DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed January 22, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhotra et al. (US 2021/0263313 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement), in view of Yamashita et al. (CN 1675495 A), further in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2024/0061165 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Malhotra discloses an optical element (500 in Fig. 5A; 520 in Fig. 5B) comprising: a waveguide body (503; 523) extending from an input end to an output end and configured to guide light by total internal reflection from the input end to the output end; an input coupling structure (505; 525) located proximate to the input end for coupling light into the waveguide body; and an output coupling (506; 526) structure located proximate to the output end for coupling light out of the waveguide body, wherein the waveguide body comprises at least one layer of an optically anisotropic organic solid crystal (paragraphs 0073, 0075).
Still regarding claim 1, Malhotra teaches the claimed invention except for the optically anisotropic waveguide body configured to provide a higher ray density of light propagating through than an optically isotropic waveguide body. Yamashita discloses a light-diffusing element which is an optically anisotropic waveguide body configured to provide a higher ray density of light propagating through than an optically isotropic waveguide body (“light-diffusing element has anisotropic component, which can improve the total light transmittance”, and would naturally correspond to a higher ray density as compared to an “isotropic [waveguide] element as the light diffusing element… thus resulting in decrease of brightness”). Since both inventions relate to optical devices, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use an optically anisotropic waveguide body configured to provide a higher ray density of light propagating through than an optically isotropic waveguide body as disclosed by Yamashita in the device of Malhotra for the purpose of increasing the brightness.
Still regarding claim 1, the proposed combination of Malhotra and Yamashita teaches the claimed invention except for a 2D diagonal field-of-view of at least approximately 10 degrees. Nakayama discloses a waveguide body comprising an optically anisotropic organic solid crystal (paragraph 0097) supporting a 2D diagonal field of view (FOV) of at least approximately 10 degrees (Fig. 14A; paragraphs 0085, 0116). Since both inventions relate to optical devices, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use a 2D diagonal field-of-view of at least approximately 10 degree as disclosed by Nakayama in the device of the proposed combination of Malhotra and Yamashita for the purpose of expanding the visual field.
Regarding claim 2, Malhotra discloses the input coupling structure and the output coupling structure each comprise a plurality of diffractive gratings in Figs. 5A-5B and paragraph 0120.
Regarding claim 3, Malhotra discloses the diffractive gratings are selected from the group consisting of volume Bragg gratings, polarization volume holographic (PVH) gratings and surface relief gratings (SRG) in Figs. 5A-5B and paragraph 0115.
Regarding claim 4, Malhotra discloses the diffractive gratings comprise binary phase gratings or slanted gratings in Figs. 5A-5B.
Regarding claim 5, Malhotra discloses the optical element comprises a planar waveguide in Figs. 5A-5B.
Regarding claim 6, Malhotra discloses the optical element comprises a non-planar waveguide in paragraph 0059.
Regarding claim 7, Malhotra discloses the at least one organic solid crystal layer comprises a molecule selected from the group consisting of anthracene, tetracene, pentacene, saturated or unsaturated polycyclic hydrocarbons, nitrogen-, sulfur-, or oxygen-containing heterocycles, quinolines, benzothiophenes, benzopyrans, bent and asymmetric acenes, 2,6-naphthalene dicarboxylic acid, and 2,6-dimethyl carboxylic esters in paragraph 0064.
Regarding claim 8, Malhotra discloses the at least one organic solid crystal layer comprises a single crystal in paragraph 0049.
Regarding claim 9, Malhotra discloses the waveguide body comprises a refractive index of at least approximately 1.5 and a birefringence of at least approximately 0.01 in paragraph 0074.
Regarding claim 10, Malhotra discloses the waveguide body comprises principal refractive indices (nx, ny, nz), wherein nx≠ny≠nz nx, nx=ny≠nz, nx=nz≠ny, or ny=nz≠nx in paragraph 0074.
Regarding claim 12, Malhotra discloses the waveguide body comprises a single optically anisotropic organic solid crystal layer having a thickness of less than approximately 600 micrometers in paragraph 0058.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Malhotra discloses the waveguide body comprises a stack of optically anisotropic organic solid crystal layers in paragraphs 0058, 0090 and 0098. The proposed combination of Malhotra, Yamashita and Nakayama teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the number of layers in the stack and the thickness of the stack. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed number of layers and thickness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 21, Yamashita in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, further discloses the optically anisotropic waveguide configured to improve brightness and uniformity of a projected image (“light-diffusing element has anisotropic component, which can improve the total light transmittance of the light diffusion element… brightness can be improved”).id crystal moleculesand specifically stating the exposure voltage greater than a
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 March 19, 2026