DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 16-20 in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 11/08/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: In line 1, the term “first plug” is repeated and the second use of the term should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campean (2006/0218841).
Regarding claim 16, Campean discloses, in figures 5 and 8, a viewing optic (500, pivoting lens cover) (paragraph 0026) comprising: a zero cap having a base (510, mounting ring assembly which includes 610, first ring member and 620, second ring member) (paragraphs 0027 and 0033), an aperture cap (530, retaining cap) configured to hingedly connect to the base (610, first ring member and 620, second ring member) (paragraphs 0027 and 0032); and a cap plug (810, central plug section) configured to rotate on the aperture cap (530, retaining cap (paragraph 0044); and a connecting strip (624, external (male) threads and628, knurled outer surface) configured to interact with the base (510, mounting ring assembly) (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 20, Campean discloses wherein the viewing optic is a riflescope (paragraphs 0026 and 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campean (2006/0218841) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Cai, Xiang-fa et al. (CN 103511910), hereinafter Cai.
Regarding claim 17, Campean discloses all the limitations in common with claim 1, and such is hereby incorporated.
Campean does not disclose wherein the aperture cap has a first hole and a second hole; and further wherein the second hole is located below the first hole.
Campean and Cai are related as a lens device with a lens cover.
Cai discloses wherein the aperture cap (16, lens cover) has a first hole and a second hole (figure 6 below and paragraph 0036 discloses 4 holes 162 located within the lens cover 16); and further wherein the second hole is located below the first hole (figure 6 below shows the holes 162 located around the circular cover 16; Examiner notes that there are lower and upper).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Campean with the first and second holes of Cai for the purpose of sealing the lens within the lens cover.
Regarding claim 18, Cai discloses wherein the cap plug has a first plug and a second plug (figure 6 below and paragraph 0036 disclose a plurality of locking members 18), and further wherein the first plug is configured to interact with the first hole and the second plug is configured to interact with the second hole (figure 6 below and paragraph 0036 disclose a plurality of locking members 18 that pass through the holes 162).
Regarding claim 19, Campean discloses wherein the first hole is placed at the center of the aperture cap (figure 2 shows opening where logo 690 is placed).
Conclusion
/BRANDI N THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872