DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed December 30th, 2025 are noted. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification to overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/02/2025 are noted. Applicant’s amendment(s) to the Specification have overcome the objection(s) to the Title and minor grammatical informalities previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/02/2025, so the objection(s) to the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claim 7 has been amended; Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-19 have been fully considered in examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad limitation together with a narrow limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim, i.e., claim 8 in combination with all the limitations in claims 1 and 7) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation “wherein the second reading operation…is not performed”, and the claim also recites “(in claim 7) the first reading operation…, and the second reading operation…are performed in this order” which is the narrower statement of the limitation. The claim(s) is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0060647A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a photoelectric conversion device (100) fig. 1 [0024-0026, 0138] comprising:
a plurality of pixels (PX of 110) fig. 1 [0142], each of the pixels (PXa) fig. 11B [0142] including
a first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) fig. 11B [0141], a second photoelectric conversion element (PD2) fig. 11B [0141],
a microlens (ML) fig. 11B [0139] that guides incident light (L1, L2) fig. 11B [0141] to the first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD2),
a floating diffusion (FD) fig. 11B [0139] to which charges accumulated in at least one of the first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD2) are transferred (shared between PDs [0137]), and
a transistor (CGX) fig. 10 [0058] that, when switched on [0058], adds (“increases”) a capacitance [0058] to a node of the floating diffusion (FD) [0058]; and
a signal line (CL) fig. 10 [0039-0040] to which signals are read [0039] from the plurality of pixels (110),
wherein in a second period (SP5) fig. 12 [0148] after a first period (SP4) fig. 12 [0147] in which a signal is read [0058, 0068] to the signal line (CL) from one subset of the plurality of pixels (110), a signal is read to [0144] the signal line (CL) from another subset (one row) [0062] of the plurality of pixels (different reading operations may be applied to different row-subsets of pixel array [0068]), and
wherein in the first period (SP4) fig. 12 [0144, 0147], a first reading operation (HCG) fig. 12 [0067, 0144, 0147], in which a signal based on charges transferred to the floating diffusion (FD) is read at [0067] a first conversion gain (HCG) [0047] caused by a state where the transistor (CGX) is in an off-state [0058], and
a second reading operation (LCG) fig. 12 [0144, 0149], in which a signal based on charges transferred to the floating diffusion (FD) is read at [0071] a second conversion gain (LCG) [0058, 0148] caused by a state where the transistor (CGX) is in an on-state ([0058]),
are performed [0058, 0144-0147].
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the photoelectric conversion device (100) fig. 1 [0024-0026, 0138] of claim 1. Lee also teaches wherein
the first reading operation (HCG in SP4) fig. 12 [0144] based on charges accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) fig. 11B [0141],
the first reading operation (HCG in SP4) based on charges generated by mixing charges (combining signal to form HCG sum image signal) [0144, 0147] to form accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) and charges accumulated in the second photoelectric conversion element (PD2) fig. 11B [0141], and
the second reading operation (LCG in SP5) fig. 12 [0144, 0148] based on charges generated by mixing charges (combining signals to form LCG sum image signal [0144, 0148]) accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) and charges accumulated in the second photoelectric conversion element (PD2)
are performed in this order [see fig. 12, 0144-0149].
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the photoelectric conversion device (100) fig. 1 [0024-0026, 0138] of claim 7. Lee also teaches wherein the second reading operation (LCG in SP5) fig. 12 [0144, 0148] based on charges accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) fig. 11B [0141] is not performed (SP5 period may not be performed while HCG in SP4-period is performed [0144-0149]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyauchi (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0099659A1) (of record) in view of Lee (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0060647A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miyauchi teaches a photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] comprising (refer to first embodiment of figs. 1-5 [0017-0021]):
a plurality of pixels (200 comprising PXLCs) fig. 2 [0053-0055, 0076-0081], each of the pixels (PXLC) fig. 4 [0076, 0081] including
a first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) fig. 2 [0056-0057], a second photoelectric conversion element (PD1) fig. 2 [0056-0057],
a floating diffusion (FD) fig. 2 [0056-0060] to which charges accumulated in at least one of the first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD1) are transferred (shared between PDs [0056]), and
a transistor (BIN-TR) fig. 2 [0058-0059] that, when switched on, adds a capacitance (via CS) fig. 2 [0073-0064] to a node of the floating diffusion (FD); and
a signal line (LSGN1) fig. 2 [0075] to which signals are read (via 210) fig. 2 [0109] from the plurality of pixels (200 comprising PXLCs),
wherein in a second period (LCGRRD reading period) [0044-0048, 0074] after a first period (HCGSRD reading period [0044-0046, 0074]) in which a signal is read to the signal line (from one subset of the plurality of pixels, a signal is read to the signal line (LSGN1) from another subset of the plurality of pixels (different reading operations may be applied to different subsets of pixel array [see 0043-0051]), and
wherein in the first period (comprising HCGSRD reading period [0044-0046, 0074]), a first reading operation (HCGSRD) fig. 2 [0074], in which a signal based on charges transferred to the floating diffusion (FD) is read at a first conversion gain (HCG) [0047] caused by a state where the transistor (BIN-Tr) is in an off-state (“in the non-conduction state” [0074]), and
a second reading operation (LCGRRD) fig. 2 [0074], in which a signal based on charges transferred to the floating diffusion (FD) is read at a second conversion gain (LCG) [0046] caused by a state where the transistor (BIN-Tr) is in an on-state (“in the conduction state” [0074]),
are performed [0074].
