DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 8/27/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voorhis (US 2015/0345843 A1), in view of Higashiiue (US 2020/0166253 A1), and further in view of Murakami (US 2017/0167749 A1).
Claim 1: Voorhis discloses a microchannel heat exchanger (FIG.1/FIG.6) comprising:
an inlet header (paragraph [24]: two opposite headers 110 have ports 112 to allow refrigerant to enter and exit headers) enclosing an inlet header volume (inherent; volume within header 110) and comprising an inlet port (112), and
wherein the inlet header (110/610) extends along a first direction (first direction is horizonal);
an outlet header (110);
a plurality of microchannel tubes (115) extending between, and fluidly connecting the inlet header (110) and the outlet header (110); and
a flow distribution conduit (refrigerant distributor 620 used as flow distribution conduit) extending into the inlet header volume (inherent; volume within header 610/110), interposed between, and in fluid communication with, the inlet port (112) and the plurality of microchannel tubes (115/215) and wherein the flow distribution conduit (220/620) is configured to direct a fluid flowing therethrough along the first direction (see FIG.6), wherein the flow distribution conduit (220/620) comprises
a flow distribution conduit inlet (inherent; shown in FIG.6 by arrow), a flow distribution conduit body (inherent; body of distributor 220/620), and
a flow distribution conduit outlet (inherent; shown in FIG.6 by arrow),
Voorhis discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the flow distribution conduit body is impervious and configured without holes therethrough, wherein the flow distribution conduit outlet is oriented along the first direction toward an opposing end cap of the inlet header and is configured to discharge a jet, along the first direction against the opposing end cap, wherein a portion of the jet is reflected from the opposing end cap back toward the inlet port as a reflected flow, and the jet and the reflected flow within the inlet header produce shear that equalizes pressure along a length of the inlet header volume to equalize flow to inlets of the plurality of microchannel tubes.
However, Higashiiue teaches the flow distribution conduit body is impervious and configured without holes therethrough (paragraph [26]: pipe 6 and pipe 7 inserted inside space 11 of header 2; to clarify, there is no holes along the body of the pipes 6/7) for the purpose of suddenly expanding the refrigerant mixture and passing the liquid refrigerant into pipes (paragraph [39]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include the flow distribution conduit body is impervious and configured without holes therethrough as taught by Higashiiue in order to suddenly expand the refrigerant mixture and to pass the liquid refrigerant into pipes.
Further, Murakami teaches the flow distribution conduit outlet (guide plate 232 used as outlet) is oriented along the first direction toward an opposing end cap of the inlet header (paragraph [69]: guide plate 232 bent at obtuse angle to direct the fluid down to guide plate) and is configured to discharge a jet (functional language), along the first direction (first direction is horizonal) against the opposing end cap (guide plate 232 bent at obtuse angle to direct the fluid down to guide plate), wherein a portion (inherent) of the jet is reflected from the opposing end cap back toward the inlet port (112; disclosed by Voorhis) as a reflected flow (reflector 23), and the jet and the reflected flow (reflector 23) within the inlet header (2; see FIG.1 within 1A) produce shear that equalizes pressure along a length of the inlet header volume to equalize flow to inlets (functional language) of the plurality of microchannel tubes (see FIG.1) for the purpose of promoting the convection of air so that heating/cooling efficiency is improved (paragraph [23]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include the flow distribution conduit outlet is oriented along the first direction toward an opposing end cap of the inlet header and is configured to discharge a jet (functional language), along the first direction, wherein a portion (inherent) of the jet is reflected from the opposing end cap back toward the inlet port as a reflected flow, and the jet and the reflected flow within the inlet header produce shear that equalizes pressure along a length of the inlet header volume to equalize flow to inlets of the plurality of microchannel tubes as taught by Murakami in order to promote the convection of air so that heating/cooling efficiency is improved.
Claim 2: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow distribution conduit (220) comprises the terminal end of a heat exchanger inlet pipe (a refrigerant line used as heat exchanger inlet pipe; paragraph [28]: end 222 of distributor 220 connected with a refrigerant line of HVAC system) fluidly connecting the microchannel heat exchanger (200) to a refrigerant containing system (intended use; paragraph [2]: HVAC system utilizes heat exchangers).
Claim 3: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the heat exchanger inlet pipe (end 222 of distributor 220/620 connected with a refrigerant line of HVAC system) comprises a bend (annotated FIG.6) adjacent the flow distribution conduit (220/620).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (bent)]
Claim 4: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, except for wherein an angle of the bend is greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 150 degrees (20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include an angle of the bend is greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 150 degrees in order to improve distribution of the refrigerant to the tubes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 5: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inlet header (110) further comprises an inlet header length (L2) extending in the first direction (see FIG.2) and the flow distribution conduit (220/620) extends into the inlet header volume an extension distance (shown in FIG.2; based on broadest reasonable interpretation, distributor 220 extends into header volume by an extension distance),
Voorhis discloses the claimed limitations in claim 5, except for wherein the extension distance is between 1% and 99%, endpoint inclusive, of the inlet header length (20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include the extension distance is between 1% and 99%, endpoint inclusive, of the inlet header length in order to improve distribution of the refrigerant to the tubes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 6: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, except for the extension distance is between 5% and 75%, endpoint inclusive, of the inlet header length (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include the extension distance is between 5% and 75%, endpoint inclusive, of the inlet header length in order to improve distribution of the refrigerant to the tubes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 7: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, except for the extension distance is between 5% and 50%, endpoint inclusive, of the inlet header length (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include the extension distance is between 5% and 50%, endpoint inclusive, of the inlet header length in order to improve distribution of the refrigerant to the tubes, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 12: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow distribution conduit (220/620) comprises a converging section and a throat (see annotated FIG.6 where bent is shown; based on broadest reasonable interpretation, fluid coming through a throat of the distributor then converging through the bent section).
