DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 8, 11, 14 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMEYS et al. (US 20100213601 A1, “SMEYS”) in view of Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20190181121 A1, “Odnoblyudov”) further in view of Okandan et al. (US 20170162724 A1, “Okandan”)
Regarding claim 1, SMEYS discloses (Fig. 1) a substrate (100), comprising: a ceramic core; a plurality of metal-filled vias (125) through the ceramic core; a first metal layer (123), on a top side of the ceramic core, including: a first metal trace (122b), over and connected to a first metal-filled via of the plurality of metal-filled vias, a second metal trace, over and connected to a second metal-filled via of the plurality of metal-filled vias, and a third metal trace, over and connected to a third metal-filled via of the plurality of metal-filled vias, wherein the second metal trace is electrically isolated from the first metal trace and the third metal trace (See annotated figure below); a thin dielectric layer (106f) on the first metal layer, wherein the thin dielectric layer has a uniform thickness, and wherein the thin dielectric layer has a low thermal resistance based on a thickness of the thin dielectric layer; and a second metal layer (120), on the thin dielectric layer, including: a first electrical contact over the first metal trace and electrically isolated from the first metal trace, a second electrical contact over the second metal trace and electrically connected to the second metal trace, and a third electrical contact over the third metal trace and electrically connected to the third metal trace, wherein the second electrical contact is electrically isolated from the first electrical contact and the third electrical contact, and wherein the thin dielectric layer is configured to separate the first metal layer and the second metal layer and form a vertical current loop between the first metal layer and the second metal layer (See annotated figure below).
SMEYS fails to disclose that the core substrate is ceramic
However, Odnoblyudov discloses (Fig. 9) a ceramic core (Abstract)
SMEYS and Odnoblyudov are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Substrates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS to incorporate the teachings of Odnoblyudov and provide a ceramic core (Abstract). Doing so would improve thermal management and stress when compared to existing technologies (para [0026]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov fails to disclose wherein the thin dielectric layer has a uniform thickness.
However, Okandan discloses (Fig. 3 - 7) wherein the thin dielectric layer (209) has a uniform thickness (See Fig. 3 – 7, and para [0032])
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Substrates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov to incorporate the teachings of Okandan and provide wherein the thin dielectric layer (209) has a uniform thickness (See Fig. 3 – 7, and para [0032]). Doing so would provide evenly electrical stability, structural protection and reduces surface recombination (a well – known property of silicon nitride).
Regarding claim 2, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1, wherein the first electrical contact is electrically isolated from the first metal layer (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 3, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1, wherein the first metal trace is electrically isolated from the second metal trace and the third metal trace, wherein the thin dielectric layer covers top surfaces and sidewalls of the first metal trace, the second metal trace, and the third metal trace, and wherein the thin dielectric layer covers exposed portions of the top side of the ceramic core (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 4, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1, wherein the thin dielectric layer includes a first via, through the thin dielectric layer, to provide an electrical connection between the second electrical contact and the second metal trace and a second via, through the thin dielectric layer, to provide an electrical connection between the third electrical contact and the third metal trace (See annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 5, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1, wherein SMEYS further discloses that the thin dielectric layer is a thin film coating formed on the first metal layer (para [0019]).
Regarding claim 8, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1, wherein Odnoblyudov further discloses that the ceramic core is formed from aluminum nitride (AIN) or aluminum oxide (
A
l
2
O
3
) (see Fig. 9 and para [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, SMEYS discloses (Fig. 1) a circuit (100), comprising: a ceramic core comprising a plurality of metal-filled vias (125) through the ceramic core; a first metal layer (123), on a top side of the ceramic core, including a plurality of metal traces over and connected to the plurality of metal-filled vias (125), wherein the plurality of metal traces include one or more first metal traces and one or more second metal traces (see annotated figure below), wherein the one or more second metal traces are each electrically isolated from the rest of the plurality of metal traces; a thin dielectric (106f) on the first metal layer (123), wherein the thin dielectric layer has a uniform thickness, and wherein the thin dielectric has a low thermal resistance based on a thickness of the thin dielectric ; a second metal layer (120), on the thin dielectric (106f), including: an anode over and electrically isolated from the plurality of metal traces by the thin dielectric; a cathode over and electrically connected to at least one of the one or more second metal traces by a first via through the thin dielectric (see annotated figure below); and a ground over and electrically connected to the one or more first metal traces by a second via through the thin dielectric; and a capacitor (para [0027]) connected to the ground, wherein the thin dielectric between the first metal layer and the second metal layer provides the circuit with a low parasitic inductance and a low thermal resistance during operation (SMEYS discloses a circuit board which inherently has a ground, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention can modified SMEYS to incorporate a ground over and electrically connected to the one or more first metal traces by a second via through the thin dielectric and connect the capacitor to the ground), and wherein the thin dielectric layer is configured to separate the first metal layer and the second metal layer and form a vertical current loop between the first metal layer and the second metal layer (see annotated figure below).
