DETAILED ACTION
Response To Remarks
Remarks page 8-9, Applicant contends:
Currently amended claims satisfy 101 requirements.
Response:
The current claims are deemed to note aspects (such as updating the machine learning model as discussed in interview) that could indicate subject matter that would integrate the current invention into a practical application by improving a machine learning model and/or a machine learning model system such as the one in the invention. However, the current recitation in the claims do not note the use of the loss function in the updating limitation unlike claim 1. The use of the loss function is important, as without the mentioning of the loss, the updating limitation appears generic, resulting in the limitation having trouble being directed towards the particular improvements in the specification. Support for why being generic can hurt the integration into a practical application is given in MPEP 2106.05(f).
MPEP 2106.05(f): "The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, claiming a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1356, 119 USPQ2d at 1743."
As a result, applicant’s argument is not completely persuasive.
Remarks page 10-11, Applicant contends:
Yefet does not disclose not altering the input program directly with the transformations.
Response:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection contain elements that have not been previously examined (such as requiring the transformation are not applied directly to the input program) or does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
In regards to Claim 14:
Step 1: Is the claim directed towards a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed towards a method, so a process.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 14 recites the following abstract ideas:
generating, by the computing system, a predicted outcome for the approximation of the transformation of the feature vector, with a machine learning model for source code classification
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation.
calculating, by the computing system, a loss by a loss function that compares the predicted outcome to the ground-truth of interest for the input program
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation.
This abstract idea is not seen as integrated into a practical application as the loss does not appear to be utilized in some way, such as updating a machine learning using a learning algorithm.
selecting, by the computing system, a subsequent transformation of the feature vector of the input program based on the loss with a search algorithm
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation. This is seen as evaluation as the limitation appears to indicate selecting something where the selection is modified by a loss and a search algorithm. Without particular details, the limitation is broad enough to be performable by a person of ordinary skill in the art in the mind or with pen and paper.
determining, by the computing system, a sequence of transformations that meets a threshold loss over the plurality of training pairs in the input dataset, and wherein the sequence of transformations comprises a plurality of transformations that prevents the machine learning model from correctly classifying an adversarial example
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as evaluation and judgement. The broad nature of the determining enables the method to be performable by a person in the mind or using pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 14 recites the following additional elements:
A method for training a neural network for generating adversarial examples, the method comprising: receiving, by a computing system, an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises a plurality of training pairs, wherein each training pair comprises an input program and a ground-truth of interest corresponding to the input program
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
generating, by the computing system, a feature vector of the input program with a feature extractor
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a feature extractor as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
applying, by the computing system, a mapping function to the feature vector of the input program to generate an approximation of a transformed feature vector, wherein the approximation of the transformed feature vector approximates a transformed feature vector that would result from applying a transformation to the input program, and wherein the transformation is not applied to the input program
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a mapping function as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 14 recites the following additional elements:
A method for training a neural network for generating adversarial examples, the method comprising: receiving, by a computing system, an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises a plurality of training pairs, wherein each training pair comprises an input program and a ground-truth of interest corresponding to the input program
This limitation is directed towards the insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
generating, by the computing system, a feature vector of the input program with a feature extractor
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a feature extractor as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “generating… a feature vector” using a feature extractor does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
applying, by the computing system, a mapping function to the feature vector of the input program to generate an approximation of a transformed feature vector, wherein the approximation of the transformed feature vector approximates a transformed feature vector that would result from applying a transformation to the input program, and wherein the transformation is not applied to the input program
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a mapping function as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “generating… an approximation of a transformation” using a mapping function does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
updating, by the computing system, the machine learning model according to a learning algorithm using the adversarial example, wherein the machine learning model is updated to correctly classify the adversarial example
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using learning algorithm as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “updating…the machine learning model” using the adversarial example does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
Adding the indication of using the loss, like done in claim 1, could make the implementation particular and thus potential satisfy 101 requirements
In regards to Claim 15:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 15 recites the following abstract ideas:
wherein the search algorithm is a Monte-Carlo Tree Search (MCTS),
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mathematical concept (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 1).
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 15 recites the following additional elements:
and wherein the search algorithm identifies an exhaustive list of transformations for the sequence of transformations
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a search algorithm as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 15 recites the following additional elements:
and wherein the search algorithm identifies an exhaustive list of transformations for the sequence of transformations
At a high level of generality, this is an activity of using a search algorithm as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, a generic recitation of “identifies… list of transformations” using a search algorithm does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 16:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 16 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the feature extractor is a convolutional neural network, and wherein the feature extractor is a function of a classification task and the input program
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using a feature extractor from claim 14 and is seen as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 16 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the feature extractor is a convolutional neural network, and wherein the feature extractor is a function of a classification task and the input program
At a high level of generality, this is a continuation of an activity of using a feature extractor from claim 14 and is seen as an “apply it” use (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). At said high level of generality, the addition of noting convolutional neural network and classification does not incorporate the abstract idea into a practical invention and is seen as a variation of the phrase “apply it”.
In regards to Claim 17:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 17 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the classification task is a functionality prediction of source code
This limitation is directed towards linking or indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 17 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the classification task is a functionality prediction of source code
This limitation is directed towards linking or indicating a field of use or technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Limitations that amount to merely linking/indicating to a field of use or technological environment, such as a computer environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)(x) or see MPEP 2106.05(h)(iv)), do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself.