Claim 13: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the microchannel heat exchanger (FIG.1/FIG.6; preamble) is configured as an evaporator (paragraph [12]) of a vapor compression cycle (intended use).
Claim 14: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow distribution conduit (220/620) is positioned offset from a centerline of the inlet header volume (see FIG.6).
Claim 15: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the offset is less than or equal to half the distance between the centerline of the inlet header volume and a wall of the inlet header.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Kato to include the offset is less than or equal to half the distance between the centerline of the inlet header volume and a wall of the inlet header in order to enhance the flow rate of the refrigerant, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claim 16: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inlet header (210) and the flow distribution conduit (220) are substantially cylindrical in shape (see FIG.2).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voorhis (US 2015/0345843 A1), in view of Higashiiue (US 2020/0166253 A1), in view of Murakami (US 2017/0167749 A1), further in view of Kato (US 2020/0072517 A1).
Claim 9: Voorhis further fails to disclose a hydraulic diameter ratio of the hydraulic diameter of the flow distribution conduit divided by thehydraulic diameter of the inlet header, and wherein the hydraulic diameter ratio is greater than or equal to 0.05 and less than or equal to about 0.95.
However, Kato teaches a hydraulic diameter of the flow distribution conduit (paragraph [152]: hydraulic diameter of each tubes is greater than hydraulic diameter of each distributor passages) for the purpose of increasing the flow rate of the refrigerant (paragraph [148]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include a hydraulic diameter of the flow distribution conduit as taught by Kato in order to increase the flow rate of the refrigerant.
Further, concerning a hydraulic diameter ratio of the hydraulic diameter of the flow distribution conduit divided by thehydraulic diameter of the inlet header. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Kato to include a hydraulic diameter ratio of the hydraulic diameter of the flow distribution conduit divided by thehydraulic diameter of the inlet header in order to increase the flow rate of the refrigerant, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Further, concerning the hydraulic diameter ratio is greater than or equal to 0.05 and less than or equal to about 0.95. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include the hydraulic diameter ratio is greater than or equal to 0.05 and less than or equal to about 0.95 in order to increase the flow rate of the refrigerant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art (Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claims 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voorhis (US 2015/0345843 A1), in view of Higashiiue (US 2020/0166253 A1), in view of Murakami (US 2017/0167749 A1), and further in view of Joardar (US 2017/0343288 A1).
Claim 10: Voorhis further fails to disclose wherein the plurality of microchannel tubes comprises a bend or a fold such that the heat exchanger comprises a V shape, U shape, or A shape.
However, Joardar teaches the plurality of microchannel tubes comprises a bend or a fold such that the heat exchanger comprises a V shape, U shape, or A shape (paragraph [40]: bends 60 of tubes 36 of heat exchanger formed V shape) for the purpose of having a reduced bending radius as a result the heat exchanger adapted to fit within the sizing enveloped defined by existing air conditioner (paragraph [41]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include the plurality of microchannel tubes comprises a bend or a fold such that the heat exchanger comprises a V shape, U shape, or A shape as taught by Joardar in order to have a reduced bending radius as a result the heat exchanger adapted to fit within the sizing enveloped defined by existing air conditioner.
Claim 17: Voorhis as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, a vapor compression system comprising (preamble) a compressor (Voorhis paragraph [3]: some HVAC systems includes compressor; evidence provided by Joardar compressor 22 used in refrigeration cycle), an evaporator (paragraph [39]: evaporator of HVAC system), a condenser (paragraph [32]: refrigerant as liquid from a condenser), and an expansion valve (paragraph [21]: HVAC liquid refrigerant coming out of condenser directed to an expansion valve to become two phase mixture).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voorhis (US 2015/0345843 A1), in view of Higashiiue (US 2020/0166253 A1), in view of Murakami (US 2017/0167749 A1), and further in view of Yi (US 2004/0026072 A1).
Claim 11: Voorhis further fails to disclose a turbulator disposed in the inlet header volume.
However, Yi teaches a turbulator disposed in the inlet header volume (paragraph [26]: turbulators 98 formed at tubular body 82 of distributor 80; FIG.5C) for the purpose of producing turbulent flow (paragraph [28]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Voorhis to include a turbulator disposed in the inlet header volume as taught by Yi in order to produce turbulent flow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument on page 6: “Murakami does not disclose a reflected flow. Nor is Murakami guide plate 232 a flow distribution outlet”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as indicated in the office action Murakami teaches a reflected flow 23 (see paragraph [59]). Further, in paragraph [69] of Murakami guide plate 232 bent at obtuse angle to direct the fluid down to guide plate; to clarify, plate 232 is bent creating an angle therefore flows toward opposing end.
Applicant’s argument on page 8 regarding a jet flow: “as indicated in the office action, this is apparatus claim rely on structure and discharging jetting flow is a functional language, it is not structure.
Applicant’s arguments to new amendments are addressed in this office action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763