DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-15 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (US Pub. 2021/0359003).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng teaches a method of forming a resistive memory device, the method comprising:
providing a patterned film stack containing a lower electrode layer 116, a current conducting dielectric filament layer 206 (206 comprises a current-conducting dielectric filament layer 110 as shown in Fig. 10-11 or note a current conducting dielectric filament layer 118 in Fig. 1) on the lower electrode layer 116, and an upper electrode layer 1108/120 on the dielectric filament layer 206 (Fig. 10-11);
depositing a conformal cap layer 1202 on the patterned film stack (Fig. 12);
dry etching the conformal cap layer 1202 to form a sidewall spacer 122 on sidewalls of the patterned film stack, where a top of the sidewall spacer 122 is recessed to below a top of the upper electrode layer 1108 by the dry etching (Fig. 12-13 & Para [0056]);
encapsulating the patterned film stack in an isolation layer (124 and/or 107c, Fig. 15); and
etching the isolation layer (124 and/or 107c) to expose the upper electrode layer 1108/120 without exposing the sidewall spacer 122 (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 2, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: following the etching, depositing a metal electrode layer (406 & 408) on the upper electrode layer 120, where the metal electrode layer is not in direct physical contact with the sidewall spacer 122 (Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 3, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the dry etching removes the conformal cap layer 1202 from the top surface of the upper electrode layer (Fig. 12-13).
Regarding claim 7, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein etching the isolation layer includes a planarization process (Fig. 16 & Para [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein etching the isolation layer includes etching a via pattern in the isolation layer (Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 9, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the current conducting dielectric filament layer includes a metal oxide (Para [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Tseng teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the metal oxide contains HfOx, ZrOx,TaOx, TiOx, AlOx, or a laminate or mixture thereof (Para [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the lower electrode layer contains TaN, TiN, W, or a laminate thereof(Para [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the upper electrode layer contains TaN, TiN, W, or a laminate thereof (Para [0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conformal cap layer and the sidewall spacer include SiN (Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the isolation layer includes an interlayer dielectric (ILD) (Fig. 15-16).
Regarding claim 15, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the current conducting dielectric filament layer 206/118 is in direct physical contact with the lower electrode layer 116, and the upper electrode layer 120 is in direct physical contact with the current conducting dielectric filament layer 206 (e.g. Fig. 16 & Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the isolation layer 124 is in direct contact with the upper electrode 120 above the top of the sidewall spacer 122 (Fig. 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ye et al. (US Patent 5,756,400).
Regarding claim 4, Tseng is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the dry etching is performed under vacuum conditions without exposing the patterned film stack to oxygen-containing gaseous species. However, Ye teaches wherein dry etching is performed under vacuum conditions without exposing the patterned film stack to oxygen-containing gaseous species. This has the benefits of mitigating potential oxidation of conductive/metal layers (e.g. electrodes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Tseng with the dry etching process, as taught by Ye, so as to mitigate potential oxidation of electrodes.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng and Ye as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Hsiao et al. (US Patent 6,074,566).
Regarding claim 5, though the combination of Tseng and Ye is silent on the method of claim 4, wherein the dry etching includes reactive ion etching (RIE). However, RIE is among the most widely known dry etching processes in the semiconductor art. For instance, Hsiao teaches RIE due to its high precision and contamination control characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Tseng and Ye with the RIE process, as taught by Hsiao, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kong et al. (US Pub. 2023/0099303).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein an upper part of the sidewalls is exposed during the dry etching. However, Kong teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, wherein an upper part of a sidewalls is exposed during the dry etching (Fig. 6-7 and Para [0061]). This has the advantages of allowing for formation of a subsequent conductive layer 220 with a larger width than a width of the upper electrode layer 175 (see Fig. 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Tseng with the sidewall spacer, as taught by Kong, so as to allow for the formation of a subsequent conductive layer.
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Ito (US Patent 9,583,435) in view of Ito (US Patent 9,583,535).
Regarding claim 22, Tseng teaches a method of forming a resistive random access memory (ReRAM) device, the method comprising:
providing a patterned film stack containing a lower electrode layer 116, a current conducting dielectric filament layer 206 (206 comprises a current-conducting dielectric filament layer 110 as shown in Fig. 10-11 or note a current conducting dielectric filament layer 118 in Fig. 1) on the lower electrode layer 116, and an upper electrode layer 1108/120 on the dielectric filament layer 206 (Fig. 10-11);
depositing a conformal cap layer 1202 on the patterned film stack (Fig. 12);
dry etching the conformal cap layer 1202 to form a sidewall spacer 122 on sidewalls of the patterned film stack, where a top of the sidewall spacer 122 is recessed to below a top of the upper electrode layer 1108 by the dry etching (Fig. 12-13 & Para [0056]);
encapsulating the patterned film stack in an isolation layer (124 and/or 107c, Fig. 15); and
etching the isolation layer (127 & 107c) to expose the upper electrode layer without exposing the sidewall spacer (Fig. 16).
Tseng is silent on wherein the isolation layer including an interlayer dielectric (ILD) in direct contact with the upper electrode above the top of the sidewall spacer. However, Ito teaches in Fig. 9, wherein an isolation layer 306 including an interlayer dielectric (ILD) 306 in direct contact with an upper electrode 307 above the top of a sidewall spacer 205. This has the advantage of providing protection for the electrodes while making subsequent process steps (e.g. source/contact formation) accessible. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Tseng with the ILD, as taught by Ito, so as to balance electrode protection with accessible source/contact formation.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Tseng and Ito teaches the method of claim 22, further comprising: following the etching, depositing a metal electrode layer (406 & 408) on the upper electrode layer 120, where the metal electrode layer is not in direct physical contact with the sidewall spacer 122 (Tseng’s Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Tseng and Ito teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the current conducting dielectric filament layer contains HfOx, ZrOx,TaOx, TiOx, AlOx, or a laminate or mixture thereof (Tseng’s Para [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Tseng and Ito teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the conformal cap layer and the sidewall spacer include SiN (Tseng’s Para [0055]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner maintains that Tseng’s device teaches a current conducting dielectric filament layer 210/184 (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) that comprises a high-K dielectric (see Para [0028] that reads on the claim feature. As such, the argument is not found to be persuasive. Furthermore, an MTJ component is capable of altering electrical resistance contrary to what applicants submitted in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818