DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Singh (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0129939).
Regarding claim 1, 8, 15, Singh discloses a trailer tow assist system for assisting in rearward maneuvering of a trailer attached to a vehicle, the trailer tow assist system comprising:
a rear video camera (9, 10, 11) for providing a rearward image of the trailer and surroundings; a steering wheel position controller for controlling steering of the vehicle; and an electronic tow assist unit including an electronic processor and a memory, the electronic tow assist unit configured to:
receive, from a user, an input a target location (¶56 discloses reversing into a parking destination), the path including a sequence of waypoints (each point along the path can be construed as a waypoint ¶69 discloses using the cameras to monitor position along the route. And ¶24 and 83 discuss dynamically changing the route as the maneuver is being performed. ¶79 discloses the calculation of waypoints and confirmation of those points achieving the desired results), each waypoint including a respective set of x-y coordinates (however labeled these points are along a path with a horizontal and vertical component) and orientation information associated with the vehicle and the trailer;
determine a trailer angle for the trailer relative to the vehicle based upon video data received from the rear video camera (¶79 is disclosing the calculations of the trailer angle along the path, ¶80 discloses that this allows for calculation of the hitch angle, ¶84);
select a target waypoint positioned along the reverse direction path (¶79-84 disclose how the path is segmented) from the sequence of waypoints;
determine an offset (¶33-34) between a current position and orientation of the trailer and a target position and orientation of the trailer associated with the target waypoint;
determine a target trailer angle needed to maneuver the trailer to the target waypoint, the target trailer angle determined based on the offset between the current position and orientation of the trailer and the target position and orientation of the trailer (¶79);
determine an offset between the trailer angle and the target trailer angle (¶79);
determine a steering angle based on the offset between the trailer angle and the target trailer angle (¶63, ¶65, ¶79, ¶85, ¶86); and
control, via the steering wheel position controller, steering of the vehicle based on the steering angle while the vehicle moves backwards (¶102-103).
Singh does not disclose that the input is defining a path to a target location.
Lavoie, which deals in autonomous parking, teaches that the input is defining a path to a target location (col. 6, line 66 – col. 7, line 30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Singh with the drawing of the path of Lavoie because to allow for more parking options (col. 2, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 2 and 9 which depends from claim 1 and 8 respectively, Singh discloses wherein the electronic tow assist unit is further configured to: determine an updated position of the vehicle and the trailer; stop maneuvering the trailer when the updated position of the vehicle and the trailer is the final position of the vehicle and the trailer; and responsive to determining that the updated position of the vehicle and the trailer is not the final position of the vehicle and the trailer, determine an updated trailer angle and select a new target waypoint positioned along the reverse direction path (fig. 5 shows determining the path and ¶102 discloses updating the angles and adjusting the steering control).
Regarding claim 3 and 10 which depends from claim 1 and 8 respectively, Singh discloses further comprising an input device configured to receive the input from a user (¶66-67).
Regarding claim 4 and 11 which depends from claim 3 and 10 respectively, Singh discloses wherein the input device is further configured to receive an input of the final position of the vehicle and the trailer from a user (¶66-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 and 8 that the Singh reference fails to disclose x-y coordinates of the waypoints. Paragraph 79 discusses “interval distance” and “calculating points” that can be construed as waypoints, and however labeled would include horizontal and vertical components to the information.
Where applicant argues for the amendments made to the claims they have been addressed above.
Conclusion
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747