DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16, 21-24 are pending in this application. Amended claims 1-3, 15-16; newly added claims 21-24; and canceled claims 17-20 are noted.
The amendment dated 02/04/2026 has been entered and carefully considered. The examiner appreciates the amendments to the abstract, title, and claims. In view of said amendments, the objections to the abstract and title and the 112 rejection have been withdrawn.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent claim 1
Claims 1, 5, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (2017/0335449).
Li teaches a method of depositing a silicon-containing film (title) in which a deposited silicon nitride film is exposed to an oxygen source such as ozone for oxidation and cured with ultraviolet resulting in good gap-fill effects (0094). A pressure of 8-10 torr is used (0093). In one embodiment, a silicon oxide film is deposited using flowable chemical vapor deposition using polysilazane (claim 8). However, the reference does not clearly indicate whether the film was simultaneously exposed to ozone and ultraviolet.
Generally speaking, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches polysilazane (claim 8).
Regarding new claim 21, Li teaches ammonia (0025).
Regarding new claim 22, the applicant requires a specific wet etch rate ratio with respect to thermal silicon oxide. Li teaches a wet etch ratio of 2.2 to 2.5 times a high quality thermal oxide (0007). To utilize the claimed ratio would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding new claim 23, Li teaches silicon nitride which contains hydrogen (0026)
Regarding new claim 24, Li teaches polysilazane (claim 8), which meets the claimed limitation of a precursor comprising silicon, nitrogen, and hydrogen. Li also teaches nitrogen, hydrogen, and ammonia (0025).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (2017/0335449) in view of Liao et al. (2008/0237662). Li fails to disclose the wavelength of the UV radiation.
Liao teaches of forming silicon nitride using a UV curing process, the wavelength of the UV being 100-400 nm (0063). It would have been obvious to utilize the claimed wavelength in Li with the expectation of success because Liao teaches of using a wavelength of 100-400 nm.
Independent claim 2
Claims 2-4, 6-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (2017/0335449).
Li teaches a method of depositing a silicon-containing film (title) in which a deposited silicon nitride film is exposed to an oxygen source such as ozone for oxidation and cured with ultraviolet resulting in good gap-fill effects (0094). A pressure of 8-10 torr is used (0093). In one embodiment, a silicon oxide film is deposited using flowable chemical vapor deposition using polysilazane (claim 8), which meets the claimed limitation of a precursor comprising silicon, nitrogen, and hydrogen. The reference also teaches nitrogen, hydrogen, and ammonia as well as a plasma (0025). However, the reference does not clearly indicate whether the film was simultaneously exposed to ozone and ultraviolet.
Generally speaking, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches repeating a cycle (0083).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches ammonia (0025).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches silazane (0032).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the claimed formula (0010-0011).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches SiH3 (0010-0011).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the claimed formula (0010-0011).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the claimed formula (0011, 0014).
Regarding claim 11, Li does not disclose any vacuum break.
Regarding claim 13, the applicant requires two process chambers. Li only teaches one (0049). It is well settled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches a deposition temperature of 0-1000oC (0055).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches a deposition temperature of 0-1000oC (0055) and a curing temperature of 100-1000oC (0064). To utilize a curing temperature no more than 20oC higher than the deposition temperature would have been obvious given the recited temperatures in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches a deposition temperature of 0-1000oC (0055) and a curing temperature of 100-1000oC (0064). To utilize a curing temperature higher than the deposition temperature would have been obvious given the recited temperatures in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that the rejection does not provide any motivation to use simultaneous steps from sequential steps (p.9 4th paragraph – p.10 first paragraph).
The examiner disagrees. Motivation has been provided in that there is no invention of performing simultaneously operations which have previously been performed in sequence in the absence of a showing of criticality. This position appears to be supported by case law: In re Tatincloux, 108 USPQ 125.
Applicant next argues that independent claim 2 and the dependent claims are allowable because they do not teach simultaneous exposure (pp.10-11).
The examiner disagrees. This issue has been addressed above.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not deemed persuasive.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 03/04/2026