((DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Changes to the title have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10747269 B1 (Choi et al., hereinafter Choi) in view of US 20220342449 A1 (Xu et al., hereinafter Xu), and further in view of US 20210084778 A1 (Zhou et al., hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a display device (Fig. 2B, “display device 1”) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 4, “display 500”) comprising a first region (Fig. 2B, “additional exposed region 502”) and a second region (Fig. 2B, “basic exposed region 501”, where the regions might be interchangeable) arranged along a first direction (Fig. 2B, “x-direction”);
a cover layer below a rear surface of the display panel (Fig. 4, “deformable area 430b”), and overlapping the first region (Figs. 2 and 4, “deformable area 430b” overlaps “additional exposed region 502”);
a first support layer below the rear surface of the display panel (Fig. 4, “moving plate 300”; Fig. 6 shows “moving plate 300” below “display 500” fixed area 430a”), overlapping the second region (Figs. 2 and 4, “moving plate 300”overlaps the “basic exposed region 501”), and spaced apart from the cover layer along the first direction (Figs. 2 and Fig. 4, “moving plate 300” is spaced apart from “deformable area 430b” in the x-direction when the device is in the extended position);
a second support layer (Figs. 4 and 14, please see the portion comprised of lattice portion with numerals 431, 432, 433,434 adhered to “deformable area 430b”) below the cover layer (Figs. 4, 12A-B, 14, below “deformable area 430b”), overlapping the first region (Fig. 2 and 14, when the device is in a retracted/semi-retracted position, the portion comprised of lattice portion with numerals 431, 432, 433,434 adhered to “deformable area 430b” overlaps the “additional exposed region 502”), and defining openings (Fig. 14, please see the openings shown in the enlarged detailed shown in the circle).
Choi does not specifically disclose a first resin portion in a space between the cover layer and the first support layer.
In related art concerning flexible display and display apparatus, Xu discloses a first resin portion (Figs. 2, “filling layer 40”; par. [0082], “the filling layer 40 may include one or more of liquid silica gel, liquid resin, liquid PVC, and the like.”) in a space between the cover layer and the first support layer (par. [0010] and Fig. 2, “layer 40” is located in a space between “cover plate layer 21” in “upper layer group 20” shown in Fig. 4 and “reinforcement support layer 32” in “lower layer group 30” shown Fig. 5. Also, see Fig. 11, “layer 40” is located in a space between “first rack 51” and “cover plate layer 21” in “upper layer group 20” shown in Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Xu about a first resin portion in a space between the cover layer and the first support layer with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that resins are widely used in smart device technology, where resins of different strength, flexibility and properties are utilized for different purposes and intended uses in smart device fabrication. Therefore, in the present invention the utilization of resins offers isolation between parts of the smart device or deformation of parts prevention (Xu, par. [0080]).
Choi and Xu do not specifically disclose where the first resin portion is below and supporting a portion of the display panel in plan view.
In related art concerning flexible display device, Zhou discloses in where the first resin portion is below and supporting a portion of the display panel in plan view (Figs. 1 and 6, par. [0053], “a filling structure 21 is disposed in the gap 6”; [0055], “the filling structure 21 is rubber”. Where the “rubber” is located bellow “main structure region 11” of display panel 1” and it connects to “buffer layer 19 plays a role in supporting the flexible display panel 1” [0048]; and to “extension region 13” of “display panel 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Zhou’s teachings where the first resin portion is below and supporting a portion of the display panel in plan view with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi and Xu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the resin (rubber) would provide expandable room for the display panel to bend without breaking.
