DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 05/14/2026, wherein Claims 1, 11, and 12-15 have been amended. Claim 17 has been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, and 6-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Examiner’s objections:
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks (p. 7), filed on 05/14/2026, with respect to the objections to the specification have been fully considered. In view of the amendments to the specification addressing the informalities raised in the previous office action, the objections to the specification have been withdrawn
Regarding 35 USC 101 rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-16 filed on 05/14/2026, were fully considered and found persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding 35 USC 103 rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-16 filed on 05/14/2026, were fully considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20050173532 to Hasebe et al. (hereinafter Hasebe) in view of US20090140726 to Janke (hereinafter Janke).
Regarding Claim 1: Hasebe discloses:
“A sensor device, comprising: a processor having a memory” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5… The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer)”; para 0075 – “the alternate magnetic field 203 drives the sensor section 210 and stores detected signals in a memory provided within the control section”);
“a sensor that is a coil” (Fig. 6; para 0047 – “FIG. 6 is a perspective view showing a semiconductor chip formed with a sensor and a coil antenna” (see applicant’s specification paras 0050 and 0061));
“an acquisition unit that acquires, using the sensor, a measured value corresponding to a situation in which the sensor device is located” (Abstract – “there is provided a semiconductor chip having a coil antenna and a circuit surface and adapted to transmit and receive signals (i.e. acquires the measured value, added by examiner) by radio to and from an external device”);
“a logic storage unit that stores at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of situation values indicating a state pertaining to the situation and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation values” (para 0074 – “The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer (i.e. logic storage unit with all the claimed functions, added by examiner))”);
“a calculation unit that calculates a situation value from the measured value using a calculation logic corresponding to the set type” (para 0074 – “The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer (i.e. calculation unit with all the claimed functions, added by examiner))); and
“a transmission unit comprising the sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to transmit the situation value to an external party and/or receive information specifying the type from outside” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5. A reader/writer 201 is disposed with respect to the semiconductor chip indicated at 100. The reader/writer 201 has the function of transmitting an alternate magnetic field to the semiconductor chip 100 having a sensor function and receiving a reply from the same chip”);
“wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value” (para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal, modulation of a transmitted signal, and conversion of clocks. In addition, the alternate magnetic field 203 drives the sensor section 210 and stores detected signals in a memory provided within the control section (i.e. measurement value, added by examiner). A detecting substance corresponding to an object of measurement is formed in the sensor section 210. The result of detection performed in accordance with the control section 209 is converted to an electric signal (i.e. calculating the situation value using the algorithm, added by examiner), which electric signal is then sent to the RF section 208 and is transmitted from the antenna section 207 by sub-carrier”);
“wherein the sensor that is the coil is used both to acquire the measured value and to transmit the situation value to the external party and/or receive the information specifying the type from outside” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5. A reader/writer 201 is disposed with respect to the semiconductor chip indicated at 100. The reader/writer 201 has the function of transmitting an alternate magnetic field to the semiconductor chip 100 having a sensor function and receiving a reply from the same chip”).
Hasebe does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the processor and the sensor that is the coil are inseparably mounted on a single semiconductor chip”.
However, Janke discloses:
“wherein the processor and the sensor that is the coil are inseparably mounted on a single semiconductor chip” (para 0004 – “This object is accomplished by integrating the measuring coil, the sensor, and the signal processing device monolithically into a semiconductor chip. The measuring coil can then be produced with precisely specified, reproducible dimensions using semiconductor fabrication methods. The measuring coil can also be positioned very accurately relative to the sensor during the fabrication of the measuring device. In this way, the measuring device makes high measurement accuracy possible.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Hasebe, as taught by Janke, in order to make the semiconductor chip unit smaller and improve the measurement accuracy.
Regarding Claim 3: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device according to Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“further comprising: a situation value storage unit that stores the situation value for each type” (para 0005 – “The semiconductor chip performs processing in accordance with a pre-programmed procedure and transmits information, including ID information, to the reader/writer. Information from the semiconductor chip is returned to the reader/writer through the coil antenna. The reader/writer is connected to a large-size processing storage unit such as a server”).
Regarding Claim 6: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device according to Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“wherein the calculation unit calculates, from the measured value, the situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic and the situation value of a second type using a second calculation logic” (para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal (i.e. calculated situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic, added by examiner), modulation of a transmitted signal (i.e. calculated situation value of the second type using a second calculation logic, added by examiner), and conversion of clocks”).
