature 62) extending in a second direction (into the page) intersecting the first direction, the core insulating layer having a top surface lower than a
top surface of the second select gate line with respect to the surface of the semiconductor substrate (shown in Fig. 15);
a semiconductor layer (60) extending in the second direction, the semiconductor layer having a first semiconductor part (602, 601) and a second semiconductor part (603), the first semiconductor part having channel formation regions of the memory transistor (portions of 602,601 correspond to each vertically stacked memory cell) and the first and second select transistors, and the second semiconductor part being provided on the top surface of the core insulating layer (shown above 62); and
a memory layer (50) provided between the semiconductor layer and the stack in the first direction (shown), and
the first semiconductor part has an impurity semiconductor region containing an impurity element ([0073] explains dopant concentrations and conductivity type) and overlapping with the second select gate line (and horizontal overlap with 46D is shown).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhao teaches the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1, wherein the impurity semiconductor region contains arsenic (second conductivity type, arsenic and phosphorous is taught in [0124]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao teaches the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1, wherein the second select transistor is configured to cause Gate Induced Drain Leakage in response to a reverse bias voltage to be applied between the gate and a drain of the second select transistor ([0153] explains the use of GIDL for erase operations; overlap between the drain region and the drain select gate electrode enhances the electrical field that induces the gate-induced leakage current.).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhao teaches the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1, further comprising a cap layer (63) provided on the second semiconductor part (shown most clearly in Fig. 5I).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhao teaches the semiconductor memory device according to claim 4, wherein the cap layer contains silicon doped with phosphorus (see [0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US # 20210159169) in view of Zhang (US # 20210375912).
Regarding Claim 6, although Zhao discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the semiconductor memory device according to claim 4, wherein the cap layer contains silicon oxide.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Zhang is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a semiconductor memory device wherein a cap layer contains silicon oxide ([0044]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the capping material of Zhao with the capping material suggested by Zhang would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Zhang would be to employ a semiconductor memory device according to claim 4, wherein the cap layer contains silicon oxide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use silicon oxide for a capping layer since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). This material is known to prevent impurity diffusion and protect underlying structures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the drawing objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9711524
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899