DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a particular ratio mixture of an alcohol and water at the particular particle diameters of Table 2, when used with a Ni particles, Ni-Fe LDH, and Nafion polymer as shown in Example 4, does not reasonably provide enablement for the entire scope of any solvent when used with a polymer and layered double hydroxide catalysts. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Addressing now the "Wands" factors (MPEP 2164.01 (a)).
(A) The breadth of the claims:
The claims are drawn towards an ink composition to deposit a catalyst layer for a water electrolysis cell comprising three generic constituents, the catalysts, a solvent, an organic polymer, the solvent includes a first solvent, a second solvent, and a third solvent, the third solvent has a boiling point higher than a boiling point of the first solvent and higher than a boiling point of the second solvent. The claims further specifically require Hansen Solubility Parameters between the third solvent and catalyst, and the third solvent and polymer, respectively.
(B) The nature of the invention:
The invention is drawn towards ink composition to deposit catalyst layers that prevent aggregation of the catalyst material in the electrode ink.
(C) The state of the prior art:
The following is deemed to be the most relevant prior art cited below for the teaching with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill:
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a general understanding of appropriate catalysts and structures of electrolysis cells with an advanced understanding of solubility parameters and their subsequent calculation.
(E) The level of predictability in the art:
There does not appear to be any predictability in the art based on the Examples provided.
(F) and (G) The amount of direction provided by the inventor and the existence of working examples:
All working examples are drawn towards combination of water and an alcohol in particular ratios, where the use of both water and ethanol, and 1-propanol and specific high boiling point organic solvents at the proper ratios is explicitly required to provide the solubility parameters as claimed as evidenced by Table 2 .
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure:
The quantity cannot be adequately determined to do the breadth of the recitation where a solvent may be water and any possible combination of organic solvents when used with any particular catalyst and polymer. There is no apparent generic relationship inherent to the generic composition of a catalyst, polymer, and the use of multiple solvents thus providing no basis of ascertaining whether prior art catalyst inks possess said properties when the properties of the boiling points of each solvent is satisfied. Thus, either the solubility parameters are inherent to the use of a high boiling point solvent with a catalyst and ionomer in catalysts inks, or a result of specific features or chemicals not currently claimed.
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Koshikawa et al (Koshikawa, Hiroyuki, et al. "Single nanometer-sized NiFe-layered double hydroxides as anode catalyst in anion exchange membrane water electrolysis cell with energy conversion efficiency of 74.7% at 1.0 A cm–2." Acs Catalysis 10.3 (2020): 1886-1893).
As to claims 1, 2, and 5, Koshikawa discloses an electrode catalyst ink for a water electrolysis cell, the electrode catalyst ink (pg. 1887 Section 2.4) including:
a catalyst including a layered double hydroxide (“A 2.37-g portion of NiFe-LDH/KB (2/1)…” section 2.4 as required by instant claim 2); .
an organic polymer (“A 3.62 mL portion of 20 wt % Nafion solution” section 2.4 which is a perfluorocarbon polymer with a sulfonate ion as required by instant claim 5); and
a solvent (“…water/ethanol (1/1) solvent.” Section 2.4).
Koshikawa discloses using 20% wt Nafion solution from Wako, which as evidenced by the product documentation, has 1-propanol a solvent therein (Section 3).
Koshikawa discloses the solvent is combination of water, ethanol, and 1-propanol which inherently has three different boiling points, thereby stratifying the instant relationship “the third solvent has a boiling point higher than a boiling point of the first solvent and higher than a boiling point of the second solvent”.
Thus, the prior art discloses the structural, material, and same composition of the instant claim language. Koshikawa does not explicitly calculate the Hansen solubility parameters of “a Hansen solubility parameter distance Ra1 [MPa1/2] between the third solvent and the catalyst and a Hansen solubility parameter distance Ra2 [MPa1/2] between the third solvent and the organic polymer satisfy a relationship of 2.08Ra1 - 16.0 ≤ Ra2≤ 2.08Ra1 - 13.5” as instantly claimed.
MPEP 2112.01 guides:
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
Commonly assigned application 18/183223, published as US 2023/0235467 A1, discloses Ra1 and Ra2 parameters between different combinations of water and ethanol ad a solvent which satisfy the instant claim limitation of the 2.08Ra1 - 16.0 ≤ Ra2≤ 2.08Ra1 - 13.5 calculation (See Table of the PG Pub). Based on the instant disclosure of the solubility parameters of the common application above, the evidence provides that the solubility parameters of the catalyst and polymer with respect to the solvent are an inherent property of the prior art ink as satisfying the instant claim limitations.
As to claim 7, Koshikawa discloses solidifying the ink composition (Section 2.4 via spraying”).
As to claims 8, 9, and 12 Koshikawa discloses a water electrolysis cell comprising an anode (See Supplementary S1 C anode catalysts layer) a cathode (See Supplementary S1 B cathode catalyst layer) an electrolyte membrane disposed between the anode and the cathode (See Supplementary S1 A anion exchange membrane as required by instant claim 9), where the anode includes the electrode catalyst according to claim 7 (see above with respect to section 2.4) and comprising a voltage application (as required by instant claim 12 – Section 3.3 inherent to provide current/voltage curves),
As to claim 11 and 13, Koshikawa discloses water electrolysis cell comprising: a diaphragm (See Supplementary S1 A anion exchange membrane as required by instant claim 10) separating a first space and a second space (space between A and F microchannels); an anode provided in the first space (See Supplementary S1 C anode catalysts layer); and a cathode provided in the second space (See Supplementary S1 B cathode catalyst layer), wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the anode includes the electrode catalyst according to claim 7 (see above with respect to section 2.4) and comprising a voltage application (as required by instant claim 13 – Section 3.3 inherent to provide current/voltage curves).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshikawa in view of Fukuta et al (US 2017/0033367 A1) OR Ghil et al (US 2021/0083308 A1).
As to claim 6, Koshikawa fails to disclose the use of the solvents as instantly claimed.
Fukuta disclose the use of aqueous solvents glycol monoalkyl ethers such as ethylene glycol monomethyl ether, ethylene glycol monoethyl ether, ethylene glycol monopropyl ether, ethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether, ethylene glycol mono-tert-butyl ether, propylene glycol monomethyl ether, propylene glycol monoethyl ether, propylene glycol monopropyl ether and 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol; and lactic acid esters such as methyl lactate and ethyl lactate ([0070]) for use with catalysts inks (Title, Abstract).
Ghil discloses using 2-ethyoxyethanol for use within catalyst inks ([0006]-[0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the aqueous solvents above as disclosed in Fukuta OR Ghil in the catalyst ink of Koshikawa because they reduce ionomer aggregation and crack phenomena (Ghil [0011]) and promotes favorable dispersability and a smooth surface (Fukuta
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshikawa in view of Logan et al (US 2023/0279557 A1).
As to claim 10, Koshikawa fails to disclose the use of a cation exchange membrane.
Logan discloses a water electrolyzer (Title) that using a cation exchange membrane (#110, [0110]) which includes a cation exchange membrane with a NiFe layered double hydroxide anode ([0091]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a cation exchange membrane as taught by Logan in the apparatus of Koshikawa in order to allow selective transport across the membranes depending on the particular reactions taking place ([0050] Logan).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claim drafted by the examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, are presented to applicant for consideration:
The Examiner suggests a combined claim with limitations, including intervening claim limitations, from dependent claim 4 (dependent upon claim 3), dependent claim 6, and dependent claim 2 into claim 1 to overcome the 112(a) rejection above.
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795