DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 06/04/2026. The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-10, 12-18, 22, and 25-26 from which claims 8-10 and 18 are withdrawn remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 25-26 recite the limitations “a maximum load capacity of the VCCS” in lines 7 and 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a maximum load capacity of the VCCS” will be interpreted as -- the maximum load capacity of the VCCS --
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-17, 22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (US20160298884A1), in view of Wallis et al. (US20200003457A1, herein after referred to as Wallis), in view of Roullet et al. (WO2023244671A1, herein after referred to as Roullet), in view of Matsukura et al. (US20180066871A1, herein after referred to as Matsukura), in view of Moon et al. (US20030230099A1, herein referred to as Moon), and in further view of Scarcella et al. (US20190128568A1, herein after referred to as Scarcella).
Regarding claim 1, Martin teaches a vapor cycle cooling system (VCCS) (refrigeration system 100 Fig. 1), comprising: a first compressor system (left branch Fig. 3) comprising a first compressor (top fractional compressor 220 in the left branch Fig. 3) in series with a second compressor (bottom fractional compressor 220 in the left branch Fig. 3); a second compressor system (right branch Fig. 3), in parallel to the first compressor system (Fig. 3), the second compressor system comprising a third compressor (top fractional compressor 220 in the right branch Fig. 3) in series with a fourth compressor (bottom fractional compressor 220 in the right branch Fig. 3); a condenser (condenser 160 Fig. 1) fluidically coupled to the first and second compressor systems (Figs. 1 and 3 and paragraph [0024]); a first expansion device (expansion valve 190 Fig. 1), a first evaporator (evaporator 120 Fig. 1), the first evaporator fluidically coupled to the first and second compressor systems (Figs. 1 and 3 and paragraph [0024]).
Martin teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the first compressor system comprising a first motor, the second compressor system comprising a second motor, the first expansion device in series with, and fluidically coupled to, a flash heat exchanger, the flash heat exchanger fluidically coupled to a second expansion device, the second expansion device fluidically coupled to the first evaporator; a system controller”.
However, Wallis teaches a first compressor system (first compressors 12 Fig. 1 correspond to the first compressor system of Martin) comprising a first motor (disclosed “motor assembly” in paragraphs [0064] and [0065]), a second compressor system (second compressors 14 Fig. 1 correspond to the second compressor system of Martin) comprising a second motor (motor assembly 54 Fig. 2), a first expansion device (first expansion device 18 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first expansion device of Martin) in series with, and fluidically coupled to, a flash heat exchanger (flash tank 20 Fig. 1), the flash heat exchanger fluidically coupled to a second expansion device (fifth expansion device 204 Fig. 1), the second expansion device fluidically coupled to the first evaporator (Fig. 1 where fifth heat exchanger 26 corresponds to the first evaporator of Martin); a system controller (control module 210 Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Martin to include “the first compressor system comprising a first motor, the second compressor system comprising a second motor, the first expansion device in series with, and fluidically coupled to, a flash heat exchanger, the flash heat exchanger fluidically coupled to a second expansion device, the second expansion device fluidically coupled to the first evaporator; a system controller” in view of the teachings of Wallis to control the operation of the first and second compressor systems.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a first motor controller, a second motor controller; the system controller electrically coupled to the first and second motor controllers, wherein the system controller comprises processing circuitry configured to: receive, by the system controller, an indication of a temperature mismatch for the VCCS”.
However, Roullet teaches a first motor controller (VSD 124 Fig. 5), a second motor controller (VSD 142 Fig. 5); a system controller (controller 200 Fig. 5 corresponds to the system controller of Wallis) electrically coupled to the first and second motor controllers (paragraph [0053] and Fig. 5), wherein the system controller comprises processing circuitry (processing circuitry 204 Fig. 5) configured to: receive, by the system controller, an indication of a temperature mismatch (disclosed “difference between the inlet and/or outlet temperature” of the evaporators or condensers of vapor compression system 100 Fig. 5 in paragraph [0063]) for a VCCS (Vapor compression system 100 Fig. 5 corresponds to the VCCS of Martin) to drive the compressors at different speeds (paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a first motor controller, a second motor controller; the system controller electrically coupled to the first and second motor controllers, wherein the system controller comprises processing circuitry configured to: receive, by the system controller, an indication of a temperature mismatch for the VCCS” in view of the teachings of Roullet to drive the compressors at different speeds.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the first and second motors”.
