DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of June 1, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 4-9 and 11-22 are presented for examination, with Claims 1, 9, and 16 being in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 10-15, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0076923 (“Carroll”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,542,078 (“de Jongh”) and JP2005-056997A (“Satoyoshi”).
Regarding Claim 1, Carroll discloses a matching circuit for a plasma tool (Fig. 1; [0043]-[0047]; Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]) comprising:
an impedance matching network (104) configured to be coupled between a power supply (102) and a plasma chamber (106), the plasma chamber being configured to operate a plasma in a predetermined frequency range ([0044]), the power supply being configured to provide power for the plasma chamber ([0046]), the impedance matching network comprising a first pi-network in series coupled between an input of the plasma chamber and an output of the power supply (104 in Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]), and the impedance matching network being configured such that, during operation of the plasma chamber in the predetermined frequency range, an impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals an impedance of the power supply ([0046]-[0047]).
Carroll fails to specifically disclose a second pi-network.
However, de Jongh teaches a second pi-network (Fig. 1a; col. 1, lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced L1 of the first pi-network as disclosed by Carroll with the second pi-network as taught by de Jongh, in order to use a well-known pi-network impedance matching circuit, as evidenced by de Jongh (col. 1, lines 32-33).
The combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh fails to specifically teach that the predetermined frequency extends to an upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and wherein one or more components of the plasma chamber are supplied with power at frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and the impedance matching network being further configured to filter and prevent the frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz from travelling to the power supply from the plasma chamber.
However, Satoyoshi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the predetermined frequency extends to an upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and wherein one or more components of the plasma chamber are supplied with power at frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and the impedance matching network being further configured to filter and prevent the frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz from travelling to the power supply from the plasma chamber ([0038]; [0047]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the matching circuit for a plasma chamber as taught by the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh with an upper frequency operation of 13.56 MHz as taught by Satoyoshi, in order to provide a plasma processing apparatus capable of reducing the size and cost of the matching circuit in a two frequency superimposed application system, as evidenced by Satoyoshi ([0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi further teaches wherein the plasma chamber is configured to operate the plasma in the predetermined frequency range that extends from a lower frequency of 400 kHz to the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz ([0038]; [0047]; Fig. 1 of Satoyoshi).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the output of the power supply (Carroll, 102) is coupled to the second pi-network (de Jongh, Fig. 1a) through the first pi-network (Carroll, 104 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the first pi-network comprises: a first adjustable capacitor coupled between the output of the power supply and ground (Carroll, C1 in Fig. 12); a first adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the output of the power supply and the first adjustable capacitor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12), and a common node of a second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a) and a second adjustable inductor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a); and the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a) coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable inductor, and ground (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the second pi-network comprises: the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a), wherein the second adjustable capacitor is shared by both the first pi-network and the second pi-network (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a, as combined with Carroll); the second adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and a common node of a third adjustable capacitor and the input of the plasma chamber; and the third adjustable capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground (de Jongh, CP2 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the impedance matching network further comprises a fourth adjustable capacitor coupled in parallel with the first adjustable inductor (Carroll, C2 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the first adjustable capacitor, the second adjustable capacitor, and the third adjustable capacitor are shunt capacitors (Carroll, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the impedance matching network comprises a combined total of six adjustable capacitive elements and adjustable inductive elements (C1, C2, and L2 in Fig. 12 of Carroll in combination with CP1, CP2, and IN1 of de Jongh).
Regarding Claim 9, Carroll discloses a method (Fig. 1; [0043]-[0047]; Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]) comprising:
providing power from a power supply (102) to a plasma chamber (106), an impedance matching network being coupled between an output of the power supply and an input of the plasma chamber (104), the impedance matching network comprising a first pi-network connected in series (104 in Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]), and the impedance matching network comprising a combined total of four adjustable capacitive elements and adjustable inductive elements (C1-2, L1-2 in Fig. 12); configuring the plasma chamber to operate at a first frequency within a predetermined frequency range, the predetermined frequency range extending from a second frequency to a third frequency, the third frequency being higher than the second frequency ([0044]; [0121]); and based on the first frequency, adjusting the impedance matching network such that an impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals an impedance of the power supply ([0046]-[0047; [0122]).
Carroll fails to specifically disclose a second pi-network including the remaining adjustable capacitive and inductive elements.
However, de Jongh teaches a second pi-network including the remaining adjustable capacitive and inductive elements (CP1-2, and IN1 in Fig. 1a; col. 1, lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced L1 of the first pi-network as disclosed by Carroll with the second pi-network as taught by de Jongh, in order to use a well-known pi-network impedance matching circuit, as evidenced by de Jongh (col. 1, lines 32-33).
The combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh fails to specifically teach that the predetermined frequency extends to an upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and wherein one or more components of the plasma chamber are supplied with power at frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and the impedance matching network being further configured to filter and prevent the frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz from travelling to the power supply from the plasma chamber.
