DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Applicant's amendment of claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, and 21 in “Claims -04/03/2026” with “Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Non-Final Reject - 04/03/2026”, have been acknowledged by Examiner.
This office action considers claims 1-15 and 21-25 pending for prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1-5, 9-15, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nashida et al. (US 20170018524 A1; hereinafter Nashida).
Regarding claim 1, Nashida teaches a power module (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1; [0005+], and as cited below), wherein the power module comprises
a power assembly ({11, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and a drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c),
the power assembly ({11, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) comprises a substrate ({11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), a power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]), and a package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) is disposed on a mounting surface (top surface of {11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) of the substrate ({11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]),
the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) packages the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) on the substrate ({11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]),
the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is disposed in the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and is located on a side of the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) that is facing away from the mounting surface (top surface of {11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), and
the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is electrically connected to the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Nashida further teaches wherein in a direction perpendicular to the mounting surface (top surface of {11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), a distance between the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) and the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) is less than a distance between the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) and a surface of the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) that is facing away from the mounting surface (top surface of {11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Nashida further teaches wherein the power assembly ({11, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) further comprises a pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]), the pin penetrates the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) and a part of the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), one end of the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]) is disposed on the mounting surface (top surface of 11) and is electrically connected to the power chip (12), and the other end of the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]) is exposed from the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Nashida further teaches wherein the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is electrically connected to the power chip (12) through the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Nashida further teaches wherein the power module (see Fig. 1) further comprises a conductor (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]), the conductor is located between the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0021-0026]) and the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026]), and the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0021-0026]) is connected to the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0021-0026]) through the conductor (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Nashida further teaches wherein the power module (see Fig. 1) further comprises a package housing (24; Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1; [0033]), the power assembly ({11, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) are accommodated in the package housing (24; Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1; [0033]), an end, of the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]), that is facing away from the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0024]) extends out of the package housing (24; Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1; [0033]), and the package body (16; Fig. 1; [0021-0026]) is injected into a gap in the package housing (24; Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1; [0033]) by using a housing packaging process.
In reference to the language in claim 9 referring to the package body is injected into a gap in the package housing by using a housing packaging process, it is important to note that “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Accordingly the limitation "the display module is configured to be torn along the dotted area when a force is applied thereto" is not patentable over prior art as the structure of the prior art cannot be differentiate from the structural limitation as claimed.
Therefore, in reference to the language in claim 9 referring to the surface layer being formed by annealing in a nitrogen atmosphere with the surface of the gate insulating film exposed after the film formation, it is noted that Nashida teaches all the structural elements in claim 9 according to the instant invention and that the package body is injected into a gap in the package housing by using a housing packaging process does not affect the structure of the final device.
Regarding claim 10, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Nashida further teaches wherein the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) and the power assembly ({11, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) constitute a packaged structure, a surface of the substrate ({11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) that is facing away from the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]) is a rear surface (bottom surface of {11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]),
the rear surface (bottom surface of {11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) is exposed from the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), the power module further comprises a heat sink ({21}; Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1; see [0030-0031]), and the heat sink ({21}; Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1; see [0030-0031]) is fastened to the packaged structure and is in contact with the rear surface (bottom surface of {11}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 10.
Nashida further teaches wherein the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) comprises a center region (center region of 14; see Fig. 1, Fig. 2) and an edge region (edge region of 14; see Fig. 1, Fig. 2) surrounding the center region (center region of 14; see Fig. 1, Fig. 2), the center region (center region of 14; see Fig. 1, Fig. 2) is arranged opposite to the power assembly (see Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1), the packaged structure comprises a mounting hole (see Fig. 2; [0029-0033]), the mounting hole (see Fig. 2; [0029-0033]) is located in the edge region (edge region of 14; see Fig. 1, Fig. 2) and penetrates the drive board ({14}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]) and the package body in a direction from the drive board ({14}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]) to the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]), and the heat sink ({21}; Fig. 2 in view of Fig. 1; see [0030-0031]) is connected to the packaged structure through the mounting hole (see Fig. 2; [0029-0033]).
Regarding claim 12, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 11.