However, Matsukura teaches a filter drier (filter dryer 27 Fig. 1), in series with, and fluidically coupled to a condenser (condenser 5 Fig. 1 corresponds to the condenser of Martin); and a motor and motor controller cooling loop (cooling pipe 26 Fig. 1) fluidically coupled to a first motor (drive 15 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first motor of Wallis) to remove contaminants and moisture (paragraph [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the first and second motors” in view of the teachings of Matsukura to remove contaminants and moisture.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the second motor”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the second motor” does anything more than produce the predictable result of cooling a second motor/motor controller. Since it has been held that a duplication of part has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 Vi. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the method of Matsukura and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of cooling a second motor/motor controller.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the processing circuitry configured to: determine, based on the temperature mismatch, an amount of cooling by the VCCS to correct the temperature mismatch; select a combination of target operating loads for the first compressor system and the second compressor system from a plurality of combinations of target operating loads to cause the VCCS to operate at a maximum efficiency for the determined amount of cooling, wherein the VCCS is configured to operate at the maximum efficiency for each of the plurality of combinations of target operating loads, wherein the plurality of combinations comprises: a first combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a first percentage of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system while the second compressor system idles; a second combination of target operating loads comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system while the first compressor system idles; and a third combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity; determine, by the system controller and based on the selected combination of target operating loads of the plurality of combinations, a first target operating load for the first compressor system and a second target operating load for the second compressor system to cause the first compressor system and the second compressor system to operate at the respective percentages of the first maximum load capacity and the second maximum load capacity for the selected combination; output, by the system controller, a first control signal to the first motor controller instructing the first motor controller to operate the first compressor system at the first target operating load; and output, by the system controller, a second control signal to the second motor controller instructing the second motor controller to operate the second compressor system at the second target operating load”.
However, Moon teaches a processing circuitry (outdoor unit controller 70 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0029] corresponds to the processing circuitry of Roullet) configured to: determine, based on a temperature mismatch (paragraph [0040] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “required capacity” is the heat transfer rate required to eliminate a temperature mismatch effect at the indoor unit locations), an amount of cooling (corresponds to the amount of cooling associated with the “required capacity” disclosed in paragraph [0040]) by a VCCS (the system illustrated in Fig. 7 corresponds to the VCCS system of Martin) to correct the temperature mismatch (the method illustrated in Fig. 7 is designed to address the temperature mismatch); select a combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the different load capacities of steps S140, S170, S200, S230, S260, and S290 Fig. 6) for a first compressor system (the disclosed plurality of second compressors 40 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0039] corresponds to the first compressor system of Martin) and a second compressor system (the disclosed plurality of first compressors 30 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0039] corresponds to the second compressor system of Martin) from a plurality of combinations of target operating loads (steps S140, S170, S200, S230, S260, and S290 Fig. 6) to cause the VCCS to operate at a maximum efficiency (paragraph [0049] where the method illustrated in Fig. 6 is described as providing “a high operating efficiency” over entire operating areas) for the determined amount of cooling (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0049]), wherein the VCCS is configured to operate at the maximum efficiency for each of the plurality of combinations of target operating loads (paragraph [0049]), wherein the plurality of combinations comprises: a first combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the combination of steps S240 and S250 Fig. 6) comprising the first compressor system operating at a first percentage (100% in step S240 Fig. 6) of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system (B2 Fig. 5) while the second compressor system idles (step S250 Fig. 6); a second combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the combinations of steps S180 and S190 Fig. 6) comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage (100% in step S190 Fig. 6) of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system (A2 Fig. 5) while the first compressor system idles (step S180 Fig. 6); and a third combination of target operating loads (the combination of steps S210 and S220 Fig. 6) comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity (50% at step S210 Fig. 