DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“processing mechanism” in claim 1-11 interpreted as processing liquid discharge nozzles (51F) arranged on the upper surface side of the substrate, processing liquid discharge nozzles (51B) arranged on the lower surface side of the substrate and processing liquid suppliers (52) for supplying the processing liquid to the processing liquid discharge nozzles (para. 1 of p22); and equivalents thereof.
“rotating mechanism” in claim 1-9 interpreted as (i) spin chuck (21), a hollow cylindrical rotary shaft (22) coupled to the spin chuck (21), a rotation driver (23) is connected to the rotary shaft (22), and a power transmitter (27) (see p12-13); (ii) a spin chuck (21), a rotation driver (23A) for driving the spin chuck, a second rotation driver (23B) for driving the cup (para. 2 of p48); (iii) a common rotation driver and a power transmitter (claim 10); (iv) a first rotation driver and a second rotation driver (claim 11); and equivalents thereof.
“exhaust mechanism” in claim 8-9 (note “mechanism” is a generic placeholder and “exhaust” and/or “configured to exhaust the fixed cup” is the functional limitation) for which no corresponding structure has been identified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As indicated above, the term “exhaust mechanism” in claim 8 invokes an interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). No corresponding structure was identified because the specification merely refers to “exhaust mechanism 38” without clarifying the structure of the exhaust mechanism and the drawings merely show a box labeled “exhaust mechanism” (see Fig 2 inter alia) and therefore cannot be relied upon to show the structure of the exhaust mechanism. Because there is not corresponding structure disclosed, the claims fail to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP 2181 IV. For purpose of compact prosecution on the merits, the claim will be examined over the prior art using an interpretation as explained in the rejection of claim 8 over 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
Claim 9 is included for its dependence from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 limitation “exhaust mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No corresponding structure was identified because the specification merely refers to “exhaust mechanism 38” without clarifying the structure of the exhaust mechanism and the drawings merely show a box labeled “exhaust mechanism” (see Fig 2 inter alia) and therefore cannot be relied upon to show the structure of the exhaust mechanism. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
For purpose of compact prosecution on the merits, any prior art structure that performs an exhausting (i.e. pumping) function will be interpreted as meeting the claimed “exhaust mechanism” or being a functional equivalent thereof.
Claim 9 is included for its dependence from claim 8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,688,322 of Motoda et al., hereinafter Motoda, in view of US Patent Application Publication 2016/0329220 of Nakai, hereinafter Nakai.
Regarding claim 1, Motoda teaches a substrate processing apparatus (abstract, Fig 1-2), comprising: a substrate holder (spin chuck 6 Fig 2 and col 5, ln 1-15) configured to hold a substrate (substrate S in Fig 2 and col 5, ln 1-15) and provided rotatably about an axis of rotation extending in a vertical direction (col 5, ln 1-15); an upper nozzle (nozzle 36 Fig 2, col 5, ln 34-40) configured to process the substrate by supplying a processing liquid to the substrate held by the substrate holder (col 5, ln 34-40); a rotating cup (2 Fig 2, col 4, ln 65 to col 5, ln 5, col 5 ln 40-67) configured to form a collection space for collecting liquid droplets of the processing liquid scattered from the substrate by surrounding an outer periphery of the rotating substrate and provided rotatably about the axis of rotation (col 4, ln 65 to col 5, ln 5, col 5 ln 40-67); a fixed cup (50 Fig 2, col 5, ln 57-65) configured to form a discharge space for discharging the liquid droplets collected by the rotating cup by being fixedly arranged to surround the rotating cup(col 5, ln 57-65); and a rotating mechanism (spin motor 24, pulleys 22 and 30,driving belts 20 and 28, follower pulleys 18 and 26, and spline shaft 