However, Miyauchi does not explicitly disclose a microlens (not shown; over features of fig. 4) [0077, 0082] that guides incident light [0082] to the first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD1) (microlens not explicitly shown).
Lee teaches a photoelectric conversion device (100) fig. 1 [0024-0026, 0138] comprising:
a microlens (ML) fig. 11B [0139] that guides incident light (L1, L2) fig. 11B [0141] to the first photoelectric conversion element (PD1) and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photoelectric conversion device of Miyauchi such that the microlens explicitly extends over and guides incident light rays to both the left and right photodiodes of a single pixel [0141] in order enhance the amount of light collected by the first and second photodiodes [0141] to, along with other features, improve light intensity sensing performance [0059] and autosensing capacity [0142] of the pixels of the array, as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein each of the plurality of pixels (20 comprising 200) fig. 3 [0056] has an amplifier transistor (TG0-TR) fig. 3 [0057, 0066] (locally-amplifies signal through transfer), the floating diffusion (FD) fig. 2 [0057] being connected to a control node (ND0) fig. 3 [0057] of the amplifier transistor (TG0-TR), and a selection transistor (selected SG0-Tr0 [0068-0069]) fig. 3 [0068] connected to the amplifier transistor (TG0-TR), and wherein the first period the first period (comprising HCGSRD reading period [0044-0046, 0074]) is a period from a time that the selection transistor (selected SG0-Tr0 [0068-0069]) transitions from an off-state to an on-state to a time that the selection transistor (selected SG0-Tr0 [0068-0069]) transitions from the on-state to an off-state (“SG0 Tr driven and controlled at individually selected timings” that may reflect the on/off conduction states [0066-0070, 0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the plurality of pixels (20 comprising 200 comprising PXLCs) fig. 2 [0040, 0053-0055, 0076-0081] are arranged across a plurality of rows (3 rows shown in fig. 2), and wherein the one subset of the plurality of pixels (comprising upper, left 200) are pixels arranged on one of the plurality of rows (upper of 3 rows).
Regarding claim 4, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the plurality of pixels (20 comprising 200 comprising PXLCs) fig. 2 [0040, 0053-0055, 0076-0081] are arranged across a plurality of rows, and wherein the one subset (comprising left column of 200 comprising upper, left 200) of the plurality of pixels are pixels (20 comprising 200) arranged on two or more of the plurality of rows (one column of 200 in fig. 2 spans three rows of 200).
Regarding claim 5, Miyauchi teaches a photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] comprising (refer to first embodiment of figs. 1-5 [0017-0021]):
a first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) fig. 2 [0056-0057];
a second photoelectric conversion element (PD1) fig. 2 [0056-0057];
a microlens (not shown; over features of fig. 4) [0077, 0082] that guides incident light [0082] to the first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD1) (although Miyauchi does not explicitly show the microlens, Miyauchi's imager is clearly for digital cameras, and when the imager is specifically incorporated into a digital camera, a microlens would be expected to guide light to at least the first and second PDs – see further discussion in Response-to-Arguments -section below),
a floating diffusion (FD) fig. 2 [0056-0060] to which charges accumulated in at least one of the first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD1) are transferred (shared between PDs [0056]); and
a transistor that (BIN-TR) fig. 2 [0058-0059], when switched on, adds a capacitance (via CS) fig. 2 [0073-0064] to a node of the floating diffusion (FD);
wherein in a period from a time that resetting of the floating diffusion (FD) is canceled to a time that resetting of the floating diffusion (FD) is next performed (between “clearings” [0074] [see also 0044-0050]),
a first reading operation (HCGSRD) fig. 2 [0074], in which a signal based on charges transferred to the floating diffusion (FD) is read at a first conversion gain caused by a state where the transistor (BIN-Tr) is in an off-state (“in the non-conduction state” [0074]), and
a second reading operation (LCGRRD) fig. 2 [0074], in which a signal based on charges transferred to the floating diffusion (FD) is read at a second conversion gain caused by a state where the transistor (BIN-Tr) is in an on-state (“in the conduction state” [0074]),
are performed [0074].
Regarding claim 6, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the second reading operation (LCGRRD) fig. 2 [0074] is performed after the first reading operation (HCGSRD) fig. 2 [0074] is performed on the same charges as those transferred to the floating diffusion (FD) [0074] (charges are mixed [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein a ratio of the first conversion gain (proportional to first amount of charges [0046-0048]) to the second conversion gain (proportional to second amount of charges [0046-0048]) is smaller than a ratio of a maximum amount of charges (first amount of charges) to be accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) fig. 2 [0056-0057] and the second photoelectric conversion element (PD1) fig. 2 [0056-0057] (second amount of charges) to a maximum amount of charges to be accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (PD0) (first amount of charges [0046-0048]) (ratio of gain ~ Q1/Q2 < 1 + Q2/Q1 = ([Q1+Q2]/Q1) = ratio of charges for all values wherein Q2 ~ Q1, where first and second charge accumulation /conversion gains substantially the same).