6) and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity (50% at Step S220 Fig. 6); determine, by the system controller and based on the selected combination of target operating loads of the plurality of combinations, a first target operating load for the first compressor system (corresponds to the operating loads in steps S180, S210, and S240, Fig. 6) and a second target operating load for the second compressor system (corresponds to the operating loads in steps S190, S220, and S250, Fig. 6) to cause the first compressor system and the second compressor system to operate at the respective percentages of the first maximum load capacity and the second maximum load capacity for the selected combination (Fig. 6); output, by the system controller, a first control signal (paragraph [0029] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that controller 70 is generating signals to compressors 40 since it is disclosed that controller 70 controls the capacities of compressors 40) to a first motor controller (the portion of controller 70 which rotates compressors 40 in the forward or reverse direction as described in paragraph [0032] corresponds to the first motor controller of Roullet) instructing the first motor controller to operate the first compressor system at the first target operating load (paragraph [0029] and Fig. 6); and output, by the system controller, a second control signal (paragraph [0029] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that controller 70 is generating signals to compressors 30 since it is disclosed that controller 70 controls the capacities of compressors 30) to a second motor controller (the portion of controller 70 which rotates compressors 30 in the forward or reverse direction as described in paragraph [0031] corresponds to the second motor controller of Roullet) instructing the second motor controller to operate the second compressor system at the second target operating load (paragraph [0029] and Fig. 6) to cope with different air conditioning loads (paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the processing circuitry configured to: determine, based on the temperature mismatch, an amount of cooling by the VCCS to correct the temperature mismatch; select a combination of target operating loads for the first compressor system and the second compressor system from a plurality of combinations of target operating loads to cause the VCCS to operate at a maximum efficiency for the determined amount of cooling, wherein the VCCS is configured to operate at the maximum efficiency for each of the plurality of combinations of target operating loads, wherein the plurality of combinations comprises: a first combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a first percentage of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system while the second compressor system idles; a second combination of target operating loads comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system while the first compressor system idles; and a third combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity; determine, by the system controller and based on the selected combination of target operating loads of the plurality of combinations, a first target operating load for the first compressor system and a second target operating load for the second compressor system to cause the first compressor system and the second compressor system to operate at the respective percentages of the first maximum load capacity and the second maximum load capacity for the selected combination; output, by the system controller, a first control signal to the first motor controller instructing the first motor controller to operate the first compressor system at the first target operating load; and output, by the system controller, a second control signal to the second motor controller instructing the second motor controller to operate the second compressor system at the second target operating load” in view of the teachings of Moon to cope with different air conditioning loads.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the VCCS is configured to cool one thermal load for a vehicle”.
However, Scarcella teaches wherein a VCCS (vapor compression refrigeration system 30 Fig. 3 corresponds to the VCCS of Martin) is configured to cool one thermal load (container 20 Fig. 1) for a vehicle (paragraph [0040]) to provide cooling to a specific section of a vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the VCCS is configured to cool one thermal load for a vehicle” in view of the teachings of Scarcella to provide cooling to a specific section of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Martin teaches a method (the method disclosed in paragraph [0008]) comprising: cooling, by a vapor cycle cooling system (VCCS) (refrigeration system 100 Fig. 1), one thermal load (refrigerated space 110 Fig. 1), wherein the VCCS comprises: a first compressor system (left branch Fig. 3) comprising a first compressor (top fractional compressor 220 in the left branch Fig. 3) in series with a second compressor (bottom fractional compressor 220 in the left branch Fig. 3); a second compressor system (right branch Fig. 3), in parallel to the first compressor system (Fig. 3), the second compressor system comprising a third compressor (top fractional compressor 220 in the right branch Fig. 3) in series with a fourth compressor (bottom fractional compressor 220 in the right branch Fig. 3); a condenser (condenser 160 Fig. 1) fluidically coupled to the first and second compressor systems (Figs. 1 and 3 and paragraph [0024]); a first expansion device (expansion valve 190 Fig. 1), a first evaporator (evaporator 120 Fig. 1), the first evaporator fluidically coupled to the first and second compressor systems (Figs. 1 and 3 and paragraph [0024]).
