DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13, 16-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1, 3-13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification as filed fails to provide support for the claim limitations “at least two second pixel groups” and “at least two third pixel groups”, with the newly required limitation of the ratio of the number of first, second and third sub-pixels has a ratio of 1:2:2 because the only embodiment that has more than two sub-pixel groups is shown in fig. 18, however, the ratio of the three different pixels in fig. 18 is 1:1:1. Therefore, the newly amended claims has enlarged the scope of claim 1 to be outside of the disclosure as filed and introduced new matter. Claim 3 also claims new matter since the three or six sub-pixels per group is directed to a non-elected embodiment.
Claims 1, 3-13, 16-18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Previous claim 2 had three alternative elements being OR’ed. Claim 1 now includes two of the three elements from previous claim 2 in a non-alternative recitation and introduces an indefiniteness situation. It is unclear how a repeat unit has and maintains a 1:2:2 ratio between the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd sub-pixels if the repeat unit can comprise more than two second pixel groups and more than two third pixel groups. Further, it is unclear how a pixel display unit is formed by 1st, 2nd, and 3rd sub-pixels but the 1st sub-pixel is shared by adjacent two pixel display units. How can the first subpixel be part of a single display unit, but then also be a part of two other pixel display units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12, 13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du (US PGPub 2019/0058017).
Re claim 1: Du teaches (e.g. figs. 1, 2, and labeled fig. 1 below) a pixel arrangement structure comprising a plurality of repeat units (element labeled “RU”) arranged in an array (RU are arranged in an array as shown in fig. 1), each of the repeat units (RU) being an N polygon (RU is a six sided shape as shown in fig. 1), N > 4 and N being an even number (N=6), wherein the repeat unit (RU) comprises: a first pixel group (element labeled “RG1”) comprising at least two first sub-pixels (R41, and sub-pixel under R41); at least two second pixel groups (element labeled “BG1” and “BG2”), each second pixel group (BG1, BG2) of the at least two second pixel groups comprising two second sub-pixels (B41 and other sub pixels of BG1 and BG2); and at least two third pixel groups (element labeled “GG1” and “GG2”), each third pixel group (GG1, GG2) of the at least two third pixel groups comprising two third sub- pixels (G31 and other sub pixels of GG1 and GG2), the at least two second pixel groups (BG1, BG2) and the at least two third pixel groups (GG1, GG1) being alternately arranged on a peripheral side of the first pixel group (RG1).
Re claim 3: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 1, wherein N is 6, the repeat unit (RU) is a hexagon and comprises the first pixel group (RG1), three second pixel groups (BG1, BG2) and three third pixel groups (GG1, GG2), and the first pixel group comprises three or six first sub- pixels; or N is 4, the repeat unit is a quadrilateral and comprises the first pixel group, two second pixel groups and two third pixel groups, and the first pixel group comprises two or four first sub-pixels.
Re claim 4: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 3, wherein the repeat unit (RU) comprises at least two diagonals (upper half of RU and lower half of RU, and tilting fig. 1; hereinafter “D”), any one of the diagonals divides the repeat unit into two portions (upper half of RU and lower half of RU, and tilting fig. 1) of a same area, and in the repeat unit (RU), at least four second sub-pixels (sub-pixels of BG1 and BG2) and/or at least four third sub-pixels (sub-pixels of GG1 and GG2) are arranged at two sides of any one of the diagonals.
Re claim 5: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 4, wherein the repeat unit (RU) is a regular polygon, and at least one of the first pixel group (RG1), the second pixel group (BG1, BG2) and the third pixel group (GG1, GG2) is symmetrically arranged about the diagonal (D).
Re claim 6: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 5, wherein in the repeat unit (RU), at least four second sub-pixels (sub-pixels of BG1, BG2) and at least four third sub-pixels (sub-pixels of GG1, GG2) are symmetrically arranged about the diagonals (D).
Re claim 7: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 4, wherein the at least two first sub-pixels (sub-pixels of RG1) in the first pixel group (RG1) are symmetrically arranged about the diagonal (D).
Re claim 8: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 4, wherein the second sub-pixels (sub-pixels of BG1, BG2) and the third sub-pixels (sub-pixels of GG1, GG2) have the same shape and area.
Re claim 9: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 5, wherein the second sub-pixel (sub-pixels of BG1, BG2) is a trapezoid and comprises a second upper edge (upper edge of trapezoid of sub-pixels of BG1, BG2; hereinafter “2UE”) and a second lower edge (lower edge of trapezoid of sub-pixels of BG1, BG2; hereinafter “2LE”) opposite to each other and a second side edge connecting the second upper edge (2UE) and the second lower edge (2LE), wherein a length of the second upper edge (2UE) is less than a length of the second lower edge (2LE) and the second lower edge (2LE) is located at a side of the second upper edge (2UE) away from the first sub-pixel (R41), and in the second pixel group (BG1, BG2), adjacent two second side edges (side edges are parallel) of the two second sub-pixels (sub-pixels of BG1, BG2) are parallel.
Re claim 10: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 9, wherein the second sub-pixel (sub-pixels of BG1, BG2) is a quadrilateral and adjacent to the third sub-pixel (sub-pixels of GG1, GG2) by the second side edge (side edge of sub-pixels of BG1, BG2), and the second side edge (side edge of sub-pixels of BG1, BG2) is parallel to an outer edge (side edge of sub-pixels of GG1, GG2) of at least one of the third sub- pixels (sub-pixels of GG1, GG2).
Re claim 12: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 10, wherein the third sub-pixel (sub-pixels of GG1, GG2) is a trapezoid and comprises a third upper edge (upper edge of trapezoid of G11, G21; hereinafter “3UE”) and a third lower edge (lower edge of trapezoid of sub-pixels of GG1, GG2; hereinafter “3LE”) opposite to each other and a third side edge connecting the third upper edge (3UE) and the third lower edge (3LE), and a length of the third upper edge (3UE) is less than a length of the third lower edge (3LE).
Re claim 13: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 12, wherein the third lower edge (3LE) is located at a side of the third upper edge (3UE) away from the first sub-pixel (R41), in the third pixel group (GG1, GG2), adjacent two third side edges of the two third sub-pixels (GG1, GG2) are parallel, and for the second sub-pixel (BG1, BG2) and the third sub-pixel (GG1, GG2) that are adjacent, the second side edge (side edge of sub-pixels of BG1, BG2) and the third side edge (side edge of sub-pixels of GG1, GG2) are adjacent and parallel.
Re claim 16: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 1, wherein the repeat units (RU) are arranged in the array (see fig. 1) along a first direction (left-right direction of fig. 1; hereinafter “1D”) and a second direction (up-down direction of fig. 1; hereinafter “2D”); and two columns of the repeat units (RU) that are adjacent along the first direction (1D) are symmetrically distributed about an axis extending along the second direction (2D).
Re claim 17: Du teaches the pixel arrangement structure of claim 16, wherein two rows of the repeat units (RU) that are adjacent along the second direction (2D) are symmetrically distributed about an axis extending along the first direction (1D).
Re claim 18: Du teaches a display panel (display panel; e.g. paragraph 27) comprising the pixel arrangement structure of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898