DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 210 147 482), copy provided by applicants with 3/16/2023 IDS, translation cited.
Regarding claim 1.
Wang discloses (Figs. 1-3, Abstract, ):
A rail apparatus applied to a laser machining device, and comprising
a rail frame assembly(10) and a mounting assembly(301/303), wherein the rail frame(10) assembly comprises a rail frame(702) and a guide shaft(701/703) fixed to the rail frame(702), the mounting assembly comprises a mounting base(301) and a pulley(303), the pulley defines a sliding groove(303 slides along 701/703 as shown in fig. 3), and the sliding groove is slidably connected with the guide shaft(fig. 3, 303 slides along 701/703).
Regarding claim 2.
Wang discloses:
The rail apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pulley(303) is rotatably mounted on the mounting base(301), and configured to roll along the guide shaft(701/703).
Regarding claim 6.
Wang discloses(Figs. 1-3):
The rail apparatus of claim 1, wherein the guide shaft(701 703) comprises a first guide shaft(701) and a second guide shaft(703), the pulley comprises a first pulley(303 bottom) and a second pulley(303 top), the first pulley(303 bottom) is mounted on the mounting base(301) and slidably connected with the first guide shaft(701), the first guide shaft(701) is disposed between the first pulley(303 bottom) and the second pulley(303 top), the second pulley(303 top) is mounted on the mounting base(301) and slidably connected with the second guide shaft(703), and the second guide shaft (703)is disposed between the first pulley(303 bottom) and the second pulley(303 top).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10, 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 210 147 482), copy provided by applicants with 3/16/2023 IDS, translation cited.
Regarding claim 7.
Wang discloses all of the features of claim 6.
Wang does not disclose:
The rail apparatus of claim 6, wherein the rail frame comprises a first connecting portion, a second connecting portion, and a third connecting portion that are fixedly connected with one another, the third connecting portion is connected between the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, and the first connecting portion, the second connecting portion, and the third connecting portion cooperatively define a groove; the first guide shaft is fixed to an end of the first connecting portion connected with the third connecting portion; and the second guide shaft is fixedly accommodated in an end of the first connecting portion away from the third connecting portion, and the first connecting portion is disposed between the first pulley and the second pulley.
However, Wang discloses the rail frame, at Fig. 3. The recited features are mere change in shape fo the working parts of the device, and there is no persuasive evidence that the recited shape is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). As such, the recited features would have been obvious for the obvious benefits of using an available extrusion of material or for adding strength to the frame of the device by providing bends in the part for strength. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill l in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 8.
Wang discloses
The rail apparatus of claim 6, wherein the rail frame comprises a first connecting portion(301 bottom) and a second connecting portion(301 top) fixedly connected with the first connecting portion(301 top bottom connected), the first connecting portion defines a groove (704 in lower groove fig. 3)on a surface of the first connecting portion away from the second connecting portion(groove in bottom of 701); the second connecting portion defines a guide groove(703 having a groove), and the guide groove ()has an opening direction different from the groove(704 opening on bottom groove facing up); and the first guide shaft is fixed to an inner wall of the guide groove(704 bottom fixed to groove at bottom), the second guide shaft(704 top fixed to 301 top) is fixed to an end surface of the first connecting portion(704 fixed to 301 bottom) away from the second connecting portion(Top 301 away from bottom 301),
Wang does not disclose:
the first connecting portion is disposed between the first pulley and the second pulley, and the first pulley is accommodated in the guide groove.
However, the Wang discloses that at least a portion of 301 are disposed between the first and second pullies. Furthermore the recited features are mere change in shape of the working parts and would have been obvious for the benefit of using an available material. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), There being no persuasive evidence that the claimed configuration is significant. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9.
Wang discloses:
The rail apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting base(301) comprises a mounting plate(301) and a connecting member (connecting members fixing pully 303 to 301)fixed to the mounting plate, the pulley(303) is mounted on the mounting plate(301); and
the rail apparatus further comprises a driving member(302)
Wang does not disclose:
and a transmission assembly, the transmission assembly comprises a driving gear, a driven gear, and a synchronous belt, the driving gear is connected with the driving member, the driven gear is rotatably disposed on the rail frame, the synchronous belt is wound around the driving gear and the driven gear, the connecting member is connected with the synchronous belt, and rotation of the driving gear is configured to drive rotation of the synchronous belt to drive linear movement of the mounting assembly along the guide shaft.