Martin teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the first compressor system comprising a first motor, the second compressor system comprising a second motor, the first expansion device in series with, and fluidically coupled to, a flash heat exchanger, the flash heat exchanger fluidically coupled to a second expansion device, the second expansion device fluidically coupled to the first evaporator; a system controller”.
However, Wallis teaches a first compressor system (first compressors 12 Fig. 1 correspond to the first compressor system of Martin) comprising a first motor (disclosed “motor assembly” in paragraphs [0064] and [0065]), a second compressor system (second compressors 14 Fig. 1 correspond to the second compressor system of Martin) comprising a second motor (motor assembly 54 Fig. 2), a first expansion device (first expansion device 18 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first expansion device of Martin) in series with, and fluidically coupled to, a flash heat exchanger (flash tank 20 Fig. 1), the flash heat exchanger fluidically coupled to a second expansion device (fifth expansion device 204 Fig. 1), the second expansion device fluidically coupled to the first evaporator (Fig. 1 where fifth heat exchanger 26 corresponds to the first evaporator of Martin); a system controller (control module 210 Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Martin to include “the first compressor system comprising a first motor, the second compressor system comprising a second motor, the first expansion device in series with, and fluidically coupled to, a flash heat exchanger, the flash heat exchanger fluidically coupled to a second expansion device, the second expansion device fluidically coupled to the first evaporator; a system controller” in view of the teachings of Wallis to control the operation of the first and second compressor systems.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a first motor controller, a second motor controller; the system controller electrically coupled to the first and second motor controllers; receiving, by the system controller, an indication of a temperature mismatch for the VCCS”.
However, Roullet teaches a first motor controller (VSD 124 Fig. 5), a second motor controller (VSD 142 Fig. 5); a system controller (controller 200 Fig. 5 corresponds to the system controller of Wallis) electrically coupled to the first and second motor controllers (paragraph [0053] and Fig. 5); receiving, by the system controller, an indication of a temperature mismatch (disclosed “difference between the inlet and/or outlet temperature” of the evaporators or condensers of vapor compression system 100 Fig. 5 in paragraph [0063]) for a VCCS (Vapor compression system 100 Fig. 5 corresponds to the VCCS of Martin) to drive the compressors at different speeds (paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “a first motor controller, a second motor controller; the system controller electrically coupled to the first and second motor controllers; receiving, by the system controller, an indication of a temperature mismatch for the VCCS” in view of the teachings of Roullet to drive the compressors at different speeds.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the filter drier and the first and second motors”.
However, Matsukura teaches a filter drier (filter dryer 27 Fig. 1), in series with, and fluidically coupled to a condenser (condenser 5 Fig. 1 corresponds to the condenser of Martin); and a motor and motor controller cooling loop (cooling pipe 26 Fig. 1) fluidically coupled to the filter drier and a first motor (drive 15 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first motor of Wallis) to remove contaminants and moisture (paragraph [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “a filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the filter drier and the first and second motors” in view of the teachings of Matsukura to remove contaminants and moisture.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the second motor”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the filter drier, in series with, and fluidically coupled to the condenser; and a motor and motor controller cooling loop fluidically coupled to the second motor” does anything more than produce the predictable result of cooling a second motor/motor controller. Since it has been held that a duplication of part has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 Vi. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the method of Matsukura and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of cooling a second motor/motor controller.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the method comprising: determining, by the system controller and based on the temperature mismatch, an amount of cooling by the VCCS to correct the temperature mismatch; selecting, by the system controller, a combination of target operating loads for the first compressor system and the second compressor system from a plurality of combinations of target operating loads to cause the VCCS to operate at a maximum efficiency for the determined amount of cooling, wherein the VCCS is configured to operate at the maximum efficiency for each of the plurality of combinations of target operating loads, wherein the plurality of combinations comprises: a first combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a first percentage of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system while the second compressor system idles; a second combination of target operating loads comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system while the first compressor system idles; and a third combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity; determining, by the system controller and based on the selected combination of target operating loads of the plurality of combinations, a first target operating load for the first compressor system and a second target operating load for the second compressor system to cause the first compressor system and the second compressor system to operate at the respective percentages of the first maximum load capacity and the second maximum load capacity for the selected combination; outputting, by the system controller, a first control signal to the first motor controller instructing the first motor controller to operate the first compressor system at the first target operating load; and outputting, by the system controller, a second control signal to the second motor controller to operate the second compressor system at the second target operating load”.
