DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species II, (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/05/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claims 2-3, 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines “at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is vertically offset with respect to at least one of the nanoribbons of the second stack” is indefinite. As shown in Fig. 7 each one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is vertically offset with respect to each one of the nanoribbons of the second stack. Cancellation of the tern “at least” is suggested.
Claim 13 defines “wherein a thickness of one or more of the nanoribbons of the first stack is different from a thickness of one or more of the nanoribbons of the second stack” is indefinite. As shown in Fig. 7 each one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is different from a thickness of each one of the nanoribbons of the second stack. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-3, 16 define projections and plane which are not shown or marked which make the claims ambiguous. Appropriate corrections/markings are required
Claims 2-12, 14-17 are also rejected being dependent on claims 1, 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miao et al (US 2019/0355723 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Miao teaches in Fig. 9 about an integrated circuit (IC) structure, comprising:
a support 10;
a first stack of nanoribbons (40) stacked above one another over the support, wherein portions of the nanoribbons of the first stack are channel regions of N-type transistors (nFET); and
a second stack of nanoribbons (42) stacked above one another over the support, wherein portions of the nanoribbons of the second stack are channel regions of P-type transistors (pFET),
wherein at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is vertically offset with respect to at least one of the nanoribbons of the second stack (as shown).
Regarding claim 11: Miao teaches in Fig. 9 about a first subfin 12 between the support and the first stack, wherein an uppermost portion of the first subfin includes a first semiconductor material; and
a second subfin 14 between the support and the second stack, wherein an uppermost portion of the second subfin includes a second semiconductor material,
wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material have different material compositions [0019].
Regarding claim 12: Miao teaches in [0019] wherein the first semiconductor material includes silicon and the second semiconductor material includes germanium.
Claims 1-6, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hickey et al (US 2021/0408285 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13: Hickey teaches in Fig. 1B (c) about an integrated circuit (IC) structure, comprising:
a support 152;
a first stack of nanoribbons (left 156B) stacked above one another over the support, wherein portions of the nanoribbons of the first stack are channel regions of N-type transistors (NMOS); and
a second stack of nanoribbons (right 156B) stacked above one another over the support, wherein portions of the nanoribbons of the second stack are channel regions of P-type transistors (PMOS),
wherein at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is vertically offset with respect to at least one of the nanoribbons of the second stack (as marked).
Regarding claims 2, 16: Hickey teaches in Fig. 1B (c) wherein, when projected onto a plane that is substantially perpendicular to the support and substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack (in and out of the page direction), a projection of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is between projections of a pair of nearest-neighbor nanoribbons of the second stack.
Regarding claim 3: Hickey teaches in Fig. 1B (c) wherein a plane that is substantially parallel to the support and is along a middle of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is substantially in a middle between two adjacent nanoribbons of the nanoribbons of the second stack (as marked).
Regarding claims 4, 14: Hickey teaches in Fig. 1B (c) wherein a thickness of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is substantially equal to a distance between two adjacent nanoribbons of the nanoribbons of the second stack.
Regarding claims 5, 15: Hickey teaches in Fig. 1B (c) wherein a thickness of at least one of the nanoribbons of the second stack is substantially equal to a distance between two adjacent nanoribbons of the nanoribbons of the first stack.
Regarding claim 6: Hickey teaches in Fig. 1B (c) wherein a thickness of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack is different from a thickness of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the second stack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hickey et al (US 2021/0408285 A1) in view of Li et al (CN 115172447 A).
Regarding claim 7: Hickey teaches wherein a thickness of each of the nanoribbons of the first stack is larger than a thickness of each of the nanoribbons of the second stack except wherein a thickness of each of the nanoribbons of the first stack is smaller than a thickness of each of the nanoribbons of the second stack.
Li teaches in Fig. 5 and in Fig. 25 the thickness of the channel material layer needed to prepare NMOS transistor is small, and the thickness of the channel material layer of the PMOS transistor used as the sacrificial layer is large, so as to satisfy the short channel effect of the NMOS transistor at the same time and also teaches the thickness of the first semiconductor material layer or the second semiconductor material layer may be 6 nm to 18 nm. The absolute value of the thickness difference between the first semiconductor material layer and the second semiconductor material layer can be 2 nm to 12 nm.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of application was filed to combine Li’ s teachings to Hickey’s semiconductor device to have the feature as claimed depending on device type and short channel effect consideration.
Regarding claim 8: Li teaches in Fig. 15 further comprising:
a first source region 28 for the N-type transistors of the first stack, the first source region extending vertically through the first stack;
a second source region 30 for the P-type transistors of the second stack, the second source region extending vertically through the second stack;
a first insulator structure 26 between the first source region and a gate electrode material 39 between two adjacent nanoribbons of the nanoribbons of the first stack; and
a second insulator structure 27 between the second source region and a gate electrode material 40 between two adjacent nanoribbons of the nanoribbons of the second stack,
wherein the first insulator structure is vertically offset with respect to the second insulator structure (as shown).
Regarding claim 9: Li teaches in Fig. 25 wherein a height of the first insulator structure 26 s substantially equal to a thickness of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the second stack 38.
Regarding claim 10: Li teaches in Fig. 25 wherein a height of the second insulator structure is substantially equal to a thickness of the at least one of the nanoribbons of the first stack.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hickey et al (US 2021/0408285 A1) in view of Chu et al (US PGPUB 20220320089 A1).
Regarding claim 17: Hickey does not explicitly talk about wherein a distance between the first stack and the second stack is less than about 500 nanometers.
Chu teaches in Fig. 6 a distance between the first stack and the second stack is 12 nm of left 219 + 12 nm of W2 + 12 nm of right 219 = 36nm
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of application was filed to combine Chu’ s teachings to Hickey’s semiconductor device to have the feature as claimed depending on submicron technology and scaling and width of isolation structure between the FET’s.
Conclusion
/Mohammed Shamsuzzaman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897