DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims’ Status & Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and being examined. Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-16, and 19-20 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or newly added.
The objections of the last Office Action (filed 11/25/2025) of Claims 2-3, 6-7, 8-9, 12-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are withdrawn due to the underlying issues having been fixed by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2023/0378298 A1, hereafter Li).
Re Claim 1, Li discloses a semiconductor device (FIG. 13; [0016]-[0040]) comprising:
a plurality of nanosheets stacks (208; [0017]);
an upper portion of a source drain epitaxy (234, 236; [0030]) adjacent to a first group of semiconductor channel layers (208, left stack in FIG. 13, hereafter just 208, left stack; [0032]) and a second group of semiconductor channel layers (208, right stack in FIG. 13, hereafter just 208, right stack; [0032]) of adjacent nanosheet stacks (208) of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (208) on a substrate (202; [0032]), wherein the first and second group of semiconductor layers (208, left/right stacks) each include a plurality of channel layers (208; [0032]), wherein the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236) forms a laterally continuous element (236; [0032]) between the first group of semiconductor channel layers (208, left stack) and the second group of semiconductor channel layers (208, right stack; [0032], 236 is laterally continuous “between” the two groups); and
a lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232; [0029]) below the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236; [0030]), wherein a second width of the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232, at its widest; [0029]) is greater than a first width of the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236, at their widest; [0030]), wherein a portion of the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232) is vertically aligned with an inner spacer (230; [0029]) of each of the adjacent nanosheet stacks of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (208; [0029]).
Re Claim 6, Li discloses the device according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein each of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (208) comprises a set of semiconductor channel layers (208) vertically aligned and stacked one on top of another ([0020]), the set of semiconductor channel layers (208) separated from each other by a gate stack material (242; [0037]) surrounding the set of semiconductor channel layers (208; [0037]).
Re Claim 14, Li discloses a method (FIGS. 3-13; [0016]-[0040]) comprising:
forming a plurality of nanosheets stacks (208; [0017]);
forming an upper portion of a source drain epitaxy (234, 236; [0030]) adjacent to a first group of semiconductor channel layers (208, left stack in FIG. 13, hereafter just 208, left stack; [0032]) and a second group of semiconductor channel layers (208, right stack in FIG. 13, hereafter just 208, right stack; [0032]) of adjacent nanosheet stacks (208) of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (208) on a substrate (202; [0032]), wherein the first and second group of semiconductor layers (208, left/right stacks) each include a plurality of channel layers (208; [0032]), wherein the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236) forms a laterally continuous element (236; [0032]) between the first group of semiconductor channel layers (208, left stack) and the second group of semiconductor channel layers (208, right stack; [0032], 236 is laterally continuous “between” the two groups); and
forming a lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232; [0029]) below the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236; [0030]), wherein a second width of the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232, at its widest; [0029]) is greater than a first width of the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236, at their widest; [0030]), wherein a portion of the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232) is vertically aligned with an inner spacer (230; [0029]) of each of the adjacent nanosheet stacks of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (208; [0029]).
Re Claim 19, Li discloses the device according to Claim 14, while further disclosing wherein each of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (208) comprises a set of semiconductor channel layers (208) vertically aligned and stacked one on top of another ([0020]), the set of semiconductor channel layers (208) separated from each other by a gate stack material (242; [0037]) surrounding the set of semiconductor channel layers (208; [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Su (US 2022/0384589 A1, of record, hereafter Su).
Re Claim 2, Li discloses the device according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the device further comprises:
a dielectric fill layer below the plurality of nanosheet stacks (208); and
a dielectric encapsulation liner between the dielectric fill layer and the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232).
However, Su teaches a semiconductor device (FIG. 2; [0022]-[0028]), comprising:
a dielectric fill layer (126; [0027]) below the plurality of nanosheet stacks (102; [0022]); and
a dielectric encapsulation liner (127; [0027]) between the dielectric fill layer (126) and the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (107; [0046], not shown explicitly in FIG. 2, but 107 would be formed between 106 and 120).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Su to include the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) and dielectric encapsulation liner (Su: 127) to help improve electrical isolation of the gate structure as taught by Su ([0027]).
Re Claim 3, Li and Su teach the device according to Claim 2, while Su further teaches the device comprises:
the dielectric encapsulation liner (127) between the dielectric fill layer (126) and the lowest channel layer (102; [0022]) of one of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (102; [0022]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 2 with the limitations taught by Su to include the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) and dielectric encapsulation liner (Su: 127) to help improve electrical isolation of the gate structure as taught by Su ([0027]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Su, as applied to Claim 2, further in view of Yao et al (US 2020/0328121 A1, of record, hereafter Yao).
