DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/25/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and made of record.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant' s response filed on 01/21/2026. No claims have been amended. No claims have been added or canceled. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7 of the remarks document, filed 01/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 14 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claims 1, 14 and 16 are made over (US 20200194396 A1) “UZOH et al.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 12-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 20200194396 A1) “UZOH et al.”.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 discloses an element 102” having a contact surface (“the surface 108” ¶ [0056]), the element comprising:
a non-conductive region 106 (“the insulating layer 106” ¶ [0056]) having a cavity 202 (“one or more trenches or cavities 202 are formed in the surface 108 of the insulating layer 106 of the die 102″” ¶ [0056]) extending at least partially through a thickness of the non-conductive region 106 from the contact surface 108; and
a contact pad 110” (“conductive features 110″” ¶ [0054]) formed in the cavity 202, the contact pad 110” including a first conductive material 206 (“conductive layer 206 may comprise copper or a copper alloy” ¶ [0057]; “the alloying element may comprise, for example … zinc, amongst other elements.” ¶ [0062]) and a second conductive material 402 (“a second conductive layer 402” ¶ [0059]), the first conductive material 206 having a unit cell size greater (Zinc unit cell size is inherently greater than Copper unit cell size) than a unit cell size of the second conductive material 402 (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]), the first conductive material being a metal alloying material (“conductive layer 206 may comprise copper or a copper alloy” ¶ [0057]; “the alloying element may comprise, for example … zinc, amongst other elements.” ¶ [0062]),
wherein the non-conductive region 106 is configured to directly bond to a non- conductive region 106 of a second element 102’’, and the contact pad 110” of the element 102” is configured to directly bond to a contact pad of the second element 102” (“Forming a bonding surface 108 includes finishing the surface 108 to meet insulating layer 106 roughness specifications and metallic layer (e.g., conductive features 110″) recess specifications (if specified), to prepare the surface 108 for hybrid bonding. In other words, the bonding surface 108 is formed to be as flat and smooth as possible, with very minimal (nanometer scale) surface topology variance. Various conventional processes, such as chemical mechanical polishing (CMP), dry or wet etching, and so forth, may be used to achieve the low surface roughness. This process provides the flat, smooth surface 108 that results in a reliable bond.” ¶ [0064]).
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, the first conductive material Zinc of UZOH et al. would inherently have the property of greater unit cell size because the second material is made of copper, which is the same as the second layer as disclosed. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 2, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the unit cell size of the first conductive material 206 (“the alloying element may comprise, for example … zinc, amongst other elements.” ¶ [0062]), is at least 1.3 times greater (Zinc unit cell size is inherently more than 1.3 times greater than Copper unit cell size) than the unit cell size of the second conductive material 402 (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]).
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, the first conductive material Zinc of UZOH et al. would inherently have the property of at least 1.3 times greater unit cell size because the second material is made of copper, which is the same as the second layer as disclosed. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 3, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses comprising a barrier layer conformally disposed along surfaces of the cavity (“a barrier layer (not shown) comprised of tantalum, titanium, tungsten layer or their combination with their various respective compounds or alloys, for example, or another conductive material, may be deposited in the cavities 202 prior to depositing the material of the conductive features 110″.” ¶ [0056]), and the first conductive material 206 is disposed between a bottom surface of the cavity 202 and the second conductive material 402.
Regarding Claim 5, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the first conductive material has a characteristic formation temperature of less than 230°C (“annealing the conductive features 110″ at temperatures between 40 and 200° C” ¶ [0063]).
Regarding Claim 8, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the first conductive material comprises zinc (“the alloying element may comprise, for example cobalt, silver, or zinc, amongst other elements.” ¶ [0062]), titanium, or nickel.
Regarding Claim 12, UZOH et al. as modified discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein a thickness (“second layer 402 fills the remainder of the cavity 202 (preferably to a plated metal thickness less than 600 nm” ¶ [0059]) of the second conductive material 402 is greater than (600nm> 400nm) a thickness (“a conductive layer 206 is formed over the seed layer 204 and only partially fills the cavity 202 (e.g., about 80% filled, and preferably less than 400 nanometers below the bonding surface 108)” ¶ [0057]) of the first conductive material 206.