16 Fig 2 and col 5, ln 40-50) configured to rotate the substrate holder and the rotating cup (col 5, ln 40-67), wherein the rotating cup includes a lower cup (portion 2C,2D Fig 2) to be rotated about the axis of rotation by receiving a cup driving force applied from the rotating mechanism (col 5, ln 40-67) and an upper cup (vertical sidewall portion of 2 above 2D having holes 52A and 52B Fig 2, col 5, ln 58 to col 6 ln 15) configured to collect the liquid droplets scattered through the collection space while rotating about the axis of rotation integrally with the lower cup by being coupled to the lower cup (col 5, ln 58 to col 6 ln 15), and the upper cup includes: allowing communication between the collection space and the discharge space by being located above the lower cup (lower part is located above 2D in Fig 2) and forming a gap between the lower cup and the first coupling part (a gap is present vertically and with holes 52B); and an inclined part provided obliquely upward of a peripheral edge part of the substrate from where the upper cup connects to the lower cup (upper portion of vertical portion of 2,which is inclined and has hole 52A), the inclined part collecting the liquid droplets by an inclined surface facing the collection space (col 5, ln 60 to col 6 ln 10). Motoda fails to explicitly teach the processing mechanism includes a lower nozzle to provide liquid to the lower surface and fails to teach the coupling part connecting the upper cup to the lower cup of the rotating cup because Motoda teaches a unibody structure. Regarding the lower nozzle, in the same field of endeavor of substrate processing apparatuses including cups for colleting liquid discharged from the substrate (abstract, Fig 1), Nakai teaches a lower nozzle (52 Fig 1 [0071]) to provide liquid to the lower surface [0071]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motoda to include the lower nozzle of Nakai because this represents a simple substitution of one known element (supply nozzles of liquid to upper and lower surfaces) for another (supply nozzle of liquid to only upper surface) to achieve predictable results (supply of liquid to the substrate). Regarding the coupling part connecting the upper cup to the lower cup of the rotating cup, Nakai teaches a first coupling part (second engagement part 226 Fig 1 [0069]) as part of the upper cup (22, 225 Fig 1) located above the lower cup (311 Fig 1) forming a gap between the lower cup and the first coupling part (Fig 1). The upper cup of Nakai (22, 225 Fig 1) include an inclined part (Fig 1) provided obliquely upward of a peripheral edge part of the substrate from the first coupling part (Fig 1), the inclined part collecting the liquid droplets by an inclined surface facing the collection space [0081-0082]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cup arrangement of Motoda to include the first coupling part as taught by Nakai because Nakai teaches this arrangement allows the upper cup to be rotated with the lower cup or not rotated [0070] and because this represents a simple substitution of one known element (upper cup and coupling arrangement of Nakai) for another (upper cup and coupling arrangement of Motoda) to achieve predictable results (rotation of the upper cup with the lower cup and collection of liquid scattered from the substrate).
Regarding claim 2, the combination remains as applied to claim 1 above. The gap as demonstrated by Nakai extends in a horizontal direction (Fig 1, 9).
Regarding claim 3, the combination remains as applied to claim 1 above. The upper cup of the combination (cup 22, 225 Fig 1of Nakai) is engageable with and disengagable from the lower cup (Nakai Fig 1, 2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination remains as applied to claim 3 above. Nakai as part of teaching the upper cup further teaches a cup elevator (23 Fig 2) configured to move up and down the upper cup between a cup coupled position where the upper cup is coupled to the lower cup by being engaged with the lower cup and a cup retracted position where the upper cup is retracted upward from the lower cup (Fig 1, 2 [0060]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include the cup elevator of Nakai because Nakai teaches this enables raising and lowering the upper cup to separate it from the lower cup [0060].
