DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
A restriction requirement was mailed on 7/16/25.
Applicant’s election of species XIV (Figs. 9A-9B) in the reply filed on 8/5/25 was previously acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-9 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2005/0056855 A1 (“Lin”).
Lin teaches, for example:
Lin teaches:
1. A micro light emitting diode (see e.g. Figs. 10A-10B), comprising:
an epitaxial structure (e.g. comprising one or more of 31 and/or 33), having a surface and comprising a first-type semiconductor layer (e.g. 331, or horizontal portions thereof), a light emitting layer (e.g. the portion wherein 331 interfaces with 335, wherein light is emitted, see para 43) and a second-type semiconductor layer (e.g. 335, or horizontal portions thereof), wherein the light emitting layer is located between the first-type semiconductor layer and the second-type semiconductor layer (see e.g. Fig. 10A and para 43);
a first electrode (e.g. 65, see e.g. para 59), disposed on the surface of the epitaxial structure;
a second electrode (e.g. 674, see e.g. para 59 and Fig. 10B), disposed on the surface of the epitaxial structure,
wherein the second electrode is located outside around the first electrode (it is on the perimeter of the layer 33, see e.g. Figs. 10A-10B), and the second electrode is symmetrically disposed with respect to a geometric center of a bonding surface of the epitaxial structure (see e.g. Figs. 10A-10B); and
a via (e.g. comprising one of 678, see e.g. para 678 and Fig. 10B), extending from the second-type semiconductor layer to the first-type semiconductor layer, wherein the via is a single via (the one of 678 that is identified as the “via” or the “single via” is just one via; the claim language is open-ended due to the use of the language “comprising” in the limitation “a micro light emitting diode comprising…”, , “the transitional term ‘comprising’ … is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps”, see MPEP 2111.03; thus the claim in in no way precludes other vias in the micro light emitting diode) and the single via is only on one side of the epitaxial structure (each via is only on the top side of the epitaxial structure; furthermore, each via is in a single location in top view, and would each be on e.g. the right side of the epitaxial structure in the top view shown in Fig. 10B); and
an insulating layer (e.g. 677, see e.g. para 59, Figs. 10A-10B), disposed on the second-type semiconductor layer (677 directly contacts the top and side of 335; 677 also directly contacts 65),
wherein the insulating layer extends to cover an inner wall of the single via (see e.g. Fig. 10A), and the single via is non-symmetrically disposed with respect to the geometric center of the bonding surface of the epitaxial structure (any single 678 is not symmetric with respect to the center of 335; furthermore, there are several subsets of 678 that are not symmetric about the center of 335).
10. The micro light emitting diode according to claim 1, wherein
a ratio of an orthographic projection area of the at least one via on the second electrode to an area of the second electrode is less than or equal to 0.5 (see Fig. 10B, wherein a single via 678 has an area that is perhaps 1/100 of the area of 676; thus, the “at least one via” which can be a single via or a relatively small number of vias clearly occupies an area much less than 0.5 of the area of 676).
11. The micro light emitting diode according to claim 1, wherein an outer surface of the second electrode 674 distal to the epitaxial structure (e.g. on the top surface thereof) is a horizontal plane (the entire top surface of 674 is a horizontal plane, so various regions thereof are on the same horizontal plane).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of US 2022/0029059 A1 (“Kishimoto”).
Lin teaches claim 1 and further discloses wherein a gap is provided between the second electrode and the first electrode on the bonding surface (the distance between 65 and 674 is present, see Fig. 10B).
Lin does not explicitly teach that the gap is greater than or equal to 0.5 microns and is smaller than or equal to 10 microns.
Kishimoto teaches and/or would have suggested as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, in combination with Lin that the gap is greater than or equal to 0.5 microns and is smaller than or equal to 10 microns (the disclosed gap is between 0.5 and 15 micrometers, see e.g. Fig. 16 and para 222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the invention of Kishimoto to the invention of Lin. The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable results of allowing effective isolation between electrodes (see e.g. para 72, 220, etc.).
Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed size is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical. It has been found that mere changes in the size of an object, lacking any convincing proof of criticality or unobviousness thereof, is not sufficient for patentability. See e.g. MPEP 2144.04; in re Rose, F.3d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); in re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984);
To overcome a prima facie case of obviousness, Applicant must show factual evidence that the particular range is critical or achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. See e.g. MPEP 716.02(b); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It has been held that when claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It is clearly within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art to discover the claimed range given the overlap of the claimed and disclosed range. It has been established that the Office or “a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int’ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). It is also well settled that a reference stands for all of the specific teachings thereof as well as the inferences one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably been expected to draw therefrom. See In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264-65 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of US 2019/0319015 A1 (“Schuele”).
Lin teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein a distance is provided between the second electrode on the bonding surface and a surrounding surface of the epitaxial structure (see Fig. 10A, wherein the side of 674 where it is bonded to 677 has a distance between it and the outermost side surface of 331).
Lin does not explicitly teach that the distance is smaller than or equal to 5 microns and is greater than or equal to 0.5 microns.
Schuele teaches and/or would have suggested as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention, in combination with Lin that the distance is smaller than or equal to 5 microns and is greater than or equal to 0.5 microns (Schuele discloses values for the entire extent of the epitaxial structure being between 150 and 1000 micrometers, see e.g. para 10; this value influences the other values such as the interval distance; it would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the cross-sectional width of the device, and consequently the interval distance, and arrive at values such as those claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the invention of Schuele to the invention of Lin. The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable results of providing known dimensions of the LED as a basis for routine optimization thereof.
Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed size is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical. It has been found that mere changes in the size of an object, lacking any convincing proof of criticality or unobviousness thereof, is not sufficient for patentability. See e.g. MPEP 2144.04; in re Rose, F.3d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); in re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984);
To overcome a prima facie case of obviousness, Applicant must show factual evidence that the particular range is critical or achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. See e.g. MPEP 716.02(b); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It is clearly within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art to discover the claimed range given the overlap of the claimed and disclosed range. It has been established that the Office or “a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int’ Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). It is also well settled that a reference stands for all of the specific teachings thereof as well as the inferences one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably been expected to draw therefrom. See In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264-65 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are not persuasive. See discussion above in the rejection of claim 1 regarding the open-ended language..
Conclusion
/Kevin Parendo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896