Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “128” of FIG. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W.-P. Yuan et al. [“Fast Reset Protocol for Superconducting Transmon Qubits”] in view of R. Li et al. [“A crossbar network for silicon quantum dot qubits”].
As per claim 1, W.-P. Yuan et al. teach qubit reset intended for a quantum computing system [Abstract] comprising:
a first multi-state device [Figure 1 (a) Qubit, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Qubit] that is characterized by a set of quantum states that are subdivided into a set of computational states and a set of non-computational states [Figure 2 (c) depicts qubit states], wherein each pair quantum states of the set of quantum states is associated with a separate discretized frequency of a set of discretized frequencies [this is how quantum states are associated];
a first tunable device [Figure 1(a) Coupler, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Coupler] with a first coupler frequency that is tunable [frequency-tunable coupler], wherein when the first coupler frequency is tuned to a first frequency value that is in accordance with a first subset of the set of quantized frequencies [section 3.1 frequency-tunable], a first energy-transfer operation that transfers a first quantized amount of energy from the first multi-state device to the first tunable device such that the first multi-state device is prepared in a first computational state of the set of computational states is enabled [section 3.1 couple to a superconducting transmon qubit, the state of this system could be transfer state to state under the action of Equation (8)];
a first energy-storage device [Figure 1 (a) Readout, Figure 2(a)-(b) Readout] with a first resonant frequency that is enabled to at least temporarily store input energy that is in accordance with the first resonant frequency [Figure 2 (c) depicts states that are temporarily stored/readout by the resonator],
However, W.-P. Yuan et al. do not explicitly teach wherein when the first coupler frequency is tuned to a second frequency value that is in accordance with the first resonant frequency, a second energy-transfer operation transfers the first quantized amount of energy from the first tunable device to the first energy-storage device is initiated; and a processor device that is configured to cause a performance of a set of energy-transfer operations that includes the first energy-transfer operation and the second energy-transfer operation.
Yet, the W.-P. Yuan et al. paper is intended for “large-scale quantum information processing” [Abstract]. “As quantum computers can solve some hard problems for classical computing” [1 Introduction, line 1], a processor becomes inherent, thus, the high-efficiency reset of superconducting qubits is necessary for larger scale quantum information processing [1. Introduction paragraph 4, last sentence].
R. Li et al. teach a quantum computing system comprising wherein when the coupler frequency is tuned to a frequency value that is in accordance with the resonant frequency [page 4, right column, lines 3-4], a second energy-transfer operation transfers the first quantized amount of energy from the first tunable device to the first energy-storage device is initiated [page 4 Shuttling qubits for addressability and (long-range) entanglement, Figure 3 depicts shuttling along a row or column]; and
a processor device that is configured to cause a performance of a set of energy-transfer operations that includes the first energy-transfer operation and the second energy-transfer operation [Figure 1B depicts a quantum dot array for control and readout, which given the quantum computation to which the reference pertains for shuttling, a processor is interpreted as inherent].
Thus, by combining W.-P. Yuan et al. and R. Li et al. it could be interpreted that wherein when the first coupler frequency is tuned to a second frequency value that is in accordance with the first resonant frequency, a second energy-transfer operation transfers the first quantized amount of energy from the first tunable device to the first energy-storage device is initiated and causes a performance of a set of energy-transfer operations that includes the first energy-transfer operation and the second energy-transfer operation. Therefore, considering that “fast and high-efficient reset of the qubit’s excited state has practical significance, as it enhances the execution speed of the quantum algorithm or the quantum simulation based on a scheme with quantum gate” [W.-P. Yuan et al. 4. Discussion and Conclusions lines 4-6], the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because “the proposed architecture based on shared control and flexible qubit shuttling can provide a unique shortcut toward large-scale quantum computation” [R. Li et al., page 8, right column , paragraph 4, lines 3-5].
