DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US Publication 20130147023) in view of Yen et al (US Publication 20170365560) and Lee et al (US Patent 11398738).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a device comprising: an integrated device comprising:
a die substrate (Fig. 2, 90); and
a die interconnection portion coupled to the die substrate (Fig. 2, 100);
an inductor (Fig. 2, 80); and
a shield structure comprising (Fig. 2, 110)
Lin does not specifically teach:
a shield frame; and
a plurality of shield branches coupled to the shield frame, wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape.
Yen teaches a shield frame (Fig. 4, 413); and
a plurality of shield branches coupled to the shield frame (Fig. 4, 415, 424, 425, 432, 434, 435).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Lin still lacks wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape.
Lee teaches wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape (Fig. 2E, 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include shield branches with a repeating wave shape as taught by Lee in order to improve signal integrity by reducing EMI.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claims 2 and 3 depend.
Lin as modified does not specifically teach:
[claim 2] wherein the at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprising a repeating wave shape comprises a repeating step wave shape.
[claim 3] wherein another shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating step wave shape.
Lee teaches
[claim 2] wherein the at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprising a repeating wave shape comprises a repeating step wave shape (Fig. 2E, 38C with repeating step wave shape).
[claim 3] wherein another shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating step wave shape (Fig. 2E, plurality of 38C with repeating step wave shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include shield branches with a repeating wave shape as taught by Lee in order to improve signal integrity by reducing EMI.
Regarding claim 4, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 4 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein at least a portion of the shield frame defines an outer perimeter of the shield structure, and wherein the plurality of shield branches are a plurality of inner shield branches.
Yen teaches wherein at least a portion of the shield frame defines an outer perimeter of the shield structure (Fig. 4, L-shape 421, 423, 431, and 433), and wherein the plurality of shield branches are a plurality of inner shield branches (Fig. 4, branches near 413)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Regarding claim 5, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 5 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of shield branches comprises:
a first plurality of shield branches coupled to a first portion of the shield frame, wherein the first plurality of shield branches extend away from the first portion of the shield frame in a first direction;
a second plurality of shield branches coupled to a second portion of the shield frame, wherein the second plurality of shield branches extend away from the second portion of the shield frame in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction;
a third plurality of shield branches coupled to a third portion of the shield frame, wherein the third plurality of shield branches extend away from the third portion of the shield frame in a third direction that is orthogonal to the first direction; and
a fourth plurality of shield branches coupled to a fourth portion of the shield frame, wherein the fourth plurality of shield branches extend away from the fourth portion of the shield frame in a fourth direction that is opposite to the third direction.
Yen teaches wherein the plurality of shield branches comprises:
a first plurality of shield branches coupled to a first portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 422 coupled to 421), wherein the first plurality of shield branches extend away from the first portion of the shield frame in a first direction (Fig. 4, 422 coupled to 421 extend toward center);
a second plurality of shield branches coupled to a second portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 434 coupled to 433), wherein the second plurality of shield branches extend away from the second portion of the shield frame in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction (Fig. 4, 434 coupled to 433 extend toward center);
a third plurality of shield branches coupled to a third portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 424 coupled to 423), wherein the third plurality of shield branches extend away from the third portion of the shield frame in a third direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 4, 424 coupled to 423 extend toward center orthogonal to first direction); and
a fourth plurality of shield branches coupled to a fourth portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 432 coupled to 431), wherein the fourth plurality of shield branches extend away from the fourth portion of the shield frame in a fourth direction that is opposite to the third direction (Fig. 4, 432 coupled to 431 extend toward center).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Regarding claim 6, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 upon which claim 6 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the first plurality of shield branches comprise: a first shield branch that has a first length; and a second shield branch that has a second length (Fig. 4, lengths of 110A and 110B).
Regarding claim 7, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 upon which claim 7 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the first plurality of shield branches comprise a plurality of interleaved shield branches (Fig. 4, 110A interleaved with 110B).
Regarding claims 8-10, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 upon which claims 8-10 depend.
Lin does not specifically teach:
[claim 8] wherein the plurality of shield branches are laterally surrounded by at least a portion of the shield frame.
[claim 9] wherein the shield frame comprises a portion with a double E shape.
