Attorney Docket Number: P56232US2
Filling Date: 03/08/2023
Priority Date: 05/03/22 (not perfected)
Inventor: Hong et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan et al (US 2009/0078955 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses an electronic device (Fig. 2, Paras. 47, 51) comprising: a first n-type semiconductor layer 206; a first p-type semiconductor layer 210; a multi-quantum wells layer 208 of a first color (blue) that is interposed between the first n-type semiconductor layer 206 and the first p-type semiconductor layer 210, wherein the first n-type semiconductor layer 206, the first p-type semiconductor layer 210, and the multi-quantum wells layer 208 of the first color define a first plurality of light-emitting diodes of the first color (Fig. 2B);
a second n-type semiconductor 218, wherein the first p-type semiconductor layer 210 is interposed between the second n- type semiconductor layer 218 and the multi-quantum wells layer 208 of the first color (blue); a second p-type semiconductor layer 222; and a multi-quantum wells layer of a second color 220 (red) that is different than the first color (blue) that is interposed between the second n-type semiconductor layer 218 and the second p-type semiconductor layer 222, wherein the second n-type semiconductor layer 218, the second p-type semiconductor layer 222, and the multi-quantum wells layer of the second color 220 define a second plurality of light-emitting diodes (Fig. 2B) of the second color (red).
Regarding claim 2, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the first plurality of light-emitting diodes 208 and the second plurality of light-emitting diodes 220 are arranged in a plurality of pixels and wherein each pixel includes a light- emitting diode of the first color and a light-emitting diode of the second color in a head-to-tail arrangement (Para. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 2, further comprising: driving circuitry that is configured to alternately emit light with the first plurality of light- emitting diodes and the second plurality of light-emitting diodes using time-multiplexing (Para.16, inherent).
Regarding claim 4, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, further comprising: a first conductive contact 230 (Para. 50) that is configured to provide signals to both the first n-type semiconductor layer 206 and the second p-type semiconductor layer 222.
Regarding claim 5, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 4, further comprising: a second conductive contact 230 (right, Fig. 2B) that is configured to provide signals to both the second n-type semiconductor layer 218 and the first p-type semiconductor layer 210.
Regarding claim 6, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the first plurality of light- emitting diodes 208 and the second plurality of light-emitting diodes 220 are arranged in a plurality of pixels (Fig. 7), wherein each pixel includes a first light-emitting diode of the first color 208 and a second light-emitting diode 220 of the second color (red), wherein an anode of the first light-emitting diode 208 is shorted (shorted by 230) to a cathode of the second light-emitting diode 220, and wherein an anode of the second light-emitting diode 220 is shorted (shorted by 230) to a cathode of the first light-emitting diode 208.
Regarding claim 7, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, further comprising: a first conductive contact 230 (left, Fig. 2B) that is configured to provide signals to the second p-type semiconductor layer 222; and a second conductive contact 230 (right, Fig. 2B) that is configured to provide signals to the first p-type semiconductor layer 210 and the second n-type semiconductor layer 218.
Regarding claim 8, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 7, further comprising: a third conductive contact 230 (3rd LED, Fig. 2C) that is configured to provide signals to the first n-type semiconductor layer 206; and a fourth conductive contact 230 that is configured to provide signals to the first p-type semiconductor layer 210 and the second n-type semiconductor layer 218 (LED is in matrix, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, further comprising: a third n-type semiconductor layer 218; a third p-type semiconductor layer 214; and a multi-quantum wells layer 216 of a third color (green) that is interposed between the third n-type semiconductor layer 218 and the third p-type semiconductor layer 214, wherein the third n-type semiconductor layer 218, the third p-type semiconductor layer 214, and the multi-quantum wells layer 216 of the third color define a third plurality of light-emitting diodes of the third color (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 11, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, further comprising: a first conductive contact 230 that is configured to provide signals to the second p-type semiconductor layer 222; a second conductive contact 230 that is configured to provide signals to the second p-type semiconductor layer 222; and a third conductive contact 230 that is configured to provide signals to the first n-type semiconductor layer 206 (Fig. 1A, plurality of pixels and stacked LEDS as 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the first plurality of light-emitting diodes 208 and the second plurality of light-emitting diodes 220 are arranged in a plurality of pixels (Figs. 1, 2) and wherein each pixel includes a light- emitting diode of the first color 208 (blue) and a light-emitting diode of the second color 220 (red) connected in series (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 13, Fan discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-2, Paras. 47, 51) comprising: a first n-type semiconductor layer 206; a first p-type semiconductor layer 222 that overlaps a first portion of the first n-type semiconductor layer 206; a multi-quantum wells layer 208 of a first color (blue) that is interposed between the first n-type semiconductor layer 206 and the first p-type semiconductor layer 222; a multi-quantum wells layer of a second color 216 (green) that is different than the first color (blue) having a first portion that is interposed between the first portion of the first n-type semiconductor layer 206 and the first p-type semiconductor layer 222; and a second p-type semiconductor layer 214 that overlaps a second portion of the first n-type semiconductor layer 206, wherein the multi-quantum wells layer of the second color 216 has a second portion that is interposed between the second portion of the first n-type semiconductor layer 206 and the second p-type semiconductor layer 214, wherein the first n-type semiconductor layer 206, the first p-type semiconductor layer 222, and the multi- quantum wells layer of the first color 208 define a first light- emitting diode 208 of the first color, and wherein the first n-type semiconductor layer 206, the second p-type semiconductor layer 222, and the second portion of the multi-quantum wells layer of the second color 216 define a second light-emitting diode of the second color (Green).