In regards to claim 18:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 18 recites the following abstract ideas:
wherein the threshold loss is a cumulative maximum loss of the plurality of transformations in the sequence of transformations
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of the abstract idea of a mental process, or a concept performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement or opinion (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 3). Here the limitation is seen as a continuation of the evaluation and judgement from claim 14 related to determining a sequence of transformations that meets a threshold loss. The broad nature of the determining enables the method to be performable by a person in the mind or using pen and paper.
In regards to Claim 19:
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
No, the application does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 19 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the input dataset is a large-scale dataset comprising more than 500 million of the training pairs
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. All elements of the claim, viewed individually or wholistically, do not provide an inventive concept or otherwise significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 19 recites the following additional elements:
wherein the input dataset is a large-scale dataset comprising more than 500 million of the training pairs
This limitation is directed towards the continuation of insignificant extra solution activity of mere data gathering (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). This is a well understood, routine, conventional activity of transmitting data (see MPEP 2106.05(d) example i in computer functions).
In regards to claim 20:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, the claim does recite a(n) abstract idea.
Claim 20 recites the following abstract ideas:
wherein the loss function is a mean squared error function
This limitation is directed towards the abstract idea of a mathematical concept (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Yefet et al (“Adversarial examples for models of code”), referred to as Yefet in this document,
and further in combination with Wang2 et al ("Generating Semantic Adversarial Examples via Feature Manipulation in Latent Space"), referred to as Wang2 in this document
and further in combination with Jones et al (US 20210335039 A1), referred to as Jones in this document,
further in combination with Zhang et al (“Improved Adam Optimizer for Deep Neural Networks”), referred to as Zhang in this document
and further in combination with Quiring et al (“Misleading Authorship Attribution of Source Code using Adversarial Learning”), referred to as Quiring in this document,
and further in combination with Wang et al (“A Hamiltonian Monte Carlo Method for Probabilistic Adversarial Attack and Learning”), referred to as Wang in this document
Claims 1, 9-14, 18-20 are taught by Yefet, Wang2:
Regarding Claim 1:
Yefet teaches:
A method for training an adversarial neural network for source code classification, the method comprising:
[Yefet Abstract page 2]: “Neural models of code have shown impressive results when performing tasks such as predicting method names and identifying certain kinds of bugs [A method for training an adversarial neural network for source code classification, the method comprising]. We show that these models are vulnerable to adversarial examples, and introduce a novel approach for attacking trained models of code using adversarial examples.”
receiving, by a computing system, an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises a plurality of training pairs, wherein each training pair comprises an input program and a ground-truth of interest corresponding to the input program;
[Yefet 6.1.3 Dataset page 16]: “We evaluated our proposed attack and defense on code2vec using the Java-large dataset [Alon et al. 2019a]. This dataset contains more than 16M Java methods and their labels [receiving, by a computing system, an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises a plurality of training pairs, wherein each training pair comprises an input program and a ground-truth of interest corresponding to the input program], taken from 9500 top-starred Java projects in GitHub that have been created since January 2007. It contains 9000 projects for training, 200 distinct projects for validation, and 300 distinct projects for test.”
generating, by the computing system, a feature vector of the input program with a feature extractor;
generating, by the computing system, adversarial examples with an attacker model,
[Yefet 1.2 Our Approach page 4]: “Given a desired adversarial label ybad and an existing variable name, we derive the loss of the model with ybad as the correct label, with respect to the one-hot vector [generating, by the computing system, a feature vector of the input program with a feature extractor as the claim notes the inputs are interpreted as vectors] of the input variable. We then take the argmax of the resulting gradient to select an alternative variable name, rename the original variable to the alternative name, check whether this modification changes the output label to the desired adversarial label [generating, by the computing system, adversarial examples with an attacker model, as the process here is describing making an adversarial example], and continue iteratively.”
wherein the attacker model comprises a mapping function that generates the adversarial examples as approximations of transformed feature vectors by applying a sequence of transformations to the feature vector of the input program
wherein the approximations of the transformed feature vectors approximate feature vectors that would result from applying the sequence of transformations directly to the input program
[Yefet 4.5 Search page 12]: “Sometimes, adversarial examples can be found by applying the adversarial step of Equation (4) once. At other times, multiple steps are needed, i.e., replacing v with v′ and computing the gradient again with respect to v′. We limit the number of times we apply the adversarial step [wherein the attacker model comprises a mapping function that generates the adversarial examples as approximations of transformed feature vectors by applying a sequence of transformations to the feature vector of the input program… wherein the approximations of the transformed feature vectors approximate feature vectors that would result from applying the sequence of transformations directly to the input program as the quote notes finding the adversarial examples and notes performing steps (thus sequence of transformations)] by a depth hyperparameter. Additionally, instead of taking the argmax from the distribution over candidate names, we can try all “top-k” candidates. These define a Breadth-First Search (BFS), where the width parameter is defined by the “top-k”. Checking whether a choice of variable name results in the desired output is low cost; it just requires computing the output of the model given the modified input. Thus, it is conveniently feasible to perform multiple adversarial steps and check multiple top-k candidates.”
and wherein the adversarial examples are semantically equivalent to the input program;
[Yefet 1.1 Goal page 3]: “For example, we can: (i) rename variables and (ii) add dead code. There are clearly many other semantic preserving transformations [and wherein the adversarial examples are semantically equivalent to the input program] (e.g., re-ordering independent statements), but their application would require a deeper analysis of the program to guarantee that they are indeed semantic preserving. In this paper, therefore, we focus on the above two semantic-preserving transformations, which can be safely applied without any semantic analysis.”
