DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18187055 application filed March 21, 2023, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on August 5, 2025. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 12, 43, 77, 104, 125-126, 133-134, 138-139, 142-143, 146 and 148 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancelation of claims 3-4, 9-11, 13-42, 44-76, 78-103, 105-124, 127-132, 135-137, 140-141, 144-145 and 147; and withdrawal of claims 138-139, 142-143, 146 and 148 acknowledged
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of the invention of Group I, claims 1-2, 5-8, 12, 43, 77, 104, 125-126 and 133-134 in the reply filed on August 5, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 138-139, 142-143, 146 and 148 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Woods et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20220139720), hereinafter “Woods”:--Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7: Woods teaches a method of etching a metal oxide layer over a substrate ([0002, 0030]), comprisingi) loading the substrate into a process chamberii) pulsing a first reactant into the chamber ([0021-0023])iii) purging the chamber iv) pulsing a second reactant into the chamberv) purging the chambervi) repeating steps ii) – v) until a predetermined thickness of the metal oxide layer is removed ([0028, 0052]) Woods further teaches that the metal oxide may comprise hafnium oxide ([0031]), the first reactant may be a fluorinating agent ([0028]), such as WF6 ([0037]), and the second reactant may be a metal halide ([0028]), such as a compound having formula “MXy, where M comprises one or more of Ti, Sn, Mo, W or Nb, X comprises one or more of Cl or Br, and y is 1-6” ([0040]) Alternately, although Woods does not disclose the exact combination of components recited in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a fluorinating agent as the first reactant and a chlorinating agent as the second reactant in the absence of an unexpected result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 12, 43, 77, 104, 125-126 and 133-134 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woods as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blomberg et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20180166255), hereinafter “Blomberg”.--Claim 8: Woods teaches the invention as above, wherein Woods teaches that “the second reactant may be a metal halide ([0028]), such as a compound having formula “MXy, where M comprises one or more of Ti, Sn, Mo, W or Nb, X comprises one or more of Cl or Br, and y is 1-6” ([0040]). Although Woods discloses a general chemical formula for the metal halide, Woods is silent about a specific chemical formula of the metal halide. Blomberg, also directed to etching a metal oxide layer, such as hafnium oxide, by adsorbing a first reactant then converting the adsorbed species by exposing to a second reactant ([0004-0010]), teaches that the second reactant may be the same as the first reactant ([0162]) and that first reactant may comprise a metal halide, such as TiClx ([0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use TiCl4 as the second reactant in the invention of Woods because Woods teaches that the “the second reactant may be a metal halide ([0028]), such as a compound having formula “MXy, where M comprises one or more of Ti, Sn, Mo, W or Nb, X comprises one or more of Cl or Br, and y is 1-6”, and Blomberg teaches that the second reactant may be TiClx.--Claims 12, 43: Woods is silent about a temperature during the etching. Blomberg further teaches that the etching may be performed at a temperature of 300 to 500°C (Claim 19, [0023, 0151]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to performed the etching at a temperature of 300 to 500°C in the invention of Woods because Woods is silent about a temperature during the etching, and Blomberg teaches that such etching temperature would be effective.--Claims 77, 104: Woods further teaches that “The cycle may be repeated to remove a predetermined thickness of the oxide layer” ([0052]), but is silent about a number for the repetition. Blomberg further teaches that the cycle may be repeated for 1 to more than 50 cycles ([0156, 0163]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to repeat the cycle for 1-50 times in the invention of Woods because Woods is silent about a number for the repetition, and Blomberg teaches that such number of cycles would be effective.--Claims 125, 126: Woods is silent about a duration of the etching. Blomberg further teaches that the layer may be exposed to the first reactant or the second reactant for about 0.1-10 seconds ([0160, 0162, 0147-0149]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to expose the substrate to the first reactant or the second reactant for about 0.1-10 seconds in step (ii) and (iv) in the invention of Woods because Woods is silent about a duration of the etching, and Blomberg teaches that such exposing time would be effective.--Claims 133, 134: Woods is silent about a pressure during the etching. Blomberg further teaches that the etching may be performed at a pressure of 0.001-100 torr ([0152]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to performed the etching at a pressure of 0.001-100 torr in the invention of Woods because Woods is silent about a pressure during the etching, and Blomberg teaches that such etching pressure would be effective.
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713