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses a display device (Fig. 2B, “display device 1”) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 4, “display 500”) comprising:
a display surface having a plane region (Figs. 2B and 4, “basic exposed region 501” or “additional exposed region 502” read on display surface having a plan region), and a folding region adjacent to the plane region along a first direction (Fig. 4, please see the folding lower region of “display 500”); and
a rear surface opposing the display surface (Fig. 2B, the surface opposite or below the visible/plane surface “basic exposed region 501” or “additional exposed region 502”);
a cover layer below the rear surface (Fig. 4, “deformable area 430b”) and overlapping the folding region (Figs. 2 and 4, “deformable area 430b” overlaps the folding region, as shown in Fig. 4);
a first support layer below the rear surface (Fig. 4, “moving plate 300”; Fig. 6 shows “moving plate 300” below “display 500” fixed area 430a”), overlapping the plane region (Fig. 2B, overlapping the “basic exposed region 501” that corresponds to a plane region when seeing from above), and spaced apart from the cover layer along the first direction (Figs. 2 and Fig. 4, “moving plate 300” is spaced apart from “deformable area 430b” in the x-direction when the device is in the extended position);
a case (body 200) accommodating the display panel (Fig. 4, “display 500”), the cover layer (Fig. 4, “deformable area 430b”), and the first support layer (Fig. 4, “moving plate 300”), and configured to switch between a first mode (Fig. 2A, “first state” in a closed position) and a second mode by a sliding operation (Fig. 2B, “second state” in an extended position achieved by a sliding operation),
wherein at least a portion of the display surface is configured to be covered by (Figs. 2A and 11C, “additional exposed region 502” is covered when the device is in a first state, closed), or exposed from, the case, such that an area of a portion in the folding region that is exposed from the case is greater in the second mode than in the first mode (Figs. 2B and 11B, when the display is slid outwards (2B, 11B), the folding region is exposed more than when in a fist state (closed, 2A)).
Choi does not specifically disclose a first resin portion between the cover layer and the first support layer.
Xu discloses a first resin portion (Figs. 2, “filling layer 40”; par. [0082], “the filling layer 40 may include one or more of liquid silica gel, liquid resin, liquid PVC, and the like.”) between the cover layer and the first support layer (par. [0010] and Fig. 2, “layer 40” is located in a space between “cover plate layer 21” in “upper layer group 20” shown in Fig. 4 and “reinforcement support layer 32” in “lower layer group 30” shown Fig. 5. Also, see Fig. 11, “layer 40” is located in a space between “first rack 51” and “cover plate layer 21” in “upper layer group 20” shown in Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Xu about a first resin portion between the cover layer and the first support layer with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that resins are widely used in smart device technology, where resins of different strength, flexibility and properties are utilized for different purposes and intended uses in smart device fabrication. Therefore, in the present invention the utilization of resins offers isolation between parts of the smart device or limiting deformation of the parts (Xu, par. [0080]).
Choi and Xu do not specifically disclose where the first resin portion is below and supporting a portion of the display panel in plan view.
Zhou discloses in where the first resin portion is below and supporting a portion of the display panel in plan view (Figs. 1 and 6, par. [0053], “a filling structure 21 is disposed in the gap 6”; [0055], “the filling structure 21 is rubber”. Where the “rubber” is located bellow “main structure region 11” of display panel 1” and it connects to “buffer layer 19 plays a role in supporting the flexible display panel 1” [0048]; and to “extension region 13” of “display panel 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Zhou’s teachings where the first resin portion is below and supporting a portion of the display panel in plan view with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi and Xu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the resin (rubber) would provide expandable room for the display panel to bend without breaking.
Regarding claim 2, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Choi does not specifically disclose wherein the first resin portion contacts respective ends of the cover layer and the first support layer, the ends facing each other.
Xu discloses wherein the first resin portion contacts respective ends of the cover layer and the first support layer, the ends facing each other (Fig. 2 and 4-5, “layer 40” contacts “cover plate layer 21” and “reinforcement support layer 32”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Xu wherein the first resin portion contacts respective ends of the cover layer and the first support layer, the ends facing each other with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi and Zhou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that resins are widely used in smart device technology, where resins of different strength, flexibility and properties are utilized for different purposes and intended uses in smart device fabrication. Therefore, the resin contacting the surfaces of two layers constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor based on design considerations.
