Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received 06/03/2026:
Claims 1-9 and 11-16 are pending in the current application. Claim 10 is canceled. Claims 1 and 13 have been amended. Claim 14 remains withdrawn. Claims 15-16 are new.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 recites “…a pressure balancing mechanism configured to balance pressure inside and outside the housing, the pressure balancing mechanism being configured to guide the emissions to the pressure balancing mechanism through the flow channel and to discharge the emissions to the outside of the housing”. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, and in light of the instant disclosure, a pressure balancing mechanism will be interpreted as any component or structure that communicates between the inside and outside of the housing.
Claim 9 recites “…a guard member configured to protect the separation component”. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, and in light of the instant disclosure, a guard member will be interpreted as any structure in fluid contact with the collection cavity (i.e. wall/seal/housing/terminal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi et al. (US 2015/0140369) in view of Takano et al. (US 20200067045) and Gondoh (US 20210313650) and Kaye et al. (US 11870092 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Itoi teaches a battery housing, comprising: an electrical cavity, or housing space 50 configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells 100, wherein at least one battery cell 100 of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism 8a, and the pressure relief mechanism 8a is configured to be actuated in response to an internal pressure or a temperature of the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaching a threshold so as to relieve the internal pressure (P4.12.48-64; Fig. 1-6.14);
a collection cavity, or exhaust duct 60 configured to collect emissions from the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure relief mechanism being actuated (P52-53; Fig. 2-6);
a separation component, or flat plate 30 configured to separate the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60, the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60 being provided on two sides of the separation component 30, respectively (P50-55; Fig. 2-6);
a partition 40 structure configured to partition the collection cavity 60 into a first cavity 61 and a second cavity 62, wherein the partition structure is provided with an exhaust vent, or through holes 40a, and the exhaust vent 40a is configured to guide the emissions in the first cavity 61 into the second cavity 62 (P53; Fig. 2-6).
Itoi teaches baffles, or projections 40b arranged in the second cavity 62 that can guide the emissions (P105; Fig. 17.19), but is silent in teaching the flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions; however, Takano, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches an exhaust pathway from a first cavity to a second cavity (P28.51-55; Fig. 5.9).
Takano teaches including flow channel baffles arranged on a plate in the second cavity, thus forming a recessed portion, and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions to further contribute to a substantial reduction in the temperature of the gas discharged from a gas outlet (P71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include flow channel baffles (which also leads to recessed portion between baffles) arranged in the second cavity of Itoi, configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions, to further reduce the temperature of discharged gas, as taught by Takano. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Modified Itoi in view of Takano teaches a recessed portion on a structure forming the cavity, as formed between the baffles, but is silent in teaching a surface of the partition structure facing away from the electrical cavity has a recessed portion; however, Gondoh, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches a cooling pathway for exhaust from a battery housing (P13-17).
A surface of a partition structure facing away from the electrical cavity has a recessed portion, formed by the space between baffles, to further lower the temperature of exhaust gas and to capture ejected objects that pass through the pathway (P42-45; Fig. 1A.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have a surface of the partition structure facing away from the electrical cavity with a recessed portion in modified Itoi, as taught by Gondoh, to capture and eject objects and gas from the battery module, improving safety and because including additional baffles for recessed portions of a chamber is mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involving only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Furthermore, with respect to the above combination of overall element, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the baffles on the partition structure, to have a surface of the partition structure facing away form the electrical cavity having a recessed portion, wherein the recessed portion accommodates the exhaust of modified Itoi and guide the exhaust to the outlet, as the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 The results are not unexpected because merely moving the baffles position from a top surface to a bottom surface, or forming it on both, does not change the function of the cavities, plates, or channel and provides the exact functionality taught – to guide exhaust to an outlet.
Modified Itoi in view of Takano and Gondoh is silent in teaching the recesses, or space between baffles are configured to accommodate an oxidant’ however, Kaye, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches an exhaust path for gas from a battery housing.