However, Satoyoshi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that the predetermined frequency extends to an upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and wherein one or more components of the plasma chamber are supplied with power at frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and the impedance matching network being further configured to filter and prevent the frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz from travelling to the power supply from the plasma chamber ([0038]; [0047]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the matching circuit for a plasma chamber as taught by the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh with an upper frequency operation of 13.56 MHz as taught by Satoyoshi, in order to provide a plasma processing apparatus capable of reducing the size and cost of the matching circuit in a two frequency superimposed application system, as evidenced by Satoyoshi ([0005]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi further teaches configuring the plasma chamber to operate in a fourth frequency in the predetermined frequency range; and based on the fourth frequency, adjusting the impedance matching network such that in the predetermined frequency range, the impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals the impedance of the power supply (Carroll, [0046]-[0047]; [0057]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches wherein the first pi-network comprises: a first adjustable capacitor coupled between the output of the power supply and ground (Carroll, C1 in Fig. 12); a first adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the output of the power supply and the first adjustable capacitor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12), and a common node of a second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a) and a second adjustable inductor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a); and the second adjustable capacitor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable inductor, and ground (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches wherein the second pi-network comprises: the second adjustable capacitor, wherein the second adjustable capacitor is shared by both the first pi-network and the second pi-network (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a); the second adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and a common node of a third adjustable capacitor and the input of the plasma chamber; and the third adjustable capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground (de Jongh, CP2 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches wherein the impedance matching network further comprises a fourth adjustable capacitor coupled in parallel with the first adjustable inductor (Carroll, C2 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches dynamically adjusting the first adjustable capacitor, the second adjustable capacitor, the third adjustable capacitor, the fourth adjustable capacitor, the first adjustable inductor, and the second adjustable inductor such that the impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals the impedance of the power supply (Carroll, [0046]-[0047]; [0057]; [0141]).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh and Satoyoshi, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches wherein the impedance matching network comprises a combined total of six adjustable capacitive elements and adjustable inductive elements (C1, C2, and L2 in Fig. 12 of Carroll in combination with CP1, CP2, and IN1 of de Jongh).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0076923 (“Carroll”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,542,078 (“de Jongh”).
Regarding Claim 16, Carroll discloses a system (Fig. 1; [0043]-[0047]; Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]) comprising:
a plasma chamber (106) coupled to a power source (102); and
an impedance matching network coupled between an output of the power source and an input of the plasma chamber (104), wherein the impedance matching network is configured such that, in a predetermined frequency range ([0044]), an impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber is equal to an impedance of the power source ([0046]-[0047]), wherein the impedance matching network (104) comprises: a first pi-network comprising a first adjustable capacitor (C1), a second adjustable inductor (L1) and a first adjustable inductor (L2); and a third adjustable capacitor (C2) coupled in parallel with the first adjustable inductor (L2).
Carroll fails to specifically disclose a second adjustable capacitor, a second adjustable inductor, and a fourth adjustable polarized capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground in a second pi-network in series with the first pi-network.
However, de Jongh teaches a second adjustable capacitor network (CP1 in Fig. 1a; col. 1, lines 32-41), a second adjustable inductor (IN1), and a fourth adjustable polarized capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground (CP2) in a second pi-network in series with the first pi-network (Fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced L1 of the first pi-network as disclosed by Carroll with the second pi-network as taught by de Jongh, in order to use a well-known pi-network impedance matching circuit, as evidenced by de Jongh (col. 1, lines 32-33).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 16, further teaches wherein the first adjustable capacitor is coupled between the output of the power source and ground (Carroll, C1 in Fig. 12), wherein the second adjustable capacitor is coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12) and a second adjustable inductor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and ground, and wherein the first adjustable inductor is coupled between a common node of the output of the power source and the first adjustable capacitor, and a common node of the second adjustable capacitor and the second adjustable inductor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 16, further teaches wherein the second pi-network further comprises: the second adjustable capacitor, wherein the second adjustable capacitor is shared by both the first pi-network and the second pi-network (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a); and the second adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and a common node of the fourth adjustable capacitor and the input of the plasma chamber (de Jongh, CP2 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches wherein the plasma chamber is configured to operate a plasma within the plasma chamber in the predetermined frequency range from about 400 kHz to about 13.56 MHz (Carroll, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches wherein the impedance matching network is configured to act as a filter and prevent frequencies that are present at the plasma chamber that are higher than the predetermined frequency range from traveling to the power source (Carroll, [0046]-[0047], [0057]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent Claims 1 and 9, Applicants argue in essence that the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh fails to specifically teach that the predetermined frequency extends to an upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and wherein one or more components of the plasma chamber are supplied with power at frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz, and the impedance matching network being further configured to filter and prevent the frequencies higher than the upper frequency of 13.56 MHz from travelling to the power supply from the plasma chamber.
The examiner cannot concur with Applicants arguments because it is now Satoyoshi, not Carroll in view of de Jongh, that is cited for these limitations.
Regarding independent Claim 16, Applicants argue in essence that the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh fails to specifically teach "a second pi-network connected in series with the first pi-network, the second pi-network comprising a fourth adjustable capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground, wherein the fourth adjustable capacitor is a polarized capacitor."
The examiner cannot concur with Applicants arguments because, de Jongh clearly discloses the second pi-network including the second variable capacitor (CP1), the second variable inductor (IN1) and the fourth variable capacitor (CP2); and, Carroll clearly discloses the first pi-network including the first variable capacitor (C1), the third variable capacitor (C2), and the first variable inductor (L2). It is the combination, as set forth in the rejection above, that places the first and second pi-networks in series to meet all the presently claimed limitations.
Finally, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent publication No. 2002/0149445 (“Chawla”) relates to a dual directional harmonics dissipation system. See, Fig. 3, in particular.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0139674 (“Shaw”) relates to systems and methods combining matching networks and frequency tuning. See, paragraph [0037] regarding the “conventional 13.56 MHz signal”, in particular.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845