Regarding claim 5, the combination remains as applied to claim 1. Nakai as applied in the combination teaches the lower cup (311 Fig 1) includes a second coupling part (314 Fig 1) facing the first coupling part (Fig 1), one of the first and second coupling parts is provided with a plurality of engaging pins (second coupling part 314 of Fig 1 which is referred to in Nakai as “first engagement part” [0068-0069]) and the other is provided with a plurality of recesses (first coupling part 226 of Nakai which is the “second engagement part” of Nakai, see [0069] which discloses recesses), the plurality of engaging pins being insertable into and withdrawable from the plurality of recesses [0069], and the upper and lower cups are engaged with each other by inserting each of the plurality of engaging pins into the corresponding one of the plurality of recesses [0069-0070]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include the second coupling part and the engagement arrangement as claimed because Nakai teaches this arrangement allows for the coupling of the upper and lower cups during processing [0069-0070].
Regarding claim 7, the combination remains as applied to claim 1 above. The upper cup of each of Motoda and Nakai is capable of being used with a substrate that is larger such that an upper end of the inclined part covers a peripheral edge part of the substrate with the upper cup coupled to the lower cup. Further Nakai (Fig 1) demonstrates this arrangement.
Regarding claim 8, the combination remains as applied to claim 1 above. Motoda teaches an exhaust portion (97 Fig 2 and col 4, ln 59-65) configured to exhaust the fixed cup (col 4, ln 59-65). Motoda further teaches an exhaust controller (95 Fig 2 and col 4, ln 50-60) configured to control the exhaust mechanism to promote movements of the liquid droplets from the collection space into the discharge space by way of the gap by adjusting a pressure in the discharge space (taught as controlling the discharge unit which will affect the pressure col 4, ln 50-60). Nakai further teaches an exhaust controller (controller 10) configured to control the exhaust mechanism (inclusive of the exhaust port 461) to promote movements of the liquid droplets from the collection space into the discharge space by way of the gap by adjusting a pressure in the discharge space [0151], [0164], [0202]. Therefore it additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motoda to include the exhaust controller of Nakai to control the pressure in the discharge space because Nakai teaches this allows for improved control of the discharge [0151], [0164], [0202].
Regarding claim 9, the combination remains as applied to claim 8 above. Motoda teaches the fixed cup includes a liquid receiving part (45 Fig 5-7) configured to receive the processing liquid (col 6, ln 1-25), an exhaust part (exhaust passage 58 Fig 5-7 and col 6, ln 35-45) connected to the exhaust mechanism (Fig 2) to exhaust gas components flowing by way of the liquid receiving part (Fig 5-7 and col 6, ln 1-45), a partition wall (60C and 60D Fig 7, col 7, ln 5-15) configured to partition between the liquid receiving part and the exhaust part (col 7, ln 5-15) and a gas guiding part (55 Fig 5-7) configured to form a flow passage for the gas components having a labyrinth structure by covering the partition wall from above (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 10, the combination remains as applied to claim 1. Motoda teaches a common rotation driver (24 Fig 2 and col 5, ln 40-50) configured to rotate the substrate holder by applying a rotational driving force (col 5, ln 40-50); and a power transmitter (26, 28, and/or 30 Fig 2 and col 5, ln 40-50) configured to transmit a part of the rotational driving force output from the common rotation driver as the cup driving force to the lower cup (col 5, ln 40-50).
Regarding claim 11, the combination remains as applied to claim 1 above. As indicated in the rejection of claim 10 above, Motoda teaches one rotational driver to drive the cup and the substrate holder. It is noted that driving pulleys 22 and 30 are separate and may each be considered a rotation driver. If applicant is able to persuasively present that motor 24 must be the driver, it is noted that claim 11 represents a mere duplication of parts of the spin motor 24 of Motoda such that one spin motor is provided for each of the cup and the substrate support. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Such an arrangement is an obvious modification that allows for individual speed control of each rotational structure and allows for additional processing modes in which is may be desirable to have one of the two structures stationary or rotating at a different speed. This increases the number of processes that may be performed on the same apparatus and therefore the market value of the apparatus.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoda in view of Nakai as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US Patent 5,626,675 of Sakamoto et al., hereinafter Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 6, the combination remains as applied to claim 5 above. The combination as applied to claim 5 fails to teach an upper magnet attached to the first coupling part; and a lower magnet attached to the second coupling part, wherein: an attraction force is generated between the upper and lower magnets by bringing the upper and lower magnets into contact or proximity in the vertical direction when the upper and lower cups are engaged with each other. In the same field of endeavor of an upper portion (23 Fig 9) engaging with a lower rotating cup (22 Fig 9) to rotate therewith, Sakamoto teaches that magnets (57 Fig 9) may be used to bring the structures into contact in the vertical direction (col 7, ln 5-10) as an additional and/or alternative embodiment to a protrusion and recess (Fig 6-7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motoda in view of Nakai to include magnets for magnetic attraction between the first and second coupling parts because Sakamoto demonstrates magnets are a functional alternative (see Fig 9 and 6-7). Regarding specifically magnets in each coupling part, Sakamoto appears to rely on a material to which the magnet is attracted which may be considered a magnet and further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized that the magnetic attraction may be obtained by magnets positioned in each structure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12431369, hereinafter ‘369 in view of Motoda and Nakai.
