DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 08/08/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 & 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (US Pub. 2021/0359003).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng teaches a method of forming a resistive memory device, the method comprising:
providing a patterned film stack containing a lower electrode layer 116, a dielectric filament layer 206 on the lower electrode layer 116, and an upper electrode layer 1108/120 on the dielectric filament layer 206 (Fig. 10-11);
depositing a conformal cap layer 1202 on the patterned film stack (Fig. 12);
dry etching the conformal cap layer 1202 to form a sidewall spacer 122 on sidewalls of the patterned film stack, where a top of the sidewall spacer 122 is recessed to below a top of the upper electrode layer 1108 by the dry etching (Fig. 12-13 & Para [0056]);
encapsulating the patterned film stack in an isolation layer 107c (Fig. 15); and
etching the isolation layer 107c to expose the upper electrode layer 1108/120 without exposing the sidewall spacer 122 (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 2, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: following the etching, depositing a metal electrode layer (406 & 408) on the upper electrode layer 120, where the metal electrode layer is not in direct physical contact with the sidewall spacer 122 (Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 3, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the dry etching removes the conformal cap layer 1202 from the top surface of the upper electrode layer (Fig. 12-13).
Regarding claim 7, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein etching the isolation layer includes a planarization process (Fig. 16 & Para [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein etching the isolation layer includes etching a via pattern in the isolation layer (Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 9, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the dielectric filament layer includes a metal oxide (Para [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Tseng teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the metal oxide contains HfOx, ZrOx,TaOx, TiOx, AlOx, or a laminate or mixture thereof (Para [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the lower electrode layer contains TaN, TiN, W, or a laminate thereof(Para [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the upper electrode layer contains TaN, TiN, W, or a laminate thereof (Para [0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conformal cap layer and the sidewall spacer include SiN (Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the isolation layer includes an interlayer dielectric (ILD) (Fig. 15-16).
Regarding claim 15, Tseng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the dielectric filament layer 206 is in direct physical contact with the lower electrode layer 116, and the upper electrode layer 120 is in direct physical contact with the dielectric filament layer 206(e.g. Fig. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ye et al. (US Patent 5,756,400).
Regarding claim 4, Tseng is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the dry etching is performed under vacuum conditions without exposing the patterned film stack to oxygen-containing gaseous species. However, Ye teaches wherein dry etching is performed under vacuum conditions without exposing the patterned film stack to oxygen-containing gaseous species. This has the benefits of mitigating potential oxidation of conductive/metal layers (e.g. electrodes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Tseng with the dry etching process, as taught by Ye, so as to mitigate potential oxidation of electrodes.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng and Ye as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Hsiao et al. (US Patent 6,074,566).
Regarding claim 5, though the combination of Tseng and Ye is silent on the method of claim 4, wherein the dry etching includes reactive ion etching (RIE). However, RIE is among the most widely known dry etching processes in the semiconductor art. For instance, Hsiao teaches RIE due to its high precision and contamination control characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Tseng and Ye with the RIE process, as taught by Hsiao, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kong et al. (US Pub. 2023/0099303).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein an upper part of the sidewalls is exposed during the dry etching. However, Kong teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, wherein an upper part of a sidewalls is exposed during the dry etching (Fig. 6-7 and Para [0061]). This has the advantages of allowing for formation of a subsequent conductive layer 220 with a larger width than a width of the upper electrode layer 175 (see Fig. 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Tseng with the sidewall spacer, as taught by Kong, so as to allow for the formation of a subsequent conductive layer.
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818