[claim 10] wherein the shield frame comprises a portion with a double E shape and an H shape.
Yen teaches:
[claim 8] wherein the plurality of shield branches are laterally surrounded by at least a portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, branches 422, 424, 432, and 434 partially surrounded by 421, 423, 431, and 433).
[claim 9] wherein the shield frame comprises a portion with a double E shape (Fig. 5, double E shape from 413 to 425 and 435 respectively).
[claim 10] wherein the shield frame comprises a portion with a double E shape (Fig. 5, double E shape from 413 to 425 and 435 respectively) and an H shape (Fig. 5, H shape defined by 413, 410A, and 412A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches including the shield partially surrounding the branches and double E and H shapes as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Regarding claim 11, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 11 depends.
Lin teaches wherein a shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises interconnects that change directions back and forth by 90 degrees (Fig. 4, 110A with 90 degree interconnections).
Regarding claim 12 Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 12 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the inductor and the shield structure are implemented in the integrated device (Fig. 2, inductor 80, shield structure 110, and integrated device 30).
Regarding claim 13, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 13 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the inductor and the shield structure are implemented in the die interconnection portion of the integrated device (Fig. 2, 80 in 70 and 110 in 100).
Regarding claim 14, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 14 depends.
Lin teaches further comprising a package substrate coupled to the integrated device, wherein the shield structure is implemented in the package substrate (Fig. 2, 60 coupled to 30 and implemented in 40).
Regarding claim 15, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 15 depends.
Lin teaches further comprising a package substrate coupled to the integrated device, wherein the inductor and the shield structure are implemented in the package substrate (Fig. 2, 80 and 110 within 40 and 50).
Regarding claim 16, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 16 depends.
Lin teaches further comprising a metallization portion coupled to the integrated device, wherein the shield structure is implemented in the metallization portion (Fig. 2, 100, para 20 "may include a plurality of interconnect layers, also referred to as metal layers (e.g., M1, M2, M3, etc). Each of the interconnect layers includes a plurality of interconnect features, also referred to as metal lines").
Regarding claim 17, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 17 depends.
Lin teaches further comprising a metallization portion coupled to the integrated device, wherein the inductor and the shield structure are implemented in the metallization portion (Fig. 2, 100 providing implementation to 110 and 80 via interconnections, para 20-21).
Regarding claim 18, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 18 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein the shield structure is symmetrical along the X- axis and/or the Y-axis.
Yen teaches wherein the shield structure is symmetrical along the X- axis and/or the Y-axis (Fig. 5, symmetrical along y axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Regarding claim 19, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 19 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the shield structure is asymmetrical along the X- axis and/or the Y-axis (Fig. 4, asymmetrical along y axis).
Regarding claim 20, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 20 depends.
Lin teaches wherein the shield structure is configured to be coupled to ground (para 22, "patterned ground shielding" which is typically coupled to ground).
Regarding claim 21, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 21 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein the device is selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle.
Lee teaches wherein the device is selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle (col 12, line 28 "mobile terminal").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the end use devices as taught by Lee in order to appropriately apply and use for the integrated device with inductor and patterned shield.
Regarding claim 22, Lin teaches an integrated device comprising:
a die substrate (Fig. 2, 90); and
a die interconnection portion coupled to the die substrate (Fig. 2, 100);
an inductor (Fig. 2, 80); and
a shield structure comprising (Fig. 2, 110)
Lin does not specifically teach:
a shield frame; and
a plurality of shield branches coupled to the shield frame, wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape.
Yen teaches a shield frame (Fig. 4, 413); and
a plurality of shield branches coupled to the shield frame (Fig. 4, 415, 424, 425, 432, 434, 435).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Lin still lacks wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape.
Lee teaches wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape (Fig. 2E, 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include shield branches with a repeating wave shape as taught by Lee in order to improve signal integrity by reducing EMI.
Regarding claim 23, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 22 upon which claim 23 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein another shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating step wave shape.
Lee teaches wherein another shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating step wave shape (Fig. 2E, plurality of 38C with repeating step wave shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include shield branches with a repeating wave shape as taught by Lee in order to improve signal integrity by reducing EMI.
