Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the applicant uses blank boxes and numbers in Figs. 1-2 to illustrate structural components for reference numbers 132 and 134. These alone do not facilitate understanding of the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffmann et al. ("A Pre- and Discharge Unit for Capacitive DC-Links Based on a Dual-Switch Bidirectional Flyback Converter," 2022 24th European Conference on Power Electronics and Applications (EPE'22 ECCE Europe), Hanover, Germany, 2022, pp. 1-10.).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 14, Hoffmann teaches a power supply system and method having an isolated solid-state active precharger (Figs. 2a and 2b; section “Proposed Converter-based Topology”; pg. 3 ¶[1-3]; a power supply system having an isolated solid-state active precharger).
Hoffmann teaches the power supply system comprising a high voltage battery, a capacitive circuit, and a pre-charging circuit configured to charge the capacitive circuit from the high voltage battery (Figs. 2a and 2b; section “Proposed Converter-based Topology”; pg. 3 ¶[1-3]; a battery, a capacitive circuit, and a pre-charging circuit configured to charge the capacitive circuit from the battery).
Hoffmann teaches the pre-charging circuit including a flyback transformer and having a primary side and a secondary side corresponding to a primary coil and a secondary coil of the flyback transformer, wherein the high voltage battery is connected to the primary side, wherein the capacitive circuit is coupled to the secondary side (Figs. 2a and 2b; section “Proposed Converter-based Topology”; pg. 3 ¶[1-3]; the pre-charging circuit including a flyback transformer having a primary side and a secondary side corresponding to a primary coil and a secondary coil of the flyback transformer, wherein the battery is connected to the primary side, and wherein the capacitive circuit is coupled to the secondary side).
Hoffmann teaches activating one or more solid-state switches on the primary side such that current flows from the high voltage battery to the primary coil (Figs. 2a and 2b; sections “Proposed Converter-based Topology” and “Operating Principle – Charging Process”; pg. 4 ¶[3]; in the interval t0≤t<t1 the solid-state switches on the primary side are operated causing current flow from the battery to the primary coil).
Hoffmann teaches deactivating the one or more solid-state switches such that current flows from the secondary coil to the capacitive circuit (Figs. 2a and 2b; sections “Proposed Converter-based Topology” and “Operating Principle – Charging Process”; pg. 4 ¶[4]; in the interval t1≤t<t2 --of a) the solid-state switches are operated such that the current flows from the secondary coil to the capacitive circuit).
Hoffmann teaches wherein charge is fed back to the high voltage battery when an output voltage of the secondary side is substantially equal to or greater than a charge in the high voltage battery (Figs. 2a and 2b; sections “Proposed Converter-based Topology” and “Operating Principle – Charging Process”; pg. 4 ¶[5]; in the interval t1≤t<t2 of b) when Vc ≥ Vbat the energy is fed back to the battery).
With respect to claims 2 and 15, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 14, respectively. Furthermore, Hoffmann teaches wherein the high voltage battery connected on the primary side and the capacitive circuit connected on the secondary side are galvanically isolated (Fig. 2b; section “Proposed Converter-based Topology”; the primary and secondary sides are galvanically isolated).
With respect to claims 3 and 16, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 14, respectively. Further, Hoffmann teaches wherein the output voltage is measured by a reflected voltage in the primary side during a demagnetizing phase (Figs. 2b and 3; section “Operating Principle – Charging Process”; pg. 4 ¶[6]; in the interval t2≤t≤t3 -the flyback transformer is demagnetized and as illustrated in Fig. 3 the output voltage is measured by a voltage in the primary side).
With respect to claims 4 and 17, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 14, respectively. Further, Hoffmann teaches wherein the primary side includes one or more battery diodes coupled to the flyback transformer and the high voltage battery, wherein the one or more battery diodes provide inductance leakage clamping and feeds charge to the high voltage battery when the output voltage of the secondary side is substantially equal to or greater than the charge in the high voltage battery (Fig. 2b; section “Operating Principle – Charging Process”; pg. 4 ¶[5]; in the interval t1≤t<t2 of b) when Vc ≥ Vbat the energy is fed back to the battery by conducting diodes D2 and D4).
With respect to claims 5 and 18, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 14, respectively. Further, Hoffmann teaches wherein the primary side includes one or more solid-state switches coupled between the high voltage battery and the flyback transformer, wherein the one or more solid-state switches are configured to change the flyback transformer between a magnetizing phase and a demagnetizing phase (Fig. 2b; section “Operating Principle – Charging Process”; page 4 ¶[4-6]; the solid-state switches in the primary side coupled between the battery and the flyback transformer are configured to change the flyback transformer between a magnetizing phase and a demagnetizing phase).
With respect to claim 6, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, Hoffmann teaches wherein the one or more solid-state switches are metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors (Fig. 2b; the solid-state switches are MOSFETs).
With respect to claim 9, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Hoffmann teaches wherein the secondary side includes an output diode coupled between the flyback transformer and the capacitive circuit (Fig. 2b; the secondary side includes an output diode coupled between the flyback transformer and the capacitive circuit).
With respect to claim 10, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Hoffmann teaches a main contactor circuit coupled to the high voltage battery and the capacitive circuit in parallel with the pre-charge circuit, the main contactor circuit including a positive-terminal contactor and a negative terminal contactor; and a load coupled to the main contactor circuit in parallel with the capacitive circuit (Fig. 2a; a main contactor circuit coupled to the battery and the capacitive circuit in parallel with the pre-charge circuit; and the main contactor circuit including a positive-terminal contactor and a negative terminal contactor. Pg. 3 ¶[2]; one of ordinary skill understands a load (not shown) is coupled to the main contactor circuit in parallel with the capacitive circuit).