Regarding Claim 7: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device according to Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“further comprising: a condition storage unit that stores condition information of the calculation logic to be used for the calculation, and wherein the calculation unit calculates the corresponding situation value according to a measurement logic that matches the condition information” (para 0005 – “The semiconductor chip performs processing in accordance with a pre-programmed procedure (i.e. condition, added by examiner) and transmits information, including ID information, to the reader/writer. Information from the semiconductor chip is returned to the reader/writer through the coil antenna. The reader/writer is connected to a large-size processing storage unit (i.e. condition storage unit, added by examiner) such as a server”).
Regarding Claim 8: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device according to Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“further comprising: a situation value receiving unit that receives the situation value of a first type transmitted by another information processing device” (Abstract – “there is provided a semiconductor chip having a coil antenna and a circuit surface and adapted to transmit and receive signals by radio to and from an external device”; Claim 10 – “A communication system comprising: the semiconductor chip recited in claim 1: and an external device adapted to transmit and receive signals by radio to and from the semiconductor chip.”),
“wherein the calculation unit calculates the situation value of a second type according to the calculation logic corresponding to the situation value of the second type, using the situation value of the first type calculated from the measured value by the first calculation logic corresponding to the first type and the situation value of the first type received from the other information processing device” (para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal (i.e. calculated situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic, added by examiner), modulation of a transmitted signal (i.e. calculated situation value of the second type using a second calculation logic, added by examiner), and conversion of clocks”).
Regarding Claim 9: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device according to Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“wherein the calculation unit calculates the situation value based on the measured value by the first calculation logic corresponding to a first calculation method for calculating the situation value from an instantaneous value of the measured value, and calculates the situation value by the second calculation logic corresponding to a second calculation method for calculating the situation value from time-series data of the measured value” (para 0074 – “The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer (i.e. calculation unit with all the claimed functions, added by examiner); para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal (i.e. calculated situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic, added by examiner), modulation of a transmitted signal (i.e. calculated situation value of the second type using a second calculation logic, added by examiner), and conversion of clocks”; Abstract – “there is provided a semiconductor chip having a coil antenna and a circuit surface and adapted to transmit and receive signals (i.e. acquires the measured value, and signal is a time-series data, added by examiner) by radio to and from an external device).
Regarding Claim 10: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device according to Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“further comprising: a condition storage unit that stores condition information of the calculation logic to be used for the calculation, wherein the calculation unit calculates the situation value by the corresponding calculation method according to the measurement logic that matches the condition information” (para 0005 – “The semiconductor chip performs processing in accordance with a pre-programmed procedure (i.e. condition, added by examiner) and transmits information, including ID information, to the reader/writer. Information from the semiconductor chip is returned to the reader/writer through the coil antenna. The reader/writer is connected to a large-size processing storage unit (i.e. condition storage unit, added by examiner) such as a server”).
Regarding Claim 11: Hasebe discloses:
“A measurement method by a sensor device provided with a processor having a memory and a sensor that is a coil” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5… The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer)”; para 0075 – “the alternate magnetic field 203 drives the sensor section 210 and stores detected signals in a memory provided within the control section”; Fig. 6; para 0047 – “FIG. 6 is a perspective view showing a semiconductor chip formed with a sensor and a coil antenna” (see applicant’s specification paras 0050 and 0061);
“wherein the memory stores at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of the plurality of types of situation values indicating a state pertaining to a situation in which the information processing device is located and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of the plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation value” (para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal (i.e. calculated situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic, added by examiner), modulation of a transmitted signal (i.e. calculated situation value of the second type using a second calculation logic, added by examiner), and conversion of clocks); para 0074 – “The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer (i.e. calculation unit with all the claimed functions, added by examiner); para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal (i.e. calculated situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic, added by examiner), modulation of a transmitted signal (i.e. calculated situation value of the second type using a second calculation logic, added by examiner), and conversion of clocks”);
“the method executed by the processor comprising: acquiring a measured value, using the sensor, according to the situation in which the information processing device is located” (Abstract – “there is provided a semiconductor chip having a coil antenna and a circuit surface and adapted to transmit and receive signals (i.e. acquires the measured value, added by examiner) by radio to and from an external device”);
“calculating a situation value from the measured value using the calculation logic corresponding to a set type” (para 0074 – “The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer (i.e. calculation unit with all the claimed functions, added by examiner)); and
