DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 6-7, 10, 13 & 19 are amended. Claim 15 is canceled. Claims 1-14 & 16-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-14 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2012/0231341 A1) in view of Zaghib (US 2009/0155689 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-14 & 18-20, Kim teaches a secondary battery comprising a positive electrode sheet comprising a current collector and an electrode sheet material layer provided on at least one surface of the current collector ([0039]-[0046]), wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises a positive electrode active material including an A material which is a single crystal or single crystal-like material comprising a lithium iron phosphate such as LiFePO4 (LFP) having a Dv50 of 0.05 microns to 2 microns ([0021]-[0025] & [0035]; Table 1); and a B material, which can be primary particle or a secondary particle, comprising a lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide (NCM) such as LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.2O2 having a Dv50 ranging from 0.5 microns to 7 microns ([0028]-[0030] & [0037]; Table 1), wherein the A material is present in a mixing ratio m of 65 wt% to 97 wt% based on a total weight of the positive electrode active material with the corresponding mixing ratio of the B material being 3 wt% to 35 wt% ([0020]). Kim is silent as to the A material having a Dv99 between 4.2 microns and 31 microns. Zaghib teaches a positive electrode active material comprising a lithium iron phosphate in the form of a single particle and having Dv50 of 1 micron to 5 microns, a Dv97 of less than 10 microns and a Dv100 less than 15 microns ([0035]-[0036], [0038] & [0102]) such that a resulting value of Dv99 would be between 5 microns and less than 15 microns. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to limit Dv99 to a range of 5 microns to less than 15 microns in order to achieve high performance utilization of the lithium iron phosphate as taught by Zaghib ([0102]).
Claims 4 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2012/0231341 A1) and Zaghib (US 2009/0155689 A1), as applied to claims 1-3, 5-14 & 18-20 above, and further in view of Fujii (US 2011/0223482 A1) and Theivanayagam (US 2016/0149205 A1).
Regarding claims 4 & 16-17, Kim teaches the positive electrode active material of claim 1 but is silent as to the A material having a specific surface area of 12 m2/g to 24 m2/g (claims 4 & 16) and 20 m2/g to 24 m2/g (claim 17).
Fujii teaches a positive electrode active material comprising a mixture of NCM and LFP, wherein the LFP has a specific surface area of 5 m2/g to 100 m2/g ([0027]-[0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to set a specific surface area of Kim’s A material to a range of 5 m2/g to 100 m2/g as a known result effective variable which affects the high-rate charge-discharge characteristics of the positive electrode as taught by Fujii ([0036]).
Theivanayagam teaches a positive electrode active material comprising a mixture of NCM and lithium metal phosphate (where the metal can include at least one of Mn and Fe), wherein the lithium metal phosphate has a specific surface area of 24 m2/g in exemplary embodiments ([0017]-[0019]; Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use a specific surface area of 24 m2/g for Kim’s lithium metal phosphate as a suitable surface area for a lithium metal phosphate used in a positive electrode active material further NCM as taught by Theivanayagam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 & 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendment to claim 1 has prompted a new ground of rejection in view of the newly cited Zaghib reference. As instantly claimed, the subject matter of claims 1-3, 5-14 & 18-20 is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Kim and Zaghib with claims 4 & 16-17 being found obvious further in view of Fujii and Theivanayagam. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bie (US 2022/0359874 A1) teaches a positive electrode active material comprising a mixture of a lithium metal phosphate and a lithium metal composite oxide.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727