DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 10/17/2025, wherein Claims 1, 3, 6-13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 2 and 4-5 have been cancelled. Claims 16-17 are new. Claims 1, 3, and 6-17 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Examiner’s objections: Applicant’s arguments regarding Examiner’s objections were fully considered and found persuasive. Examiner’s objections are withdrawn.
Regarding 35 USC 101 rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-17 filed on 10/17/2025, were fully considered but found not persuasive.
Applicant states in page 7: “amended claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea. Rather, claim 1 is directed to a specific device with a novel hardware configuration. The novel hardware configuration, especially the sensor itself transmitting and/or receiving information, is a practical application of a technological improvement that further establishes that the sensor device is directed to patentable subject matter”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The “specific device” cited in the Remarks, is a well-known standard sensor with no “novel hardware configuration” and Claim 1 does not show any technological improvements. Any sensor transmits and/or receives the information, it is not a technological improvement.
Regarding 35 USC 102 rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-17 filed on 10/17/2025, were fully considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, and 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea as discussed below. This abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application for the reasons discussed below. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons discussed below.
Step 1 of the 2019 Guidance requires the examiner to determine if the claims are to one of the statutory categories of invention. Applied to the present application, the claims belong to one of the statutory classes of a process/product. The below claim is considered to be a statutory category (product).
Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance is divided into two Prongs. Prong 1 requires the
examiner to determine if the claims recite an abstract idea, and further requires that
the abstract idea belongs to one of three enumerated groupings: mathematical concepts, mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activity.
Independent Claim 1 is copied below, with the limitations belonging to an abstract idea highlighted in bold; the remaining limitations are ‘’additional elements’’.
A sensor device, comprising:
a processor having a memory;
a sensing unit;
an acquisition unit that acquires, using the sensor, a measured value corresponding to a situation in which the sensor device is located;
a logic storage unit that stores at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of situation values indicating a state pertaining to the situation and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation values;
a calculation unit that calculates the situation value from the measured value using the calculation logic corresponding to the set type; and
a transmission unit comprising the sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to transmit the situation value to an external party and/or receive information specifying the type from outside,
wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value.
Under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under the broadest reasonable interpretation and in light of the specification, it recites limitations that fall into abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter that when recited as such in a claim limitation covers mathematical processes (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations).
Steps of “a logic storage unit that stores at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of situation values indicating a state pertaining to the situation and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation values” and “a calculation unit that calculates the situation value from the measured value using the calculation logic corresponding to the set type”, and “wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value” are treated by the Examiner as belonging to mathematical process grouping.
Prong 2 of Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance requires the examiner to determine if the claims recite additional elements or a combination of additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. This requires additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the abstract idea in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the abstract idea.
In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
The additional elements: “a processor having a memory; a sensor; an acquisition unit that acquires, using the sensor, a measured value corresponding to a situation in which the sensor device is located”, and “a transmission unit comprising the sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to transmit the situation value to an external party and/or receive information specifying the type from outside”, add extra-solution activities (i.e., mere data gathering, source/type of data to be manipulated) using elements recited at a high level of generality (see MPEP 2106.05(g)); generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)); and add the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The preamble of Claim 1: “An sensor device” is a generically recited preamble.
Various considerations are used to determine whether the additional elements are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. In this particular case, the claim does not recite a particular machine applying or being used by the abstract idea. The claim does not effect a real-world transformation or reduction of any particular article to a different state or thing. (Manipulating data from one form to another or obtaining a mathematical answer using input data does not qualify as a transformation in the sense of Prong 2.) The claim does not contain additional elements which describe the functioning of a computer, or which describe a particular technology or technical field, being improved by the use of the abstract idea. (This is understood in the sense of the claimed invention from Diamond v Diehr, in which the claim as a whole recited a complete rubber-curing process including a rubber-molding press, a timer, a temperature sensor adjacent the mold cavity, and the steps of closing and opening the press, in which the recited use of a mathematical calculation served to improve that particular technology by providing a better estimate of the time when curing was complete. Here, the claim does not recite carrying out any comparable particular technological process).