“transmitting the situation value to an external party via the sensor and/or receiving information specifying the type from outside via the sensor” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5. A reader/writer 201 is disposed with respect to the semiconductor chip indicated at 100. The reader/writer 201 has the function of transmitting an alternate magnetic field to the semiconductor chip 100 having a sensor function and receiving a reply from the same chip”),
“wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value” (para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal, modulation of a transmitted signal, and conversion of clocks. In addition, the alternate magnetic field 203 drives the sensor section 210 and stores detected signals in a memory provided within the control section (i.e. measurement value, added by examiner). A detecting substance corresponding to an object of measurement is formed in the sensor section 210. The result of detection performed in accordance with the control section 209 is converted to an electric signal (i.e. calculating the situation value using the algorithm, added by examiner), which electric signal is then sent to the RF section 208 and is transmitted from the antenna section 207 by sub-carrier”);
“wherein the sensor that is the coil is used both to acquire the measured value and to transmit the situation value to the external party and/or receive the information specifying the type from outside” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5. A reader/writer 201 is disposed with respect to the semiconductor chip indicated at 100. The reader/writer 201 has the function of transmitting an alternate magnetic field to the semiconductor chip 100 having a sensor function and receiving a reply from the same chip”).
Hasebe does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the processor and the sensor that is the coil are inseparably mounted on a single semiconductor chip”.
However, Janke discloses:
“wherein the processor and the sensor that is the coil are inseparably mounted on a single semiconductor chip” (para 0004 – “This object is accomplished by integrating the measuring coil, the sensor, and the signal processing device monolithically into a semiconductor chip. The measuring coil can then be produced with precisely specified, reproducible dimensions using semiconductor fabrication methods. The measuring coil can also be positioned very accurately relative to the sensor during the fabrication of the measuring device. In this way, the measuring device makes high measurement accuracy possible.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Hasebe, as taught by Janke, in order to make the semiconductor chip unit smaller and improve the measurement accuracy.
Regarding Claim 12: Hasebe discloses:
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program for causing a processor, in a sensor device comprising the processor having a memory storing at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of a plurality of types of situation values and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of a plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation values; and a sensor that is a coil, to execute processing comprising” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5… The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer)”; para 0075 – “the alternate magnetic field 203 drives the sensor section 210 and stores detected signals in a memory provided within the control section”; Fig. 6; para 0047 – “FIG. 6 is a perspective view showing a semiconductor chip formed with a sensor and a coil antenna” (see applicant’s specification paras 0050 and 0061); para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal (i.e. calculated situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic, added by examiner), modulation of a transmitted signal (i.e. calculated situation value of the second type using a second calculation logic, added by examiner), and conversion of clocks); para 0074 – “The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer (i.e. calculation unit with all the claimed functions, added by examiner); para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal (i.e. calculated situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic, added by examiner), modulation of a transmitted signal (i.e. calculated situation value of the second type using a second calculation logic, added by examiner), and conversion of clocks”):
“acquiring, using the sensor, a measured value corresponding to the situation in which the information processing device is located” ” (Abstract – “there is provided a semiconductor chip having a coil antenna and a circuit surface and adapted to transmit and receive signals (i.e. acquires the measured value, added by examiner) by radio to and from an external device”);
“calculating a situation value from the measured value using the calculation logic corresponding to a set type” (para 0074 – “The reader/writer 201 is controlled by a controller 200 such as a PC (Personal Computer (i.e. calculation unit with all the claimed functions, added by examiner));
“transmitting the situation value to an external party via the sensor and/or receiving information specifying the type from outside via the sensor” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5. A reader/writer 201 is disposed with respect to the semiconductor chip indicated at 100. The reader/writer 201 has the function of transmitting an alternate magnetic field to the semiconductor chip 100 having a sensor function and receiving a reply from the same chip”),
“wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value” (para 0075 – “The alternate magnetic field 203 supplied through the antenna section 207 is extracted as electric power or a clock necessary for driving the semiconductor chip 100 and is used for demodulation of a received signal, modulation of a transmitted signal, and conversion of clocks. In addition, the alternate magnetic field 203 drives the sensor section 210 and stores detected signals in a memory provided within the control section (i.e. measurement value, added by examiner). A detecting substance corresponding to an object of measurement is formed in the sensor section 210. The result of detection performed in accordance with the control section 209 is converted to an electric signal (i.e. calculating the situation value using the algorithm, added by examiner), which electric signal is then sent to the RF section 208 and is transmitted from the antenna section 207 by sub-carrier”);
“wherein the sensor that is the coil is used both to acquire the measured value and to transmit the situation value to the external party and/or receive the information specifying the type from outside” (para 0074 – “The construction of a semiconductor chip having a sensor function according to a first embodiment is shown schematically in FIG. 5. A reader/writer 201 is disposed with respect to the semiconductor chip indicated at 100. The reader/writer 201 has the function of transmitting an alternate magnetic field to the semiconductor chip 100 having a sensor function and receiving a reply from the same chip”).