Regarding claim 14, Fan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 13, wherein the first 208 and second 216 light-emitting diodes share a common cathode 210, 214 that includes the first n-type semiconductor layer 206.
Regarding claim 15, Fan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 13, further comprising: a second n-type semiconductor layer 218; a third p-type semiconductor layer 222; and a multi-quantum wells layer 220 of a third color (red) that is interposed between the second n-type semiconductor layer 218 and the third p-type semiconductor layer 222, wherein the second n-type semiconductor layer 218, the third p-type semiconductor layer 222, and the multi-quantum wells layer 220 of the third color define a third light-emitting diode 220 of the third color (red).
Regarding claim 18, Fan discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1, 2, Paras. 47, 51) comprising a light-emitting diode array with a plurality of pixels (Fig. 1), wherein each pixel comprises: a blue light-emitting diode 208 comprising a first n-type semiconductor layer 206, a first p-type semiconductor layer 210, and a blue multi-quantum wells layer 208 interposed between the first n-type semiconductor layer 206 and the first p-type semiconductor layer 210; a green light-emitting diode 216 comprising a second n-type semiconductor layer 218, a second p-type semiconductor layer 214, and a green multi-quantum wells layer 216 interposed between the second n-type semiconductor layer 218 and the second p-type semiconductor layer 214; a red light-emitting diode 220 comprising a third n- type semiconductor layer 218, a third p-type semiconductor layer 222, and a red multi-quantum wells layer 220 interposed between the third n-type semiconductor layer 218 and the third p-type semiconductor layer 222, and wherein the blue208, red 220, and green 216 light- emitting diodes are vertically stacked; and a first conductive contact 230 that provides signals to the first p-type semiconductor layer 210, the second p-type semiconductor layer 214, and the third p-type semiconductor layer 222.
Regarding claim 20, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 18, wherein each pixel further comprises: a second conductive contact 228 that provides signals to the first n-type semiconductor layer 206; a third conductive contact 226 that provides signals to the second n-type semiconductor layer 218; and a fourth conductive contact 226 that provides signals to the third n-type semiconductor layer 218.
Regarding claim 21, Fan further discloses the electronic device defined in claim 20, wherein each pixel further comprises: a first switch 208 that is coupled to the second conductive contact 228; a second switch that is coupled to the third conductive contact 226; and a third switch 220 that is coupled to the fourth conductive contact 226.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Fan et al (US 2009/0078955 A1) in view of Choi et al (US 2010/0084668 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Fan does not explicitly disclose the electronic device defined in claim 18, wherein each pixel further comprises: a first distributed Bragg reflector that at least partially surrounds the blue light-emitting diode, wherein the first distributed Bragg reflector reflects blue light and transmits red light and green light; a second distributed Bragg reflector that at least partially surrounds the green light-emitting diode, wherein the second distributed Bragg reflector reflects blue light and green light and transmits red light; and a third distributed Bragg reflector that at least partially surrounds the red light-emitting diode, wherein the third distributed Bragg reflector reflects blue light, green light, and red light.
However, Choi discloses a first distributed Bragg reflector that at least partially surrounds the blue light-emitting diode, wherein the first distributed Bragg reflector reflects blue light and transmits red light and green light; a second distributed Bragg reflector that at least partially surrounds the green light-emitting diode, wherein the second distributed Bragg reflector reflects blue light and green light and transmits red light; and a third distributed Bragg reflector that at least partially surrounds the red light-emitting diode, wherein the third distributed Bragg reflector reflects blue light, green light, and red light (Paras. 39-40, 59, 75, 80). Choi teaches the above modification is used to obtain a particular color of the device (Paras. 39-40). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Fan structure with Choi DBR structure as suggested above to obtain a particular color of the device (Paras. 39-40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18, 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817