However, Wang discloses that a driving motor is provided, and it would have been obvious to include a transimission including belts and gears to drive the device to move the assembly along the shaft See [0056] IT would have been obvious to include gears and belts for the obvious benefit of making the device work as desired. Furthermore, the addition of the motor and transmission merely Automates a manual activity of mvoign the device by hand which has been held to be obvious where the automation accomplishes the same results. See MPEP 2144.04(III). As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10.
Wang discloses:
A laser apparatus comprising
a base(20),
a laser([0004], disclosing that a laser may be used for engraving), and
a focusing member(501),
wherein the laser (laser installs on 301)is disposed on the base and is configured to emit a laser light([0004]);
the base (20)has a first end and a second end opposite to the first end(20 having a top and bottom);
the focusing member(501/502/503) is movably disposed on the base(20) and has a focusing end(see fig. 5, and fig. 1, 501/502/503 movably disposed on 20 focusing end bottom of 501);
the laser apparatus is operable in a retracting state and an extending state([0004], laser operates as focused extends toward work piece, and retracts such that 501 is on 20);
when the focusing end (501 stacked on 20)is stacked on the base, the laser apparatus is in the retracting state(when laser retracts it would be on 501 would be on 20); and
when the focusing end extends beyond the second end of the base to abut against a workpiece, the laser apparatus is in the extending state(when 501 extends by 503 towards the work piece may abut a work piece there below).
Wang does not disclose a laser in the example embodiments it provides. However, Wang discloses that a laser may be used an as engraver, and as such, it would have been obvious to mount a laser on the device of Wang for the obvious benefit of providing a laser engraving for a desired application. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 14.
Wang discloses:
The laser apparatus of claim 10, wherein the laser apparatus is connected with a rail apparatus(Fig. 1, rail 10), the rail apparatus comprises a mounting plate(301), and the mounting plate (301)is configured to be movably connected with the base(10) to adjust a relative position of the mounting plate(301) and the base(20).
Regarding claim 19.
Wang discloses Fig. 1:
A laser machining device, comprising:
a rail apparatus(10) comprising a rail frame assembly(10/20) and a mounting assembly(501),
wherein the rail frame assembly comprises
a rail frame (10/20/703)and
a guide shaft fixed (704)to the rail frame(704 fixed to 10/20/703), the mounting assembly comprises
a mounting base(501) and a pulley(403), the pulley defines a sliding groove(groove that 403 slides on), and the sliding groove is slidably connected with the guide shaft(groove for 403 connected to 704 and is slidable); and
a laser apparatus connected with the mounting base([0004]), and configured to emit a laser light to perform laser machining on a workpiece([0004]).
Wang does not disclose a laser in the example embodiments it provides. However, Wang discloses that a laser may be used an as engraver, and as such, it would have been obvious to mount a laser on the device of Wang for the obvious benefit of providing a laser engraving for a desired application. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 20.
Wang discloses:
The laser machining device of claim 19, wherein the laser apparatus comprises a base(20), a laser([0004]), and a focusing member(503); the laser is disposed on the base(20) and is configured to emit a laser light([0004]); the base(20) has a first end(top 20) and a second end(20 bottom) opposite to the first end; the focusing member(502) is movably disposed on the base(502 moveable via 503) and has a focusing end(focusing end is bottom 502); the laser apparatus is operable in a retracting state and an extending state(laser on 20 opperable in retracted or extended state of 502); when the focusing end is stacked on the base(20), the laser apparatus is in the retracting state(bottom of 20); and when the focusing end(bottom of 502) extends beyond the second end(bottom of 20) of the base(20) to abut against the workpiece(work piece on bottom), the laser apparatus is in the extending state(502 extends down).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 210 147 482), copy provided by applicants with 3/16/2023 IDS, translation cited in view of Kircher (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0122196).
Regarding claim 3.
Wang discloses(Figs. 1-3):
The rail apparatus of claim 1, wherein the guide shaft(701/703 (Fig. 3 comprises a first guide shaft(701) and a second guide shaft(703), the pulley comprises a first pulley(303 bottom) and a second pulley(303 top), the first pulley(303 bottom) is mounted on the mounting base(301) and slidably connected with the first guide shaft(303 slidable on 10), the second pulley(303 top) is mounted on the mounting base(301) and slidably connected with the second guide shaft(303 right slidably connected to 703),
Wang does not disclose:
the first pulley is disposed between the first guide shaft and the second guide shaft, and the second pulley is disposed between the first guide shaft and the second guide shaft.
