DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18187055 application filed March 21, 2023, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on September 30, 2025. Claims 1, 6, 12, 43, 77, 104, 125-126, 133-134, 138-139 142-143, 146 and 148 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancelation of claims 2-5, 7-11, 13-42, 44-76, 78-103, 105-124,135-137, 140-141, 144-145 and 147; and withdrawal of claims 138-139, 142-143, 146 and 148 acknowledged
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 134 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The term “the chlorinating agent” in claim 134 lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of examining it will be assumed that this term is “a chlorinating agent”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12, 43, 77, 104, 125-126 and 133-134 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Blomberg et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20180166255), hereinafter “Blomberg”, in view of Nakatani et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20220020598), hereinafter “Nakatani”:--Claims 1, 12, 43, 77: Blomberg teaches an Atomic Layer etching (ALE) process for etching a metal oxide layer over a substrate ([0002, 0030]), comprisingi) loading the substrate having a film to be etched into a reaction chamber ([0004]), wherein the film may comprise ZrO2 ([0007, 0030, 0037, 0154-0155]);ii) supplying a first vapor-phase halide reactant that adsorbs and react with the surface of the film to form adsorbed species ([0004-0009]), wherein the first vapor-phase halide reactant may comprise WF6 ([0040, 0165]); theniii) supplying a second vapor-phase reactant that converts the adsorbed species into volatile species, thereby removing a portion of the surface ([0004]), wherein the second vapor-phase reactant may comprise a halide ligand ([0005]), such as a chloride ([0099]); or a sulfur atom ([0111]), such as SO3 ([0018]), dithione ([0105]), and may further comprise SO3 ([0128, 0018]) ; theniv) repeating steps (ii)-(iii) a plurality of times ([0114]). Blomberg further teaches that any excess reactants and/or reaction by-product may be removed by purging with an inert gas ([0038, 0118, 0135-0136, 0148]), and that the substrate is maintained at 300-500°C ([0023]) Blomberg fails to teach the claimed feature that the second vapor-phase reactant may comprise thionyl chloride. Nakatani, also directed to an ALE process ([0004]), teaches that the ALE process comprises cyclically ([0043-0047]) supplying a first gas that adsorb on a surface of the film to be etched, such as a transition metal film ([0157]), to be adsorbed to the surface ([0005]), then supplying a second gas to react with the adsorbed species thus etch the film ([0095-0100]), wherein the substrate is maintained at 25-400°C ([0111]). Nakayani further teaches that the first gas may comprise a metal and a halide, such as F ([0087]), and the second gas may comprise a S-, O-, and Cl-containing gas, such as SOCl2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use SOCl2 as the second vapor-phase reactant in the invention of Blomberg because Blomberg teaches that the “the second reactant may be a metal halide ([0028]), such as a compound having formula “MXy, where M comprises one or more of Ti, Sn, Mo, W or Nb, X comprises one or more of Cl or Br, and y is 1-6”, and Blomberg teaches that the second reactant may comprise a halide ligand, such as a chloride, and/or a sulfur atom, such as SO3, and Nakatani teaches that SOCl2 may be effective to react with an adsorded species formed by a gas comprising metal and a halide, such as F.--Claim 6: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a first vapor-phase halide reactant consisting of WF6.--Claims 104, 125,126: Blomberg further teaches that the etching may be repeated 10-1000 times ([0140]), and each cycle may last 0.01-60 seconds ([0147]). It is noted that these overlap the claimed ranges.--Claims 133, 134: Blomberg further teaches that the chamber may be maintained at 0.001-100 torr ([0152]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 30, 2025 have been fully considered as follows:--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the previously cited prior arts do not teach the amended feature, this arguments is persuasive. New grounds of rejection based on newly found prior arts are shown above. -- Regarding Applicant’s argument that the combination of WF6 and SOCl2 shows unexpected results, as shown in Fig. 2, this argument is not persuasive. It is well settled that Appellant has the burden of showing unexpected results. In re Freeman, 474 F.2d 1318, 1324 (CCPA 1973); In re Klosak, 455 F.2d 1077, 1080 (CCPA 1972). Such burden requires Appellant to proffer factual evidence that actually shows unexpected results relative to the closest prior art (see In re Baxter Travenol Labs., 952 F.2d 388, 392 (Fed. Cir. 1991)), and that is reasonably commensurate in scope with the protection sought by claim 34 on appeal (In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 743 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1035 (CCPA 1980); In re Hyson, 453 F.2d 764, 786 (CCPA 1972)). The extent of the showing relied upon by Appellant must reasonably support the entire scope of the claims at issue. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1344 (Fed. Cir. 2005). In the current case, the data fails to show the combination of WF6 and SOCl2 shows superior results over other common combination of first and second reactants used in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713