generating, by the computing system, a predicted outcome for the adversarial examples with a machine learning model for source code classification;
[Yefet 1.2 Our Approach page 4]: “Given a desired adversarial label ybad and an existing variable name, we derive the loss of the model with ybad as the correct label, with respect to the one-hot vector of the input variable. We then take the argmax of the resulting gradient to select an alternative variable name, rename the original variable to the alternative name, check whether this modification changes the output label to the desired adversarial label [generating, by the computing system, a predicted outcome for the adversarial examples with a machine learning model for source code classification as notes the checking if the label from the model has changed], and continue iteratively.”
calculating, by the computing system, a loss by a loss function that compares the predicted outcome to the ground-truth of interest for the input program;
[Yefet 4.3 Non-targeted Attack page 12]: “In a non-targeted attack, our goal is to update v to v′ in a way that will increase the loss in any direction, instead of decreasing it, as in the training process. Thus, we compute the gradient with respect to v and use Gradient Ascent… In Equation (5), our goal for the non-targeted attack is to find the direction of the higher loss with respect to the original label [calculating, by the computing system, a loss by a loss function that compares the predicted outcome to the ground-truth of interest for the input program]. This is exactly what the gradient gives us.”
updating, by the computing system, the machine learning model according to a learning algorithm with the loss;
[Yefet 4.2 Targeted Attack page 10]: “Let θ be the learned parameters of a model, c be the input code snippet to the model, y be the target label, and J(θ,c,y) be the loss function used to train the neural model [updating, by the computing system, the machine learning model according to a learning algorithm with the loss]. As explained in Section 3.1, when training using gradient descent, the following rule is used to update the model parameters and minimize J”
In regards to the amendments in claim 14, support for aspects related to training a machine learning model with the loss is given in [Yefet 3.1] as noting the training of a model for classification and support for the defense of the attack is given in [Yefet 5.2 Defense with Re-training] as Yefet notes in section 5.2 “Adversarial Training”.
and determining, by the computing system, a quality metric for the machine learning model, wherein the quality metric is a number of correctly predicted outcome based on the ground-truth of interest for the plurality of training pairs;
[Yefet 6.2.1 Metrics page 17]: “In non-targeted attacks, the goal of the adversary is to change the prediction of the model to any label other than the correct label. We thus define robustness as the percentage of examples in which the correctly predicted label was not changed to any label other than the correct label [and determining, by the computing system, a quality metric for the machine learning model, wherein the quality metric is a number of correctly predicted outcome based on the ground-truth of interest for the plurality of training pairs as a metric indicative of quality related to the prediction of a model based on the ground truth is noted].”
and determining, by the computing system, the quality metric meets a training threshold, wherein the training threshold indicates a peak accuracy of the predicted outcomes for the adversarial examples.
[Yefet 5.2 Defense with Re-training page 14]: “Instead of minimizing only the expected loss of the original distribution, every example from the training set (x,y) ∈ T contributes both to the original loss J(θ,x,y) and to an adversarial loss Jadv(θ,x′,y). [and determining, by the computing system, the quality metric meets a training threshold, wherein the training threshold indicates a peak accuracy of the predicted outcomes for the adversarial examples where the minimizing loss is seen as a form of peak accuracy thus matching the description in the claim of the training threshold] Here, x′ is a perturbed version of x, which was created using a single BFS step of our non-targeted attack (Section 4.3). During training, we minimized J + Jadv simultaneously.”
The quality metric is meeting the training threshold as the quality metric changes with the loss as the loss is altering the accuracy of the model.
Yefet doesn’t explicitly teach:
without applying the transformations to the input program,
Wang2 teaches:
without applying the transformations to the input program,
[Wang2 3.1 Semantic Adversarial Example page 3]: "Unlike existing adversarial examples that directly add unstructured pixel wise perturbation in the input space or random latent representation of z space, our adversary A aims at perturbing a fraction of disentangled latent representations [without applying the transformations to the input program, as notes the perturbing is done on latent representation and not directly on the input space] derived from a sample x to generate structured perturbations in terms of theme-independent semantic features."
Further support is shown in on page 2 ([Wang2 Introduction page 2]: "(3) We design a perturbation method on the theme independent latent codes to reconstruct the perturbed latent codes into an adversarial example that causes misclassification.") as Wang2 discusses how the latent representations/codes are used to reconstruct into an adversarial example. This means the original input was not altered and instead a reconstruction was created via the modified/transformed latent space.
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Wang2. Yefet and Wang2 are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning and adversarial examples. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Wang2 in order to utilize the ability to reconstruct an input from latent representation (thus not working directly on input) as such a process allows trying to create adversarial examples that align more with natural images ([Wang2 Introduction page 1]: “As a consequence of these norm-bounded pixel perturbations, the adversarial examples are somewhat distinguishable from natural images. Multiple defense methods utilize this property to conduct adversarial training on norm-bounded pixel perturbations against small perturbations or to realign a perturbed image back into the space of a natural image by applying preprocessing filters or reconstructing the image. Moreover, such nonstructural perturbations are difficult to interpret from a human perspective.” where the reference proceeds to discuss different perturbations including that of the ones performed in latent space). The combination with Yefet is non-conflicting as there is a large overlap in parts performed (such as the finding a good adversarial example via applying and testing transformation as noted by Yefet in [Yefet 4.5 Search page 12] and discussed in Wang2 in [Wang2 4.4 Invisible Latent Perturbation by Stochastic Search page 6]: "For simplicity, only one latent code factor is considered to be perturbed at one time. Let F be a neural network classifier to be attacked and D be a set of training data samples for similar dataset. The perturbation mechanism iterative goes through each sample x ∈D, and searches for the optimal perturbation in the neighborhood of z i∈ E(x) = z, within a searching range [r,r+∆r] for zi, to achieve misclassification and satisfy goals G1-4 in Section III-B.")
