DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 3/24/2023. Claims 1-15 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,7,8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al, (Han), (USPATNO.10,829,004)
As for claim 1, Han discloses and shows in Figs. 1 & 7 a battery charging method based on lithium plating detection, comprising: acquiring a battery charging strategy table after receiving a battery charging instruction; charging a battery according to a charging current in the battery charging strategy table, and
performing at least one charging lithium plating detection on the battery during the charging of the battery, to obtain a first lithium plating detection result; continuing the charging of the battery according to the charging current and the charging lithium plating detection of the battery during the charging of the battery when the first lithium
plating detection result is that no lithium plating phenomenon occurs, and stopping the charging lithium plating detection of the battery when the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs or the charging of the battery is completed; and updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset first current reduction strategy when the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs, and continuing the charging of the battery according to the updated charging current until the charging of the battery is completed (col.5,lines 65-col.6, line 20; col.8,line 11 - lines 48).
As for claim 2, Han discloses and shows in Figs. 1 & 7 after the charging of the battery is completed, the method comprises: performing lithium plating detection on the battery after the charging of the battery is completed and the battery is in an static state, to obtain a second lithium plating detection result (via flow chart in Fig. 7); and updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset second current reduction strategy when the second lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs
As for claim 7, Han discloses and shows in Figs. 1 & 7 a battery charging system based on lithium plating detection, comprising: a charging strategy table acquisition module, configured to acquire a battery charging strategy table after receiving a battery charging instruction; a charging lithium plating detection module, configured to charge a battery according to a charging current in the battery charging strategy table, and perform at least one charging lithium plating detection on the battery during the charging of the battery, to obtain a first lithium plating detection result;
a first charging module, configured to: continue the charging of the battery according to the charging current and the charging lithium plating detection of the battery during the charging of the battery when the first lithium plating detection result is that no lithium plating phenomenon occurs, and stop the charging lithium plating detection of the battery when the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs or the charging of the battery is completed; and a second charging module, configured to update the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset first current reduction strategy when the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs, and continue the charging of the battery according to the updated charging current until the charging of the battery is completed (col.5,lines 65-col.6, line 20; col.8,line 11 - lines 48).
As for claim 8, Han discloses and shows in Figs. 1 & 7 an lithium plating detection module, configured to perform lithium plating detection on the battery after the charging of the battery is completed and the battery is in an static state, to obtain a second lithium plating detection result (via flow chart in Fig. 7); and a charging current updating module, configured to update the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset second current reduction strategy when the second
lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs.
As for claim 9, Han discloses and shows in Figs. 1 & 7 the battery charging system based on lithium plating detection according to claim 7.
As for claim 10, Han discloses and shows in Figs. 1 & 7 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable
instructions for, when executed by one or more processors, performing a battery charging method based on lithium plating detection, the method comprising:
acquiring a battery charging strategy table after receiving a battery charging instruction;
charging a battery according to a charging current in the battery charging strategy table, and performing at least one charging lithium plating detection on the battery during the charging of the battery, to obtain a first lithium plating detection result;
continuing the charging of the battery according to the charging current and the charging lithium plating detection of the battery during the charging of the battery when the first lithium plating detection result is that no lithium plating phenomenon occurs, and stopping the charging lithium plating detection of the battery when the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs or the charging of the battery is completed; and updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset first current reduction strategy when the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs, and continuing the charging of the battery according to the updated charging current until the charging of the battery is completed (col.5,lines 65-col.6, line 20; col.8,line 11 - lines 48).
As for claim 11, Han discloses and shows in Figs. 1 & 7 wherein after the charging of the battery is completed, the method comprises:
performing lithium plating detection on the battery after the charging of the battery is
completed and the battery is in an static state, to obtain a second lithium plating detection result (via flow chart in Fig. 7); and updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset second current reduction strategy when the second lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6,8,12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view with Matsummura et al, (Matsummura), (USNO.2020/0412153)
As for claim 5, Han discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose performing at least one charging lithium plating detection on the battery during the charging of the battery, to obtain a first lithium plating detection result comprises: acquiring a first electrochemical impedance and a second electrochemical impedance of the battery at a preset frequency according to a preset SOC variation, wherein the preset SOC variation is equal to a difference between a second SOC value and a first SOC value; the first
SOC value corresponds to the first electrochemical impedance; the second SOC value
corresponds to the second electrochemical impedance; and the first SOC value and the second SOC value are both greater than a preset SOC threshold; and acquiring the first lithium plating detection result according to the first electrochemical impedance and the second electrochemical impedance.