Kaye teaches accommodating an oxidant or cooling material on a partition structure, within an exhaust cavity to reduce the flammability of the fluid exiting the system, improving safety (Col. 6-8.12-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include an oxidant on the surface of the partition structure, including the recessed portion of modified Itoi, to reduce flammability of the fluid exiting the system as taught by Kaye. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Regarding claim 2, modified Itoi teaches a pressure balancing mechanism, or outlet 22/66b/68b configured to balance pressure inside and outside the housing, the pressure balancing mechanism 22/66b/68b being configured to guide the emissions to the pressure balancing mechanism through the flow channel and to discharge the emissions to the outside of the housing (P115-123; Fig. 2.6.20-24).
Regarding claim 3, modified Itoi teaches the exhaust vent 40a is provided in a middle of the partition structure 40 of the partition structure (P53-55; Fig. 2.6).
Regarding claim 4, modified Itoi teaches the electrical cavity comprises a first sub-cavity and a second sub-cavity, the first sub-cavity 50 is configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells 100, and the second sub-cavity 62c is provided adjacent to the first sub-cavity 50 (P115-125; Fig. 20-21); the pressure balancing mechanism is provided on an outer wall of the second sub-cavity, and the second sub-cavity is configured to be communicated with the second cavity to guide the emissions to the second sub-cavity through the flow channel to discharge the emissions to the outside of the housing through the pressure balancing mechanism (P54.80.115-123; Fig. 6.20-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the second sub-cavity 62c with embodiments comprising both first cavity 61 and second cavity 62 as Itoi teaches that the embodiments do not limit the disclosure and can be variously changed and modified (P124). Thus, using the combination of chambers taught in the prior art does not provide new or unexpected results, and would have been within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art as it does not change the function of any parts, while providing the exact functionality as taught by Itoi, an exhaust pathway within a module. Furthermore, one would be motivated to use such a configuration in light of design limitations with respect to the placement of the outlet, or discharge of the housing and to further decrease the temperature depending on intended use (i.e. route exhaust at a lower temperature away from users). The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. The duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Furthermore, with respect to the above combination of overall element, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, modified Itoi teaches the exhaust vent 40a is a first exhaust vent; the separation component 30 is provided with a second exhaust vent 30a (P52.115-116; Fig. 6.20);
the partition structure 40 is further provided with a third exhaust vent 40a corresponding to the second exhaust vent, wherein in embodiments first cavity is partitioned into plurality of sections comprising holes on each plate (Fig. 5c) and therefore separate cavity of communicating holes are interpreted as the second and third exhaust holes; and when integrated into embodiments (Fig. 20-23) the second sub-cavity 62c is fluidly communicated with the second cavity via the second exhaust vent 30a and the third exhaust vent 40b. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. The duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Furthermore, with respect to the above combination of overall element, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, modified Itoi teaches an inlet 30a of the flow channel is communicated with the exhaust vent 40a (P52-56.115-118) while Takano of modified Itoi teaches the flow channel includes an S-shaped flow channel (P71; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, modified Itoi in view of Kaye teaches an oxidant or a cooling material provided in the collection cavity (Col. 5-8.11-14).
Regarding claim 8, modified Itoi in view of Kaye teaches the oxidant is provided on any surface of the chamber, such as lining the walls and structures forming the channel, and thus provided on a surface of the partition structure and flow channel baffle (Col. 6-8.11-14).
Regarding claim 9, modified Itoi teaches a guard member, or side walls 41 configured to protect the separation component, by allowing further control of the volume and space, wherein the guard member and the separation component form a portion of the collection cavity (P66-70; Fig. 5c), wherein in light of Kaye of modified Itoi, the oxidant is provided on the surfaces of the cavity, lining the walls of the cavity forming the fluid path and therefore on the guard member facing the separation component (Col. 6-8.11-14).
Regarding claim 11, modified Itoi teaches a battery, comprising: a plurality of battery cells 100, wherein at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism, and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated in response to an internal pressure or a temperature of the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaching a threshold so as to relieve the internal pressure (P4.47-50); and the housing according to claim 1; wherein the plurality of battery cells are accommodated in the housing (P50-51; Fig. 2-23).