Parts related to support the combination with Yefet for:
wherein the approximations of the transformed feature vectors approximate feature vectors that would result from applying the sequence of transformations directly to the input program
Support for the feature transformations being an approximate of results of applying the transformations directly to the input is given in Wang2 as Wang2 describes examples showing such [Wang2 Introduction page 2]: “Therefore, we assume that the semantic attributes can be factorized or disentangled in the latent space of the generative model, and theme-independent attributes can be derived within the disentangled latent space. Leveraging the disentangled latent codes, we design adversarial perturbation by manipulating a single or a combination of these latent codes relevant to the theme-independent attributes in an interpretable and structural manner. For example, we find a latent code that only controls a specific semantic attribute (such as the thickness) of handwritten digits. Then, we manipulate the attribute of a digit ”7” by adding perturbations to the corresponding encoded latent codes until the classifier misidentifies the perturbed digit as a ”1”. Taking face recognition as another example, the adversary may be able to perform an adversarial semantic attack by identifying the disentangled latent code and revealing only smiling facial expressions. This could fool a face classifier into making the wrong prediction by conducting linear interpolation on the latent feature map to change a normal face with a smiling facial expression. Ideally, the change of the adversarial example should be natural and smooth for humans’ perception.”
Regarding claim 9:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
Yefet teaches:
wherein the training threshold is a model accuracy to place the machine learning model in a state of equilibrium between overfitting the training pairs and underfitting the training pairs
[Yefet 5.2 Defense with Re-training page 14]: “Instead of minimizing only the expected loss of the original distribution, every example from the training set (x,y) ∈ T contributes both to the original loss J(θ,x,y) and to an adversarial loss Jadv(θ,x′,y). Here, x′ is a perturbed version of x, which was created using a single BFS step of our non-targeted attack (Section 4.3). During training, we minimized J + Jadv simultaneously [wherein the training threshold is a model accuracy to place the machine learning model in a state of equilibrium between overfitting the training pairs and underfitting the training pairs where the two losses are seen as helping preventing underfitting and overfitting since the original training set and adversarial examples are being managed, thus helping the generalization of the model (which generalization focuses on preventing under and over fitting)].”
Regarding claim 10:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
Yefet teaches:
wherein the mapping function is based on the sequence of transformations and the feature extractor
[Yefet 4.5 Search page 12]: “Sometimes, adversarial examples can be found by applying the adversarial step of Equation (4) once. At other times, multiple steps are needed, i.e., replacing v with v′ and computing the gradient again with respect to v′. We limit the number of times we apply the adversarial step [wherein the mapping function is based on the sequence of transformations and the feature extractor where the feature extractor is given in more depth by the teaching of a feature extractor in claim 1 by Yefet] by a depth hyperparameter. Additionally, instead of taking the argmax from the distribution over candidate names, we can try all “top-k” candidates. These define a Breadth-First Search (BFS), where the width parameter is defined by the “top-k”. Checking whether a choice of variable name results in the desired output is low cost; it just requires computing the output of the model given the modified input. Thus, it is conveniently feasible to perform multiple adversarial steps and check multiple top-k candidates.”
Regarding claim 11:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
wherein the input dataset is a large-scale dataset comprising more than 500 million of the training pairs
[Yefet 6.1.3 Dataset page 16]: “We evaluated our proposed attack and defense on code2vec using the Java-large dataset [Alon et al. 2019a]. This dataset contains more than 16M Java methods and their labels [wherein the input dataset is a large-scale dataset comprising more than 500 million of the training pairs where the size is not the same number, but the premise of a large dataset is taught and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that datasets can be of different sizes], taken from 9500 top-starred Java projects in GitHub that have been created since January 2007. It contains 9000 projects for training, 200 distinct projects for validation, and 300 distinct projects for test.”
The dataset given by Yefet is also seen as being similar or larger in size than the dataset noted in the specification ([Current Application 0039]: “In one example, Project CodeNet dataset is a large-scale dataset that comprises over 14 million code samples, over 500 million lines of code, in 55 different programming languages.”), thus the indication of “500 million of the training pairs” is seen as met as the dataset in Yefet notes more samples than Codenet (16M vs 14M).
Regarding claim 12:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
Yefet teaches:
wherein the loss function is a mean squared error function
[Yefet 3.1 Training Neural Networks]: “The process of adjusting θ (i.e., training) is done by solving an optimization problem defined by a certain loss function J(θ,x,y); this is usually mean squared error (MSE) [wherein the loss function is a mean squared error function] or cross entropy and is used to estimate the model’s generalization ability”
Regarding claim 13:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
wherein the attacker model is configured to maximize the loss between an expected outcome and the predicted outcome, wherein the expected outcome is the ground-truth of interest for the input program
[Yefet 4.3 Non-targeted Attack page 12]: “In a non-targeted attack, our goal is to update v to v′ in a way that will increase the loss in any direction [wherein the attacker model is configured to maximize the loss between an expected outcome and the predicted outcome, wherein the expected outcome is the ground-truth of interest for the input program], instead of decreasing it, as in the training process. Thus, we compute the gradient with respect to v and use Gradient Ascent… In Equation (5), our goal for the non-targeted attack is to find the direction of the higher loss with respect to the original label. This is exactly what the gradient gives us.”
