Applicant's amendment/arguments filed on 8/12/26 as being acknowledged and entered. By this amendment claims 2, 4, 14, and 18-20 are canceled, and claims 1, 3, 5-13. 15-17 and 21-26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270).
Claim 1: Hwang teaches (Fig. 3) an apparatus, comprising: a memory cell (MC) [0022] comprising a first thin-film transistor (first TFT) (TR1/AP1) and a second TFT(TR2/AP2) [0029, 0042]; and a channel material (CH); the channel material located in the first TFT and in the second TFT; wherein the channel material comprises oxygen and one or more of indium, gallium, zinc, tin, and copper [0024].
Claim 3: Hwang teaches [0024] the channel material is characterized by a mobility that is higher than 20 centimeters squared per volt second (cm2/(V⋅s)). Hwang teaches the same material as the instant specification therefore it would have the same properties.
Claim 5: Hwang teaches [0024] the mobility is between 100 cm2/(V⋅s) and 700 cm2/(V⋅s). Hwang teaches the same material as the instant specification therefore it would have the same properties.
Claim 6: Hwang teaches [0024] the channel material includes one or more of tin oxide, cobalt oxide, copper oxide, antimony oxide, ruthenium oxide, tungsten oxide, zinc oxide, gallium oxide, titanium oxide, indium oxide, titanium oxynitride, indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, nickel oxide, niobium oxide, copper peroxide, indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium telluride, molybdenite, molybdenum diselenide, tungsten diselenide, tungsten disulfide, and black phosphorus.
Claim 7: Hwang teaches [0024] the channel material is characterized by a bandgap voltage above 1.14 electron volts (eV) at 302 degrees Kelvin. Hwang teaches the same material as the instant specification therefore it would have the same properties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gnomes et al. (US PGPub 2021/0125990).
Regarding claim 8, as described above, Hwang substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Hwang does not teach a back end of line substrate (BEOL substrate) having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the BEOL substrate including solder bumps; the memory cell located between the upper surface and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate; a logic component (522) having a top surface and a bottom surface; and a silicon-germanium layer (SiGe layer), the SiGe layer located between the top surface of the logic component and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate. Gnomes teaches (Fig. 5H) a back end of line substrate (BEOL substrate) [0022] having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the BEOL substrate including solder bumps (536); the memory cell (528) located between the upper surface and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate; a logic component (522) having a top surface and a bottom surface; and a silicon-germanium layer (SiGe layer), the SiGe layer located between the top surface of the logic component and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate [0065] to improve the density of the device (ABS).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang to have included the limitations of claim 8 to provide a more dense device as taught by Gomes (ABS).
Claim 9: Gnomes teaches (Fig. 5H) [0081] a through silicon via (TSV) (520) that electrically couples the logic component to the memory cell.
Claim 11: Gnomes teaches (Fig. 5H) [0080] a printed circuit board attached to the solder bumps.
Claim 13: Gnomes teaches (Fig. 5H) [0081] an integrated circuit component attached to the printed circuit board.
Claim 15: Gnomes teaches one or more of a power supply and an antenna [0035].
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270) in view of Gnomes et al. (US PGPub 2021/0125990), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Gnomes et al. (US PGPub 2022/0375916)
Regarding claim 10, as described above, Hwang and Gnomes (990) substantially read on the invention as claimed, except Hwang and Gnomes (990) do not teach the logic component comprises multiple ribbons in a substantially parallel orientation with gate material around individual ribbons of the multiple ribbons. Gnomes (916) teaches using nanoribbon based transistors in logic devices used in conjunction with DRAM cells in BEOL structure, easing integration [0026]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang and Gnomes (990) to have had the logic component comprises multiple ribbons in a substantially parallel orientation with gate material around individual ribbons of the multiple ribbons to ease integration as taught by Gnomes (916).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270), in view of Gnomes et al. (US PGPub 2021/0125990), as applied to claim 112 above, and further in view of Majhi et al. (US PGPub 2023/0022167)
Regarding claim 12, as described above, Hwang and Gnomes (990) substantially read on the invention as claimed, except Hwang and Gnomes (990) do not teach a heat spreader component attached above the upper surface of the BEOL substrate. Majhi teaches the optional use of a heat spreader to draw heat away from the dies. This is a common practice in the art of semiconductors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang and Gnomes (990) to have had a heat spreader component attached above the upper surface of the BEOL substrate as taught by Majhi.
