DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-10, 17-21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/158417 and using U. S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0286264 (hereinafter referred to as Kaneko) as its English Translation Equivalent.
Kaneko, in the abstract, and in paragraph nos. [0012]-[0016], [0025]-[0028], discloses a radiation sensitive composition (or actinic ray-sensitive composition) that comprises a resin, and a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays (radiation), wherein the resin has a polarity that increases by the action of the acid (generated by the compound), and the resin includes repeating units that have acid decomposable groups. Kaneko, in [0009], [0040]-[0045], [0821], and [0923], discloses that the radiation sensitive resin composition is used for forming a resist film on a substrate, and the resist film is subjected to a patterning exposure followed by developing the exposed resist film, using an organic solvent, to form a resist pattern for manufacturing an electronic device. Kaneko, in [0402]-[0403], discloses that one of the repeating units include at least two acid decomposable groups, and is present in the composition in an amount of 15% by mole or more and less than 95% by mole, and the repeating unit includes the following structure, and as illustrated below, has the same claimed leaving groups and is the same as that recited (claimed X1, or formula A structure), see below,
. Kaneko, in [0402], discloses repeating units that constitute resin (A) have acid decomposable groups, and in [0405], discloses that the repeating unit can include formula B, and Kaneko, in [0544], discloses that the formula (B) that also constitutes the resin is the same claimed formula, see below,
wherein Rb1 to Rb4 each constitute an organic group and illustrates structures on page 58, and Kaneko, discloses in [0549]-[0550], each of the organic group can be an alkyl group (the R’s) and each organic group can include an ester such as -COOR’’ wherein R” can be an alkyl group and is the same claimed leaving group newly recited in claim 21 as formula (Y3). Kaneko, in [0442], discloses that the composition can include a repeating unit having a phenolic hydroxyl group, and includes the following structure, see below,
and is the same claimed repeating unit X2 of formula (I) (claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, and 17-19). Kaneko, in [0091]-[0098], discloses the claimed compound as the photoacid generator in the radiation sensitive composition wherein the acid generator compound can be a compound I, as follows, see below,
i.e., Kaneko’s compound I has both the claimed structural site X and structural site Y, wherein each of the X and Y structural sites have corresponding anionic and cationic sites and satisfy the claimed condition, see description above ([0094]-[0098]). Kaneko, in [0228]-[0231], discloses the compound III (the claimed compound II) wherein the compound having two or more structural moieties X and one or more structural moiety Z, and Z being a nonionic moiety capable of neutralizing an acid, such that the compound (compound III which is the claimed compound II) generates acid including two or more of the acidic moieties derived from structural moiety X and structural moiety Z when subjected to irradiation (claims 6, and 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 31, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to applicant’s argument that Kaneko’s structure does not correspond to the repeating unit represented by formula (A) specified in original claim 2, Kaneko, in [0544], discloses the same claimed structure recited now as formula (A) in claim 1, and is illustrated (formula (B)) in the paragraph no. 3, above. With respect to applicant’s argument that instant specification discloses the different groups that constitute X1 to X4, and that Kaneko’s two groups that emanate from the same carbon link and form a ring and is different from the groups attached to the carbon atoms of the claimed repeating unit that do not form a ring, or that Kaneko does not teach the claimed leaving group, the instant claims does not preclude or prohibit the formation of a ring by two (out of the four) of the pendant groups that constitute the claimed repeating unit (formula (A)). However, Kaneko also teaches that the repeating unit with acid decomposable groups that constitute Kaneko’s resin A can also have the same claimed formula (disclosed in paragraph no. 3, above as formula (B) of Kaneko) and is disclosed on page 58 of Kaneko, and Kaneko, in [0547], discloses that the formula (B) can include structures wherein none of the pendant organic groups of the repeating unit constitute a ring structure that is directly linked to the main chain of the repeating unit and discloses the organic groups as alkyl or aryl groups with substituents such as R’ that includes -COOR” wherein R” can be an alkyl group and is the same claimed leaving group recited in claim 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Daborah Chacko-Davis whose telephone number is (571) 272-1380. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:30AM-6:00PM EST Mon-Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark F. Huff can be reached on (571) 272-1385. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DABORAH CHACKO-DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 March 24, 2026.