Therefore, the claim is directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
Step 2B of the 2019 Guidance requires the examiner to determine whether the additional elements cause the claim to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The considerations for this particular claim are essentially the same as the considerations for Prong 2 of Step 2A, and the same analysis leads to the conclusion that the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Essentially, the above claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B analysis) because they are well-understood and conventional in the relevant art of US20060077048 to Saitou et al. (hereinafter Saitou).
Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Similar analysis has been applied to independent Claims 11 and 12. The independent claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, Claims 3, 6-10, and 13-17 merely add limitations which further detail the abstract idea, namely further mathematical steps detailing how the data processing algorithm is implemented, i.e. additional limitations corresponding to mathematical relationship grouping. These limitations do not help to integrate the claim into a practical application or make it significantly more than the abstract idea (which is recited in slightly more detail, but not in enough detail to be considered to narrow the claim to a particular practical application itself).
The dependent claims are, therefore, also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20060077048A1 to Saitou et al. (hereinafter Saitou) in view of US20130009763A1 to Koga (hereinafter Koga).
Regarding Claim 1: Saitou discloses:
“A sensor device, comprising: a processor having a memory; a sensor” (para 0012 – “a data communication apparatus (i.e. sensor device, added by examiner) has a processor… a pressure sensor … a memory… ”);
“an acquisition unit that acquires, using the sensor, a measured value corresponding to a situation in which the sensor device is located” (para 0028 – “The TPMS 10 includes tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d, sensor initiators 18 a to 18 d, a body-side module 22 and a display 25. .. Each of the tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d (i.e. an acquisition unit, added by examiner) includes several kinds of sensors, a transmission unit and a receiving unit. The sensors are used for detecting tire pressure, temperature (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) and so on.”; para 0032 – “When the car starts running (interpreted as one of the situations in which the sensor device is located, added by examiner), the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves ”);
“a logic storage unit that stores at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of situation values indicating a state pertaining to the situation and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to a plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation values” (para 0039 – “The microcomputer (processor) 8 (i.e. logic storage unit, added by examiner) is an integrated circuit in the semiconductor device 1. Based on the digital signals output from the AD converter 5, the microcomputer 8 calculates (i.e. using plurality of calculation logics, added by examiner; examiner implied that the calculation logic is the software module and the calculation logic used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature) through said transmission circuit to said data receiving apparatus) tire pressure, tire temperature, variation of the tire pressure (i.e. plurality of types of situation values, added by examiner) and so on (i.e. corresponding to a plurality of types of situation values, added by examiner); para 0032 – “When the car starts running (interpreted as indicating a state pertaining to the situation, added by examiner), the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves ”; examiner implied that the calculation logic, which is the software module, used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature);
“a calculation unit that calculates the situation value from the measured value using the calculation logic corresponding to the set type” (Claim 11 – “a processor (i.e. calculation unit, added by examiner); a pressure sensor measuring a tire pressure (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) of said vehicle; …wherein when receiving said AD converted value, said processor identifies a temperature of said pressure sensor based on an output of said temperature sensor, reads out an initial tire pressure value corresponding to said identified temperature from said table stored in said memory, calculates a variation between said initial tire pressure value and said AD converted value (i.e. calculates the situation value, added by examiner), and outputs said variation data indicative of said calculated variation (i.e. corresponding to the set type (pressure with pressure, temperature with temperature, and so on), added by examiner; examiner implied that the calculation logic, which is the software module, used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature) through said transmission circuit to said data receiving apparatus”; see also paras 0014 and 0015).
Saitou does not specifically disclose:
“a transmission unit comprising the sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to transmit the situation value to an external party and/or receive information specifying the type from outside, wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value”.
