DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A3 and B2 (claims 1-23) in the reply filed on 01/28/2023 is acknowledged.
Claim 17 contains the limitation “wherein the normal area is or is not disposed between the first optical area and the second optical area”, in which the portion “is not” is drawn to a nonelected species. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be read as “wherein the normal area is”.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 recites the limitation "the first connection pattern" in lines 4 and 2 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 9 and 10 recites the limitation "the plurality of second connection patterns" and “the second connection pattern” in lines 5 and 3 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitations "the first conductive metal" in line 16 and “the contact holes” in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 14-17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US Publication 20220115462).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jung teaches a display device (fig. 1, 1) comprising:
a display panel (fig. 3A, 10) having a display area (DA) that includes a first optical area (CA), the first optical area including a central area (TA) and a bezel area (fig. 4A, area outside of TA) located outside of the central area, and the display area also including a normal area (MDA) located outside of the first optical area, wherein the display panel comprises:
a plurality of emitting devices (Pa) disposed in the central area;
a plurality of emitting devices (Pm) disposed in the bezel area;
a plurality of transistors (PCa) disposed in the bezel area, a plurality of source-drain electrode patterns (fig. 7A, D1, S1, TWL’, and connection electrode below TWL’) including a first source drain electrode pattern (connection electrode below TWL’); and
a connection pattern (TWL) extending from the bezel area to a portion of the central area, and wherein the connection pattern is located below at least one source-drain electrode pattern of the plurality of source-drain electrode patterns and in contact with the first source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 7A).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a first set of transistors among the plurality of transistors disposed in the bezel area are electrically connected to the plurality of emitting devices disposed in the bezel area (fig. 4A, Pm connected to Pr, Pg, and PB within MDA), and a second set of transistors among the plurality of transistors disposed in the bezel area are electrically connected to the plurality of emitting devices disposed in the central area (fig. 4A, PCa connected to Pa).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein at least one source-drain electrode pattern of the plurality of source-drains patterns is formed of a different material from the connection pattern (paragraphs 0149-150, TWL’ may include a conductive material whereas TWL may include a transparent conductive material).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the at least one source-drain electrode pattern of the plurality of source-drains patterns includes an opaque metal and the connection pattern includes a transparent conductive material (paragraphs 0149-150).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of source-drains patterns includes a second source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 7A, CM) disposed on the same layer as the first source-drain electrode pattern and a third source-drain electrode pattern (CM’) electrically connected to the first source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 7A, CM’ connected to connection electrode below TWL’ through TWL and TWL’), and the connection pattern includes first (TWL), second (DL) and third connection patterns (DWL), at least two patterns among the first to third connection patterns being disposed on different layers (fig. 7A).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display panel further includes a first insulating film (fig. 7A, 117a) disposed on the substrate, the first source-drain electrode pattern is disposed on the first insulating film (fig. 7A), and the first connection pattern is disposed on the same layer as the first source drain electrode pattern and is in contact with the first source drain electrode pattern (fig. 7A).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein the first connection pattern is in contact with a bottom surface of the first source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 7A, bottom surface of TWL’ in contact with TWL).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display panel further includes an additional connection pattern (fig. 7A, CM) electrically connecting anodes (121) of some emitting devices among the plurality of emitting devices, and the same color of light is emitted from emitting areas in which the anodes connected through the additional connection pattern are disposed (paragraph 0086).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display panel further includes an additional connection pattern (fig. 4B, TWL2’) disposed on the same layer as an anode of each of the plurality of emitting devices (paragraph 0124, “the second additional connecting line TWL2′ may be at the same layer as a pixel electrode 121”), the additional connection pattern is electrically connected to at least one anode among the anodes of the plurality of emitting devices (paragraph 0125), and the additional connection pattern is electrically connected to a driving transistor disposed in the bezel area through the connection pattern (fig. 7A).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a first optoelectronic device (fig. 2B, 40) disposed below the display panel (10) and overlapping at least a portion of the first optical area of the display area (fig. 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display area further includes a second optical area (paragraph 0053, “the display apparatus 1 may include two or more component areas CA”) different from the first optical area and the normal area, the display device further comprising a second optoelectronic device (fig. 2B, 40 can also correspond to a second optoelectronic device since 1 can include two or more component areas) disposed below the display panel and overlapping at least a portion of the second optical area (fig. 2B), wherein the normal area is or is not disposed between the first optical area and the second optical area (paragraph 0053, “but the location of the component area CA is not limited thereto” thus MDA can be disposed between component areas).