SMEYS fails to disclose that the core substrate is ceramic
However, Odnoblyudov discloses (Fig. 9) a ceramic core (Abstract)
SMEYS and Odnoblyudov are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Substrates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS to incorporate the teachings of Odnoblyudov and provide a ceramic core (Abstract). Doing so would improve thermal management and stress when compared to existing technologies (para [0026]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov fails to disclose wherein the thin dielectric layer has a uniform thickness.
However, Okandan discloses (Fig. 3 - 7) wherein the thin dielectric layer (209) has a uniform thickness (See Fig. 3 – 7, and para [0032])
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Substrates. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov to incorporate the teachings of Okandan and provide wherein the thin dielectric layer (209) has a uniform thickness (See Fig. 3 – 7, and para [0032]). Doing so would provide evenly electrical stability, structural protection and reduces surface recombination (a well – known property of silicon nitride).
Regarding claim 14, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the circuit of claim 11, wherein the ceramic core is formed from aluminum nitride (AIN) or aluminum oxide (
A
l
2
O
3
) (see Fig. 9 and para [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the circuit of claim 11, wherein the thin dielectric is a thin film coating formed on the first metal layer (para [0019]).
Claim(s) 6 – 7, 12 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMEYS et al. (US 20100213601 A1, “SMEYS”) in view of Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20190181121 A1, “Odnoblyudov”) and Okandan et al. (US 20170162724 A1, “Okandan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SUH et al (US 20120080084 A1, “SUH”).
Regarding claim 6, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxynitride (AlON) or aluminum phosphate (AlPO4), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.01 micrometers to sixty micrometers.
However, SUH discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxynitride (AlON) or aluminum phosphate (AlPO4) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.01 micrometers to sixty micrometers (para [0021] & [0063]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and SUH are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan to incorporate the teachings of SUH and provide wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxynitride (AlON) or aluminum phosphate (AlPO4) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.01 micrometers to sixty micrometers (para [0021] & [0063]). Doing so would provide high dielectric strength and very low electrical conductivity (common knowledge in the art).
Regarding claim 7, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3) or silicon dioxide (SiO2), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.3 micrometers to one micrometer .
However, SUH discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3) or silicon dioxide (SiO2) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.3 micrometers to one micrometer (para [0021] & [0063]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and SUH are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan to incorporate the teachings of SUH and provide wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3) or silicon dioxide (SiO2) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.3 micrometers to one micrometer (para [0021] & [0063]). Doing so would provide high dielectric strength and very low electrical conductivity (common knowledge in the art).
Regarding claim 12, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the circuit of claim 11,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxynitride (AlON) or aluminum phosphate (AlPO4), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.01 micrometers to sixty micrometers.
However, SUH discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxynitride (AlON) or aluminum phosphate (AlPO4) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.01 micrometers to sixty micrometers (para [0021] & [0063]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and SUH are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan to incorporate the teachings of SUH and provide wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxynitride (AlON) or aluminum phosphate (AlPO4) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.01 micrometers to sixty micrometers (para [0021] & [0063]). Doing so would provide high dielectric strength and very low electrical conductivity (common knowledge in the art).
Regarding claim 13, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the circuit of claim 11,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3) or silicon dioxide (SiO2), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.3 micrometers to one micrometer .
However, SUH discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3) or silicon dioxide (SiO2) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.3 micrometers to one micrometer (para [0021] & [0063]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and SUH are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan to incorporate the teachings of SUH and provide wherein a material used for the thin dielectric layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3) or silicon dioxide (SiO2) (para [0061]), and wherein the thickness of the thin dielectric layer is in a range from 0.3 micrometers to one micrometer (para [0021] & [0063]). Doing so would provide high dielectric strength and very low electrical conductivity (common knowledge in the art).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMEYS et al. (US 20100213601 A1, “SMEYS”) in view of Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20190181121 A1, “Odnoblyudov”) and Okandan et al. (US 20170162724 A1, “Okandan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shen (US 20170040247 A1, “Shen”)
Regarding claim 9, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the substrate of claim 1,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose further comprising: a third metal layer, on a bottom side of the ceramic core, including: a first metal contact, under and connected to the first metal-filled via and the third metal-filled via, and a second metal contact, under and connected to the second metal-filled via, wherein the second metal contact is electrically isolated from the first metal contact.
