DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 3, Figures 15-18, claims 11-20, in the reply filed on March 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10, 21 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 9, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 12, 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11 (line 10) “inner part” should recite –inner part; --.
In claim 11 (line 11) “the planar body” should recite –the planar body of the outer part--.
In claim 12 (line 1) “wherein first” should recite –wherein the first--.
In claim 14 (line 2) “comprising and” should recite –comprising a--.
In claim 15 (line 1) “of claim 11” should recite –of claim 14--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 11,817,687).
As to claim 11, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate assembly for connecting two adjacent wire basket cable trays, the splice plate assembly comprising:
an inner part comprising:
a planar body X (Figure 22 reprinted below with annotations);
a side wall 584 extending transversely from the planar body, the side wall terminating in an outwardly extending tab Y; and
an outer part comprising:
a planar body 502;
first and second side walls Z extending downward from the planar body away from the inner part;
at least two slots A being defined by the planar body of the outer part (Figure 23 reprinted below with annotations), each of the slots having a wider portion B configured to allow insertion of the side wall of the inner part, and a narrower portion C configured to lock the inner part into the outer part by preventing passage of the tab of the side wall of the inner part (Figures 21-27).
[AltContent: textbox (YY)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (XX)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ZZ)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Z)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Y)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (X)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 12, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate assembly wherein the first and second side walls Z of the outer part 502 each have an upward extending protrusion ZZ (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 13, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate assembly wherein the inner part X comprises four side walls 584,XX, wherein adjacent side walls of the four side walls define slots extending through the inner part and configured to receive a wire from the cable tray (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 14, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate wherein the side wall 584 of the inner part X is a first side wall of a pair of first opposing side walls, the inner part comprising a second pair of opposing side walls XX, the first pair of opposing side walls each terminating in an outwardly extending tab Y, the second pair of opposing side walls each terminating with a concave end 508, wherein each concave end is configured to receive a wire of a separate cable tray (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 15, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate wherein adjacent walls of the first and second pairs of opposing side walls 584,XX define at least two slots, wherein the first slot extends along a first side wall of the second pair of opposing side walls XX and is configured to receive a first wire from a first cable tray, wherein the second slot extends along a second side wall of the second pair of opposing side walls and is configured to receive a first wire from a second cable tray (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 16, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate wherein the inner part X and the outer part 502 define a space between the planar bodies of the inner and outer parts configured to receive transverse wires of adjacent cable trays (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 17, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate wherein the planar body X of the inner part defines an opening in a central portion of the planar body of the inner part, the opening being configured to aid in installation and modularity (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 18, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate wherein the planar body 502 of the outer part defines an opening in a central portion of the planar body of the outer part, wherein the openings in the central portions of the planar bodies align when the inner and outer parts are coupled (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 19, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate wherein the planar body 502 of the outer part comprises a central protrusion YY in a central portion of the planar body of the outer part, wherein the central protrusion extends through the opening in the central portion of the planar body X of the inner part when the inner and outer parts are coupled (Figures 21-27).
As to claim 20, Wilson et al. disclose a splice plate wherein the narrow portion C of the outer body slots A has a curved-shape (Figures 21-27).
Conclusion
03/29/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619