Matsummura discloses and shows performing at least one charging lithium plating detection on the battery during the charging of the battery, to obtain a first lithium plating detection result comprises: acquiring a first electrochemical impedance and a second electrochemical impedance of the battery at a preset frequency according to a preset SOC variation, wherein the preset SOC variation is equal to a difference between a second SOC value and a first SOC value; the first SOC value corresponds to the first electrochemical impedance; the second SOC value corresponds to the second electrochemical impedance; and the first SOC value and the second SOC value are both greater than a preset SOC threshold; and acquiring the first lithium plating detection result according to the first electrochemical impedance and the second electrochemical impedance (par.[0030,0046-0047,0063,0071,0075-0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Han by performing at least one charging lithium plating detection on the battery during the charging of the battery, to obtain a first lithium plating detection result comprises: acquiring a first electrochemical impedance and a second electrochemical impedance of the battery at a preset frequency according to a preset SOC variation, wherein the preset SOC variation is equal to a difference between a second SOC value and a first SOC value; the first SOC value corresponds to the first electrochemical impedance; the second SOC value corresponds to the second electrochemical impedance; and the first SOC value and the second SOC value are both greater than a preset SOC threshold; and acquiring the first lithium plating detection result according to the first electrochemical impedance and the second electrochemical impedance for advantages such as providing the ability to reduce safety risk (par.[0003]), as taught by Matsummura.
As for claim 3, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows performing lithium plating detection on the battery after the charging of the battery is completed and the battery is in an static state, to obtain a second lithium plating detection result comprises: regularly collecting a voltage of the battery at a preset time interval after the charging of the battery is completed and the battery is in an static state, and associatively storing the collected voltage and a collection time of the voltage as voltage data; constructing a time-differential voltage curve in a voltage-time coordinate system according to the voltage data; and obtaining the second lithium plating detection result according to the time-differential voltage curve and a preset peak identification algorithm (par.[0030,0046-0047,0063,0071,0075-0077]).
As for claim 4, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset second current reduction strategy comprising: identifying a characteristic peak voltage in the time-differential voltage curve through the preset peak identification algorithm, and recording a corresponding stable voltage when the time-differential voltage curve reaches a preset stability standard after determining the characteristic peak voltage; determining a first region area and a second region area in the voltage-time coordinate system according to the characteristic peak voltage, the stable voltage, and the time-differential voltage curve; determining a lithium plating representation amount of the battery according to the first region area and the second region area; and updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to the lithium plating representation amount and a preset battery lithium plating standard (par.[0030,0046-0047,0063,0071,0075-0077]).
As for claim 6, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows a acquiring the first lithium plating detection result of the battery according to the first electrochemical impedance and the second electrochemical impedance comprises:
determining that the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating
phenomenon occurs when the first electrochemical impedance is greater than the second electrochemical impedance; and determining that the first lithium plating detection result is that no lithium plating phenomenon occurs when the first electrochemical impedance is less than or equal to the second
electrochemical impedance (par.[0030,0046-0047,0063,0071,0075-0077]).
As for claim 8, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows an lithium plating detection module, configured to perform lithium plating detection on the battery after the charging of the battery is completed and the battery is in an static state, to obtain a second lithium plating detection result; and a charging current updating module, configured to update the charging current in the battery
charging strategy table according to a preset second current reduction strategy when the second lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating phenomenon occurs.
As for claim 12, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows performing lithium plating detection on the battery after the charging of the battery is completed and the battery is in an static state, to obtain a second lithium plating detection result comprises: regularly collecting a voltage of the battery at a preset time interval after the charging of the battery is completed and the battery is in an static state, and associatively storing the collected voltage and a collection time of the voltage as voltage data; constructing a time-differential voltage curve in a voltage-time coordinate system according to the voltage data; and obtaining the second lithium plating detection result according to the time-differential voltage curve and a preset peak identification algorithm.
As for claim 13, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to a preset second current reduction strategy comprising: identifying a characteristic peak voltage in the time-differential voltage curve through the preset peak identification algorithm, and recording a corresponding stable voltage when the time-differential voltage curve reaches a preset stability standard after determining the characteristic peak voltage; determining a first region area and a second region area in the voltage-time coordinate system according to the characteristic peak voltage, the stable voltage, and the time-differential voltage curve; determining a lithium plating representation amount of the battery according to the first region area and the second region area; and updating the charging current in the battery charging strategy table according to the lithium plating representation amount and a preset battery lithium plating standard.
As for claim 14, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows wherein the performing at least one charging lithium plating detection on the battery during the charging of the battery, to obtain a first lithium plating detection result comprises: acquiring a first electrochemical impedance and a second electrochemical impedance of the battery at a preset frequency according to a preset SOC variation, wherein the preset SOC variation is equal to a difference between a second SOC value and a first SOC value; the first SOC value corresponds to the first electrochemical impedance; the second SOC value corresponds to the second electrochemical impedance; and the first SOC value and the second SOC value are both greater than a preset SOC threshold; and acquiring the first lithium plating detection result according to the first electrochemical impedance and the second electrochemical impedance.
As for claim 15, Han in combination with Matsummura discloses and shows
acquiring the first lithium plating detection result of the battery according to the first
electrochemical impedance and the second electrochemical impedance comprises:
determining that the first lithium plating detection result is that the lithium plating
phenomenon occurs when the first electrochemical impedance is greater than the second electrochemical impedance; and determining that the first lithium plating detection result is that no lithium plating phenomenon occurs when the first electrochemical impedance is less than or equal to the second electrochemical impedance.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859