DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of March 21, 2023. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination, with Claims 1, 9, and 16 being in independent form.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 21, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0076923 (“Carroll”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,542,078 (“de Jongh”).
Regarding Claim 1, Carroll discloses a matching circuit for a plasma tool (Fig. 1; [0043]-[0047]; Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]) comprising:
an impedance matching network (104) configured to be coupled between a power supply (102) and a plasma chamber (106), the plasma chamber being configured to operate a plasma in a predetermined frequency range ([0044]), the power supply being configured to provide power for the plasma chamber ([0046]), the impedance matching network comprising a first pi-network in series coupled between an input of the plasma chamber and an output of the power supply (104 in Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]), and the impedance matching network being configured such that, during operation of the plasma chamber in the predetermined frequency range, an impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals an impedance of the power supply ([0046]-[0047]).
Carroll fails to specifically disclose a second pi-network.
However, de Jongh teaches a second pi-network (Fig. 1a; col. 1, lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced L1 of the first pi-network as disclosed by Carroll with the second pi-network as taught by de Jongh, in order to use a well-known pi-network impedance matching circuit, as evidenced by de Jongh (col. 1, lines 32-33).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches wherein the plasma chamber is configured to operate the plasma in the predetermined frequency range that extends from a lower frequency of about 400 kHz to an upper frequency of about 13.56 MHz (Carroll, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches wherein the impedance matching network is configured to isolate the power supply from any frequencies that are higher than the upper frequency that are present at the plasma chamber (Carroll, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the output of the power supply (Carroll, 102) is coupled to the second pi-network (de Jongh, Fig. 1a) through the first pi-network (Carroll, 104 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the first pi-network comprises: a first adjustable capacitor coupled between the output of the power supply and ground (Carroll, C1 in Fig. 12); a first adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the output of the power supply and the first adjustable capacitor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12), and a common node of a second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a) and a second adjustable inductor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a); and the second adjustable capacitor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable inductor, and ground (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the second pi-network comprises: the second adjustable capacitor, wherein the second adjustable capacitor is shared by both the first pi-network and the second pi-network (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a); the second adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and a common node of a third adjustable capacitor and the input of the plasma chamber; and the third adjustable capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground (de Jongh, CP2 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 1, further teaches wherein the impedance matching network further comprises a fourth adjustable capacitor coupled in parallel with the first adjustable inductor (Carroll, C2 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches wherein the first adjustable capacitor, the second adjustable capacitor, and the third adjustable capacitor are shunt capacitors (Carroll, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 9, Carroll discloses a method (Fig. 1; [0043]-[0047]; Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]) comprising:
providing power from a power supply (102) to a plasma chamber (106), an impedance matching network being coupled between an output of the power supply and an input of the plasma chamber (104), the impedance matching network comprising a first pi-network connected in series (104 in Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]), and the impedance matching network comprising a combined total of four adjustable capacitive elements and adjustable inductive elements (C1-2, L1-2 in Fig. 12); configuring the plasma chamber to operate at a first frequency within a predetermined frequency range, the predetermined frequency range extending from a second frequency to a third frequency, the third frequency being higher than the second frequency ([0044]; [0121]); and based on the first frequency, adjusting the impedance matching network such that an impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals an impedance of the power supply ([0046]-[0047; [0122]).
Carroll fails to specifically disclose a second pi-network including the remaining adjustable capacitive and inductive elements.