Regarding Claim 14:
Yefet teaches:
A method for training a neural network for generating adversarial examples, the method comprising
[Yefet Abstract page 2]: “Neural models of code have shown impressive results when performing tasks such as predicting method names and identifying certain kinds of bugs. We show that these models are vulnerable to adversarial examples, and introduce a novel approach for attacking trained models of code using adversarial examples [A method for training a neural network for generating adversarial examples, the method comprising].”
receiving, by a computing system, an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises a plurality of training pairs, wherein each training pair comprises an input program and a ground-truth of interest corresponding to the input program
[Yefet 6.1.3 Dataset page 16]: “We evaluated our proposed attack and defense on code2vec using the Java-large dataset [Alon et al. 2019a]. This dataset contains more than 16M Java methods and their labels [receiving, by a computing system, an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises a plurality of training pairs, wherein each training pair comprises an input program and a ground-truth of interest corresponding to the input program], taken from 9500 top-starred Java projects in GitHub that have been created since January 2007. It contains 9000 projects for training, 200 distinct projects for validation, and 300 distinct projects for test.”
generating, by the computing system, a feature vector of the input program with a feature extractor;
[Yefet 1.2 Our Approach page 4]: “Given a desired adversarial label ybad and an existing variable name, we derive the loss of the model with ybad as the correct label, with respect to the one-hot vector [generating, by the computing system, a feature vector of the input program with a feature extractor as the claim notes the inputs are interpreted as vectors] of the input variable. We then take the argmax of the resulting gradient to select an alternative variable name, rename the original variable to the alternative name, check whether this modification changes the output label to the desired adversarial label, and continue iteratively.”
applying, by the computing system, a mapping function to the feature vector of the input program to generate an approximation of a transformed feature vector, wherein the approximation of the transformed feature vector approximates a transformed feature vector that would result from applying a transformation to the input program
[Yefet 4.5 Search page 12]: “Sometimes, adversarial examples can be found by applying the adversarial step of Equation (4) once. At other times, multiple steps are needed, i.e., replacing v with v′ and computing the gradient again with respect to v′. We limit the number of times we apply the adversarial step [applying, by the computing system, a mapping function to the feature vector of the input program to generate an approximation of a transformed feature vector, wherein the approximation of the transformed feature vector approximates a transformed feature vector that would result from applying a transformation to the input program as an approximation of a transformation of the feature vector is noted utilizing a search/mapping function] by a depth hyperparameter. Additionally, instead of taking the argmax from the distribution over candidate names, we can try all “top-k” candidates. These define a Breadth-First Search (BFS), where the width parameter is defined by the “top-k”. Checking whether a choice of variable name results in the desired output is low cost; it just requires computing the output of the model given the modified input. Thus, it is conveniently feasible to perform multiple adversarial steps and check multiple top-k candidates.”
generating, by the computing system, a predicted outcome for the approximation of the transformation of the feature vector, with a machine learning model for source code classification
[Yefet 1.2 Our Approach page 4]: “Given a desired adversarial label ybad and an existing variable name, we derive the loss of the model with ybad as the correct label, with respect to the one-hot vector of the input variable. We then take the argmax of the resulting gradient to select an alternative variable name, rename the original variable to the alternative name, check whether this modification changes the output label to the desired adversarial label [generating, by the computing system, a predicted outcome for the approximation of the transformation of the feature vector, with a machine learning model for source code classification as notes the checking if the label from the model has changed], and continue iteratively.”
calculating, by the computing system, a loss by a loss function that compares the predicted outcome to the ground-truth of interest for the input program
[Yefet 4.3 Non-targeted Attack page 12]: “In a non-targeted attack, our goal is to update v to v′ in a way that will increase the loss in any direction, instead of decreasing it, as in the training process. Thus, we compute the gradient with respect to v and use Gradient Ascent… In Equation (5), our goal for the non-targeted attack is to find the direction of the higher loss with respect to the original label [calculating, by the computing system, a loss by a loss function that compares the predicted outcome to the ground-truth of interest for the input program]. This is exactly what the gradient gives us.”
selecting, by the computing system, a subsequent transformation of the feature vector of the input program based on the loss with a search algorithm
[Yefet 4.3 Non-targeted Attack page 12]: “In a non-targeted attack, our goal is to update v to v′ in a way that will increase the loss [selecting, by the computing system, a subsequent transformation of the feature vector of the input program based on the loss with a search algorithm where the selecting is the choosing the update for v to v’] in any direction, instead of decreasing it, as in the training process. Thus, we compute the gradient with respect to v and use Gradient Ascent… In Equation (5), our goal for the non-targeted attack is to find the direction of the higher loss with respect to the original label. This is exactly what the gradient gives us.”