Regarding Claim 13, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the first conductive material is a chemical- mechanical polishing compatible material (“the die 102″ is planarized and polished (e.g., via CMP), to remove the excess of the conductive layer 206 and the second conductive layer 402, as well as any conductive barrier layer and any other unwanted materials from the surface of the insulating layer 106, forming a planar bonding surface 108. This reveals the conductive features 110″, which is comprised of the sub-features 406 (having the materials of the second conductive layer 402) surrounded by the sub-features 404 (having the materials of the conductive layer 206)” ¶ [0061]).
Regarding Independent Claim 14, UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 discloses a bonded structure (“Referring to FIG. 5, two of the dies 102″ are stacked with their respective bonding surfaces 108 brought together. The dies 102″ may be direct hybrid bonded, for instance, without adhesive to each other, to make the desired physical and electrical connections while forming the stack or assembly 100.” ¶ [0065]) comprising:
a first element (Bottom 102”) (“a die 102″” ¶ [0054]) having a first non-conductive region (Bottom 106) (“the insulating layer 106” ¶ [0056]) and a first conductive feature 110” (“conductive features 110″” ¶ [0054]); and
a second element (Top 102”) (“a die 102″” ¶ [0054]) having a second non-conductive region (Top 106) (“the insulating layer 106” ¶ [0056]) directly bonded to the first non-conductive region, and a second conductive feature directly bonded to the first conductive feature to define a bonded conductive contact (“Forming a bonding surface 108 includes finishing the surface 108 to meet insulating layer 106 roughness specifications and metallic layer (e.g., conductive features 110″) recess specifications (if specified), to prepare the surface 108 for hybrid bonding. In other words, the bonding surface 108 is formed to be as flat and smooth as possible, with very minimal (nanometer scale) surface topology variance. Various conventional processes, such as chemical mechanical polishing (CMP), dry or wet etching, and so forth, may be used to achieve the low surface roughness. This process provides the flat, smooth surface 108 that results in a reliable bond.” ¶ [0064]),
wherein the bonded conductive contact comprises a first conductive material 206 (“conductive layer 206 may comprise copper or a copper alloy” ¶ [0057]; “the alloying element may comprise, for example … zinc, amongst other elements.” ¶ [0062]) and a second conductive material 402 (“a second conductive layer 402” ¶ [0059]), the first conductive material 206 having a unit cell size greater (Zinc unit cell size is inherently greater than Copper unit cell size) than a unit cell size of the second conductive material 402 (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]), the first conductive material being an alloy (“conductive layer 206 may comprise copper or a copper alloy” ¶ [0057]) comprising the second conductive material (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]).
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, the first conductive material Zinc of UZOH et al. would inherently have the property of greater unit cell size because the second material is made of copper, which is the same as the second layer as disclosed. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 15, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 14. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses, wherein the bonded conductive contact comprises a gradient of alloying element (“the conductive structure 110″ is comprised of a first metal with a lower concentration or no impurities and a substantially {111} texture, beneath and surrounding a second metal having a higher concentration of impurities and a texture substantially similar to the texture of the first metal beneath.” ¶ [0061]).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 discloses a bonded structure comprising:
a first element (Bottom 102”) (“a die 102″” ¶ [0054]) having a first contact surface (108 of (Bottom 102”)), the first element comprising:
a first non-conductive region (Bottom 106) (“the insulating layer 106” ¶ [0056]) having a first cavity (“one or more trenches or cavities 202” ¶ [0056]) extending at least partially through a thickness of the non-conductive region from the first contact surface (“one or more trenches or cavities 202 are formed in the surface 108 of the insulating layer 106 of the die 102″” ¶ [0056]); and
a first contact pad (Bottom 110”) (“conductive features 110″” ¶ [0054]) formed in the first cavity 202, the contact pad including a first conductive material 206 (“conductive layer 206 may comprise copper or a copper alloy” ¶ [0057]) and a second conductive material 402 (“a second conductive layer 402” ¶ [0059]), the first conductive material having a unit cell size greater (Zinc unit cell size is inherently greater than Copper unit cell size) than a unit cell size of the second conductive material, the first conductive material being a metal alloying material (“conductive layer 206 may comprise copper or a copper alloy” ¶ [0057]); and
a second element (Top 102”) (“a die 102″” ¶ [0054]) having a second contact surface (108 of (Top 102”)), directly bonded to the first contact surface (108 of (Bottom 102”)), the second element comprising:
a second non-conductive region (Top 106) (“the insulating layer 106” ¶ [0056]) directly bonded to the first non- conductive region; and a second contact pad (Top 110”) (“conductive features 110″” ¶ [0054]) directly bonded (“Forming a bonding surface 108 includes finishing the surface 108 to meet insulating layer 106 roughness specifications and metallic layer (e.g., conductive features 110″) recess specifications (if specified), to prepare the surface 108 for hybrid bonding. In other words, the bonding surface 108 is formed to be as flat and smooth as possible, with very minimal (nanometer scale) surface topology variance. Various conventional processes, such as chemical mechanical polishing (CMP), dry or wet etching, and so forth, may be used to achieve the low surface roughness. This process provides the flat, smooth surface 108 that results in a reliable bond.” ¶ [0064]), to the first contact pad (Bottom 110”).