Re Claim 4, Li and Su teach the device according to Claim 2, but they do not explicitly disclose the device further comprises:
an air gap in the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) between adjacent lower portions of the source drain epitaxy (Li: 232).
However, Yao teaches a semiconductor device (FIG. 10; [0068]-[0071]) comprising:
an air gap (62; [0065]) in the dielectric fill layer (60; [0065]) between adjacent lower portions of the source drain epitaxy (18; [0069]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 2 with the limitations taught by Yao to introduce an air gap (Yao: 62) into the dielectric fill (Su: 126) between adjacent source and drains (Li: 232) to reduce parasitic capacitance as taught by Yao ([0065]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to Claim 1 in view of Liu et al (US 2021/0376071 A1, of record, hereafter Liu).
Re Claim 7, Li discloses the device according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the device further comprises:
a gate cut dielectric between a second set of adjacent nanosheet stacks of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (Li: 208).
However, Liu teaches a semiconductor device (FIG. 19C-3; [0042]), comprising:
a gate cut dielectric (229; [0042]) between a second set of adjacent nanosheet stacks (215; [0041]) of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (215; [0041]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Liu to include a gate cut dielectric (Liu: 229) between adjacent nanosheet stacks (Li: 208) to effectively create a plurality of separated gate segments as taught by Liu ([0042]).
Claims 8-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Su.
Re Claim 8, Li discloses a semiconductor device (FIG. 13; [0016]-[0040]) comprising:
a plurality of nanosheets stacks (208; [0017]);
an upper portion of a source drain epitaxy (234, 236; [0030]) adjacent to a first group of semiconductor channel layers (208, left stack in FIG. 13, hereafter just 208, left stack; [0032]) and a second group of semiconductor channel layers (208, right stack in FIG. 13, hereafter just 208, right stack; [0032]) of adjacent nanosheet stacks (208) of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (208) on a substrate (202; [0032]), wherein the first and second group of semiconductor layers (208, left/right stacks) each include a plurality of channel layers (208; [0032]), wherein the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236) forms a laterally continuous element (236; [0032]) between the first group of semiconductor channel layers (208, left stack) and the second group of semiconductor channel layers (208, right stack; [0032], 236 is laterally continuous “between” the two groups); and
a lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232; [0029]) below the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236; [0030]), wherein a second width of the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232, at its widest; [0029]) is greater than a first width of the upper portion of the source drain epitaxy (234, 236, at their widest; [0030]), wherein a portion of the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232) is vertically aligned with an inner spacer (230; [0029]) of each of the adjacent nanosheet stacks of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (208; [0029]).
Li does not explicitly disclose the device further comprises:
a dielectric fill layer below the plurality of nanosheet stacks (208); and
a dielectric encapsulation liner between the dielectric fill layer and the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232).
However, Su teaches a semiconductor device (FIG. 2; [0022]-[0028]), comprising:
a dielectric fill layer (126; [0027]) below the plurality of nanosheet stacks (102; [0022]); and
a dielectric encapsulation liner (127; [0027]) between the dielectric fill layer (126) and the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (107; [0046], not shown explicitly in FIG. 2, but 107 would be formed between 106 and 120).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Li with the limitations taught by Su to include the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) and dielectric encapsulation liner (Su: 127) to help improve electrical isolation of the gate structure as taught by Su ([0027]).
Re Claim 9, Li and Su teach the device according to Claim 8, while Su further teaches the device comprises:
the dielectric encapsulation liner (127) between the dielectric fill layer (126) and the lowest channel layer (102; [0022]) of one of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (102; [0022]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 8 with the limitations taught by Su to include the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) and dielectric encapsulation liner (Su: 127) to help improve electrical isolation of the gate structure as taught by Su ([0027]).
Re Claim 12, Li and Su teach the device according to Claim 8, while Li further discloses wherein each of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (208) comprises a set of semiconductor channel layers (208) vertically aligned and stacked one on top of another ([0020]), the set of semiconductor channel layers (208) separated from each other by a gate stack material (242; [0037]) surrounding the set of semiconductor channel layers (208; [0037]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Su, as applied to Claim 8, further in view of Yao.
Re Claim 10, Li and Su teach the device according to Claim 8, but they do not explicitly disclose the device further comprises:
an air gap in the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) between adjacent lower portions of the source drain epitaxy (Li: 232).