Regarding claim 12, modified Itoi teaches an electrical apparatus, comprising the battery according to claim 11, wherein the battery is configured to provide electric energy (P44.124-125).
Regarding claim 13, Itoi teaches a method for manufacturing a battery housing, comprising: providing a plurality of battery cells 100, wherein at least one battery cell 100 of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism 8a, and the pressure relief mechanism 8a is configured to be actuated in response to an internal pressure or a temperature of the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaching a threshold so as to relieve the internal pressure (P4.12.48-64; Fig. 1-6.14);
providing a housing; the housing comprising: an electrical cavity, or housing space 50 configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells 100 (P4.12.48-64; Fig. 1-6.14); a collection cavity, or exhaust duct 60 configured to collect emissions from the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure relief mechanism being actuated (P52-53; Fig. 2-6); a separation component, or flat plate 30 configured to separate the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60, the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60 being provided on two sides of the separation component 30, respectively (P50-55; Fig. 2-6); a partition 40 structure configured to partition the collection cavity 60 into a first cavity 61 and a second cavity 62, wherein the partition structure is provided with an exhaust vent, or through holes 40a, and the exhaust vent 40a is configured to guide the emissions in the first cavity 61 into the second cavity 62 (P53; Fig. 2-6).
Itoi teaches baffles, or projections 40b arranged in the second cavity 62 that can guide the emissions (P105; Fig. 17.19), but is silent in teaching the flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions; however, Takano, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches an exhaust pathway from a first cavity to a second cavity (P28.51-55; Fig. 5.9).
Takano teaches including flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions to further contribute to a substantial reduction in the temperature of the gas discharged from a gas outlet (P71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity of Itoi, configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions, to further reduce the temperature of discharged gas, as taught by Takano. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Furthermore, with respect to the above combination of overall element, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi et al. (US 2015/0140369) in view of Takano et al. (US 20200067045) and Gondoh (US 20210313650).
Regarding claim 15, Itoi teaches a battery housing, comprising: an electrical cavity, or housing space 50 configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells 100, wherein at least one battery cell 100 of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism 8a, and the pressure relief mechanism 8a is configured to be actuated in response to an internal pressure or a temperature of the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaching a threshold so as to relieve the internal pressure (P4.12.48-64; Fig. 1-6.14);
a collection cavity, or exhaust duct 60 configured to collect emissions from the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure relief mechanism being actuated (P52-53; Fig. 2-6);
a separation component, or flat plate 30 configured to separate the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60, the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60 being provided on two sides of the separation component 30, respectively (P50-55; Fig. 2-6);
a partition 40 structure configured to partition the collection cavity 60 into a first cavity 61 and a second cavity 62, wherein the partition structure is provided with an exhaust vent, or through holes 40a, and the exhaust vent 40a is configured to guide the emissions in the first cavity 61 into the second cavity 62 (P53; Fig. 2-6).
Itoi teaches baffles, or projections 40b arranged in the second cavity 62 that can guide the emissions (P105; Fig. 17.19), but is silent in teaching the flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions; however, Takano, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches an exhaust pathway from a first cavity to a second cavity (P28.51-55; Fig. 5.9).
Takano teaches including flow channel baffles arranged on a plate in the second cavity, thus forming a recessed portion, and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions to further contribute to a substantial reduction in the temperature of the gas discharged from a gas outlet (P71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include flow channel baffles (which also leads to recessed portion between baffles) arranged in the second cavity of Itoi, configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions, to further reduce the temperature of discharged gas, as taught by Takano. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Modified Itoi in view of Takano teaches a recessed portion on a structure forming the cavity, as formed between the baffles, but is silent in teaching a plurality of flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions, one baffle of the plurality of flow channel baffles that is at an end of the flow channel has a gap configured to allow the emissions to exit the flow channel after passing through the flow channel, and the gap is offset from a center of the one baffle in an extension direction of the one baffle; however, Gondoh, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches a cooling pathway for exhaust from a battery housing (P13-17).