As per claim 2, wherein when causing the performance of the set of energy-transfer operations, the processor device causes a performance of operations comprising:
tuning the first coupler frequency of the first tunable device to the first frequency value [W.-P. Yuan et al. section 3.1 When the frequency wd meet the condition]
initiating the first energy-transfer operation [W.-P. Yuan et al. section 3.1 in |e> state, the state of this system could transfer under the action of Equation (8), Figure 3 (a)]; and
tuning the first coupler frequency of the first tunable device to the second frequency value to initiate the second energy-transfer operation [R. Li et al. page 4 Shuttling qubits for addressability and (long-range) entanglement].
As per claim 3, wherein the first multi-state device is a first qubit [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 1 (a) Qubit, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Qubit], the first tunable device is a first qubit coupler [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 1(a) Coupler, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Coupler], and the first energy-storage device is a first resonator device [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 1 (a) Readout, Figure 2(a)-(b) Readout].
As per claim 4, wherein the first frequency value is a first qubit frequency that is in accordance with a transition between two non-consecutive quantum states of the set of quantum states [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (c)].
As per claim 5, wherein the first resonant frequency of the first resonator device is significantly greater than the first qubit frequency [R. Li et al. page 2, right column second paragraph we require tunning coupling to be globally controlled to below 10 Hz in the off state and in the range of 10 to 100 GHz in the on state , depending on the operation mode].
As per claim 6, wherein the first resonant frequency of the first resonator device is approximately 1 GHz greater than the first qubit frequency [R. Li et al. page 2, right column second paragraph we require tunning coupling to be globally controlled to below 10 Hz in the off state and in the range of 10 to 100 GHz in the on state , depending on the operation mode].
As per claim 7, wherein the first qubit is implemented by a first transmon qubit of the quantum computing system [W.-P. Yuan et al. section 3.1 superconducting transmon qubit (q)].
As per claim 8, wherein quantum computing system is employed to reset the first multi-state device to a ground state from a non-computational excited state [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (c) reset process,|0g> is the ground state].
As per claim 9, when the first coupler frequency of the first qubit coupler is tuned to a third frequency value [W.-P. Yuan et al. the coupler is tunable], the first qubit coupler operates to couple the first qubit to a second qubit of the quantum computing system [W.-P. Yuan et al. section 3.1 two superconducting qubits are connected to a frequency-tunable coupler].
As per claim 10, wherein when the first qubit coupler operates to couple the first qubit to the second qubit, the first qubit coupler mediates quantum logic gates for the first qubit and the second qubit [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (a) and (b); R. Li et al. pages 4-6 Two-qubit logic gates, Fig. 4].
As per claim 11, wherein the first computational state of the of the set of computational states is a ground state of the first multi-state device such that the first energy-transfer operation resets the first multi-state device to its ground state [this is the intent of W.-P. Yuan et al.].
As per claim 12, wherein tuning the first coupler frequency of the first tunable device is in response to performing a measurement of the first multi-state device via a measurement device of the quantum computing system [measurement is how qubit states are ascertained, thus, a measurement device is considered inherent to operation].
As per claim 13, wherein the first energy-transfer operation is a quantum state swap operation between the first multi-state device and the first tunable device [although W-.P. Yuan et al. is cited to teach the first-energy transfer operation, quantum state swap is a fundamental operation, see R. Li et al.].
Asper claim 14, wherein the first energy-transfer operation results in transitioning the first multi-state device from a non-computational state to a first computational state of the set of computational states [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (c) depicts qubit states].
As per claim 15, wherein the first computational state is an eigenstate of a measurement device of the quantum computing system [fundamental to quantum, the Hamiltonian, W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (c)].
As per claim 16, wherein the eigenstate of the measurement device is a ground state for the first multi-state device [fundamental to quantum, the Hamiltonian, W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (c)].