and determining, by the computing system, a sequence of transformations that meets a threshold loss over the plurality of training pairs in the input dataset
[Yefet 5.2 Defense with Re-training page 14]: “Instead of minimizing only the expected loss of the original distribution, every example from the training set (x,y) ∈ T contributes both to the original loss J(θ,x,y) and to an adversarial loss Jadv(θ,x′,y). [and determining, by the computing system, a sequence of transformations that meets a threshold loss over the plurality of training pairs in the input dataset as notes minimizing loss] Here, x′ is a perturbed version of x, which was created using a single BFS step of our non-targeted attack (Section 4.3). During training, we minimized J + Jadv simultaneously.”
and wherein the sequence of transformations comprises a plurality of transformations that prevents the machine learning model from correctly classifying an adversarial example
[Yefet 6.2.1 Metrics page 17]: “In non-targeted attacks, the goal of the adversary is to change the prediction of the model to any label other than the correct label [and wherein the sequence of transformations comprises a plurality of transformations that prevents the machine learning model from correctly classifying an adversarial example]. We thus define robustness as the percentage of examples in which the correctly predicted label was not changed to any label other than the correct label.”
updating, by the computing system, the machine learning model according to a learning algorithm using the adversarial example, wherein the machine learning model is updated to correctly classify the adversarial example
[Yefet 4.2 Targeted Attack page 10]: “Let θ be the learned parameters of a model, c be the input code snippet to the model, y be the target label, and J(θ,c,y) be the loss function used to train the neural model [updating, by the computing system, the machine learning model according to a learning algorithm using the adversarial example, wherein the machine learning model is updated to correctly classify the adversarial example]. As explained in Section 3.1, when training using gradient descent, the following rule is used to update the model parameters and minimize J”
Support in Yefet that a model is trained to correctly classify something (as the above mapping is indicative of elements related to training of the model but is more focused on the relation to attack) is given in [Yefet 3.1] as noting the training of a model for classification and support for the defense of the attack is given in [Yefet 5.2 Defense with Re-training] as Yefet notes in section 5.2 “Adversarial Training”.
([Yefet 3.1 page 8]: “A Neural Network (NN) model can be viewed as a function fθ : X →Y, where X is the input domain (image, text, code, etc.) andY is usually a finite set of labels. Assuming a perfect classifier h∗ : X →Y, the goal of the function fθ is to assign the correct label y ∈ Y (which is determined by h∗) for each input x ∈ X. In order to accomplish that, fθ contains a set of trainable weights, denoted by θ, which can be adjusted to fit a given labeled training set T = {(x,y)|x ∈ ¯ X ⊂ X,y ∈ Y,y = h∗(x)}. The process of adjusting θ (i.e., training) is done by solving an optimization problem defined by a certain loss function J (θ, x,y); this is usually mean squared error (MSE) or cross entropy and is used to estimate the model’s generalization ability”)
Yefet does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the transformation is not applied to the input program
Wang2 teaches:
Wherein the transformation is not applied to the input program
[Wang2 3.1 Semantic Adversarial Example page 3]: "Unlike existing adversarial examples that directly add unstructured pixel wise perturbation in the input space or random latent representation of z space, our adversary A aims at perturbing a fraction of disentangled latent representations [Wherein the transformation is not applied to the input program as notes the perturbing is done on latent representation and not directly on the input space] derived from a sample x to generate structured perturbations in terms of theme-independent semantic features."
Further support is shown in on page 2 ([Wang2 Introduction page 2]: "(3) We design a perturbation method on the theme independent latent codes to reconstruct the perturbed latent codes into an adversarial example that causes misclassification.") as Wang2 discusses how the latent representations/codes are used to reconstruct into an adversarial example. This means the original input was not altered and instead a reconstruction was created via the modified/transformed latent space.
Motivation to combine is the same as the motivation to combine in claim 1 for Wang2.
Regarding Claim 18:
The method of claim 14 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
Yefet teaches:
wherein the threshold loss is a cumulative maximum loss of the plurality of transformations in the sequence of transformations
[Yefet 4.3 Non-targeted Attack page 12]: “In a non-targeted attack, our goal is to update v to v′ in a way that will increase the loss in any direction, instead of decreasing it, as in the training process. Thus, we compute the gradient with respect to v and use Gradient Ascent… In Equation (5), our goal for the non-targeted attack is to find the direction of the higher loss [wherein the threshold loss is a cumulative maximum loss of the plurality of transformations in the sequence of transformations where moving in the direction of higher loss for the transformations is seen as maximizing loss] with respect to the original label. This is exactly what the gradient gives us.”
Regarding Claim 19:
Claim 19 recites analogous limitations as claim 11.
Regarding Claim 20:
Claim 20 recites analogous limitations as claim 12.
Claims 2, 4, 5 are taught by Yefet, Wang2, Jones:
Regarding claim 2:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2.
and wherein learning parameters of the learning algorithm are updated according to a stochastic gradient descent-based optimization model
[Yefet 2.2 Discrete Adversarial Manipulation of Programs (DAMP)]: “In standard stochastic gradient descent [and wherein parameters of the mapping function are updated according to a stochastic gradient descent-based optimization model] (SGD)-based training of neural networks, the weights of the network are updated to minimize the loss function”
Yefet does not explicitly teach:
wherein the mapping function is multi-layer perceptron function,
Jones teaches:
wherein the mapping function is a multi-layer perceptron function
[Jones 0100]: “In some implementations, the trained machine learning model may include an artificial neural network (ANN), e.g., a feedforward ANN such as a multilayer perceptron [wherein the mapping function is a multi-layer perceptron function] (MLP)”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Jones. Yefet and Jones are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Jones to utilize multi-layer perceptron models as multi-layer perceptron models are a known method of implementation for a trained machine learning model ([Jones 0100]: “In some implementations, the trained machine learning model may include an artificial neural network (ANN), e.g., a feedforward ANN such as a multilayer perceptron (MLP)”).
