Status of Preliminary Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of preliminary amendment to application 18/187,158 received March 21, 2023. Claims 13-18 are canceled, claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-12 are amended, and claims 4 and 10 are left as original.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the font used in fig. 5 is too small and the quality of the text is too poor to allow proper reproduction.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 17, add the verb “is” where “being” is deleted to be consistent with the other amendments to the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN-108407625 (hereinafter Li) in view of Chen CN-106926739 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a charging and discharging apparatus (Li, Fig. 1; Title), comprising a communication module (Li, Fig. 1; Element 3, “CAN communication module”), wherein the communication module is communicatively connected to a battery management system (BMS) (See underlined text from Li below.)
Excerpt from Li:
and is configured to, under a condition of being in a first energy transmission mode (Li, Fig. 1; Li’s equivalent of the claimed “first energy transmission mode” is the flow of energy from Element 1, “standard charging gun” when connected to a connector of an electric vehicle, through Elements 2, “ATS2”, 12, “DC/DC2”, 11, “DC/AC”, 10, “isolation transformer” and 9, “ATS1”, i.e. “discharging mode” or “power supply circuit”)
Excerpt from Li:
and the BMS not supporting a specific discharging protocol, perform first communication with the BMS based on a universal charging protocol,
Excerpt from Li:
and a conversion module, wherein one side of the conversion module is configured to be connected to a battery (Li, Fig. 2, “EV”. See annotated figure 2 below.), another side of the conversion module is configured to be connected to an alternating current side connecting structure (Li, Fig. 2, Left side output, see annotated figure 2 above.),
and the conversion module is configured to convert direct current provided by the battery into alternating current and transmit the alternating current to the alternating current side connecting structure in a process of the first communication,
Excerpt from Li:
wherein the first energy transmission mode is a mode in which the battery transmits power to the alternating current side connecting structure of the apparatus (Li, Fig. 1; Li’s equivalent of the claimed “first energy transmission mode” is the flow of energy from Element 1, “standard charging gun” when connected to a connector of an electric vehicle, through Elements 2, “ATS2”, 12, “DC/DC2”, 11, “DC/AC”, 10, “isolation transformer” and 9, “ATS1”, i.e. “discharging mode” or “power supply circuit”), but does not explicitly teach the BMS not supporting a specific discharging protocol, perform first communication with the BMS based on a universal charging protocol.
Chen, however, teaches the BMS not supporting a specific discharging protocol, perform first communication with the BMS based on a universal charging protocol (Chen, Figs. 1 and 2. See underlined text from Chen below. This is equivalent to the case where the BMS does not support a specific discharging protocol, the communication module communicates with the BMS based on a generic charging protocol).
Excerpt from Chen:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Li is silent as to a distinction of the charging protocol, Li would inherently incorporate some type of conventional selection of charging protocols commonly understood in the art. The determination of the charging protocol taught by Chen, for controlling the transfer of energy bidirectionally, teaches one of the many conventional charging/discharging system utilized in the art for charging a battery or providing battery power to an outside load. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Chen, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the system of Li.
Regarding Claims 3-4 and 6, The combined teaching of the Li and Chen references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Li teaches wherein the alternating current side connecting structure comprises an alternating current side power supply, the communication module is further configured to perform second communication with the BMS based on the universal charging protocol under a condition of being in a second energy transmission mode, and the second energy transmission mode is a mode in which the alternating current power supply transmits power to the battery, and the conversion module is further configured to convert alternating current provided by the alternating current side power supply into direct current and transmit the direct current to the battery in a process of the second communication (Li teaches, Figs. 1-2; throughout the disclosure, the AC side-connection structure comprises a power grid. When in a charging mode (a second energy transmission mode), the communication module performs second communication with the BMS on the basis of a general charging protocol. The charging mode is a mode in which an AC power supply transmits power to the battery. In the process of the second communication, the conversion module converts AC power into DC power, and transmits the same to the battery. When the AC side-connection structure comprises a load, before an auxiliary power supply is connected to the battery, the auxiliary power supply is used to supply power). Furthermore, Chen teaches wherein the universal charging protocol is obtained by extending an existing universal charging protocol and further comprising an auxiliary power supply, configured to under a condition that the alternating current side connecting structure comprises an alternating current side power supply, use alternating current provided by the alternating current side power supply to supply power to the apparatus, and under a condition that the alternating current side connecting structure comprises an alternating current side load, use direct current provided by a low-voltage power supply to supply power to the apparatus before being connected to the battery, and use the direct current provided by the battery to supply power to the apparatus after being connected to the battery, wherein the low-voltage power supply comprises at least one of a battery of the apparatus or a vehicle-mounted cigarette lighter (Chen, Figs. 1 and 2. See underlined text from Chen below. This is equivalent to the case where the BMS does not support a specific discharging protocol, the communication module communicates with the BMS based on a generic charging protocol. Further, Chen teaches in a discharging mode, after a battery is connected, the battery is used to supply power to a device. The remaining additional features are conventional means in the art.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Li is silent as to a distinction of the charging protocol, Li would inherently incorporate some type of conventional selection of charging protocols commonly understood in the art. The determination of the charging protocol taught by Chen, for controlling the transfer of energy bidirectionally, teaches one of the many conventional charging/discharging system utilized in the art for charging a battery or providing battery power to an outside load. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Chen, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the system of Li.