However, Koga discloses:
“a transmission unit comprising the sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to transmit the situation value to an external party and/or receive information specifying the type from outside” (para 0016 – “Referring to FIG. 1, a vehicle 1 includes a sensor unit 30 arranged in the valve of each tire. As shown by the enlarged section in the lower part of FIG. 1, the sensor unit 30 includes a pressure sensor 33, a temperature sensor 34, a central processing unit (CPU) 31, a transmission circuit 32, and a transmission antenna 32 a.”; para 0019 – “The CPU 31 generates an information signal including information related to the tire air pressure and tire temperature in fixed cycles and sends the information signal to the transmission circuit 32. The transmission circuit 32 modulates the information signal and transmits the modulated information signal from the transmission antenna 32 a”);
“wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value” (Claim 9 – “The controller according to claim 5, further comprising a memory that stores a second correction function, which is derived from the monitoring subject temperature and a tire air pressure target value for the monitoring subject temperature, wherein the control unit is configured to use the second correction function to calculate the tire air pressure correction value” (i.e. algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value, added by examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Saitou, as taught by Koga, in order to obtain more accurate data from the sensor calculating the situation values faster and more efficiently.
Regarding Claim 3: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou further discloses:
“further comprising: a situation value storage unit that stores situation value for each type” (para 0042 – “When the microcomputer 8 receives current pressure information (AD converted value) from the AD converter 5, the microcomputer 8 refers to the table 70 (i.e. situation value storage unit, added by examiner) stored in the memory 81. At this time, if an initial value is not stored in the table 70 (for example, see a row indicated by the temperature range “5 to 10” in FIG. 7), the microcomputer 8 stores the current pressure information as the initial value 72 in the table 70”).
Regarding Claim 6: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou further discloses:
“wherein the calculation unit calculates, from the measured value, the situation value of a first type using a first calculation logic and the situation value of a second type using the second calculation logic” (para 0051 – “According to the present embodiment, as described above, it is possible to detect the variation of the tire pressure accurately, even if characteristics of the pressure sensor depend on temperature and the sensor output varies in accordance with the temperature variation (i.e. situation value of the second type, added by examiner). It is possible to properly compare the pressure data stored as the initial pressure value and the current pressure value. It is thus possible to reduce the error of the sensor output caused by the temperature variation (interpreted as the second calculation logic, added by examiner). Also, in order to calculate the variation of the tire pressure precisely, it is necessary to consider that the air pressure inside the tire is changed in accordance with the temperature variation. According to the present embodiment, the initial pressure values associated with respective temperature ranges are prepared in advance, and the variation value (i.e. situation value of the first type, added by examiner ) is calculated by comparing the current pressure value and the initial pressure value corresponding to the current temperature (i.e. using the first calculation logic, added by examiner). Therefore, even if the air inside the tire expands in response to the temperature increase, the variation of the tire pressure can be calculated without a complex correction.”; Abstract – “a temperature sensor detecting a temperature of the sensor, and a memory storing a table which indicates a relationship between temperatures and initial values. When receiving the AD converted value, the processor identifies a temperature of the sensor based on an output of the temperature sensor, reads out an initial value corresponding to the identified temperature from the table, and calculates a variation between the initial value and the AD converted value”).
Regarding Claim 7: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou further discloses:
“further comprising: a condition storage unit that stores condition information of the calculation logic to be used for the calculation, and wherein the calculation unit calculates the corresponding situation value according to the measurement logic that matches the condition information” (para 0032 – “When the car starts running, the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves from the transmission units 16 a to 16 d of the tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d to the body-side module 22, respectively. Here, the data signals may be transmitted at a specific time interval or every time the change in the tire pressure or the tire temperature goes over a specified value (i.e. condition information, added by examiner). The data signals input to the body-side module 22 are processed through a predetermined computation (i.e. calculation logic, added by examiner) and are transmitted to the display 24 and the alarm unit 26 through the in-car LAN 20. Accordingly, information regarding the tire pressures and temperatures are notified to the driver.”; para 0042 – “A latest observed value 73 indicates the latest tire pressure value which is obtained by the tire pressure sensor 2 (i.e. measurement logic, added by examiner). When the microcomputer 8 receives current pressure information (AD converted value) from the AD converter 5, the microcomputer 8 refers to the table 70 stored in the memory 81 (i.e. condition storage unit, which is the part of the computer memory, added by examiner)”).