With respect to claim 11, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Further, Hoffmann teaches wherein the load is provided by a vehicle power distribution system (section “Introduction”; pg. 1 ¶[2-3] and pg. 2 ¶[1-3]; the load is provided by a vehicle power distribution system).
With respect to claim 12, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 10. Further, Hoffmann teaches wherein the capacitive circuit is charged by the pre-charge circuit prior to connecting the load to the high voltage battery through the main contactor circuit (section “Introduction”; pg. 1 ¶[3] and pg. 2 ¶[1]; the capacitive circuit is precharged prior to closing the main contactor circuit thereby connecting the load to the battery).
With respect to independent claim 13, Hoffmann teaches an electric vehicle having a power supply system including an isolated solid-state active precharger (Figs. 2a and 2b; sections “Introduction” and “Proposed Converter-based Topology”; pg. 1 ¶[2-3], pg. 2 ¶[1-3], and pg. 3 ¶[1-3]; an electric vehicle having a power supply system having an isolated solid-state active precharger).
Hoffmann teaches the electric vehicle comprising a high voltage battery, a capacitive circuit, and a pre-charging circuit configured to charge the capacitive circuit from the high voltage battery (Figs. 2a and 2b; section “Proposed Converter-based Topology”; pg. 3 ¶[1-3]; a battery, a capacitive circuit, and a pre-charging circuit configured to charge the capacitive circuit from the battery).
Hoffmann teaches the pre-charging circuit including a flyback transformer and having a primary side and a secondary side corresponding to a primary coil and a secondary coil of the flyback transformer, wherein the high voltage battery is connected to the primary side, wherein the capacitive circuit is coupled to the secondary side (Figs. 2a and 2b; section “Proposed Converter-based Topology”; pg. 3 ¶[1-3]; the pre-charging circuit including a flyback transformer having a primary side and a secondary side corresponding to a primary coil and a secondary coil of the flyback transformer, wherein the battery is connected to the primary side, and wherein the capacitive circuit is coupled to the secondary side).
Hoffmann teaches wherein charge is fed back to the high voltage battery when an output voltage of the secondary side is substantially equal to or greater than a charge in the high voltage battery (Figs. 2a and 2b; sections “Proposed Converter-based Topology” and “Operating Principle – Charging Process”; pg. 4 ¶[5]; in the interval t1≤t<t2 of b) when Vc ≥ Vbat the energy is fed back to the battery).
Hoffmann teaches a main contactor circuit coupled to the high voltage battery and the capacitive circuit in parallel with the pre-charge circuit, the main contactor circuit including a positive-terminal contactor and a negative terminal contactor (Fig. 2a; a main contactor circuit coupled to the battery and the capacitive circuit in parallel with the pre-charge circuit; and the main contactor circuit including a positive-terminal contactor and a negative terminal contactor).
Hoffmann teaches a vehicle power distribution system connected across the main contactor circuit and the capacitive circuit (section “Introduction”; pg. 1 ¶[2-3] and pg. 2 ¶[1-3]; the load is provided by a vehicle power distribution system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. ("A Pre- and Discharge Unit for Capacitive DC-Links Based on a Dual-Switch Bidirectional Flyback Converter," 2022 24th European Conference on Power Electronics and Applications (EPE'22 ECCE Europe), Hanover, Germany, 2022, pp. 1-10.) and further in view of Karlin et al. (USPN 5192905).
With respect to claims 7 and 19, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 5 and 18, respectively. However, Hoffmann fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more solid-state switches are controlled by one or more gate drivers having an isolated power source.
Karlin teaches wherein the one or more solid-state switches are controlled by one or more gate drivers having an isolated power source (Fig. 1; the switching devices 30/32 are controlled by gate driver 24 in which one of ordinary skill understands has an isolated power source to power it for operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Karlin’s solid-state switching control and current measuring apparatus to Hoffmann’s power supply system in order to have a power system capable of controlling the solid-state switches via current feedback. The benefit of this adaptation being that via proper feedback and control the voltage can be maintained without hunting or chattering (see col. 2 lines 40-48 of Karlin).
With respect to claims 8 and 20, Hoffmann teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 7 and 19, respectively. However, Hoffmann fails to explicitly teach wherein a current controller is configured to measure current in the primary side and in the secondary side; and provide a control signal to the one or more gate drivers.
Karlin teaches wherein a current controller is configured to measure current in the primary side; and provide a control signal to the one or more gate drivers (Fig. 1; the current limit 45 is configured to measure current from the primary side and provides a control signal to the gate driver 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Karlin’s solid-state switching control and current measuring apparatus to Hoffmann’s power supply system in order to have a power system capable of controlling the solid-state switches via current feedback. The benefit of this adaptation being that via proper feedback and control the voltage can be maintained without hunting or chattering (see col. 2 lines 40-48 of Karlin).
Hoffmann discloses the claimed invention except for measuring current in the secondary side. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to also account for the current in the secondary side by measuring it considering MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Duplication of Parts, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The advantage to this being that measuring both the primary and secondary sides provides crucial data for safety, protection, and accurate energy management.
MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Duplication of Parts
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Frank A Silva whose telephone number is (703)756-1698. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 09:30 am -06:30 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859