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches a power transmission method of a charging and discharging apparatus (Li, Fig. 1; See underlined text from Li below.),
Excerpt from Li:
comprising under a condition of being in a first energy transmission mode (Li, Fig. 1; Li’s equivalent of the claimed “first energy transmission mode” is the flow of energy from Element 1, “standard charging gun” when connected to a connector of an electric vehicle, through Elements 2, “ATS2”, 12, “DC/DC2”, 11, “DC/AC”, 10, “isolation transformer” and 9, “ATS1”, i.e. “discharging mode” or “power supply circuit”)
Excerpt from Li:
and a battery management system (BMS) not supporting a specific discharging protocol, performing first communication with the BMS based on a universal charging protocol,
Excerpt from Li:
and converting direct current provided by a battery (Li, Fig. 2, “EV”. See annotated figure 2 below.) into alternating current and transmitting the alternating current to an alternating current side connecting structure (Li, Fig. 2, Left side output, see annotated figure 2 above.) in a process of the first communication,
Excerpt from Li:
wherein the first energy transmission mode is a mode in which the battery transmits power to the alternating current side connecting structure of the apparatus (Li, Fig. 1; Li’s equivalent of the claimed “first energy transmission mode” is the flow of energy from Element 1, “standard charging gun” when connected to a connector of an electric vehicle, through Elements 2, “ATS2”, 12, “DC/DC2”, 11, “DC/AC”, 10, “isolation transformer” and 9, “ATS1”, i.e. “discharging mode” or “power supply circuit”), but does not explicitly teach a battery management system (BMS) not supporting a specific discharging protocol, performing first communication with the BMS based on a universal charging protocol.
Chen, however, teaches a battery management system (BMS) not supporting a specific discharging protocol, performing first communication with the BMS based on a universal charging protocol (Chen, Figs. 1 and 2. See underlined text from Chen below. This is equivalent to the case where the BMS does not support a specific discharging protocol, the communication module communicates with the BMS based on a generic charging protocol).
Excerpt from Chen:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Li is silent as to a distinction of the charging protocol, Li would inherently incorporate some type of conventional selection of charging protocols commonly understood in the art. The determination of the charging protocol taught by Chen, for controlling the transfer of energy bidirectionally, teaches one of the many conventional charging/discharging system utilized in the art for charging a battery or providing battery power to an outside load. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Chen, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the system of Li.
Regarding Claims 9-10 and 12, The combined teaching of the Li and Chen references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 7. Furthermore, Li teaches wherein the alternating current side connecting structure comprises an alternating current side power supply, the communication module is further configured to perform second communication with the BMS based on the universal charging protocol under a condition of being in a second energy transmission mode, and the second energy transmission mode is a mode in which the alternating current power supply transmits power to the battery, and the conversion module is further configured to convert alternating current provided by the alternating current side power supply into direct current and transmit the direct current to the battery in a process of the second communication (Li teaches, Figs. 1-2; throughout the disclosure, the AC side-connection structure comprises a power grid. When in a charging mode (a second energy transmission mode), the communication module performs second communication with the BMS on the basis of a general charging protocol. The charging mode is a mode in which an AC power supply transmits power to the battery. In the process of the second communication, the conversion module converts AC power into DC power, and transmits the same to the battery. When the AC side-connection structure comprises a load, before an auxiliary power supply is connected to the battery, the auxiliary power supply is used to supply power). Furthermore, Chen teaches wherein the universal charging protocol is obtained by extending an existing universal charging protocol and further comprising an auxiliary power supply, configured to under a condition that the alternating current side connecting structure comprises an alternating current side power supply, use alternating current provided by the alternating current side power supply to supply power to the apparatus, and under a condition that the alternating current side connecting structure comprises an alternating current side load, use direct current provided by a low-voltage power supply to supply power to the apparatus before being connected to the battery, and use the direct current provided by the battery to supply power to the apparatus after being connected to the battery, wherein the low-voltage power supply comprises at least one of a battery of the apparatus or a vehicle-mounted cigarette lighter (Chen, Figs. 1 and 2. See underlined text from Chen below. This is equivalent to the case where the BMS does not support a specific discharging protocol, the communication module communicates with the BMS based on a generic charging protocol. Further, Chen teaches in a discharging mode, after a battery is connected, the battery is used to supply power to a device. The remaining additional features are conventional means in the art.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Li is silent as to a distinction of the charging protocol, Li would inherently incorporate some type of conventional selection of charging protocols commonly understood in the art. The determination of the charging protocol taught by Chen, for controlling the transfer of energy bidirectionally, teaches one of the many conventional charging/discharging system utilized in the art for charging a battery or providing battery power to an outside load. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Chen, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the system of Li.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN-108407625 (hereinafter Li) in view of Chen CN-106926739 (hereinafter Chen) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above respectively , and further in view of Jie CN-107834658 (hereinafter Jie).