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, the first conductive material Zinc of UZOH et al. would inherently have the property of greater unit cell size because the second material is made of copper, which is the same as the second layer as disclosed. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 17, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 16. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses comprising a barrier layer conformally disposed along surfaces of the first cavity 202 (“a barrier layer (not shown) comprised of tantalum, titanium, tungsten layer or their combination with their various respective compounds or alloys, for example, or another conductive material, may be deposited in the cavities 202 prior to depositing the material of the conductive features 110″.” ¶ [0056]).
Regarding Claim 18, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 16. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the first conductive material is disposed between a bottom surface of the first cavity 202 and the second conductive material 402 (“a barrier layer (not shown) comprised of tantalum, titanium, tungsten layer or their combination with their various respective compounds or alloys, for example, or another conductive material, may be deposited in the cavities 202 prior to depositing the material of the conductive features 110″.” ¶ [0056]).
Regarding Claim 20, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 16. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses, wherein the directly bonded first (Bottom 110”) and second contact pads (Top 110”) define a bonded conductive contact (“a single conductive interconnect 502″” ¶ [0065]) that comprises a gradient of alloying element (“the conductive structure 110″ is comprised of a first metal with a lower concentration or no impurities and a substantially {111} texture, beneath and surrounding a second metal having a higher concentration of impurities and a texture substantially similar to the texture of the first metal beneath.” ¶ [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200194396 A1) “UZOH et al.” in view of (US 20220285303 A1) “Mirkarimi et al.”.
Regarding Claim 4, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the first conductive material 206 is buried under (Fig. 4(D) and 4(E) shows 206 is under 402) the second conductive material 402.
However, UZOH et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first conductive material is completely buried under the second conductive material.
In the similar field of endeavor of bonding structure Mirkarimi et al. Figs. 1-7 discloses wherein the first conductive material is completely buried under the second conductive material (“a top portion disposed over the bottom portion” ¶ [0070]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the first and second conductive material of UZOH et al with the bottom portion completely under the top portion of conductive material of Mirkarimi et al. in order to achieve a highly oriented microstructure, for example a nano-twin copper microstructure (Mirkarimi et al. ¶ [0047]).
Regarding Claim 6, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the first conductive material has a characteristic formation temperature of less than 130°C (“annealing the conductive features 110″ at temperatures between 40 and 200° C” ¶ [0063]).
However, UZOH et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first conductive material has a characteristic formation temperature of less than 130°C.
In the similar field of endeavor of bonding structure Mirkarimi et al. Figs. 1-7 discloses wherein the first conductive material has a characteristic formation temperature of less than 130°C (“at temperature below about 120° C.” ¶ [0042]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the temperature of UZOH et al with the temperature of Mirkarimi et al. in order to minimize defects in the bonded structure (Mirkarimi et al. ¶ [0030]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200194396 A1) “UZOH et al.” in view of (US 20200258857 A1) “Huo et al.”.
Regarding Claim 7, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. However, UZOH et al. does not disclose wherein the first conductive material is a metal silicide, and the metal silicide comprises nickel, titanium, or cobalt.