Regarding claim 3, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Choi does not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the first resin portion is uniform along the first direction.
Xu discloses wherein a thickness of the first resin portion is uniform along the first direction (par. [0080], “the filling layer 40 can…make the overall thickness of the flexible display panel 100 uniform…”; Fig. 2, see also, the uniformity in the lines in both horizontal direction and vertical direction).
Regarding claim 4, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Choi discloses wherein a thickness of the first resin portion decreases along the first direction (please see Figs. 6 and 9-10, where the “filling layer 40” thickness in the “first direction” seems to decrease when the device is retracted/folded as shown in the sequence going from figure 10 to 9).
Regarding claim 5, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Choi discloses wherein a modulus of the first resin portion is less than a modulus of the first support layer Fig. 2, the length of the “filling layer 40” is less than the length of “reinforcement support layer 32” in the “first direction” shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein a thickness of the cover layer is greater than a thickness of the first support layer (Figs. 4 and 11 and the thickness of “deformable area 430b” can be greater/smaller than a thickness of “moving plate 300” constitutes a mere design consideration).
Regarding claim 9, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Choi does not specifically disclose wherein the first resin portion is between the first support layer and the second support layer in plain view.
Xu discloses wherein the first resin portion is between the first support layer and the second support layer in plain view (Figs, 2, 5 and 11, the “filling layer 40” seen from the top is between “first rack 51” and at least “reinforcement support layer 32”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Xu wherein the first resin portion is between the first support layer and the second support layer in plain view with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi and Zhou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that resins are widely used in smart device technology, where resins of different strength, flexibility and properties are utilized for different purposes and intended uses in smart device fabrication. Therefore, the resin being between two layers constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor based on design considerations.
Regarding claim 10, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein the openings are arranged in a lattice form in plain view (Fig. 14, shows a configuration similar to applicant’s configuration in Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 18, respectively. Choi further discloses comprising support bars (Fig. 15A, “hinge segments 412”) in the case below the second support layer (Figs. 4 and 14, please see the portion comprised of lattice portion with numerals 431, 432, 433,434 adhered to “deformable area 430b”), spaced apart along the first direction (Fig. 15A, x-direction), and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 15A, extending in the y-direction).
Regarding claim 14, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 12. Choi further discloses wherein the support bars do not overlap the openings in plain view (Fig. 15A, please see “hinge segments 412” not overlapping seeing them from above/plan view).
Regarding claim 15, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein the first region of the display panel is folded with respect to an axis extending along a second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 2B, “exposed region 502” is rolled in and rolled around a rotation axis extending on the y-direction).
Regarding claim 17, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 16. Choi further discloses comprising a second support layer accommodated in the case (Figs. 4 and 14, please see the portion comprised of lattice portion with numerals 431, 432, 433,434 adhered to “deformable area 430b”), below the cover layer (Figs. 4, 12A-B, 14, below “deformable area 430b”), spaced from the first support layer in the first direction (Figs. 4 and 14, please see the portion comprised of lattice portion with numerals 431, 432, 433,434 spaced from Fig. 4, “moving plate 300” in the x-direction), and defining openings (Fig. 14, please see the openings shown in the enlarged detailed shown in the circle).
Regarding claim 20, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 16. Choi further discloses wherein the case comprises a first case (Fig. 2B, the encasing lower portion of “body 200” that comprises at least “first frame 260, the second frame 270, the third frame 234, and the fourth frame 235 are connected to each other to form a rectangular frame shape” and “back cover 233” read on “first case”) and a second case (Fig. 3 and col. 24, lines 23-26, “first slider 330 which moves along the first rail 241 is formed at one side of the moving plate 300 and a second slider 340” read on a second case that holds and slides the flexible display 500), the second case being fixedly coupled to the display panel (Fig. 3 and col. 24, lines 1-8, “a back plate 430 may be interposed between the flexible display 500 and the moving plate 300 to be coupled thereto…”), and the first case being configured to move away from, or closer to, the second case along the first direction (when the device is slid, the first case and second cases move away from each other in an x-direction).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Xu and Zhou, and further in view of US 12279388 B2 (Kim et al., hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 7, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Choi and Xu do not specifically disclose wherein the cover layer comprises a material that is different from a material of the first support layer.