However, Moon teaches a method (the method illustrated in Fig. 6 corresponds to the method of Martin) comprising: determining, by a system controller (unit controller 70 Fig. 7 corresponds to the system controller of Wallis) and based on a temperature mismatch (paragraph [0040] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “required capacity” is the heat transfer rate required to eliminate a temperature mismatch effect at the indoor unit locations), an amount of cooling (corresponds to the amount of cooling associated with the “required capacity” disclosed in paragraph [0040]) by a VCCS (the system illustrated in Fig. 7 corresponds to the VCCS system of Martin) to correct the temperature mismatch (the method illustrated in Fig. 7 is designed to address the temperature mismatch); selecting, by the system controller, a combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the different load capacities of steps S140, S170, S200, S230, S260, and S290 Fig. 6) for a first compressor system (the disclosed plurality of second compressors 40 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0039] corresponds to the first compressor system of Martin) and a second compressor system (the disclosed plurality of first compressors 30 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0039] corresponds to the second compressor system of Martin) from a plurality of combinations of target operating loads (steps S140, S170, S200, S230, S260, and S290 Fig. 6) to cause the VCCS to operate at a maximum efficiency (paragraph [0049] where the method illustrated in Fig. 6 is described as providing “a high operating efficiency” over entire operating areas) for the determined amount of cooling (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0049]), wherein the VCCS is configured to operate at the maximum efficiency for each of the plurality of combinations of target operating loads (paragraph [0049]), wherein the plurality of combinations comprises: a first combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the combination of steps S240 and S250 Fig. 6) comprising the first compressor system operating at a first percentage (100% in step S240 Fig. 6) of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system (B2 Fig. 5) while the second compressor system idles (step S250 Fig. 6); a second combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the combinations of steps S180 and S190 Fig. 6) comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage (100% in step S190 Fig. 6) of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system (A2 Fig. 5) while the first compressor system idles (step S180 Fig. 6); and a third combination of target operating loads (the combination of steps S210 and S220 Fig. 6) comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity (50% at step S210 Fig. 6) and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity (50% at Step S220 Fig. 6); determining, by the system controller and based on the selected combination of target operating loads of the plurality of combinations, a first target operating load for the first compressor system (corresponds to the operating loads in steps S180, S210, and S240, Fig. 6) and a second target operating load for the second compressor system (corresponds to the operating loads in steps S190, S220, and S250, Fig. 6) to cause the first compressor system and the second compressor system to operate at the respective percentages of the first maximum load capacity and the second maximum load capacity for the selected combination (Fig. 6); outputting, by the system controller, a first control signal (paragraph [0029] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that controller 70 is generating signals to compressors 40 since it is disclosed that controller 70 controls the capacities of compressors 40) to a first motor controller (the portion of controller 70 which rotates compressors 40 in the forward or reverse direction as described in paragraph [0032] corresponds to the first motor controller of Roullet) instructing the first motor controller to operate the first compressor system at the first target operating load (paragraph [0029] and Fig. 6); and outputting, by the system controller, a second control signal (paragraph [0029] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that controller 70 is generating signals to compressors 30 since it is disclosed that controller 70 controls the capacities of compressors 30) to a second motor controller (the portion of controller 70 which rotates compressors 30 in the forward or reverse direction as described in paragraph [0031] corresponds to the second motor controller of Roullet) to operate the second compressor system at the second target operating load (paragraph [0029] and Fig. 6) to cope with different air conditioning loads (paragraph [0013])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the method comprising: determining, by the system controller and based on the temperature mismatch, an amount of cooling by the VCCS to correct the temperature mismatch; selecting, by the system controller, a combination of target operating loads for the first compressor system and the second compressor system from a plurality of combinations of target operating loads to cause the VCCS to operate at a maximum efficiency for the determined amount of cooling, wherein the VCCS is configured to operate at the maximum efficiency for each of the plurality of combinations of target operating loads, wherein the plurality of combinations comprises: a first combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a first percentage of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system while the second compressor system idles; a second combination of target operating loads comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system while the first compressor system idles; and a third combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity; determining, by the system controller and based on the selected combination of target operating loads of the plurality of combinations, a first target operating load for the first compressor system and a second target operating load for the second compressor system to cause the first compressor system and the second compressor system to operate at the respective percentages of the first maximum load capacity and the second maximum load capacity for the selected combination; outputting, by the system controller, a first control signal to the first motor controller instructing the first motor controller to operate the first compressor system at the first target operating load; and outputting, by the system controller, a second control signal to the second motor controller to operate the second compressor system at the second target operating load” in view of the teachings of Moon to cope with different air conditioning loads.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the thermal load is for a vehicle”.