Nashida further teaches wherein a surface of the edge region (edge region of 14; see Fig. 1, Fig. 2) that is facing away from the power chip (12) is exposed from the package body ({16}; Fig. 1, Fig. 2; see [0021-0023]), so that a screw (see Fig. 2; [0029-0033]) is fastened through the surface of the edge region (edge region of 14; see Fig. 1, Fig. 2) that is facing away from the power chip {12}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Nashida further teaches wherein there are two power assemblies (multiple occurrences of 12; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]), mounting surfaces of the two power assemblies (multiple occurrences of 12; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) are arranged opposite to each other and are electrically connected to each other, package bodies (16; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) of the two power assemblies (multiple occurrences of 12; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) are connected, and the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is disposed between the two power assemblies (multiple occurrences of 12; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) and is electrically connected to at least one power assembly (multiple occurrences of 12; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Nashida teaches a converter (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1; [0005+], and as cited below), wherein the converter comprises
a circuit board (11c; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and a power module ({13a, 12, 16, 14}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) electrically connected to the circuit board (11c; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), wherein the power module ({13a, 12, 16, 14}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) comprises:
a power assembly ({13a, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and a drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c ),
the power assembly ({13a, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) comprises a substrate ({13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), a power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]), and a package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) is disposed on a mounting surface (top surface of {13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) of the substrate ({13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]),
the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) packages the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) on the substrate ({13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]),
the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is disposed in the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and is located on a side of the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) that is facing away from the mounting surface (top surface of {13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), and
the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is electrically connected to the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Nashida teaches an electronic device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1; [Abstract, 0003, 0005], and as cited below), wherein the electronic device comprises a converter (Fig. 1; [0005, 0021-0026]) configured to convert an electrical signal of the electronic device, and the converter (Fig. 1; [0005, 0021-0026]) comprises:
a circuit board (11c; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and a power module ({13a, 12, 16, 14}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) electrically connected to the circuit board (11c; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), wherein the power module ({13a, 12, 16, 14}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0026]) comprises:
a power assembly ({13a, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and a drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c ),
the power assembly ({13a, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) comprises a substrate ({13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), a power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0005, 0021-0023]), and a package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) is disposed on a mounting surface (top surface of {13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) of the substrate ({13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]),
the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) packages the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) on the substrate ({13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]),
the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is disposed in the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) and is located on a side of the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) that is facing away from the mounting surface (top surface of {13a }; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), and
the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is electrically connected to the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 21, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 14.
Nashida further teaches wherein in a direction perpendicular to the mounting surface (top surface of {13a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), a distance between the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) and the power chip ({12}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) is less than a distance between the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) and a surface of the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) that is facing away from the mounting surface (top surface of {13a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 22, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 14.
Nashida further teaches wherein the power assembly ({13a, 12, 16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]) further comprises a pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]), the pin penetrates the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) and a part of the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]), one end of the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]) is disposed on the mounting surface (top surface of 13a) and is electrically connected to the power chip (12), and the other end of the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]) is exposed from the package body ({16}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 23, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 22.
Nashida further teaches wherein the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026], where 14 comprises of circuit layers 14b, 14c, where a control signal is inputted from the outside to each control terminal 15a and is outputted to the semiconductor element 12 via the circuit layers 14b and 14c) is electrically connected to the power chip (12) through the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]).
Regarding claim 24, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 22.
Nashida further teaches wherein the power module (see Fig. 1) further comprises a conductor (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]), the conductor is located between the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0021-0026]) and the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024-0026]), and the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0021-0026]) is connected to the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0021-0026]) through the conductor (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
3. Claims 6-8 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Nashida et al. (US 20170018524 A1; hereinafter Nashida), in view of the following statement.
Regarding claim 6, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 5.
Nashida further teaches wherein the conductor (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) is a (see below for “copper”) rod, and two ends of the (see below for “copper”) rod (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) are respectively electrically connected to the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0024]) and the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024]).
As noted above, Nashida does not expressly disclose “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board”.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “w wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Instead, Claim 7 of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board”. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board”. Thus, the claimed “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is not critical to the invention.
Examiner would like to note that MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline, where change of shape is a Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious as per MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is not patentable over Nashida.
Regarding claim 7, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 5.
Nashida further teaches wherein the conductor (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) is a (see below for “lead”) frame (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]), the (see below for “lead”) frame (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) comprises a first terminal (bottom of 14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) and a second terminal (top of 14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) that are connected to each other, the first terminal (bottom of 14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) is electrically connected to the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0024]), and the second terminal (top of 14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) is electrically connected to the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024]).
As noted above, Nashida does not expressly disclose “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board”.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Instead, Claim 6 of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board”. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board”. Thus, the claimed “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board” is not critical to the invention.
Examiner would like to note that MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline, where change of shape is a Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious as per MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board” is not patentable over Nashida.
Regarding claim 8, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 7.
Nashida further teaches wherein the (see above for “lead”) frame (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) further comprises a third terminal (13b; Fig. 1; [0027]) electrically connected to the first terminal (bottom of 14d; Fig. 1; [0024]), and the third terminal (13b; Fig. 1; [0027]) is electrically connected to the pin ({15a}; Fig. 1; see [0021-0025]).
Regarding claim 25, Nashida teaches all of the features of claim 24.
Nashida further teaches wherein the conductor (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) is a (see below for “copper”) rod, and two ends of the (see below for “copper”) rod (14d; Fig. 1; [0024]) are respectively electrically connected to the power chip (12; Fig. 1; [0024]) and the drive board (14; Fig. 1; [0024]).
As noted above, Nashida does not expressly disclose “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board”.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “w wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Instead, Claim 7 of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “wherein the conductor is a lead frame, the lead frame comprises a first terminal and a second terminal that are connected to each other, the first terminal is electrically connected to the power chip, and the second terminal is electrically connected to the drive board”. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board”. Thus, the claimed “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is not critical to the invention.
Examiner would like to note that MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline, where change of shape is a Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious as per MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein the conductor is a copper rod, and two ends of the copper rod are respectively electrically connected to the power chip and the drive board” is not patentable over Nashida.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” on 04/03/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, because of the following: the Applicant's amendment of claim 1 necessitated the shift in new grounds of rejection detailed in sections above. The shift in grounds of rejection renders the Applicant's arguments moot.
Please see the analysis of rejection for claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898