Regarding independent claim 20, Jung teaches a display panel (fig. 3A, 10) comprising:
a display area (DA) having a first optical area (CA) that includes a central area (TA) and a bezel area (fig. 4A, area outside of TA) located outside of the central area, the display area also including a normal area (MDA) located outside of the first optical area, the display panel comprising:
a plurality of light emitting elements (Pa) disposed in the central area;
a plurality of light emitting elements (Pm) disposed in the bezel area;
a plurality of transistors (PCa) disposed in the bezel area, each transistor including a semiconductor active area (fig. 7A, A1, see also paragraph 0136, “auxiliary thin film transistor TFT′ has a similar configuration to that of the main thin film transistor TFT”) having source-drain regions (paragraph 0137) therein;
an electrically insulating layer (117a and IL) overlying the plurality of transistors, the electrically insulating layer having a top surface (fig. 7A);
a contact hole (see figure below) extending through the electrically insulating layer to expose an active area of at least one transistor of the plurality of transistors;
a first connection pattern (see figure below) overlaying and in contact with the electrical insulating layers and also overlying and in contact with at least one of the plurality of source-drain electrode patterns in the bezel area (fig. 7A), the connection pattern including a second conductive metal that is different from the first conductive metal (paragraph 0124), the first connection pattern having a first portion (see figure below) extending through the electrically insulating layer and contacting the respective source-drain regions of the respective transistors and a second portion (see figure below) overlying and in contact with the top surface of the electrically insulating layer; and
a plurality of source-drain electrode patterns (TWL’) overlying the plurality of transistors disposed in the bezel area and having a first portion (see figure below) extending through the electrically insulating layer, overlying on and contacting the connection pattern in the contact holes and a second portion (see figure below) overlying and in contact with the second portion of the connection pattern that is on the top surface of the electrically insulating layer.
Regarding dependent claim 21, Jung teaches the display panel of Claim 20, wherein the electrically insulating layer is a planarization layer having the top surface thereof planar (paragraph 0153).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Jung teaches the display panel of Claim 20, further including:
a planarization layer (fig. 7A, 117b) overlying the electrically insulating layer, the planarization layer being an electrical insulator and having a top surface thereof that is planar (paragraphs 0154-0155).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Kwack et al. (US Publication 20210020721).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 7.
Jung does not teach wherein the first connection pattern is in direct contact with at least one active layer of the plurality of transistors in the bezel area.
Kwack teaches wherein the first connection pattern (fig. 4, 131 of 130) is in direct contact with at least one active layer (110) of the plurality of transistors in the bezel area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the connection pattern of Kwak in order to form the source electrode (Kwack paragraph 0069).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Jung further teaches the display device according to claim 8, wherein the display panel further includes a second insulating film (fig. 7A, 117b) disposed on the first source-drain electrode pattern and the first connection pattern and a plurality of connection patterns (fig. 11, DUWL) disposed on the second insulating film (paragraph 0193),
the first connection pattern being electrically connected to at least one connection pattern among the plurality of second connection patterns (fig. 11).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Jung further teaches the display device according to claim 9, wherein the display panel further includes a third insulating film (fig. 7A, 119) disposed on the second insulating film,
wherein the second connection pattern (CM’) disposed on the second insulating film and electrically connected to the first connection pattern is electrically connected to anodes (121’) of some emitting devices among the plurality of emitting devices in the central area disposed on the third insulating film.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 5, wherein the display panel further includes a first insulating film (fig. 7A, 117a) and a second insulating film (117b) disposed on the first insulating film,
the second source-drain electrode pattern is disposed on first insulating film (fig. 7A),
the second insulating film is disposed on the second source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 7A),
the third connection pattern is disposed on the same layer as the third source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 7A, DL and CM’ on same layer).