Regarding Claim 8: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou further discloses:
“further comprising: a situation value receiving unit that receives the situation value of a first type transmitted by another information processing device” (para 0042 – “When the microcomputer 8 (i.e. situation value receiving unit, added by examiner) receives current pressure information (AD converted value) from the AD converter 5 (i.e. another information processing device, added by examiner) , the microcomputer 8 refers to the table 70 stored in the memory 81. At this time, if an initial value is not stored in the table 70 (for example, see a row indicated by the temperature range “5 to 10” in FIG. 7), the microcomputer 8 stores the current pressure information as the initial value 72 in the table 70. A variation value 74 (i.e. situation value of the first type, added by examiner) indicates a difference between the initial value 72 and the latest observed value 73.”);
“wherein the calculation unit calculates the situation value of a second type according to the calculation logic corresponding to the situation value of the second type, using the situation value of the first type calculated from the measured value by the first calculation logic corresponding to the first type and the situation value of the first type received from the other information processing device” (para 0051 – “According to the present embodiment, as described above, it is possible to detect the variation of the tire pressure accurately, even if characteristics of the pressure sensor depend on temperature and the sensor output varies in accordance with the temperature variation (i.e. situation value of the second type, added by examiner). It is possible to properly compare the pressure data stored as the initial pressure value and the current pressure value. It is thus possible to reduce the error of the sensor output caused by the temperature variation (interpreted as the second calculation logic, added by examiner). Also, in order to calculate the variation of the tire pressure precisely, it is necessary to consider that the air pressure inside the tire is changed in accordance with the temperature variation. According to the present embodiment, the initial pressure values associated with respective temperature ranges are prepared in advance, and the variation value (i.e. situation value of the first type, added by examiner ) is calculated by comparing the current pressure value and the initial pressure value corresponding to the current temperature (i.e. using the first calculation logic, added by examiner). Therefore, even if the air inside the tire expands in response to the temperature increase, the variation of the tire pressure can be calculated without a complex correction.”; Abstract – “a temperature sensor detecting a temperature of the sensor, and a memory storing a table which indicates a relationship between temperatures and initial values. When receiving the AD converted value (received from the other information processing device, added by examiner), the processor identifies a temperature of the sensor based on an output of the temperature sensor, reads out an initial value corresponding to the identified temperature from the table, and calculates a variation between the initial value and the AD converted value”).
Regarding Claim 9: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou further discloses:
“wherein the calculation unit calculates the situation value based on the measured value by the first calculation logic” (Claim 11 – “a processor (i.e. calculation unit, added by examiner); a pressure sensor measuring a tire pressure (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) of said vehicle; …wherein when receiving said AD converted value, said processor identifies a temperature of said pressure sensor based on an output of said temperature sensor, reads out an initial tire pressure value corresponding to said identified temperature from said table stored in said memory, calculates a variation between said initial tire pressure value and said AD converted value (i.e. calculates the situation value, added by examiner), and outputs said variation data indicative of said calculated variation (examiner implied that the calculation logic, which is the software module, is used to calculate the pressure”; see also paras 0014 and 0015);
“corresponding to a first calculation method for calculating the situation value from an instantaneous value of the measured value” (Abstract – “a temperature sensor detecting a temperature of the sensor, and a memory storing a table which indicates a relationship between temperatures and initial values. When receiving the AD converted value, the processor identifies a temperature of the sensor based on an output of the temperature sensor, reads out an initial value (i.e. instantaneous value of the measured value, added by examiner) corresponding to the identified temperature from the table, and calculates a variation between the initial value and the AD converted value”), and
“calculates the situation value by the second calculation logic corresponding to a second calculation method for calculating the situation value from time-series data of the measured value” (para 0051 – “According to the present embodiment, as described above, it is possible to detect the variation of the tire pressure accurately, even if characteristics of the pressure sensor depend on temperature and the sensor output varies in accordance with the temperature variation (i.e. situation value of the second type, added by examiner). It is possible to properly compare the pressure data stored as the initial pressure value and the current pressure value. It is thus possible to reduce the error of the sensor output caused by the temperature variation (interpreted as the second calculation logic, added by examiner). Also, in order to calculate the variation of the tire pressure precisely, it is necessary to consider that the air pressure inside the tire is changed in accordance with the temperature variation (i.e. the data used is the time-series data, added by examiner). According to the present embodiment, the initial pressure values associated with respective temperature ranges are prepared in advance, and the variation value (i.e. situation value of the first type, added by examiner ) is calculated by comparing the current pressure value and the initial pressure value corresponding to the current temperature (i.e. using the first calculation logic, added by examiner). Therefore, even if the air inside the tire expands in response to the temperature increase, the variation of the tire pressure can be calculated without a complex correction.”).