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270) in view of Gnomes et al. (US PGPub 2021/0125990).
Claim 16: Hwang teaches (see claim 1) a system comprising: a memory cell the memory cell comprising a first thin-film transistor (first TFT) and a second TFT, the first TFT and the second TFT comprising a channel material, the channel material including one or more of: (a) oxygen and one or more of tin, cobalt, copper, antimony, ruthenium, tungsten, zinc, gallium, titanium, indium, nickel, and niobium; (b) oxygen, nitrogen, and titanium; (c) indium and tellurium; (d) one or more of molybdenum and tungsten, and one or more of sulfur and selenium; or (e) phosphorus. Hwang does not teach a back end of line substrate (BEOL substrate) having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the BEOL substrate including solder bumps; a memory cell located between the upper surface and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate, a logic component having a top surface and a bottom surface; and a silicon-germanium layer (SiGe layer), the SiGe layer located between the top surface of the logic component and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate. Gnomes teaches (Fig. 5H) a back end of line substrate (BEOL substrate) [0022] having an upper surface and a lower surface, the upper surface of the BEOL substrate including solder bumps (536); the memory cell (528) located between the upper surface and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate; a logic component (522) having a top surface and a bottom surface; and a silicon-germanium layer (SiGe layer), the SiGe layer located between the top surface of the logic component and the lower surface of the BEOL substrate [0065] to improve the density of the device (ABS).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang to have included the limitations of claim 8 to provide a more dense device as taught by Gomes (ABS).
Claim 17: Hwang teaches [0024] the channel material is characterized by a bandgap voltage above 1.14 electron volts (eV) at 302 degrees Kelvin. Hwang teaches the same material as the instant specification therefore it would have the same properties.
Claim(s) 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsubuku et al. (US Patent 9,825,181).
Regarding claim 21, as described above, Hwang substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Hwang does not teach the channel material further comprises aluminum and nitrogen. Tsubuku teaches adding hafnium and oxygen [0026] to metal oxide channels to adjust channel characteristics as required by the application (ABS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang to have had hafnium and oxygen in the channel to control the properties of the channel as taught by Tsubuku.
Claim(s) 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoffman (US PGPub 2005/0017302)
Regarding claim 22, as described above, Hwang substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Hwang does not teach the channel material further comprises aluminum and nitrogen. Hoffman teaches adding aluminum and nitrogen [0026] to metal oxide channels to adjust the fixed charge density and threshold voltage as required by the application (ABS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang to have had aluminum and nitrogen in the channel to control the properties of the channel as taught by Hoffman.
Claim(s) 23, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270) in view of Gnomes et al. (US PGPub 2021/0125990), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hoffman (US PGPub 2005/0017302)
Regarding claim 25, as described above, Hwang and Gnomes substantially read on the invention as claimed, except Hwang and Gnomes do not teach the channel material further comprises aluminum and nitrogen. Hoffman teaches adding aluminum and nitrogen [0026] to metal oxide channels to adjust the fixed charge density and threshold voltage as required by the application (ABS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang to have had aluminum and nitrogen in the channel to control the properties of the channel as taught by Hoffman.
Claim 26: Hoffman teaches the channel material comprises oxygen and one or more of indium and zinc, and the channel material is doped with gallium and oxygen [0026].
Claim 23: Hoffman teaches the channel material further comprises an insulating material [0026]. The channel has insulating elements such as oxygen and nitrogen.
Claim(s) 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0144270) in view of Gnomes et al. (US PGPub 2021/0125990), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Tsubuku et al. (US Patent 9,825,181).
Regarding claim 24, as described above, Hwang and Gnomes substantially read on the invention as claimed, except Hwang and Gnomes do not teach the channel material further comprises aluminum and nitrogen. Tsubuku teaches adding hafnium and oxygen [0026] to metal oxide channels to adjust channel characteristics as required by the application (ABS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention taught by Hwang and Gnomes to have had hafnium and oxygen in the channel to control the properties of the channel as taught by Tsubuku.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Hwang does not teach the transistors are TFTs. This argument is not persuasive because in paragraphs [0029, 0042] Hwang teaches that TR1/TR2 are TFTs comprising active patterns AP1/AP2 made up of channels that contain at least one of the necessary elements claimed as described above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814