DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are under consideration
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Angelopoulos (US5310625A, filed 1994).
Regarding claims 1-10, 12, and 15,
Angelopoulos teaches a process for generating a negative tone image of polyimide on a substrate comprising of coating a film comprising polyamic ester (precursor of a cyclization resin) and a photoinitiator, imagewise exposing the film, developing the image, contacting (treating, rinsing) said film with a base which is an amine, and heating said film to imidize said polyamic ester [claims 1-2], reading on instant claims 2-3, 5, 9, and 12.
Angelopoulos teaches their polyamic ester may have the following structure [col 2 lines 41-45], where R and R' are each independently selected from alkyl or aryl (monovalent organic groups) [col 2 lines 54-65], Z is alkyl or aryl (divalent organic groups) [col2 lines 66-67], and Q is a tetravalent organic radical selected from cycloalkyl, aromatic and aromatic heterocyclic (tetravalent organic group) [col 3 lines 55-57], reading on instant claim 8.
Angelopoulos teaches an example composition comprising of the polyamic acid ester, a photoinitiator, and 2-ethyl 2-(hydroxymethyl)1,3-propane diol triacrylate (trifunctional polymerizable compound) [col 8 lines 59-69], reading on instant claim 1.
Angelopoulos teaches their treatment with a base using diethylamine (organic base, secondary amine) [col 9 lines 7-8], reading on instant claims 6-7.
Angelopoulos teaches their developer may be N-methylpyrrolidinone, dimethyl formamide, or a mixture thereof (organic solvents) [col 6 lines 57-65]. Angelopoulos also teaches developing using 10 parts NMP to 90 parts diglme (organic solvents) [col 9 lines 4-5], reading on instant claim 4.
Angelopoulos teaches a post base treatment bake performed at 140 °C [col 9 lines 28-32], reading on instant claim 10.
Angelopoulos teaches their substrate may be silicon in forming integrated circuit packaging structures in integrated circuit chips (semiconductor devices) [col 8 lines 14-20], reading on instant claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelopoulos (US5310625A, filed 1994) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 13-14 and 16,
Angelopoulos teaches the above limitations set forth, reading on instant claim 16.
Angelopoulos is silent to repeating their process for generating a negative tone image of polyimide a plurality of times, as well as forming a metal layer between two cycles of performing their process for generating a negative tone image of polyimide.
However, Angelopoulos teaches a preferred embodiment of their invention relates to an integrated circuit packaging structure comprising of a plurality of alternating electrically insulating and conducting layers positioned on the substrate wherein at least one (implying there may be a plurality) of the conducting layers comprises a negative tone imaged polyimide film made by the process of the present invention [col 8 lines 1-13]. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that there may be a plurality of layers of their film formed by their process for generating a negative tone image of polyimide, reading on instant claim 13. Additionally, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the plurality of conducting layers may include forming at least one metal layer, as a well-known conductive material in the art, reading on instant claim 14.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelopoulos (US5310625A, filed 1994) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka (US 20040238486 A1, published 2004).
Regarding claim 11,
Angelopoulos teaches the above limitations set forth.
Angelopoulos fails to explicitly teach supplying their developer using a shower.
Tanaka, analogous art, teaches development of a photoresist using a method such shower development, followed by a rinse treatment step using a liquid which may be an organic amine such as triethylamine [0026].
As both Angelopoulos and Tanaka teaches similar development and rinsing processing steps, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the shower development of Tanaka as the development step of Angelopoulos would result in a comparable and expected developed film, reading on instant claim 11.
That is, the substitution of the shower development of Tanaka for the development step of Angelopoulos, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of forming a developed film. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Conclusion
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737 /JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734