However, Yao teaches a semiconductor device (FIG. 10; [0068]-[0071]) comprising:
an air gap (62; [0065]) in the dielectric fill layer (60; [0065]) between adjacent lower portions of the source drain epitaxy (18; [0069]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 8 with the limitations taught by Yao to introduce an air gap (Yao: 62) into the dielectric fill (Su: 126) between adjacent source and drains (Li: 232) to reduce parasitic capacitance as taught by Yao ([0065]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Su, as applied to Claim 8, further in view of Liu.
Re Claim 13, Li and Su teach the device according to Claim 8, but they do not explicitly disclose the device further comprises:
a gate cut dielectric between a second set of adjacent nanosheet stacks of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (Li: 208).
However, Liu teaches a semiconductor device (FIG. 19C-3; [0042]), comprising:
a gate cut dielectric (229; [0042]) between a second set of adjacent nanosheet stacks (215; [0041]) of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (215; [0041]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 8 with the limitations taught by Liu to include a gate cut dielectric (Liu: 229) between adjacent nanosheet stacks (Li: 208) to effectively create a plurality of separated gate segments as taught by Liu ([0042]).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, as applied to Claim 14, in view of Su.
Re Claim 15, Li discloses the method according to Claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprises:
forming a dielectric fill layer below a lowest semiconductor channel layer of one of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (208); and
forming a dielectric encapsulation liner between the dielectric fill layer and the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (232).
However, Su teaches a method (FIG. 2; [0022]-[0028]), comprising:
forming a dielectric fill layer (126; [0027]) below a lowest semiconductor channel layer (102) of one of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (102; [0022]); and
forming a dielectric encapsulation liner (127; [0027]) between the dielectric fill layer (126) and the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy (107; [0046], not shown explicitly in FIG. 2, but 107 would be formed between 106 and 120).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 14 with the limitations taught by Su to include the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) and dielectric encapsulation liner (Su: 127) to help improve electrical isolation of the gate structure as taught by Su ([0027]).
Re Claim 16, Li and Su teach the method according to Claim 15, while Su further teaches the method comprises:
forming the dielectric encapsulation liner (127) between the dielectric fill layer (126) and the lowest channel layer (102; [0022]) of one of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (102; [0022]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 15 with the limitations taught by Su to include the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) and dielectric encapsulation liner (Su: 127) to help improve electrical isolation of the gate structure as taught by Su ([0027]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Su, as applied to Claim 15, further in view of Yao.
Re Claim 17, Li and Su teach the method according to Claim 15, but they do not explicitly disclose the method further comprises:
forming an air gap in the dielectric fill layer (Su: 126) between adjacent lower portions of the source drain epitaxy (Li: 232).
However, Yao teaches a method (FIG. 10; [0068]-[0071]) comprising:
forming an air gap (62; [0065]) in the dielectric fill layer (60; [0065]) between adjacent lower portions of the source drain epitaxy (18; [0069]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 15 with the limitations taught by Yao to introduce an air gap (Yao: 62) into the dielectric fill (Su: 126) between adjacent source and drains (Li: 232) to reduce parasitic capacitance as taught by Yao ([0065]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, as applied to Claim 14, in view of Liu.
Re Claim 20, Li discloses the method according to Claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprises:
forming a gate cut dielectric between a second set of adjacent nanosheet stacks of the plurality of nanosheet stacks (Li: 208).
However, Liu teaches a method (FIG. 19C-3; [0042]), comprising:
forming a gate cut dielectric (229; [0042]) between a second set of adjacent nanosheet stacks (215; [0041]) of the plurality of nanosheets stacks (215; [0041]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 14 with the limitations taught by Liu to include a gate cut dielectric (Liu: 229) between adjacent nanosheet stacks (Li: 208) to effectively create a plurality of separated gate segments as taught by Liu ([0042]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 5, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy comprises a volume concentration of free electrical carriers equal to or more than 7e20 cm-3, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 5.
Re Claim 11, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy comprises a volume concentration of free electrical carriers equal to or more than 7e20 cm-3, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 11.
Re Claim 18, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: the lower portion of the source drain epitaxy comprises a volume concentration of free electrical carriers equal to or more than 7e20 cm-3, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 2, para. 4 to pg. 3, para. 2, filed 1/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 1 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) for Claims 1 and 14 and in view of Li and Su under 35 U.S.C. 103 for Claim 8. Applicant’s arguments have been considered in light of the new rejections but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892