DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 4,790,640, hereinafter Nason.
Regarding claim 1, Nason teaches a flow cell (figures 1 and 2), comprising: a first substrate (item 12) comprising a first planar surface (the upper surface of item 12); a second substrate (item 14) comprising a second planar surface (the lower surface of item 14) that is parallel to the first planar surface (figure 1); and an adhesive layer (item 16) that couples the first substrate to the second substrate (column 3, lines 45-59) and spaces the first planar surface apart from the second planar surface (column 3, lines 45-59), wherein the adhesive layer comprises: a first adhesive (the portion of item 16 touching and surrounding items 19 and 20) in direct contact with the first planar surface and in direct contact with the second planar surface (figure 1); and a second adhesive (the portion of item 16 on the far left and far right side of figure 2 only next to items 18, 21, 23 and 26) in direct contact with the first planar surface and in direct contact with the second planar surface (figure 1), wherein a flow channel (item 20) is at least partially defined by the first planar surface by the second planar surface and by the first adhesive (figure 2), wherein the first adhesive is disposed between the flow channel and the second adhesive (figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Nason teaches wherein the first adhesive comprises a biocompatible material (column 1, lines 5-12 and column 2, lines 8-22).
Regarding claim 3, Nason teaches wherein the first adhesive comprises a pressure-sensitive adhesive (column 2, lines 8-22).
Regarding claim 4, Nason teaches wherein the second adhesive comprises an epoxy (column 2, lines 8-22).
Regarding claim 6, Nason teaches wherein at least a portion of the first adhesive is disposed radially inward relative to the second adhesive (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Nason teaches wherein the second adhesive completely surrounds the first adhesive (figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Nason teaches wherein at least one of the first substrate or the second substrate comprises glass (column 2, lines 8-22).
Regarding claim 9, Nason teaches a cartridge for use in a system for sequencing polynucleotides (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), the cartridge comprising the flow cell of claim 1 (see supra).
Regarding claim 10, Nason teaches a system for sequencing polynucleotides (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), the system comprising the flow cell of claim 1 (see supra).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nason.
Regarding claim 5, Nason teaches the first adhesive has a first bond strength and the second adhesive has a second bond strength (each section of the adhesive would have a specific bond strength).
Nason fails to teach the second bond strength is greater than the first bond strength. It would have been an obvious matter of choice to change the amounts of adhesive on either side of the device, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A). A larger area of adhesive for the second adhesive would result in a second bond strength which is greater than the first bond strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nason.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796