Regarding claim 10, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches further comprising a gain change circuit (“gain switching part” [0049]) that changes a gain for a signal output based on charges transferred to the floating diffusion (FD), wherein the gain change circuit reduces (switched [0049]) the gain to be lower (could be switched to greater or less than [0049]) when the first reading operation (HCGSRD) fig. 2 [0074, 0048-0049] is performed than when the second reading operation (LCGRRD) fig. 2 [0074, 0048-0049] is performed.
Regarding claim 11, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein a third reading operation (RMD3) fig. 2 [0049] based on a reset state of the floating diffusion (FD) is performed at the second conversion gain before transfer of charges for the second reading operation (LCGRRD) fig. 2 [0074] (RMD3 reset performed, then second conversion gain, then charge transfer PT2 [0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein a third reading operation (comprising RMD4) fig. 2 [0050] based on a reset state (PR2) [0050] of the floating diffusion (FD) is performed at the second conversion gain [0050] after the second reading operation (comprising PRD2 [0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches comprising:
a plurality of floating diffusions (FDs in left and right pixels 200) fig. 2 [0054-0056] including a first floating diffusion (left FD in left 200) fig. 2 [0054-0056] to which charges are transferred from the first photoelectric conversion element (PD0’s comprising left PD0) fig. 2 [0056-0057] and a second floating diffusion (right FD in right 200) fig. 2 [0054-0056] to which charges are transferred from the second photoelectric conversion element (PD1’s comprising right PD1) fig. 2 [0056-0057]; and
a plurality of transistors (BIN-TRs in respective 200s) fig. 2 [0058-0059] including a first transistor (left BIN-TR) fig. 2 [0054-0059] that, when switched on, adds a capacitance (via left CS) fig. 2 [0073-0064] to a node of the first floating diffusion (left FD) and a second transistor (right BIN-TR) fig. 2 [0054-0059] that, when switched on, adds a capacitance (via right CS) fig. 2 [0073-0064] to a node of the second floating diffusion (right FD).
Regarding claim 14, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 13. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the first reading operation (HCGSRD) fig. 2 [0074] based on charges accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (left PD0) fig. 2 [0056-0057], the first reading operation (HCGSRD) fig. 2 [0074] based on charges accumulated in the second photoelectric conversion element (right PD1) fig. 2 [0056-0057], the second reading operation (LCGRRD) fig. 2 [0074] based on charges accumulated in the first photoelectric conversion element (left PD0), and the second reading operation (LCGRRD) fig. 2 [0074] based on charges accumulated in the second photoelectric conversion element (right PD1) are performed (when respective pixels are read [0044-0050, 0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the photoelectric conversion device (10) is configured to operate in a first mode and a second mode (both Miyauchi and the current application are directed to imaging/PD devices with improved/expanded dynamic range --- e.g., Miyauchi [0088] and current app [0044] --- improving dynamic range typically includes implementing at least a dual-gain feature (e.g., high-gain for low light, and low-gain for high light to extend/improve time-to-saturation TTS), and wherein at least one of the first conversion gain (HCG) and the second conversion gain (LCG) differs between the first mode and the second mode (HCG assumed to be higher than LCG [0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 15. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the first mode is a high-illuminance drive mode, wherein the second mode is a low-illuminance drive mode used when an incident light amount is smaller than in a case of the first mode (e.g., high-gain for low light, and low-gain for high light to extend/improve time-to-saturation TTS), and wherein at least one of the first conversion gain (HCG) and the second conversion gain (LCG) is set higher in a case of the second mode than in a case of the first mode (HCG assumed to be set as higher than LCG [0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Miyauchi teaches the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 15. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the first conversion gain (HCG = high conversion gain) [0046-0047] is higher than the second conversion gain (LCG = low conversion gain) [0046-0047].
Regarding claim 18, Miyauchi also teaches equipment (300) fig. 20 [0182] comprising:
the photoelectric conversion device (10) fig. 1 [0038-0040] of claim 1; and
at least any one of:
a processing device (330) fig. 20 [0181-0184] configured to process a signal from the photoelectric conversion device (of 310) fig. 20 [0181-0184],
a display device (300 comprising a liquid crystal display monitor) fig. 20 [0183] configured to display information obtained by the photoelectric conversion device (310) fig. 20 [0181-0184].
Regarding claim 19, Miyauchi teaches the equipment (300) fig. 20 [0182] of claim 18. Miyauchi also teaches wherein the processing device (330) fig. 20 [0182] processes image signals (directed from 320/220 lens) fig. 20 [0182], which are generated by a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements (PDs of 10 [see fig. 1, 0040]), respectively and acquires distance information (through lens 320/220 [0182]) on a distance from the photoelectric conversion device to an object (“spatial information” [0182]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
All references newly-added to the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature image sensors with conversion gain circuitry, as well as microlenses explicitly positioned over multiple photodiodes.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 02/15/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892