Regarding Claim 10: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou further discloses:
“further comprising: a condition storage unit that stores condition information of the calculation logic to be used for the calculation” (para 0032 – “When the car starts running, the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves from the transmission units 16 a to 16 d of the tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d to the body-side module 22, respectively. Here, the data signals may be transmitted at a specific time interval or every time the change in the tire pressure or the tire temperature goes over a specified value (i.e. condition information, added by examiner). The data signals input to the body-side module 22 are processed through a predetermined computation (i.e. calculation logic, added by examiner) and are transmitted to the display 24 and the alarm unit 26 through the in-car LAN 20.”; para 0042 – “A latest observed value 73 indicates the latest tire pressure value which is obtained by the tire pressure sensor 2 (i.e. measurement logic, added by examiner). When the microcomputer 8 receives current pressure information (AD converted value) from the AD converter 5, the microcomputer 8 refers to the table 70 stored in the memory 81 (i.e. condition storage unit, which is the part of the computer memory, added by examiner)”;
“wherein the calculation unit calculates the situation value by the corresponding calculation method according to the measurement logic that matches the condition information” Claim 1 – “wherein when receiving said AD converted value, said processor (i.e. calculation unit, added by examiner) identifies a temperature of said sensor based on an output of said temperature sensor, reads out an initial value corresponding to said identified temperature from said table stored in said memory, and calculates (i.e. using the corresponding calculation method according to the measurement logic, added by examiner) a variation (i.e. situation value, added by examiner) between said initial value and said AD converted value.”).
Regarding Claim 11: Saitou discloses:
“A measurement method by a sensor device” (Claim 16 – “A method of detecting a variation of tire pressure”)
“provided with a processor having a memory and a sensor” (para 0012 – “a data communication apparatus (i.e. information processing device, added by examiner) has a processor… a pressure sensor… a memory… ”);
“wherein the memory stores at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of the plurality of types of situation values indicating a state pertaining to a situation in which the information processing device is located and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of the plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation value” (para 0039 – “The microcomputer (processor) 8 (i.e. logic storage unit, added by examiner) is an integrated circuit in the semiconductor device 1. Based on the digital signals output from the AD converter 5, the microcomputer 8 calculates (i.e. using plurality of calculation logics, added by examiner; examiner implied that the calculation logic is the software module and the calculation logic used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature) through said transmission circuit to said data receiving apparatus) tire pressure, tire temperature, variation of the tire pressure (i.e. plurality of types of situation values, added by examiner) and so on (i.e. corresponding to a plurality of types of situation values, added by examiner); para 0032 – “When the car starts running (interpreted as indicating a state pertaining to the situation, added by examiner), the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves ”; examiner implied that the calculation logic, which is the software module, used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature);
“the method executed by the processor comprising: acquiring a measured value, using the sensor, according to the situation in which the information processing device is located” (para 0028 – “The TPMS 10 includes tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d, sensor initiators 18 a to 18 d, a body-side module 22 and a display 25. .. Each of the tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d (i.e. an acquisition unit, added by examiner) includes several kinds of sensors, a transmission unit and a receiving unit. The sensors (i.e. sensing unit, added by examiner) are used for detecting tire pressure, temperature (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) and so on.”; para 0032 – “When the car starts running (interpreted as one of the situations in which the information processing device is located, added by examiner), the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves ”);
“calculating a situation value from the measured value using the calculation logic corresponding to a set type” (Claim 11 – “a processor (i.e. calculation unit, added by examiner); a pressure sensor measuring a tire pressure (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) of said vehicle; …wherein when receiving said AD converted value, said processor identifies a temperature of said pressure sensor based on an output of said temperature sensor, reads out an initial tire pressure value corresponding to said identified temperature from said table stored in said memory, calculates a variation between said initial tire pressure value and said AD converted value (i.e. calculates the situation value, added by examiner), and outputs said variation data indicative of said calculated variation (i.e. corresponding to the set type (pressure with pressure, temperature with temperature, and so on), added by examiner; examiner implied that the calculation logic, which is the software module, used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature) through said transmission circuit to said data receiving apparatus”; see also paras 0014 and 0015).