Regarding claim 4:
The method of claim 2 is taught by Yefet, Wang2 and Jones
Jones teaches:
wherein the mapping function comprises a five-layer perceptron
[Jones 0114]: “In some implementations/embodiments, a decoder for texturing may include five [wherein the mapping function comprises a five-layer perceptron where additional support for perceptron are noted in claim 2] fully-connected layers with output sizes of 1024, 512, 256, 128, and 2, respectively.”
The motivation is the same motivation to combine with Jones as claim 2.
Regarding claim 5:
The method of claim 4 is taught by Yefet, Wang2 and Jones
Jones teaches:
wherein the five-layer perceptron comprises five layers having sizes of 1024, 512, 256, 512, and 1024
[Jones 0114]: “In some implementations/embodiments, a decoder for texturing may include five fully-connected layers with output sizes of 1024, 512, 256, [wherein the five-layer perceptron comprises five layers having sizes of 1024, 512, 256, 512, and 1024] 128, and 2, respectively.”
Thus Jones is teaching that a multilayer perceptron can include the sizes of 1024, 512, and 256.
Motivation to combine with Jones is the same motivation to combine as claim 2.
Support of the design is also provided by Wang2, as Wang2 teaches the bottleneck design of going from higher size layers, to smaller layers, to then larger layers again ([Wang2 2 Background page 2-3]: "Autoencoder and B-VAE. Basically, an encoder E, parameterized by q(z|x), is trained to convert high-dimensional data x into the latent representation bottleneck vector z in latent space that follows a specific Gaussian distribution p(z) ∼ N(0,1).). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Wang2 to utilize bottlenecks as they work to convert data into latent representations as noted in the above quote.
The five layers having sizes of 1024, 512, 256, 512, and 1024 is seen as obvious under the premise of routine optimization (MPEP 2144.05(II): “Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").”). The conditions of the claim are known, such as the bottleneck structure (as indicated in Wang2), there being models with 5 layers (as indicated by Jones in claim 4), and the options of the sizes of the layers (as indicated by Jones above).
The number of nodes in a layer is a known result effective variable that affects the processing, input size, accuracy, and/or computation time (as more elements to process is known to increase the amount of things to be processed which is supported by Jones 0040 indicating complexity making something computationally expensive) with Jones noting sizes as possible options and not definitive limits (as noted in Jones 0114). Current specification indicates the sizes are options of an example rather than needed specifications [Current Specification 0040]. With the options known to one of ordinary skill in the art, having sizes of 1024, 512, 256, 512, and 1024 is seen as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as arriving at the claimed size per layer through routine experimentation in finding an optimum or workable range for the nodes which provides a functioning result of a model. Training variations for the purpose of finding a good result is known in machine learning and is shown in Jones in 0123-0129 indicating an option for training or setting up a result and 0131 indicating an alternative option for achieving the result.
MPEP 2144.05(II)(B): “In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").“
Claims 3 are taught by Yefet, Wang2, Jones, Zhang:
Regarding claim 3:
The method of claim 2 is taught by Yefet, Wang2 and JonesYefet does not explicitly teach:
wherein the learning algorithm comprises an adaptive learning rate according to an Adam optimizer function
Zhang teaches:
wherein the learning algorithm comprises an adaptive learning rate according to an Adam optimizer function
[Zhang Introduction page 1]: “To tackle this problem, several adaptive variants of SGD were developed, including Adagrad [4], Adadelta [5], RM-Sprop [6], Adam [7]. These algorithms aim to adapt the learning rate [wherein the learning algorithm comprises an adaptive learning rate according to an Adam optimizer function] to different parameters automatically, based on the statistics of gradient. Although they usually simplify learning rate settings, and lead to faster convergence…”
Zhang notes trying to create an improved Adam optimizer (as indicated by the title of Zhang) as the alternative to Adam is SGD with momentum which can be seen as better in some cases if the focus is accuracy. Zhang teaches reasoning for the use and improvement of the Adam optimizer, thus is seen as teaching what is wanted in the claim limitations.
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Zhang. Yefet and Zhang are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Zhang to utilize adaptive learning rate like the Adam optimizer does as optimizers like Adam help simplify settings and converge models faster ([Zhang Introduction page 1]: “To tackle this problem, several adaptive variants of SGD were developed, including Adagrad [4], Adadelta [5], RM-Sprop [6], Adam [7]. These algorithms aim to adapt the learning rate to different parameters automatically, based on the statistics of gradient. Although they usually simplify learning rate settings, and lead to faster convergence…”).
Claims 6, 15 are taught by Yefet, Wang2, Quiring:
Regarding claim 6:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
Yefet does not explicitly teach:
wherein the attacker model comprises a search algorithm that is a Monte-Carlo Tree Search (MCTS), and wherein the search algorithm identifies an exhaustive list of transformations for the sequence of transformations of the input program
Yefet teaches a search algorithm and the sequence of transformations of the input program as noted earlier in claim 1. The exhaustive list aspect is treated as being related to the Monte-Carlo Tree Search as a definition doesn’t appear within the specification.