However, Shen discloses (Fig. 7) further comprising: a third metal layer (151A), on a bottom side of the ceramic core (700), including: a first metal contact, under and connected to the first metal-filled via and the third metal-filled via, and a second metal contact, under and connected to the second metal-filled via, wherein the second metal contact is electrically isolated from the first metal contact (see annotated figure below).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and Shen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan to incorporate the teachings of Shen and provide further comprising: a third metal layer (151A), on a bottom side of the ceramic core (700), including: a first metal contact, under and connected to the first metal-filled via and the third metal-filled via, and a second metal contact, under and connected to the second metal-filled via, wherein the second metal contact is electrically isolated from the first metal contact. Doing so would increase the substrate density and provide a more compact design
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMEYS et al. (US 20100213601 A1, “SMEYS”) in view of Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20190181121 A1, “Odnoblyudov”) and Okandan et al. (US 20170162724 A1, “Okandan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 20150294791 A1, “Hwang”)
Regarding claim 16, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the circuit of claim 11,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose wherein the capacitor includes a thin-film capacitor that comprises: a first layer, formed from a high-K material, on the ground; a second layer, formed from nickel, on the first layer; and a third layer, formed from a metal plating, on the second layer.
However, Hwang discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the capacitor includes a thin-film capacitor that comprises: a first layer, formed from a high-K material, on the ground (214); a second layer, formed from nickel (224), on the first layer; and a third layer, formed from a metal plating (236), on the second layer (para [0036], [0037] and [0051]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and Hwang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan to incorporate the teachings of Hwang and provide the capacitor includes a thin-film capacitor that comprises: a first layer, formed from a high-K material, on the ground (214); a second layer, formed from nickel (224), on the first layer; and a third layer, formed from a metal plating (236), on the second layer (para [0036], [0037] and [0051]). Doing so would allow it to fit in thin and small substrates where traditional capacitors cannot fit or are not suitable (para [0057]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMEYS et al. (US 20100213601 A1, “SMEYS”) in view of Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20190181121 A1, “Odnoblyudov”) and Okandan et al. (US 20170162724 A1, “Okandan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WEALE (US 20210320102 A1, “WEALE”)
Regarding claim 17, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the circuit of claim 11,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose wherein the capacitor includes a one – dimensional capacitor array mounted on a metal layer separated from the ground by a dielectric layer.
However, WEALE discloses (Fig. 3) wherein the capacitor (210) includes a one – dimensional capacitor array (211A-C) mounted on a metal layer separated from the ground (250A) by a dielectric layer (212A-C) (para [0021]).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and WEALE are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS combined with Odnoblyudov to incorporate the teachings of WEALE and provide wherein the capacitor (210) includes a one – dimensional capacitor array (211A-C) mounted on a metal layer separated from the ground (250A) by a dielectric layer (212A-C) (para [0021]). Doing so would provide a capacitor with reduced inductance that can be used in thin semiconductor devices (para [0013]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMEYS et al. (US 20100213601 A1, “SMEYS”) in view of Odnoblyudov et al. (US 20190181121 A1, “Odnoblyudov”) and Okandan et al. (US 20170162724 A1, “Okandan”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHONG et al. (US 20160142033 A1, “CHONG”)
Regarding claim 18, SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan discloses the circuit of claim 11,
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan fails to disclose wherein the capacitor includes a multi-layer ceramic capacitor mounted on a metal layer separated from the ground by a dielectric layer.
However, CHONG discloses (Fig. 1 & 3) wherein the capacitor includes a multi-layer ceramic capacitor (120) mounted on a metal layer separated from the ground (153a-b) by a dielectric layer (111).
SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan and CHONG are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SMEYS in view of Odnoblyudov and Okandan to incorporate the teachings of CHONG and provide wherein the capacitor includes a multi-layer ceramic capacitor (120) mounted on a metal layer separated from the ground (153a-b) by a dielectric layer (111). Doing so would provide a lower parasitic inductance.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847