Saitou does not explicitly disclose:
“transmitting the situation value to an external party via the sensor and/or receiving information specifying the type from outside via the sensor, wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value”.
However, Koga discloses:
“transmitting the situation value to an external party via the sensor and/or receiving information specifying the type from outside via the sensor” (para 0016 – “Referring to FIG. 1, a vehicle 1 includes a sensor unit 30 arranged in the valve of each tire. As shown by the enlarged section in the lower part of FIG. 1, the sensor unit 30 includes a pressure sensor 33, a temperature sensor 34, a central processing unit (CPU) 31, a transmission circuit 32, and a transmission antenna 32 a.”; para 0019 – “The CPU 31 generates an information signal including information related to the tire air pressure and tire temperature in fixed cycles and sends the information signal to the transmission circuit 32. The transmission circuit 32 modulates the information signal and transmits the modulated information signal from the transmission antenna 32 a”);
“wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value” (Claim 9 – “The controller according to claim 5, further comprising a memory that stores a second correction function, which is derived from the monitoring subject temperature and a tire air pressure target value for the monitoring subject temperature, wherein the control unit is configured to use the second correction function to calculate the tire air pressure correction value” (i.e. algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value, added by examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Saitou, as taught by Koga, in order to obtain more accurate data from the sensor calculating the situation values faster and more efficiently.
Regarding Claim 12: Saitou discloses:
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program for causing a processor, in a sensor device comprising the processor having a memory” (para 0012 – “a data communication apparatus (i.e. information processing device, added by examiner) has a processor… a pressure sensor … a memory… ”);
“storing at least one of a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of a plurality of types of situation values and a plurality of calculation logics corresponding to each of a plurality of types of calculation methods for the situation values” (para 0039 – “The microcomputer (processor) 8 (i.e. logic storage unit, added by examiner) is an integrated circuit in the semiconductor device 1. Based on the digital signals output from the AD converter 5, the microcomputer 8 calculates (i.e. using plurality of calculation logics, added by examiner; examiner implied that the calculation logic is the software module and the calculation logic used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature) through said transmission circuit to said data receiving apparatus) tire pressure, tire temperature, variation of the tire pressure (i.e. plurality of types of situation values, added by examiner) and so on (i.e. corresponding to a plurality of types of situation values, added by examiner); para 0032 – “When the car starts running (interpreted as indicating a state pertaining to the situation, added by examiner), the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves ”; examiner implied that the calculation logic, which is the software module, used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature); and
“a sensor” (para 0012 – “a data communication apparatus has a processor, a pressure sensor, an AD converter converting a signal voltage output from the pressure sensor to generate an AD converted value and outputting the AD converted value to the processor, a temperature sensor detecting a temperature of the pressure sensor”);
“to execute processing comprising: acquiring, using the sensor, a measured value corresponding to the situation in which the information processing device is located” (para 0028 – “The TPMS 10 includes tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d, sensor initiators 18 a to 18 d, a body-side module 22 and a display 25. .. Each of the tire-side modules 15 a to 15 d (i.e. an acquisition unit, added by examiner) includes several kinds of sensors, a transmission unit and a receiving unit. The sensors (i.e. sensing unit, added by examiner) are used for detecting tire pressure, temperature (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) and so on.”; para 0032 – “When the car starts running (interpreted as one of the situations in which the information processing device is located, added by examiner), the running of the car is detected by a motion sensor (not shown) mounted in the tire. The data signals indicative of the tire pressures and temperatures obtained by the pneumatic sensors 2 a to 2 d and the temperature sensors 3 a to 3 d are transmitted on the RF radio waves ”);
“calculating a situation value from the measured value using the calculation logic corresponding to a set type” (Claim 11 – “a processor (i.e. calculation unit, added by examiner); a pressure sensor measuring a tire pressure (i.e. measured value, added by examiner) of said vehicle; …wherein when receiving said AD converted value, said processor identifies a temperature of said pressure sensor based on an output of said temperature sensor, reads out an initial tire pressure value corresponding to said identified temperature from said table stored in said memory, calculates a variation between said initial tire pressure value and said AD converted value (i.e. calculates the situation value, added by examiner), and outputs said variation data indicative of said calculated variation (i.e. corresponding to the set type (pressure with pressure, temperature with temperature, and so on), added by examiner; examiner implied that the calculation logic, which is the software module, used to calculate the pressure, is different from the calculation logic, used to calculate the temperature) through said transmission circuit to said data receiving apparatus”; see also paras 0014 and 0015).