In the similar filed of endeavor of bonding structure Huo et al. Fig. 1 discloses wherein the first conductive material (“bonding contacts 112 can be made of an indiffusible conductive material” ¶ [0036]) is a metal silicide, and the metal silicide comprises nickel, titanium, or cobalt (“the indiffusible conductive material is a metal silicide selected from the group consisting of cobalt silicide (CoSi), tantalum silicide (TaSi), tungsten silicide (WSi), titanium silicide (TiSi), and nickel silicide (NiSi)” ¶ [0036]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the material of UZOH et al with silicide material of Huo et al. in order to avoid Cu diffusion at bonding interface. That is, the indiffusible conductive material can be the cobalt silicides of the five metals described above that do not diffuse at bonding interface during thermal process or during usage life time (Huo et al. ¶ [0036]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200194396 A1) “UZOH et al.” in view of (US 20170271242 A1) “Lo et al.”.
Regarding Claim 9, UZOH et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 1. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the second conductive material 402 (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]) comprises a face centered cubic structure, and the first conductive material (“first conductive layer 206”; “the alloying element may comprise, for example cobalt, silver, or zinc, amongst other elements.” ¶ [0062]) comprises a hexagonal crystal structure.
However, UZOH et al. does not explicitly disclose copper comprises a face centered cubic structure, and zinc comprises a hexagonal crystal structure.
In the similar field of endeavor of bonding structure Lo et al. ¶ [0030] discloses Copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), silver (Ag) and gold (Au) form metallic crystal structures with a face centered cubic lattice, resulting in cubic, octahedron, dodecahedron and related crystal morphologies. In contrast, titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn) and cadmium (Cd) form hexagonal crystal lattices.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to use the material of UZOH et al with the knowledge crystal structure of Lo et al. in order to fabricate the bonding structure of desired crystal structure.
Claim 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200194396 A1) “UZOH et al.” in view of (US 20170271242 A1) “Lo et al.” further in view of (US 20200258857 A1) “Huo et al.”.
Regarding Claim 10, UZOH et al. as modified by Mirkarimi et al. and Lo et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 9. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the second conductive material 402 (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]) comprises copper.
However, UZOH et al. does not disclose the first conductive material comprises titanium, a resistivity of the first conductive material (titanium) is greater than a resistivity of the second conductive material (copper).
In the similar filed of endeavor of bonding structure Huo et al. Fig. 1 discloses the first conductive material comprises titanium (bonding contacts 112 can be made of an indiffusible conductive material that is not Cu. In some embodiments, the indiffusible conductive material is a metal selected from the group consisting of cobalt (Co), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium (Ti), and nickel (Ni).” ¶ [0036]), a resistivity of the first conductive material (titanium) is greater (Titanium inherently has greater resistance than copper) than a resistivity of the second conductive material (copper).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the material of UZOH et al with material of Huo et al. in order to avoid Cu diffusion at bonding interface. diffusion of Co, Ta, W, Ti, or Ni does not occur at bonding interface during thermal process or during usage life time (Huo et al. ¶ [0036]).
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, the first conductive material Titanium of UZOH et al. would inherently have the property of greater resistance than the second conductive material made of copper. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 11, UZOH et al. as modified by Lo et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 10. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the second conductive material 402 (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]) comprises copper.
However, UZOH et al. does not disclose wherein the resistivity of the first conductive material is less than 40 times the resistivity of the second conductive material.
In the similar filed of endeavor of bonding structure Huo et al. Fig. 1 discloses the first conductive material comprises titanium (bonding contacts 112 can be made of an indiffusible conductive material that is not Cu. In some embodiments, the indiffusible conductive material is a metal selected from the group consisting of cobalt (Co), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium (Ti), and nickel (Ni).” ¶ [0036]), wherein the resistivity of the first conductive material is less than 40 times the resistivity of the second conductive material (inherently, the resistivity of the first conductive material Titanium is less than 40 times the resistivity of the second conductive material (copper)) than a resistivity of the second conductive material.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the material of UZOH et al with material of Huo et al. in order to avoid Cu diffusion at bonding interface. diffusion of Co, Ta, W, Ti, or Ni does not occur at bonding interface during thermal process or during usage life time (Huo et al. ¶ [0036]).
It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USQP2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, the first conductive material Titanium would inherently have the property of resistivity which is less than 40 times the resistivity of the second conductive material made of copper. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200194396 A1) “UZOH et al.” in view of (US 20200258857 A1) “Huo et al.” further in view of (US 6758388 B1) “Leholm et al.”.