Regarding Claims 2 and 8, The combined teaching of the Li and Chen references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 7 respectively, but does not explicitly teach the BMS supporting a specific discharging protocol.
Jie, however, teaches wherein the communication module is further configured to under a condition of being in the first energy transmission mode and the BMS supporting the specific discharging protocol, perform the first communication with the BMS based on the specific discharging protocol (See underlined text from Jie below. The V2V charging device communicates with BMS discharge by means of a discharge protocol. Its function is the same as the claimed invention’s specific discharging protocol, i.e. based on discharge protocol communication.).
Excerpt from Jie:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Li is silent as to a distinction of the charging protocol, Li would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging protocol commonly understood in the art. The charging protocol taught by Jie, for charging a battery or providing battery power to an outside load, teaches one of the many conventional charging protocols utilized in the art for charging/discharging a battery. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Jie, to control the charge/discharge of the battery within the system of Li.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN-108407625 (hereinafter Li) in view of Chen CN-106926739 (hereinafter Chen) as applied to claims 1 and 7 respectively above, and further in view of Liu CN-207719855 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding Claims 5 and 11, The combined teaching of the Li and Chen references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 1 and 7 respectively. Furthermore, Li teaches further comprising a control module, configured to determine a current energy transmission mode as stated in claims 1 and 7, but does not explicitly teach execute a security policy corresponding to the current energy transmission mode.
Liu, however, teaches and execute a security policy corresponding to the current energy transmission mode, wherein under a condition that the current energy transmission mode is a first sub-mode of the first energy transmission mode, the security policy corresponding to the first sub-mode comprises performing insulation detection on the battery and determining that an alternating current side voltage parameter of the apparatus is within a preset value range, the first sub-mode being a mode in which the battery transmits power to an alternating current side power supply of the apparatus, under a condition that the current energy transmission mode is a second sub-mode of the first energy transmission mode, the security policy corresponding to the second sub-mode comprises performing insulation detection on the battery, the second sub-mode being a mode in which the battery transmits power to an alternating current side load of the apparatus, and under a condition that the current energy transmission mode a second energy transmission mode, the security policy corresponding to the second energy transmission mode comprises performing pre-charging on the battery, the second energy transmission mode being a mode in which the alternating current side power supply of the apparatus transmits power to the battery (Liu, Fig. 1; The bidirectional converter comprises a first energy transfer mode first sub-mode and a second energy transfer mode connecting the grid and the battery bidirectional flow through, the first sub-mode is a mode in which the battery is transmitting power to the AC side power source of the device and the second energy transfer mode is a mode in which the AC side power source of the device is transmitting power to the battery. Further, the first energy transfer mode is a second sub-mode in which the battery is transmitting power to the AC side load of the device, i.e. performing the same function as the claimed invention.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Li is silent as to a distinction of the charging modes, Li would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging modes commonly understood in the art. The charging modes taught by Liu, for charging a battery or providing battery power to outside load(s), teaches one of the many conventional security of charging modes utilized in the art for determining the charging/discharging mode(s) of a battery. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Liu, to control the charge/discharge mode within the system of Li.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Plag U.S. PGPub 2018/0269693 teaches charging using a universal format used by different battery types without changing the charging algorithm.
Yang et al. U.S. PGPub 2018/0312072 teaches controlling charging/discharging based on a predetermined control pattern.
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859