Saitou does not explicitly disclose:
“transmitting the situation value to an external party via the sensor and/or receiving information specifying the type from outside via the sensor, wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value”.
However, Koga discloses:
“transmitting the situation value to an external party via the sensor and/or receiving information specifying the type from outside via the sensor” (para 0016 – “Referring to FIG. 1, a vehicle 1 includes a sensor unit 30 arranged in the valve of each tire. As shown by the enlarged section in the lower part of FIG. 1, the sensor unit 30 includes a pressure sensor 33, a temperature sensor 34, a central processing unit (CPU) 31, a transmission circuit 32, and a transmission antenna 32 a.”; para 0019 – “The CPU 31 generates an information signal including information related to the tire air pressure and tire temperature in fixed cycles and sends the information signal to the transmission circuit 32. The transmission circuit 32 modulates the information signal and transmits the modulated information signal from the transmission antenna 32 a”);
“wherein each calculation logic includes an algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value” (Claim 9 – “The controller according to claim 5, further comprising a memory that stores a second correction function, which is derived from the monitoring subject temperature and a tire air pressure target value for the monitoring subject temperature, wherein the control unit is configured to use the second correction function to calculate the tire air pressure correction value” (i.e. algorithm for calculating the situation value based on the measurement value, added by examiner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Saitou, as taught by Koga, in order to obtain more accurate data from the sensor calculating the situation values faster and more efficiently.
Regarding Claim 13: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou further discloses:
“further comprising: a registration unit that accepts input of the type and the calculation logic from the outside via the sensor and for that writes the accepted type and the calculation logic into the logic storage unit” (para 0046 – “the microcomputer 8 (interpreted as the registration unit, added by examiner) receives the pressure data (AD converted value) (i.e. accepts input of the type, the type being pressure, added by examiner) supplied from the AD converter 5 (i.e. from outside, added by examiner). On the basis of the pressure data received at the Step S103, the microcomputer 8 identifies a current tire pressure value (using the calculation logic specific for the pressure, added by examiner) (Step S104). Also, the microcomputer 8 identifies a current tire temperature (current pressure sensor temperature) when receiving the pressure data (Step S105)”; para 0047 – “At the step S106, the microcomputer 8 specifies one temperature range 71 corresponding to the current temperature identified at the Step S105 with reference to the table 70. Then, the microcomputer 8 determines whether or not an initial value 72 corresponding to the specified temperature range 71 (current temperature) is already recorded on the table 70. If the initial value 72 corresponding to the specified temperature range 71 (current temperature) is not recorded on the table 70, the operation proceeds to a Step S107. At the Step S107, the microcomputer 8 adds the current pressure value (i.e. writes the accepted type, added by examiner) as the corresponding initial value 72 to the table 70 (i.e. writing into the logic storage unit, added by examiner)”.).
Regarding Claim 14: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 9.