Quiring teaches:
wherein the attacker model comprises a search algorithm that is a Monte-Carlo Tree Search (MCTS),
[Quiring Introduction page 1]: “Our attack proceeds by iteratively transforming the source code of a program, such that stylistic patterns are changed while the underlying semantics are preserved. To determine these transformations, we interpret the attack as a game against the attribution method and develop a variant of Monte-Carlo tree search [wherein the attacker model comprises a search algorithm that is a Monte-Carlo Tree Search (MCTS),] [24] for constructing a sequence of adversarial but plausible transformations. This black-box strategy enables us to construct untargeted attacks that thwart a correct attribution as well as targeted attacks that imitate the stylistic patterns of a developer.”
and wherein the search algorithm identifies an exhaustive list of transformations for the sequence of transformations of the input program
[Quiring 5 Monte-Carlo Tree Search]: “As a remedy, we construct our attack algorithm around the concept of Monte-Carlo tree search (MCTS)—a strong search algorithm that has proven effective in AI gaming with AlphaGo [24]. Similar to a game tree, our variant of MCTS creates a search tree for the attack, where each node represents a state of the source code and the edges correspond to transformations. By moving in this tree, we can evaluate the impact of different transformation sequences [and wherein the search algorithm identifies an exhaustive list of transformations for the sequence of transformations of the input program] before deciding on the next move. Figure 10 depicts the four basic steps of our algorithm: selection, simulation, expansion and backpropagation.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Quiring. Yefet and Quiring are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Quiring to utilize Monte-Carlo Tree Search as the algorithm is considered a good candidate as a result of previous cases of effectiveness ([Quiring 5 Monte-Carlo Tree Search]: “As a remedy, we construct our attack algorithm around the concept of Monte-Carlo tree search (MCTS)—a strong search algorithm that has proven effective in AI gaming with AlphaGo [24]. Similar to a game tree, our variant of MCTS creates a search tree for the attack, where each node represents a state of the source code and the edges correspond to transformations. By moving in this tree, we can evaluate the impact of different transformation sequences before deciding on the next move. Figure 10 depicts the four basic steps of our algorithm: selection, simulation, expansion and backpropagation.”).
Regarding Claim 15:
Claim 15 recites analogous limitations as claim 6.
Claims 7, 8, 16, 17 are taught by Yefet, Wang2, Wang:
Regarding claim 7:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Yefet, Wang2
Yefet teaches:
and wherein the feature extractor is a function of a classification task and the input program
[Yefet Figure 1 page 3] above shows the adversarial example hurting the prediction [and wherein the feature extractor is a function of a classification task and the input program] of what a function of code is doing.
Yefet does not explicitly teach:
wherein the feature extractor is a convolutional neural network,
Wang teaches:
wherein the feature extractor is a convolutional neural network,
[Wang Introduction page 1]: “With the rapid development and superior performance achieved in various vision tasks, deep convolutional neural networks (CNNs) [wherein the feature extractor is a convolutional neural network where a feature extraction is shown in claim 1 by Yefet and use of CNNs for models is taught here] have eventually led to pervasive and dominant applications in many industries. However, most deep CNN models could be easily misled by natural images with imperceptible but deceptive perturbations. These crafted images are known as adversarial examples, which have become one of the biggest threats in real-world applications with security-sensitive purposes [1], [2], [3]. Devising an effective algorithm to generate such deceptive examples can not only help to evaluate the robustness of deep models, but also promote better understanding about deep learning for the future community development.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Wang. Yefet and Wang are in the same field of endeavor of machine learning. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yefet and Wang to utilize CNNs as such networks have shown superior performance in some tasks and applications in many industries ([Wang Introduction page 1]: “With the rapid development and superior performance achieved in various vision tasks, deep convolutional neural networks (CNNs) have eventually led to pervasive and dominant applications in many industries.”)
Regarding claim 8:
The method of claim 7 is taught by Yefet, Wang2, and Wang
Yefet teaches:
wherein the classification task is a functionality prediction of source code
[Yefet Figure 1 page 3] above shows the adversarial example hurting the prediction [wherein the classification task is a functionality prediction of source code] of what a function of code is doing.
This is also supported by the known examples given in [Yefet Introduction page 2]: “Neural models of code have achieved state-of-the-art performance on various tasks such as the prediction of variable names and types [Allamanis et al. 2018; Alon et al. 2018; Bielik et al. 2016; Raychev et al. 2015], code summarization [Allamanis et al. 2016; Alon et al. 2019a; Fernandes et al. 2019], code generation [Alon et al. 2019b; Brockschmidt et al. 2019; Murali et al. 2017], code search [Cambronero et al. 2019; Liu et al. 2019; Sachdev et al. 2018], and bug finding [Pradel and Sen 2018; Rice et al. 2017; Scott et al. 2019].”
Regarding Claim 16:
Claim 16 recites analogous limitations as claim 7.
Regarding Claim 17:
Claim 17 recites analogous limitations as claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vedaldi et al (“Efficient Additive Kernels via Explicit Feature Maps”) is relevant art that notes aspects of mapping things like kernels in a feature map approximation to speed up training and test times thus enabling larger datasets. The improvement aligns with an improvement aspect of the mapping part of the current invention.
Sontakke et al (“Code Summarization: Do Transformers Really Understand Code?”) is relevant art that discusses model summarization of code, adversarial examples, large datasets, and other aspects relevant to the current invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129