Jung does not teach the third source-drain electrode pattern is electrically connected to the second source-drain electrode pattern, and the third connection pattern is in direct contact with the second source-drain electrode pattern and the third source-drain electrode pattern.
Kwack teaches the third source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 4, 134 of 135) is electrically connected to the second source-drain electrode pattern (132 of 135), and the third connection pattern (133 of 135) is in direct contact with the second source-drain electrode pattern and the third source-drain electrode pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the source-drain electrode patterns of Kwak in order to form the drain electrode (Kwack paragraph 0069).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kwack further teaches the display device according to claim 11, wherein the third connection pattern is in contact with a bottom surface of the third source-drain electrode pattern (fig. 4, 133 of 135 is in contact with bottom surface of 134 of 135).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the third connection pattern of Kwack per the reason(s) stated above in claim 11.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kwack further teaches the display device according to claim 12, wherein the display panel further includes a third insulating film (fig. 4, 150) disposed on the third source-drain electrode pattern and the third connection pattern, and
anodes (160) of some emitting devices among the plurality of emitting devices in the central area disposed on the third insulating film are electrically connected to the third connection pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the third insulating layer of Kwack per the reason(s) stated above in claim 11.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Cho et al. (US Publication 20220093708).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Jung teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display area further comprises:
an encapsulation layer (fig. 2B, ENCM) disposed on the display area.
Jung does not teach and a first touch electrode and a second touch electrode disposed on the encapsulation layer.
Cho teaches and a first touch electrode (fig. 7, 410) and a second touch electrode (420) disposed on the encapsulation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the touch electrodes of Cho in order to obtain coordinate information according to an external output (Cho paragraph 0077).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Cho further teaches the display device according to claim 18, further comprising a circuit (fig. 8, 400) detecting an occurrence of a touch and determining a touch position by detecting a change in mutual capacitance between the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode (paragraph 0077, “input sensing layer 400 may sense the external input by a mutual capacitance method or a self-capacitance method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Jung and the circuit of Cho per the reason(s) stated above in claim 18.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Lee et al. (US Publication 20180342707).
Regarding dependent claim 23, Jung teaches the display panel of Claim 22, further including:
a second contact hole (see figure below) extending through the planarization layer overlying the electrically insulating layer at least one source-drain electrode pattern;
a second connection pattern (fig. 7A, CM’) overlaying and in contact with the planarization layer and in contact with at least one of the plurality of source-drain electrode patterns in the bezel area, the connection pattern including a second conductive metal that is different from the first conductive metal (paragraph 0124), the second connection pattern having a first portion (see figure below) extending through the planarization layer overlying and contacting the respective source-drain electrodes of the respective transistors (fig. 7A, CM’ contacts TWL’ via TWL) and a second portion (see figure below) overlying and in contact with the top surface of the planarization layer.
Jung does not teach and a plurality of source-drain electrode patterns overlying the second connection pattern having a first portion overlying on and contacting the connection pattern in the second contact hole and a second portion overlying and in contact with the second portion of the second connection pattern that is on the top surface of the planarization layer.
Lee teaches and a plurality of source-drain electrode patterns (fig. 3, 235 and 215).
Jung in view of Lee does not explicitly teach overlying the second connection pattern having a first portion overlying on and contacting the connection pattern in the second contact hole and a second portion overlying and in contact with the second portion of the second connection pattern that is on the top surface of the planarization layer, however, Lee discloses each of the wiring pattern 215 and the connection pattern 235 may have a multi-layered structure (paragraph 0099).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the layers of the source-drain electrode patterns of Lee such that one of the layers is a first portion overlies and contacts the bottom most layer corresponds to the second connection pattern and another one of the layers is a second portion overlying and in contact with the second portion of the second connection pattern that is on the top surface of the planarization layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897