Claim 1 of ‘369 contains all the limitations of claim 1 except for the limitations regarding the lower cup and the upper cup. It is noted that the figures of ‘369 appear to demonstrate the lower and upper cups as claimed which suggest that the rotating cup of claim 1 of ‘369 was intended to have the upper and lower cup structures as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application. Further, Motoda in view of Nakai remains as applied to the remaining limitations of instant claim 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of ‘369 to include the upper and lower cups and coupling part as recited because Motoda in view of Nakai demonstrate these as structures for a rotating cup to collect the liquid that is sprayed from the substrate edge. Regarding claims 2-5, Motoda in view of Nakai remains as applied above to teach and render obvious the additional limitations recited in claims 2-5 regarding the arrangement of the upper and lower cups and coupling. These limitations provide additional structural detail of the upper and lower cups and remain obvious for the same reason of providing structure of the cups to collect the liquid sprayed. Regarding claim 8-9, claims 1 and 2 of ‘369 fail to teach the exhaust mechanism and associated structure thereof. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the exhaust mechanism and associated structure thereof as taught by Motoda in view of Nakai (see above for specific limitation mapping) because the exhaust structure as taught by Motoda allows for exhausting gas from the processing space (col 4, ln 55-65, col 7, ln 10-55). This avoids the build up of potentially toxic gas from the processing space. Regarding claim 10-11, claim 1 of ‘369 refers to a power transmitter and Motoda as applied above has demonstrated the obviousness of two drivers.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 of ‘369 in view of Motoda, Nakai and Sakamoto.
The analysis of claim 1-5 remains as applied above over ‘369 in view of Motoda and Nakai. Sakamoto further renders obvious that magnets (57 Fig 9) may be used to bring the structures into contact in the vertical direction (col 7, ln 5-10) as an additional and/or alternative embodiment to a protrusion and recess (Fig 6-7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of ‘369 in view of Motoda and Nakai to include magnets for magnetic attraction between the first and second coupling parts because Sakamoto demonstrates magnets are a functional alternative (see Fig 9 and 6-7). Regarding specifically magnets in each coupling part, Sakamoto appears to rely on a material to which the magnet is attracted which may be considered a magnet and further a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized that the magnetic attraction may be obtained by magnets positioned in each structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2007/0239528 teaches an upper cup fixed to a lower cup with screws (40) and including horizontally extending space between the upper and lower cups (space 36 and 37 Fig 3). US 2007/0215178 teaches lower supply nozzles 7a and 7B (Fig 4). US 2015/0343484 teaches coupling between a lid and cup using magnets (201, 203 Fig 5). US 2003/00389697 teaches magnetic rotational coupling (Fig 3). US 6,222,991 teaches magnetic rotational coupling (magnets 62 and 46 Fig 1). US 6,159,288 demonstrates a rotating cup and substrate support (Fig 3). US 5,591,262 demonstrates a central lower supply nozzle (121 Fig 2) with a rotationally driven lower cup (5 Fig 1).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716