However, de Jongh teaches a second pi-network including the remaining adjustable capacitive and inductive elements (CP1-2, and IN1 in Fig. 1a; col. 1, lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced L1 of the first pi-network as disclosed by Carroll with the second pi-network as taught by de Jongh, in order to use a well-known pi-network impedance matching circuit, as evidenced by de Jongh (col. 1, lines 32-33).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches isolating the power supply from any frequencies that are present at the plasma chamber that are higher than the third frequency using the impedance matching network (Carroll, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches configuring the plasma chamber to operate in a fourth frequency in the predetermined frequency range; and based on the fourth frequency, adjusting the impedance matching network such that in the predetermined frequency range, the impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals the impedance of the power supply (Carroll, [0046]-[0047]; [0057]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches wherein the first pi-network comprises: a first adjustable capacitor coupled between the output of the power supply and ground (Carroll, C1 in Fig. 12); a first adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the output of the power supply and the first adjustable capacitor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12), and a common node of a second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a) and a second adjustable inductor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a); and the second adjustable capacitor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable inductor, and ground (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches wherein the second pi-network comprises: the second adjustable capacitor, wherein the second adjustable capacitor is shared by both the first pi-network and the second pi-network (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a); the second adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and a common node of a third adjustable capacitor and the input of the plasma chamber; and the third adjustable capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground (de Jongh, CP2 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 9, further teaches wherein the impedance matching network further comprises a fourth adjustable capacitor coupled in parallel with the first adjustable inductor (Carroll, C2 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches dynamically adjusting the first adjustable capacitor, the second adjustable capacitor, the third adjustable capacitor, the fourth adjustable capacitor, the first adjustable inductor, and the second adjustable inductor such that the impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber equals the impedance of the power supply (Carroll, [0046]-[0047]; [0057]; [0141]).
Regarding Claim 16, Carroll discloses a system (Fig. 1; [0043]-[0047]; Fig. 12; [0085]-[0086]) comprising:
a plasma chamber (106) coupled to a power source (102); and
an impedance matching network coupled between an output of the power source and an input of the plasma chamber (104), wherein the impedance matching network is configured such that, in a predetermined frequency range ([0044]), an impedance of the impedance matching network and the plasma chamber is equal to an impedance of the power source ([0046]-[0047]), wherein the impedance matching network (104) comprises: a first pi-network comprising a first adjustable capacitor (C1), a second adjustable inductor (L1) and a first adjustable inductor (L2); and a third adjustable capacitor (C2) coupled in parallel with the first adjustable inductor (L2).
Carroll fails to specifically disclose a second adjustable capacitor in a second pi-network.
However, de Jongh teaches a second adjustable capacitor in a second pi-network (CP1 in Fig. 1a; col. 1, lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced L1 of the first pi-network as disclosed by Carroll with the second adjustable capacitor of second pi-network as taught by de Jongh, in order to use a well-known pi-network impedance matching circuit, as evidenced by de Jongh (col. 1, lines 32-33).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 16, further teaches wherein the first adjustable capacitor is coupled between the output of the power source and ground (Carroll, C1 in Fig. 12), wherein the second adjustable capacitor is coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12) and a second adjustable inductor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and ground, and wherein the first adjustable inductor is coupled between a common node of the output of the power source and the first adjustable capacitor, and a common node of the second adjustable capacitor and the second adjustable inductor (Carroll, L2 in Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh, as applied to Claim 16, further teaches wherein the impedance matching network further comprises: a second pi-network connected in series with the first pi-network, the second pi-network comprising: the second adjustable capacitor, wherein the second adjustable capacitor is shared by both the first pi-network and the second pi-network (de Jongh, CP1 in Fig. 1a); the second adjustable inductor coupled between a common node of the first adjustable inductor and the second adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, IN1 in Fig. 1a), and a common node of a fourth adjustable capacitor (de Jongh, CP2 in Fig. 1a) and the input of the plasma chamber; and the fourth adjustable capacitor coupled between the input of the plasma chamber and ground (de Jongh, CP2 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches wherein the plasma chamber is configured to operate a plasma within the plasma chamber in the predetermined frequency range from about 400 kHz to about 13.56 MHz (Carroll, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Carroll in view of de Jongh further teaches wherein the impedance matching network is configured to act as a filter and prevent frequencies that are present at the plasma chamber that are higher than the predetermined frequency range from traveling to the power source (Carroll, [0046]-[0047], [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application No. 2024/0194447 (“Guo”) relates to learning base tuning in a radio frequency plasma processing chamber.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0200657 (“Oliveti”) relates to a hybrid matching network topology.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0030569 (“Kim”) relates to a signal power splitter/combiner with resistance and impedance transformer loading.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0310297 (“Mei”) relates to an impedance matching component.
U.S. patent Publication No. 2014/0104132 (“Bakalski”) relates to an impedance matching network with improved quality factor and method for matching impedance.
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844