DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasao (US 20230065210) in view of Honma et al.(US5923282). Hereafter, Honma et al. is referred to as Honma.
Regarding claim 1, Takasao teaches:
a surveying apparatus [#200 of Fig. 1, optical distance measuring device, ¶ 19] configured to measure a distance [¶ 19] to a reflection point [OB of Fig. 1, object, ¶ 23] that reflects distance measuring light [DL and RL of Fig. 1, laser light and reflected light respectively, ¶ 23] based on emission and reception of the distance measuring light [¶ 26],
the surveying apparatus comprising a processor or circuitry [#100 of Fig. 1, controller, ¶ 24] configured to: determine whether a beam is a repeatedly reflected beam [¶ 27].
Takasao does not explicitly teach:
a processor or circuitry configured to: assume that a symbol "K" represents a natural number, excluding zero; and determine whether a beam that is received after (K+1)th light emission is a repeatedly reflected beam of light that has been emitted before the (K+1)th light emission,
wherein the beam that is received, after the (K+1)th light emission, at a time corresponding to a period based on a time interval from light emission at or before Kth light emission until first reception of a beam related to the light emission at or before the Kth light emission, is determined as being the repeatedly reflected beam.
Honma teaches, solving the same problem of multiple reflections:
a processor or circuitry [#8 -11 of Fig. 1, range finding unit, distance data processing unit, detecting unit, and identifying unit respectively, Col. 4 lines 64 - 67 and Col. 5 lines 1 - 16] configured to: assume that a symbol "K" represents a natural number, excluding zero [Col 5, Lines 17 – 27, first distance data set];
and determine whether a beam that is received after (K+1)th light emission is a repeatedly reflected beam of light that has been emitted before the (K+1)th light emission [Col. 5 Lines 17-27],
wherein the beam that is received, after the (K+1)th light emission, at a time corresponding to a period based on a time interval from light emission at or before Kth light emission until first reception of a beam related to the light emission at or before the Kth light emission, is determined as being the repeatedly reflected beam [Col. 5 Lines 17-27].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takasao to group received pulses whose TOF (time-of-flight) are a multiple of a prior pulse’s TOF similar to Honma with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring that received pulses are correctly mapped to transmitted pulses and increasing distance accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, Takasao also teaches:
The surveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a beam that is received, after the repeatedly reflected beam is received, at a time not corresponding to the period, is used as a reflected beam of the (K+1)th light emission [¶ 36].
Regarding claim 3, Takasao teaches:
The surveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case in which another beam is received, after the repeatedly reflected beam is received, at a time corresponding to the period, and an estimated intensity of the repeatedly reflected beam at the time of receiving the another beam is not more than a predetermined threshold , the another beam is used as a reflected beam of the (K+1)th light emission [¶ 49].
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 is identical in scope to claim 1, and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Regarding claim 5, Takasao teaches:
A non-transitory computer recording medium storing computer executable instructions [¶ 58] for making a computer processor execute a surveying program to cause measuring a distance [¶ 19] to a reflection point [OB of Fig. 1, object, ¶ 23] that reflects distance measuring light [DL and RL of Fig. 1, laser light and reflected light respectively, ¶ 23] based on emission and reception of the distance measuring light [¶ 26],
the computer executable instructions made to, when executed by the computer processor, cause the computer processor to:
determine whether a beam is a repeatedly reflected beam [¶ 27].
Takasao does not explicitly teach:
the computer executable instructions made to, when executed by the computer processor, cause the computer processor to:
assume that a symbol "K" represents a natural number, excluding zero;
and determine whether a beam that is received after (K+1)th light emission is a repeatedly reflected beam of light that has been emitted before the (K+1)th light emission, wherein the beam that is received, after the (K+1)th light emission, at a time corresponding to a period based on a time interval from light emission at or before Kth light emission until first reception of a beam related to the light emission at or before the Kth light emission, is determined as being the repeatedly reflected beam.
Honma teaches, solving the same problem of multiple reflections:
the computer executable instructions made to, when executed by the computer processor[#8 -11 of Fig. 1, range finding unit, distance data processing unit, detecting unit, and identifying unit respectively, Col. 4 lines 64 - 67 and Col. 5 lines 1 - 16], cause the computer processor to:
assume that a symbol "K" represents a natural number, excluding zero [Col 5, Lines 17 – 27, first distance data set];
and determine whether a beam that is received after (K+1)th light emission is a repeatedly reflected beam of light that has been emitted before the (K+1)th light emission [Col. 5 Lines 17-27],
wherein the beam that is received, after the (K+1)th light emission, at a time corresponding to a period based on a time interval from light emission at or before Kth light emission until first reception of a beam related to the light emission at or before the Kth light emission, is determined as being the repeatedly reflected beam [Col. 5 Lines 17-27].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takasao to group received pulses whose TOF are a multiple of a prior pulse’s TOF similar to Honma with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring that received pulses are correctly mapped to transmitted pulses and increasing distance accuracy.
Conclusion
/A.D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645