DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group II claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the two groups of claims subject to restriction (Groups I and II) are closely related and that a proper search of any of the claims of one group would likely include a search of the claims of the other group; thus, the claims can be searched simultaneously and has a duplicative search with possibly inconsistent results may occur if the restriction requirement is maintained.
This is not found persuasive because since the inventions of Group I and II drawn to distinct inventions (a device/product and method), the determination of patentability of inventions of Group I and II would require different searches in different classes and subclasses which will be a serious burden on the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2022/0068663 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Huang et al. discloses A package substrate (see fig. 2A, comprising: an insulating layer (200, see fig. 2A-1), wherein a groove (S and V, see fig. 2A-1 and 4A) is formed on a side of the insulating layer (200); a circuit layer (201, see fig. 2A-1)embedded on another side of the insulating layer (another side of Insulating layer 200); at least one conductive pillar (211, see fig. 2A-1) embedded in the insulating layer (200) to connect to the circuit layer (201); and a routing layer (the wiring portion 21b, see fig. (fig. 2A-1) formed in the groove (where S is located in Fig. 2A-1) to connect to the conductive pillar (211).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2022/0068663 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0200382 A1).
Pertaining to claim 2, Huang et al. discloses all claim limitations except an alignment portion disposed on the insulating layer and covering the routing layer.
However, Lee et al. discloses an alignment portion disposed on the insulating layer and covering the routing layer, (see paragraph [0164]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an alignment portion disposed on the insulating layer and covering the routing layer in the device of Huang et al. in order to enhances structural reliability by reducing interfacial delamination and improves process control during manufacturing.
Pertaining to claim 3, Huang et al. discloses all claim limitations except, wherein the alignment portion and the routing layer are integrally formed.
However, It would have been on obvious matter of design choice to wherein the alignment portion and the routing layer are integrally formed, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2022/0068663 A1) in view of Sakai (US 2018/0019196 A1).
Pertaining to claim 4, Huang et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the routing layer is flush with a surface of the insulating layer.
However, Sakai discloses wherein the routing layer is flush with a surface of the insulating layer, see paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an alignment portion disposed on the insulating layer and covering the routing layer in the device of Huang et al. in order to provide high-performance and miniaturized electronic devices. The primary benefits include superior electrical performance, higher connection density, improved mechanical stability, and enhanced thermal management.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takenaka (US 20090242261-A1) and Suzuki (US 20160064319-A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848