Hasebe does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the processor and the sensor that is the coil are inseparably mounted on a single semiconductor chip”.
However, Janke discloses:
“wherein the processor and the sensor that is the coil are inseparably mounted on a single semiconductor chip” (para 0004 – “This object is accomplished by integrating the measuring coil, the sensor, and the signal processing device monolithically into a semiconductor chip. The measuring coil can then be produced with precisely specified, reproducible dimensions using semiconductor fabrication methods. The measuring coil can also be positioned very accurately relative to the sensor during the fabrication of the measuring device. In this way, the measuring device makes high measurement accuracy possible.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Hasebe, as taught by Janke, in order to make the semiconductor chip unit smaller and improve the measurement accuracy.
Regarding Claim 13: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device according to Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“further comprising: a registration unit that accepts input of the type and the calculation logic from the outside via the sensor and that writes the accepted type and the calculation logic into the logic storage unit” (para 0005 – “The semiconductor chip performs processing in accordance with a pre-programmed procedure and transmits information, including ID information (i.e. accepts input, added by examiner), to the reader/writer. Information from the semiconductor chip is returned to the reader/writer through the coil antenna. The reader/writer is connected to a large-size processing storage unit such as a server”).
Regarding Claim 14: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the measurement method according to Claim 11.
Hasebe further discloses:
“further comprising: accepting input of the type and the calculation logic from the outside via the sensor and writing the accepted type and the calculation logic into the memory” (para 0005 – “The semiconductor chip performs processing in accordance with a pre-programmed procedure and transmits information, including ID information (i.e. accepts input, added by examiner), to the reader/writer. Information from the semiconductor chip is returned to the reader/writer through the coil antenna. The reader/writer is connected to a large-size processing storage unit such as a server”).
Regarding Claim 15: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to Claim 12.
Hasebe further discloses:
“further comprising: accepting input of the type and the calculation logic from the outside via the sensor and writing the accepted type and the calculation logic into the memory” (para 0005 – “The semiconductor chip performs processing in accordance with a pre-programmed procedure and transmits information, including ID information (i.e. accepts input, added by examiner), to the reader/writer. Information from the semiconductor chip is returned to the reader/writer through the coil antenna. The reader/writer is connected to a large-size processing storage unit such as a server”).
Regarding Claim 16: Hasebe/Janke combination discloses the sensor device of Claim 1.
Hasebe further discloses:
“the situation value is at least one of a temperature value, a vibration value, a pressure value, an electromagnetic wave value, a sound volume value, and a humidity value” (para 0093 – “ a sensor function for temperature, humidity, or light, as an object of measurement may be used. By bonding a magnetic material to the back side of the integrated circuit surface as in this embodiment, the semiconductor chip can be driven in a less expensive manner”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20130300401 to Krapf et al. (hereinafter Krapf) discloses Sensor Apparatus, in Particular Metal Sensor, with a Field-Compensated Magnetic Field Sensor.
US20090015242 to Bayer et al. (hereinafter Bayer) discloses Method to Test the Measurement Accuracy of At Least One Magnetic Field Sensor.
US20220260650 to Nagel et al. (hereinafter Nagel) discloses Magneto coupler for magnetic coupling of signal lines.
US20040225396 to Maeritz (hereinafter Maeritz) discloses Method, device, computer-readable memory and computer program element for the computer-aided monitoring and controlling of a manufacturing process.
/LYUDMILA ZAYKOVA-FELDMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/LINA CORDERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857