DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/151294 of Fujie et al., hereinafter Fujie (citing machine translation provided herewith) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2005/0123713 of Forrest et al., hereinafter Forrest.
Regarding claim 1, Fujie teaches a component (abstract, Fig 1) for a film formation apparatus or an etching apparatus used for manufacturing semiconductors, the component comprising: a disk-shaped or ring-shaped SiC film (Fig 1, machine translation p2, paragraph 4), wherein the component does not include an interface extending perpendicularly to a thickness direction of the SiC film on an exposed side surface of the SiC film (Fig 5, Fig 6, machine translation p3 and p6 paragraph 7 to p7). Fujie fails to teach the ring has an outer diameter of 300 mm or more and a thickness of 3 mm or more. In the same field of endeavor of SiC articles formed by CVD (abstract), Forrest teaches the rings have a thickness of 0.2 in (about 5 mm) [0041],[0082] and an outer diameter of 14 in (355 mm) [0041]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fujie to form the ring using the diameters taught by Forrest because Forrest teaches this is a known market required shape for the rings [0041].
Regarding claim 2, the ring of Fujie does not include an interface extending perpendicularly to the thickness direction of the SiC film inside the SiC film (see Fig 5, 6 of Fujie).
Regarding claim 3, the ring of Fujie is a focus ring (abstract) for use in a plasma etching apparatus (translation p1, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 4, in the combination as applied to claim 1, Forrest teaches the rings have a thickness of 0.2 in (about 5 mm) [0041],[0082] and an outer diameter of 14 in (355 mm) [0041].
Regarding claim 7, Fujie teaches the substrate may be removed (translation p8, paragraph 4) which will result in the component not including a substrate.
Regarding claim 8, Fujie teaches there may be a substrate (translation p8, paragraph 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Fujie teaches the substrate is graphite (translation p8, paragraph 2-4) which includes carbon.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujie in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0380281 of Sriraman et al., hereinafter Sriraman.
Regarding claim 1, Fujie teaches a component (abstract, Fig 1) for a film formation apparatus or an etching apparatus used for manufacturing semiconductors, the component comprising: a disk-shaped or ring-shaped SiC film (Fig 1, machine translation p2, paragraph 4), wherein the component does not include an interface extending perpendicularly to a thickness direction of the SiC film on an exposed side surface of the SiC film (Fig 5, Fig 6, machine translation p3 and p6 paragraph 7 to p7). Fujie fails to teach the ring or plate has an outer diameter of 300 mm or more and a thickness of 3 mm or more. In the same field of endeavor of SiC articles for processing apparatuses (abstract and [0026]), Sriraman teaches a SiC showerhead (30 Fig 1 [0025]) have a thickness of 0.4 in (about 10 mm) [0025] and an outer diameter of 20 in (508 mm) [0025]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fujie to form a showerhead plate using the diameters taught by Sriraman because Sriraman teaches this is a known market required shape for the showerhead [0025].
Regarding claim 2, the component of Fujie does not include an interface extending perpendicularly to the thickness direction of the SiC film inside the SiC film (see Fig 5, 6 of Fujie).
Regarding claim 5, the combination remains as applied to claim 1. In the combination as applied, the component is a shower plate (30 Fig 1 of Sriraman) and may be used in a plasma etching apparatus [0002].
Regarding claim 6, Sriraman as applied in the combination teaches a SiC showerhead (30 Fig 1 [0025]) have a thickness of 0.4 in (about 10 mm) [0025] and an outer diameter of 20 in (508 mm) [0025].
Regarding claim 7, Fujie teaches the substrate may be removed (translation p8, paragraph 4) which will result in the component not including a substrate.
Regarding claim 8, Fujie teaches there may be a substrate (translation p8, paragraph 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Fujie teaches the substrate is graphite (translation p8, paragraph 2-4) which includes carbon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2011/0076401 teaches a shower head SiC layer formed by CVD that is greater than or equal to 3 mm thickness [0024]. US 2018/0072629 teaches a SiC edge ring with an outer diameter of 350 mm and a thickness of 5 mm [0052]. US 2013/0093146 teaches a showerhead with a SiC plate having a diameter of 430 mm and a thickness of 4 mm [0055].
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/PARVIZ HASSANZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1716