Taking claim 17 as exemplary of claims 17 and 19, W.-P. Yuan et al. teach a method for operating a quantum computing system that includes a first multi-state [Figure 1 (a) Qubit, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Qubit], a first tunable device with a first coupler frequency that is tunable [Figure 1(a) Coupler, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Coupler], and a first energy-storage device with a first resonant frequency [Figure 1 (a) Readout, Figure 2(a)-(b) Readout], the method comprising:
tuning the first coupler frequency of the first tunable device to a first frequency value [section 3.1 When the frequency wd meet the condition], wherein when the first coupler frequency is tuned to the first frequency value [section 3.1 frequency-tunable], a first energy-transfer operation between the first tunable device and the first multi-state device is enabled [section 3.1 couple to a superconducting transmon qubit, the state of this system could be transfer state to state under the action of Equation (8)];
initiating the first energy-transfer operation [section 3.2 Quantization of the System with a mixing microwave pulse], wherein the first energy-transfer operation transfers a first quantized amount of energy from the first multi-state device to the first tunable device such that the first multi-state device is prepared in a first quantum state of a set of quantum states that characterizes the first multi-state device [section 3.1 couple to a superconducting transmon qubit, the state of this system could be transfer state to state under the action of Equation (8), Figure 2 (c)].
However, W.-P. Yuan et al. do not teach tuning the first coupler frequency of the first tunable device to a second frequency value that is in accordance with the first resonant frequency of the first energy-storage device, wherein when the first coupler frequency is tuned to the second frequency value, a second energy-transfer operation between the first tunable device and the first energy-storage device is enabled that transfers the first quantized amount of energy from the first tunable device to the first energy-storage device.
R. Li et al. teach a quantum computing system comprising tuning the first coupler frequency of the first tunable device to a second frequency value that is in accordance with the first resonant frequency of the first energy-storage device [Figure 3 qubit shuttling], wherein when the coupler frequency is tuned to a frequency value that is in accordance with the resonant frequency [page 4, right column, lines 3-4], a second energy-transfer operation between the first tunable device and the first energy-storage device is enabled that transfers the first quantized amount of energy from the first tunable device to the first energy-storage device [page 4 Shuttling qubits for addressability and (long-range) entanglement, Figure 3 depicts shuttling along a row or column]. Thus, by combining W.-P. Yuan et al. and R. Li et al. it could be interpreted that wherein when the first coupler frequency is tuned to the second frequency value, a second energy-transfer operation between the first tunable device and the first energy-storage device is enabled that transfers the first quantized amount of energy from the first tunable device to the first energy-storage device.
Therefore, considering that “fast and high-efficient reset of the qubit’s excited state has practical significance, as it enhances the execution speed of the quantum algorithm or the quantum simulation based on a scheme with quantum gate” [W.-P. Yuan et al. 4. Discussion and Conclusions lines 4-6], the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because “the proposed architecture based on shared control and flexible qubit shuttling can provide a unique shortcut toward large-scale quantum computation” [R. Li et al., page 8, right column, paragraph 4, lines 3-5].
As per claims 18 and 20, wherein the first multi-state device is a first qubit [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 1 (a) Qubit, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Qubit], the first tunable device is a first qubit coupler [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 1(a) Coupler, Figure 2 (a)-(b) Coupler], the first energy-storage device is a first resonator device [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 1 (a) Readout, Figure 2(a)-(b) Readout], the resonant frequency of the first resonator is greater than the first frequency value [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (c), values may be design dependent; R. Li et al. page 2, right column second paragraph we require tunning coupling to be globally controlled to below 10 Hz in the off state and in the range of 10 to 100 GHz in the on state , depending on the operation mode], and the first quantum state is a ground state of the first qubit [W.-P. Yuan et al. Figure 2 (c), section 3.1 |0g> is the ground state].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See, for example, P. Krantz et al. [NPL] which provides an introductory guide to concepts of superconducting quantum circuits. See, also, M.D. Hutchings et al. [NPL] at FIG. 1; R. Barends et al. [NPL] at Figure 1c.
Conclusion
/LEIGH M GARBOWSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851