Kircher discloses(Fig. 3):
the first pulley (8 forward)is disposed between the first guide shaft(4 top) and the second guide shaft(4 lower), and the second pulley(8 back) is disposed between the first guide shaft and the second guide shaft. (Kircher discloses a guide shaft top and bottom 4 including top rail portion and bottom rail portion supporting wheels 8 there in therein )
Kircher discloses that the rollers 8 on the insdie of the tracks 4 top and bottom provide the benefit of allowing the device to to place the step plate 2 in a desired location. It would have been obvious to provide the rollers of Wang inside a track as shown by Kircher for the obvious benefit of allowing the device to be placed in a desired location. Further, the pullies of Wang may be placed outside the guide rails or inside as shown by Kircher. IT would have been obvious to try to place the rollers inside the guide rails for the obvious benefit of making the device smaller and to use available extrusions of material for the guide rails. See MPEP2141(I). Picking from a finite number of predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4.
Wang discloses all of the features of claim 3.
Want does not disclose:
The rail apparatus of claim 3, wherein the rail frame defines a groove, at least part of the first guide shaft is accommodated in the groove, at least part of the second guide shaft is accommodated in the groove, the first pulley is accommodated in the groove, the second pulley is accommodated in the groove, and the first guide shaft is disposed opposite to the second guide shaft.
However, the recited features of a railframe that defines a groove to accommodate the groove of the second guide shaft is a mere duplication of parts of the existing guide shaft which would have been held to be obvious for the obvious benefit of adding trim pieces to the unit for aesthetics. As such, the features of claim 4 would have been obvous. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Here the duplication of parts would not produce a new or unexpected result as such, the features would have been obvious for the benefit of providing a trim piece to the unit.
Regarding claim 5.
Wang discloses all of the features of claim 5.
Wang does not disclose:
The rail apparatus of claim 4, wherein the rail frame comprises a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion fixedly connected with the first connecting portion, the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion cooperatively define the groove;
the first connecting portion defines a first accommodating groove communicating with the groove, and the first guide shaft is fixedly accommodated in the first accommodating groove; and
the second connecting portion defines a second accommodating groove communicating with the groove, and the second guide shaft is fixedly accommodated in the second accommodating groove.
However, the recited features are a mere design choice and change of shape of the working parts of Wang as modified by Endelman. The recited features would be a mere aesthetic design choice and change in shape of the working parts, with the recited features ornamental utility, and as such, would have been obvious, with no unexpected results or undue experimentation. There is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(I)&(IV)(B). Thus, the features recited in claim 5 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13, 15-18, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim but would be allowed if rewritten in independent form.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
the prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
the focusing member further comprises a connecting end opposite to the focusing end, the connecting end is rotatably disposed at the second end of the base, and the focusing member is configured to rotate by taking a joint of the connecting end and the base as a rotating pivot point, as recited in claim 11;
the base is provided with a first guide portion on an outer wall of the base, the mounting plate is provided with a second guide portion, the first guide portion is slidably connected with the second guide portion, one of the first guide portion and the second guide portion is a guide rail, another of the first guide portion and the second guide portion is a guide-rail groove, and the guide rail is slidably accommodated in the guide-rail groove, as recited in claim 15;
the focusing member further comprises a connecting end opposite to the focusing end, the connecting end is rotatably disposed at the second end of the base, and the focusing member is configured to rotate by taking a joint of the connecting end and the base as a rotating pivot point; the base defines a mounting groove for the focusing member in an outer wall of the base, the mounting groove for the focusing member penetrates through an end surface of the second end of the base, and the connecting end is rotatably connected with an inner wall of the mounting groove for the focusing member; and when the focusing end is accommodated in the mounting groove for the focusing member, the laser apparatus is in the retracting state; and the focusing member further comprises a plate body and a protrusion protruding from an outer wall of the plate body, the plate body comprises the connecting end and the focusing end opposite to the connecting end, and the protrusion exposes beyond the mounting groove for the focusing member, as recited in claim 21; and
a roller apparatus, wherein the roller apparatus comprises a stage, a limiting member, a first roller, and a second roller, the limiting member is fixed to the stage, the limiting member defines an adjustment groove, the first roller rotatably passes through the adjustment groove, the second roller rotatably passes through the limiting member, the first roller and the second roller are arranged in a direction perpendicular to an axial direction of the first roller, the adjustment groove extends in the direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the first roller, and the first roller is configured to move in the direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the first roller to adjust a distance between the first roller and the second roller, as recited in claim 22.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898