Regarding Claim 19, UZOH et al. as modified by Mirkarimi et al. discloses the limitations of Claim 16. UZOH et al. Figs. 4-5 further discloses wherein the directly bonded first and second contact pads define a bonded conductive contact (“a single conductive interconnect 502″” ¶ [0065]), wherein the second conductive material 402 (“copper layer 402” ¶ [0059]) comprises copper.
In the similar filed of endeavor of bonding structure Huo et al. Figs. 1-5 discloses the first conductive material comprises titanium (bonding contacts 148 can be selected from the group consisting of Co, Ta, W, Ti, Ni, CoN, TaN, WN, TiN, NiN, CoSi, TaSi, WSi, TiSi, and NiSi.” ¶ [0044]; “at least one of bonding contacts 112 or bonding contacts 148 are made of an indiffusible conductive material described above to reduce or even avoid Cu diffusion at bonding interface 158.” ¶ [0046]), the directly bonded contact pads comprise copper titanium (“bonding contacts 410 can be inter-mixed with bonding contacts 310” ¶ [0064]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the material of UZOH et al with material of Huo et al. in order to form bonding between surfaces without using intermediate layers, such as solder or adhesives (Huo et al. ¶ [0031]).
However, UZOH et al. does not disclose the directly bonded first and second contact pads define a bonded conductive contact that comprises an orthorhombic crystal structure.
In the similar field of endeavor bonding structure Leholm et al. discloses the directly bonded first and second contact pads define a bonded conductive contact that comprises an orthorhombic crystal structure (“ titanium aluminide (Ti--Al) honeycomb panel structures formed from a gamma-based Ti--Al (.gamma.-Ti--Al) or orthorhombic Ti--Al (O--Ti--Al) honeycomb core brazed to a .gamma.-Ti--Al or O--Ti--Al facing sheet(s), where a metal braze filler foil containing copper and one or more other metals is used to join the faying surface of the honeycomb core and the faying surface of the facing sheet(s).” Abstract).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the material of UZOH et al with material of Huo et al. and orthorhombic structure of Leholm et al. in order to yield strong direct bonds.
Conclusion
The Prior art “SHARANGPANI et al.” (US 20210296269 A1) filing date 2020-12-10 discloses an element (fig. 16) having a contact surface, the element comprising:
a non-conductive region (dielectric layer 784/984) having a cavity extending at
least partially through a thickness of the non-conductive region from the contact surface (cavity containing bond pads 778/978); and
a contact pad formed in the cavity (bond pads 778/978), the contact pad including a first conductive material (conductive material 718/918) and a second conductive material (conductive material 778B/978B), the first conductive material having a unit cell size greater than a unit cell size of the second conductive material (material 718/918 is Si, see para. [0223]; material 778B/978B is Cu, see para. [0220]), the first conductive material being a metal alloying material (material 718/918 forms an alloy, see para. [0223]),
wherein the non-conductive region is configured to directly bond to a nonconductive region of a second element, and the contact pad of the element is configured to directly bond to a contact pad of the second element (Figs. 18-19);
“Katz et al.” (US 20200294962 A1) filing date 2019-02-05 discloses an element (figs. 4 and 5) having a contact surface, the element comprising:
a non-conductive region (dielectric layer 1l, 2l) having a cavity extending at least partially through a thickness of the non-conductive region from the contact surface (openings 1 IC, 2IC, in fig. 4D); and
a contact pad formed in the cavity (connecting stacks S), the contact pad including a first conductive material (conductive layer S2, intermediate barrier layer S3, see fig. 4G, para. [0072]) and a second conductive material (protective layer S4, fig. 41 and para. [0074]), the first conductive material having a unit cell size greater than a unit cell size of the second conductive material (S2 is Au{67.9 A3} or Sn{55 A3}; S3 is Ti{59.8 A3}; S4 is Ni{43.7 A3}, Cu{47.2 A3} or Al{66.2 A3}), the first conductive material being a metal alloying material (both Au and Sn are suitable for forming an alloy with other metals),
wherein the non-conductive region is configured to directly bond to a nonconductive region of a second element, and the contact pad of the element is configured to directly bond to a contact pad of the second element (fig. 5A, 5B); made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893