However, Scarcella teaches a thermal load (container 20 Fig. 1 corresponds to the thermal load of Martin) for a vehicle (paragraph [0040]) to provide cooling to a specific section of a vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the thermal load is for a vehicle” in view of the teachings of Scarcella to provide cooling to a specific section of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the flash heat exchanger is fluidically coupled to the first and second compressor systems (Fig. 1 of Wallis).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the combined teachings teach wherein the first compressor system further comprises a first interstage line (line connecting top left fractional compressor 220 to bottom left fractional compressor 220 Fig. 3 of Martin) between the first compressor and the second compressor (Fig. 3 of Martin), wherein the second compressor system further comprises a second interstage line between (line connecting top right fractional compressor 220 to bottom right fractional compressor 220 Fig. 3 of Martin) the third compressor and the fourth compressor (Fig. 3 of Martin), and wherein the flash heat exchanger is fluidically coupled to both the first interstage line and the second interstage line (Fig. 1 of Wallis where first header 44 and fourth header 84 correspond respectively to the first and the second interstage lines of Martin).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the combined teachings teach wherein a flash heat exchanger (flash tank economizer subsystem 100 Fig. 3 of Scarcella corresponds to the flash heat exchanger of Wallis) is in series with, and fluidically coupled to, a filter drier (Fig. 3 where filter/dryer 150 corresponds to the filter drier of Matsukura).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the second compressor system has a different maximum load capacity (paragraph [0030] and Fig. 5 of Moon) than the first compressor system (paragraph [0030] and Fig. 5 of Moon).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the one thermal load comprises one cabin air for the vehicle (corresponds to the air cooled inside interior 24 Fig. 1 of Scarcella).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the flash heat exchanger is a flash sub-cooler (paragraph [0078] of Wallis where it is disclosed that the liquid working fluid is separated from the vapor working fluid inside flash tank 20 which a person skilled in the art would recognize as the functional description of a flash sub-cooler).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to select the third combination of target operating loads (paragraph [0029] of Moon), and wherein to determine the first and second target operating loads (Fig. 6 of Moon), the processing circuitry is further configured to: select the first and second target operating loads to cause the first compressor system to operate at the third percentage of the first maximum load capacity (Fig. 6 of Moon) and the second compressor system to operate at the fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity (Fig. 6 of Moon).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the second target operating load is a fraction of the first target operating load (in the third combination of target operating loads of Moon which is the combination of steps S210 and S220 Figs. 5-6 of Moon, the second target operating load is half of the first target operating load), and the second target operating load is lower than the first target operating load (the third combination of target operating loads of Moon which is the combination of steps S210 and S220 Figs. 5-6 of Moon).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to output, by the system controller, a third control signal (corresponds to when controller 70 provide instructions to stop the operations of second compressors 40 as described in paragraph [0042] of Moon) to the second motor controller instructing the second motor controller to maintain the second compressor system in an idle mode (corresponds to when second compressors 40 are instructed to stop operations as described in paragraph [0042] of Moon) as the first motor controller operates the first compressor system at the first target operating load (step 160 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0042] of Moon).