In related art concerning an electronic device including flexible display, Kim disclose wherein the cover layer comprises a material that is different from a material of the first support layer (col. 28, lines 25-52, “support member 421 may include at least one fourth conductive part 941 and/or at least one fourth non-conductive part 942” and Fig. 7 and col. 37, lines 41-45, “According to various embodiments, the metal support sheet 70 (refer to FIG. 4, 7, or 8)…” being made of different materials)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Kim wherein the cover layer comprises a material that is different from a material of the first support layer with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi, Xu and Zhou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that fabrication materials are a mere design consideration to the inventor used based on different purposes and intended uses of the device. Therefore, the material of the two layers being different constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor.
Regarding claim 8, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Choi and Xu do not specifically disclose wherein the first support layer and the second support layer comprise a same material.
Kim discloses wherein the first support layer and the second support layer comprise a same material (Fig. 7 and col. 37, lines 41-45, “According to various embodiments, the metal support sheet 70 (refer to FIG. 4, 7, or 8)…” and col. 26, lines 41-42, “the first layer 51 and the second layer 52 may include a metal material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Kim wherein the first support layer and the second support layer comprise a same material with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi, Xu and Zhou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that fabrication materials are a mere design consideration to the inventor used based on different purposes and intended uses of the device. Therefore, the material being the same for the two layers constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor.
Claims 11, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Xu and Zhou, and further in view of US 11012546 B1 (Song et al., hereinafter Song).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 17, respectively.
Choi and Xu do not specifically disclose comprising second resin portions respectively in the openings.
In related art concerning a mobile terminal, Song discloses comprising second resin portions respectively in the openings (Fig. 10 and col. 21, lines 20-28, the “elastic connector 1047”, filling the spaces between “support bars 1041”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Song’s teachings about second resin portions respectively in the openings with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi, Xu and Zhou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that resins are widely used in smart device technology, where elastic materials such as resins or silicon having different strength, flexibility and properties are utilized for different purposes and intended uses in smart device fabrication. For the present invention an elastic material would provide flexibility between bars that curve around; therefore, providing a smooth translation in curvatures while preventing breakage. Also, the use or resin or silicon constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor in the design of device parts that require bending flexibility.
Regarding claim 13, Choi, Xu and Zhou disclose all the limitations of claim 12. Choi further discloses comprising a resin layer filling spaces between the support bars (column 34, lines 63-67, “deformable area 430b, where the lattice portion with numerals 431, 432, 433,434 and “hinge segments 412” sit “is elastically restored to its original state” suggesting resin a possible material that can provide elasticity or deformation. Therefore, spaces between hinge segments 412 could be made of resin).
However, Choi and Xu do not specifically disclose a resin layer filling spaces between the support bars.
Song discloses a resin layer filling spaces between the support bars (Fig. 10 and col. 21, lines 20-28, the “elastic connector 1047”, filling the spaces between “support bars 1041”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings disclosed by Song’s teachings about a resin layer filling spaces between the support bars with the flexible display device disclosed by Choi, Xu and Zhou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that resins are widely used in smart device technology, where elastic materials such as resins or silicon having different strength, flexibility and properties are utilized for different purposes and intended uses in smart device fabrication. For the present invention an elastic material would provide flexibility between bars that curve around; therefore, providing a smooth translation in curvatures while preventing breakage. Also, the use or resin or silicon constitutes a mere design consideration available to the inventor in the design of device parts that require bending flexibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Examiner AU 2649