Regarding claim 24, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 22 upon which claim 24 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of shield branches comprises:
a first plurality of shield branches coupled to a first portion of the shield frame, wherein the first plurality of shield branches extend away from the first portion of the shield frame in a first direction;
a second plurality of shield branches coupled to a second portion of the shield frame, wherein the second plurality of shield branches extend away from the second portion of the shield frame in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction;
a third plurality of shield branches coupled to a third portion of the shield frame, wherein the third plurality of shield branches extend away from the third portion of the shield frame in a third direction that is orthogonal to the first direction; and
a fourth plurality of shield branches coupled to a fourth portion of the shield frame, wherein the fourth plurality of shield branches extend away from the fourth portion of the shield frame in a fourth direction that is opposite to the third direction.
Yen teaches wherein the plurality of shield branches comprises:
a first plurality of shield branches coupled to a first portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 422 coupled to 421), wherein the first plurality of shield branches extend away from the first portion of the shield frame in a first direction (Fig. 4, 422 coupled to 421 extend toward center);
a second plurality of shield branches coupled to a second portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 434 coupled to 433), wherein the second plurality of shield branches extend away from the second portion of the shield frame in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction (Fig. 4, 434 coupled to 433 extend toward center);
a third plurality of shield branches coupled to a third portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 424 coupled to 423), wherein the third plurality of shield branches extend away from the third portion of the shield frame in a third direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 4, 424 coupled to 423 extend toward center orthogonal to first direction); and
a fourth plurality of shield branches coupled to a fourth portion of the shield frame (Fig. 4, 432 coupled to 431), wherein the fourth plurality of shield branches extend away from the fourth portion of the shield frame in a fourth direction that is opposite to the third direction (Fig. 4, 432 coupled to 431 extend toward center).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Regarding claim 25, Lin teaches a method for fabricating an integrated device, comprising:
providing a die substrate (Fig. 2, 90);
forming a die interconnection portion coupled to the die substrate (Fig. 2, 100), wherein forming the die interconnection portion includes forming a plurality of die interconnects (para 20), wherein the plurality of die interconnects comprises:
an inductor (Fig. 2, 80);
a shield structure comprising (Fig. 2, 110)
Lin does not specifically teach:
a shield frame; and
a plurality of shield branches coupled to the shield frame, wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape.
Yen teaches a shield frame (Fig. 4, 413); and
a plurality of shield branches coupled to the shield frame (Fig. 4, 415, 424, 425, 432, 434, 435).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Lin still lacks wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape.
Lee teaches wherein at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating wave shape (Fig. 2E, 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include shield branches with a repeating wave shape as taught by Lee in order to improve signal integrity by reducing EMI.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25 upon which claims 26 and 27 depends.
Lin as modified does not specifically teach:
[claim 26] wherein the at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprising a repeating wave shape comprises a repeating step wave shape.
[claim 27] wherein another shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating step wave shape.
Lee teaches
[claim 26] wherein the at least one shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprising a repeating wave shape comprises a repeating step wave shape (Fig. 2E, 38C with repeating step wave shape).
[claim 27] wherein another shield branch from the plurality of shield branches comprises a repeating step wave shape (Fig. 2E, plurality of 38C with repeating step wave shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include shield branches with a repeating wave shape as taught by Lee in order to improve signal integrity by reducing EMI.
Regarding claim 28, Lin as modified teaches the limitations of claim 25 upon which claim 28 depends.
Lin does not specifically teach wherein at least a portion of the shield frame defines an outer perimeter of the shield structure, and wherein the plurality of shield branches are a plurality of inner shield branches.
Yen teaches wherein at least a portion of the shield frame defines an outer perimeter of the shield structure (Fig. 4, L-shape 421, 423, 431, and 433), and wherein the plurality of shield branches are a plurality of inner shield branches (Fig. 4, branches near 413)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Lin to include the shield frame and branches as taught by Yen in order to prevent noise from corrupting signals and thus adversely affecting performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mattsson (US Patent 11854728) - Tunable inductor arrangement, transceiver, method and computer program.
Jing et al (US Publication 20180076134) - Integrated circuit with shielding structures.
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818