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, the combined teachings teach wherein when the first compressor system and the second compressor system operate at the first combination of target operating loads (combination of steps S240 and S250 Fig. 6 of Moon), the VCCS operates at the maximum efficiency at a first total percentage (66% Fig. 5 of Moon) of a maximum load capacity of the VCCS (100% Fig. 5 of Moon), wherein when the first compressor system and the second compressor system operate at the second combination of target operating loads (combination of steps S180 and S190 Fig. 6 of Moon), the VCCS operates at the maximum efficiency at a second total percentage (33% Fig. 5 of Moon) of the maximum load capacity of the VCCS, and wherein when the first compressor system and the second compressor system operate at the third combination of target operating loads (combination of steps S210 and S220 Fig. 6 of Moon), the VCCS operates at the maximum efficiency at a third total percentage (50% Fig. 5 of Moon) of the maximum load capacity of the VCCS, wherein the first total percentage, the second total percentage, and the third total percentage are different from each other (Fig. 5 of Moon).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that Moon does not describe that the system operates "at maximum efficiency for each of the plurality of combinations of target operating loads" as recited by amended claims 1 and 14, Examiner disagrees.
In paragraph [0049], Moon discloses that the different load combinations illustrated in fig. 6 result in “a high operating efficiency over entire operating areas”. Moon then in essence teaches that the method illustrated in Fig. 7 allows the system of Moon to operate at a high efficiency which is understood to be the maximum efficiency of Moon’s system under the different operating conditions.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that Moon does not describe “a first combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a first percentage of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system while the second compressor system idles; a second combination of target operating loads comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system while the first compressor system idles; and a third combination of target operating loads comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity” as recited by amended claims 1 and 14, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejections of claims 1 and 14 are repeated below:
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Moon teaches a first combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the combination of steps S240 and S250 Fig. 6) comprising a first compressor system (the disclosed plurality of second compressors 40 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0039] corresponds to the first compressor system) operating at a first percentage (100% in step S240 Fig. 6) of a first maximum load capacity of the first compressor system (B2 Fig. 5) while a second compressor system (the disclosed plurality of first compressors 30 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0039] corresponds to the second compressor system) idles (step S250 Fig. 6); a second combination of target operating loads (corresponds to the combinations of steps S180 and S190 Fig. 6) comprising the second compressor system operating at a second percentage (100% in step S190 Fig. 6) of a second maximum load capacity of the second compressor system (A2 Fig. 5) while the first compressor system idles (step S180 Fig. 6); and a third combination of target operating loads (the combination of steps S210 and S220 Fig. 6) comprising the first compressor system operating at a third percentage of the first maximum load capacity (50% at step S210 Fig. 6) and the second compressor system operating at a fourth percentage of the second maximum load capacity (50% at Step S220 Fig. 6).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that Moon does not make any mention of “the efficiency of the described system as being dependent on the operating capacity of compressors 30, 40”, Examiner disagrees.
In paragraph [0049], Moon discloses that the different load combinations illustrated in fig. 6 which are obtained by modifying the capacities of compressors 30 and 40, result in “a high operating efficiency over entire operating areas”. Moon then in essence teaches that the method illustrated in Fig. 7 allows the system of Moon to operate at a high efficiency which is understood to be the maximum efficiency of Moon’s system under the different operating conditions by modifying the capacities of compressors 30 and 40.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that the "first target operating load and the second target operating load" are not result-effective variables, the above updated rejection of claim 13 is repeated below.
For clarity purposes, the combined teachings teach wherein the second target operating load is a fraction of the first target operating load (in the third combination of target operating loads of Moon which is the combination of steps S210 and S220 Figs. 5-6 of Moon, the second target operating load is half of the first target operating load), and the second target operating load is lower than the first target operating load (the third combination of target operating loads of Moon which is the combination of steps S210 and S220 Figs. 5-6 of Moon).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763