A plurality of flow channel baffles are arranged in acavity and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions, one baffle of the plurality of flow channel baffles that is at an end of the flow channel has a gap configured to allow the emissions to exit the flow channel after passing through the flow channel, and the gap is offset from a center of the one baffle in an extension direction of the one baffle to further lower the temperature of exhaust gas and to capture ejected objects that pass through the pathway and guide it to the exit (P42-45; Fig. 1A.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have a plurality of flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity of modified Itoi configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions, one baffle of the plurality of flow channel baffles that is at an end of the flow channel has a gap configured to allow the emissions to exit the flow channel after passing through the flow channel, and the gap is offset from a center of the one baffle in an extension direction of the one baffle as taught by Gondoh, to capture and eject objects and gas from the battery module, improving safety and because including additional baffles for recessed portions of a chamber is mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involving only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Furthermore, with respect to the above combination of overall element, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the baffles on the partition structure, to have a surface of the partition structure facing away form the electrical cavity having a recessed portion, wherein the recessed portion accommodates the exhaust of modified Itoi and guide the exhaust to the outlet, as the mere rearrangement and duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 The results are not unexpected because merely moving the baffles position from a top surface to a bottom surface, or forming it on both, does not change the function of the cavities, plates, or channel and provides the exact functionality taught – to guide exhaust to an outlet.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi et al. (US 2015/0140369) in view of Takano et al. (US 20200067045) and Kaye et al. (US 11870092 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Itoi teaches a battery housing, comprising: an electrical cavity, or housing space 50 configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells 100, wherein at least one battery cell 100 of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism 8a, and the pressure relief mechanism 8a is configured to be actuated in response to an internal pressure or a temperature of the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaching a threshold so as to relieve the internal pressure (P4.12.48-64; Fig. 1-6.14);
a collection cavity, or exhaust duct 60 configured to collect emissions from the at least one battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism in response to the pressure relief mechanism being actuated (P52-53; Fig. 2-6);
a separation component, or flat plate 30 configured to separate the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60, the electrical cavity 50 and the collection cavity 60 being provided on two sides of the separation component 30, respectively (P50-55; Fig. 2-6);
a partition 40 structure configured to partition the collection cavity 60 into a first cavity 61 and a second cavity 62, wherein the partition structure is provided with an exhaust vent, or through holes 40a, and the exhaust vent 40a is configured to guide the emissions in the first cavity 61 into the second cavity 62 (P53; Fig. 2-6).
Itoi teaches baffles, or projections 40b arranged in the second cavity 62 that can guide the emissions (P105; Fig. 17.19), but is silent in teaching the flow channel baffles arranged in the second cavity and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions; however, Takano, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches an exhaust pathway from a first cavity to a second cavity (P28.51-55; Fig. 5.9).
Takano teaches including flow channel baffles arranged on a plate in the second cavity, thus forming a recessed portion, and configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions to further contribute to a substantial reduction in the temperature of the gas discharged from a gas outlet (P71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include flow channel baffles (which also leads to recessed portion between baffles) arranged in the second cavity of Itoi, configured to form a flow channel for guiding the emissions, to further reduce the temperature of discharged gas, as taught by Takano. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Modified Itoi in view of Takano is silent in teaching an oxidant provided in the collection cavity; however, Kaye, in a similar field of endeavor, also teaches an exhaust path for gas from a battery housing.
Kaye teaches accommodating an oxidant or cooling material on a partition structure, within an exhaust cavity to reduce the flammability of the fluid exiting the system, improving safety (Col. 6-8.12-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include an oxidant on the surface of the partition structure, including the collection cavity of modified Itoi, to reduce flammability of the fluid exiting the system as taught by Kaye. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the new claim limitations overcome the previous showing of obviousness. The amendments overcome the previous rejections. New and amended grounds of rejection are above set forth. New and amended grounds of rejection are necessitated by the claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Amanda Rosenbaum/ Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752