DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 2/2/2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claim 12 is new. Claims 1, 10 and 11 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. US 2022/0102559 A1 (Zhu).
In re claim 1, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) a semiconductor device comprising:
a first semiconductor portion 1005 and a second semiconductor portion 1009 having the same conductivity type (¶ 36,38) and arranged along a first direction (vertical direction);
a third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) provided between the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 and having a lower impurity concentration than the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 (1007 is lightly doped, while 1005 and1009 are heavily doped, ¶ 36,38);
a fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) provided between the second semiconductor portion 1009 and the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) and having a lower impurity concentration than the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 (1007 is lightly doped, while 1005 and 1009 are heavily doped, ¶ 36,38);
a gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) and a gate electrode 1033 that overlap with the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) when viewed in a second direction (horizontal direction), the second (horizontal) direction intersecting the first (vertical) direction, a part of the first semiconductor portion 1005 overlapping with a part of the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) in the second (horizontal) direction; and
a dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) that overlaps with the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) when viewed in the second (horizontal) direction, wherein
the dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) is formed of a material (e.g. HfO2, ¶ 64) having a larger band gap and a larger relative permittivity than a material forming the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007 formed of silicon, ¶ 38) (A high-k dielectric material such as HfO2 necessarily has larger band gap than a semiconductor material due their inherent electrical properties. Furthermore, dielectric material HfO2 has a relative permittivity of ~25 which is larger than a relative permittivity of silicon at ~12) and
a depletion layer is formed at the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) when a predetermined voltage is applied to the gate electrode 1033 (the transistor comprising same conductive type source, drain, and channel (¶ 36,38); as such, a depletion layer is necessarily formed when adequate voltage is applied to the gate electrode).
In re claim 2, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein the first semiconductor portion 1005, the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007), and the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) are stacked in the first direction to form a column portion.
In re claim 3, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein
the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) surrounds the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) when viewed from the first (vertical) direction and
the gate electrode 1033 surrounds the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031).
In re claim 4, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein
the first semiconductor portion 1005 constitutes a source region (¶ 34) and
the second semiconductor portion 1009 constitutes a drain region (¶ 34).
In re claim 5, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein the dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) is composed of transition metal oxide (¶ 64).
In re claim 6, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein the dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) is composed of hafnium oxide (¶ 64).
In re claim 7, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) is formed of a material (e.g. HfO2, ¶ 64) having a larger band gap and a larger relative permittivity than a material forming the third semiconductor portion (lower upper portion of 1007 formed of silicon, ¶ 38). A high-k dielectric material such as HfO2 necessarily has larger band gap than a semiconductor material due their inherent electrical properties. Furthermore, dielectric material HfO2 has a relative permittivity of ~25 which is larger than a relative permittivity of silicon at ~12.
In re claim 8, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) is composed of transition metal oxide (¶ 64).
In re claim 9, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) wherein the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) is composed of hafnium oxide (¶ 64).
In re claim 10, Zhu discloses (FIG. 14) 1003 is a heavily doped layer (¶ 32). In an alternative interpretation, the first semiconductor portion correspond to 1009, the second semiconductor portion correspond to the combination of 1003+1005, the third semiconductor portion correspond to an upper portion of 1007, and the fourth semiconductor portion corresponds to a lower portion of 1007. See FIG. 14 annotated below.
As such, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) further comprising
an electrode 1039-2 that overlaps with the second semiconductor portion 1003+1005 when viewed in the first (vertical) direction, wherein
the second semiconductor portion 1003+1005 overlaps with the dielectric portion (in this case, lower portion of 1031 surrounding lower portion of 1007) in the first (vertical) direction (lower portion of dielectric 1031 having laterally extending portion that overlaps 1003 in the vertical direction).
In re claim 11, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) a power device comprising:
a first semiconductor portion 1005 and a second semiconductor portion 1009 having the same conductivity type (¶ 36,38) and arranged along a first direction (vertical direction);
a third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) provided between the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 and having a lower impurity concentration than the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 (1007 is lightly doped, while 1005 and1009 are heavily doped, ¶ 36,38);
a fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) provided between the second semiconductor portion 1009 and the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) and having a lower impurity concentration than the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 (1007 is lightly doped, while 1005 and 1009 are heavily doped, ¶ 36,38);
a gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) and a gate electrode 1033 that overlap with the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) when viewed in a second direction (horizontal direction), the second (horizontal) direction intersecting the first (vertical) direction, a part of the first semiconductor portion 1005 overlapping with a part of the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) in the second (horizontal) direction; and
a dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) that overlaps with the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) when viewed in the second (horizontal) direction, wherein
the dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) is formed of a material (e.g. HfO2, ¶ 64) having a larger band gap and a larger relative permittivity than a material forming the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007 formed of silicon, ¶ 38) (A high-k dielectric material such as HfO2 necessarily has larger band gap than a semiconductor material due their inherent electrical properties. Furthermore, dielectric material HfO2 has a relative permittivity of ~25 which is larger than a relative permittivity of silicon at ~12) and
a depletion layer is formed at the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) when a predetermined voltage is applied to the gate electrode 1033 (the transistor comprising same conductive type source, drain, and channel (¶ 36,38); as such, a depletion layer is necessarily formed when adequate voltage is applied to the gate electrode).
In re claim 12, Zhu discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) a semiconductor device comprising:
a first semiconductor portion 1005 and a second semiconductor portion 1009 having the same conductivity type (¶ 36,38) and arranged along a first direction (vertical direction);
a third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) provided between the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 and having a lower impurity concentration than the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 (1007 is lightly doped, while 1005 and1009 are heavily doped, ¶ 36,38);
a fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) provided between the second semiconductor portion 1009 and the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) and having a lower impurity concentration than the first semiconductor portion 1005 and the second semiconductor portion 1009 (1007 is lightly doped, while 1005 and 1009 are heavily doped, ¶ 36,38);
a gate insulating layer (lower portion of 1031) and a gate electrode 1033 that overlap with the third semiconductor portion (lower portion of 1007) when viewed in a second direction (horizontal direction), the second (horizontal) direction intersecting the first (vertical) direction; and
a dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) that overlaps with the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) when viewed in the second (horizontal) direction, the gate electrode 1033 overlapping with the dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031 having a horizontal portion) in the first (vertical direction, wherein
the dielectric portion (upper portion of 1031) is formed of a material (e.g. HfO2, ¶ 64) having a larger band gap and a larger relative permittivity than a material forming the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007 formed of silicon, ¶ 38) (A high-k dielectric material such as HfO2 necessarily has larger band gap than a semiconductor material due their inherent electrical properties. Furthermore, dielectric material HfO2 has a relative permittivity of ~25 which is larger than a relative permittivity of silicon at ~12) and
a depletion layer is formed at the fourth semiconductor portion (upper portion of 1007) when a predetermined voltage is applied to the gate electrode 1033 (the transistor comprising same conductive type source, drain, and channel (¶ 36,38); as such, a depletion layer is necessarily formed when adequate voltage is applied to the gate electrode).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Wang, Applicant argues the first semiconductor portion S1 does not overlap with the gate insulating layer 150 in the horizontal direction (Remark, pages 7-8).
This is not persuasive. The “second direction” as recited in the claim only need to “intersect” the first direction. If the first direction is the vertical direction. The second direction can be any direction that is non-parallel to the first direction. As such, Wang teaches a “second direction” that intersect the first vertical direction at an angle less than 90°. As viewed from such angled “second direction”, a part of the gate insulating layer (lower portion of 150) does overlap with a part of the first third semiconductor S1.
Applicant’s other arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896