DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 8/5/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a dielectric film IN (refer to Fig. 3, page 7, 2nd par.).
For best understanding and examination purpose, the claim(s) will be best considered based on drawings, disclosure, and/or any applicable prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 6,465,832) in view of Inbe (US 2004/0043556).
Re claim 1, Maeda teaches, under BRI, Figs. 28-29, cols. 9-10, a semiconductor device comprising:
-a first electrode (flat electrode 7a) and a second electrode (flat electrode 7b) configuring a capacitor (e.g., structure of capacitor),
wherein the first electrode (7a) includes a first via plug (through hole 10 filled with metal) extending along a first direction (z axis) in plan view,
wherein the second electrode (7b) includes a first wiring (3a or 3b) extending along the first direction (z axis) in plan view and arranged side by side with the first via plug (10) in a second direction (y axis) orthogonal to the first direction,
wherein a length of the first via plug (10) in the first direction (z axis) is larger than a length of the first via plug (10) in the second direction (y axis),
wherein a length of the first wiring (3a or 3b) in the first direction (z axis) is larger than a length of the first wiring (3a or 3b) in the second direction (y axis).
Maeda does not explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the first via plug in a third direction orthogonal to each of the first direction and the second direction is larger than a thickness of the first wiring in the third direction.
Inbe teaches, Fig. 1, [0027-0028], a thickness of the first via plug (1a-c) in a third direction (x axis) orthogonal to each of the first direction (z axis) and the second direction (y axis) is larger than a thickness of the first wiring (3) in the third direction (x axis).
As taught by Inbe, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a thickness of the first via plug in a third direction orthogonal to each of the first direction and the second direction is larger than a thickness of the first wiring in the third direction as claimed, because a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Inbe in combination with Maeda due to above reason.
Re claim 2, Maeda teaches, Fig. 28, a first dielectric layer (2) arranged on the first wiring (3a or b), wherein the first via plug (10) penetrates the first dielectric layer (2).
Re claim 3, Maeda teaches, Figs. 28-29, a second dielectric layer (2b) arranged on the first dielectric layer (2a); and a second via plug (6 or 9) extending along the third direction (x axis) from an upper surface of the first wiring (3a, b) and arranged side by side with at least part of the first via plug (10) in the second direction (y axis), wherein the second via plug (6 or 9) penetrates the second dielectric layer (2b).
Re claim 6, Maeda teaches, Fig. 28, a third wiring (7a) and a fourth wiring (3a) arranged spaced apart from each other in the third direction, the third wiring (7a) and the fourth wiring (3a) each extending along the first direction, wherein the first via plug (10) electrically connects between the third wiring (7a) and the fourth wiring (3a).
Re claim 7, in combination cited above, Inbe teaches, Fig. 5, [0043-0044], an etching stopper film (insulating film 112) in contact with one end of the first via plug (13a, 14) in the third direction.
Re claim 8, Maeda teaches, Fig. 28, the length of the first via plug (10) in the first direction (z axis) is larger than the length of the first wiring (3a, b) in the second direction (y axis).
4. Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coolbaugh et al. (US 2007/0190760) in view of Inbe (US 2004/0043556).
Re claim 1, Coolbaugh teaches, under BRI, Fig. 5, abstract, [0021-0022], a semiconductor device comprising:
-a first electrode (lower 52) and a second electrode (upper 52) configuring a capacitor (e.g., parallel plate capacitor),
wherein the first electrode (lower 52) includes a first via plug (53) extending along a first direction (y axis) in plan view,
wherein the second electrode (upper 52) includes a first wiring (indicated) extending along the first direction (y axis) in plan view and arranged side by side with the first via plug (53) in a second direction (x axis) orthogonal to the first direction,
wherein a length of the first via plug (53) in the first direction (y axis) is larger than a length of the first via plug (53) in the second direction (x axis).
Coolbaugh does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the first wiring in the first direction is larger than a length of the first wiring in the second direction, and wherein a thickness of the first via plug in a third direction orthogonal to each of the first direction and the second direction is larger than a thickness of the first wiring in the third direction.
Inbe teaches, Fig. 1, [0027-0028], a length of the first wiring (3) in the first direction (x axis) is larger than a length of the first wiring (3) in the second direction (y axis), and wherein a thickness of the first via plug (1a-c) in a third direction (z axis) orthogonal to each of the first direction and the second direction is larger than a thickness of the first wiring (3) in the third direction.
As taught by Inbe, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a length of the first wiring in the first direction is larger than a length of the first wiring in the second direction, and a thickness of the first via plug in a third direction orthogonal to each of the first direction and the second direction is larger than a thickness of the first wiring in the third direction as claimed, because a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Inbe in combination with Coolbaugh due to above reason.
Re claim 4, Coolbaugh teaches, Fig. 5, the second electrode includes a second wiring (indicated) extending along the first direction and arranged side by side with the first via plug (53) in the second direction, and wherein the first wiring (indicated) and the second wiring (indicated) are arranged so as to sandwich the first via plug (53).
Re claim 5, Coolabaugh teaches, Fig. 5, a potential of the first wiring (indicated) is equal to a potential of the second wiring (indicated) (both connected to upper 52).
Re claim 6, Coolbaugh teaches, Fig. 5, a third wiring (lower 52) and a fourth wiring (higher 52) arranged spaced apart from each other in the third direction, the third wiring (lower 52) and the fourth wiring (higher 52) each extending along the first direction, wherein the first via plug (53) electrically connects between the third wiring and the fourth wiring.
Re claim 8, Coolbaugh teaches, Fig. 5, the length of the first via plug (via 53) in the first direction (y axis) is larger than the length of the first wiring (indicated) in the second direction (x axis).
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/21/25