Saitou further discloses:
“further comprising: accepting input of the type and the calculation logic from the outside via the sensor and writing the accepted type and the calculation logic into the memory” (para 0046 – “the microcomputer 8 receives the pressure data (AD converted value) (i.e. accepts input of the type, the type being pressure, added by examiner) supplied from the AD converter 5 (i.e. from outside, added by examiner). On the basis of the pressure data received at the Step S103, the microcomputer 8 identifies a current tire pressure value (using the calculation logic specific for the pressure, added by examiner) (Step S104). Also, the microcomputer 8 identifies a current tire temperature (current pressure sensor temperature) when receiving the pressure data (Step S105)”; para 0047 – “At the step S106, the microcomputer 8 specifies one temperature range 71 corresponding to the current temperature identified at the Step S105 with reference to the table 70. Then, the microcomputer 8 determines whether or not an initial value 72 corresponding to the specified temperature range 71 (current temperature) is already recorded on the table 70. If the initial value 72 corresponding to the specified temperature range 71 (current temperature) is not recorded on the table 70, the operation proceeds to a Step S107. At the Step S107, the microcomputer 8 adds the current pressure value (i.e. writes the accepted type, added by examiner) as the corresponding initial value 72 to the table 70 (i.e. writing into the logic storage unit, added by examiner)”.).
Regarding Claim 15: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 11.
Saitou further discloses:
“wherein the processing further comprises: accepting input of the type and the calculation logic from the outside via the sensor and writing the accepted type and the calculation logic into the memory” (para 0046 – “the microcomputer 8 receives the pressure data (AD converted value) (i.e. accepts input of the type, the type being pressure, added by examiner) supplied from the AD converter 5 (i.e. from outside, added by examiner). On the basis of the pressure data received at the Step S103, the microcomputer 8 identifies a current tire pressure value (using the calculation logic specific for the pressure, added by examiner) (Step S104). Also, the microcomputer 8 identifies a current tire temperature (current pressure sensor temperature) when receiving the pressure data (Step S105)”; para 0047 – “At the step S106, the microcomputer 8 specifies one temperature range 71 corresponding to the current temperature identified at the Step S105 with reference to the table 70. Then, the microcomputer 8 determines whether or not an initial value 72 corresponding to the specified temperature range 71 (current temperature) is already recorded on the table 70. If the initial value 72 corresponding to the specified temperature range 71 (current temperature) is not recorded on the table 70, the operation proceeds to a Step S107. At the Step S107, the microcomputer 8 adds the current pressure value (i.e. writes the accepted type, added by examiner) as the corresponding initial value 72 to the table 70 (i.e. writing into the logic storage unit, added by examiner)”.).
Regarding Claim 16: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou does not explicitly disclose:
“wherein the situation value is at least one of a temperature value, a vibration value, a pressure value, an electromagnetic wave value, a sound volume value, and a humidity value”.
However, Koga discloses:
“wherein the situation value is at least one of a temperature value, a vibration value, a pressure value, an electromagnetic wave value, a sound volume value, and a humidity value” (Claim 1 – “the tire pressure monitoring system includes a sensor unit arranged in each tire, the controller comprising a control unit that receives an information signal related to tire air pressure and tire temperature from the sensor unit (i.e. situation values, added by examiner)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Saitou, as taught by Koga, in order to provide more accurate and up-to-date information about the state of the system where the sensor is located.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saitou in view of Koga and in further view of US20100134123 to Nopper et al. (hereinafter Nopper).
Regarding Claim 17: Saitou/Koga combination discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Saitou does not explicitly disclose:
“wherein the sensor comprises a coil”.
However, Nopper discloses:
“wherein the sensor comprises a coil” (para 0026 – “the pressure element for the pressure measurement, and a sensor unit which is made up, in this instance, essentially of a sensor coil 2 wound onto deformation element 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, disclosed by Saitou/Koga combination, as taught by Nopper, in order to provide better communication between the senor and the receiving circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20170089772 to Giessibl (hereinafter Giessibl) discloses Sensor Device Including a Carrier.
US7146861 to Cook et al. (hereinafter Cook) discloses Disposable and trimmable wireless pressure sensor.
US20100132473 to Willcox et al. (hereinafter Willcox) discloses Method and apparatus for pressure measurement using magnetic property.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYUDMILA ZAYKOVA-FELDMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/LINA CORDERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857