This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed 03/28/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted by Applicant is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 13, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skirlo et al. (US 20190265574 A1, “Skirlo”).
Regarding claim 1, Skirlo teaches a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system for a vehicle (Para 3, 29, 80, 84), the LIDAR system comprising: a substrate (Figs. 7, 9, para 80, 82, 84; Skirlo teaches a substrate on which integrated photonic components are formed. See also, fig. 1A, para 42, substrate 104);
an emitter coupled to the substrate (Para 82, the tunable source (780/980) …. may be integrated on the chip. See also, fig. 1A, para 42; Tunable IR source 80 / 780 that is mated, bonded, or integrated onto the substrate), the emitter configured to emit a light beam along a first axis of the substrate (Figs. 7, 9, para 80, 84; the light is emitted parallel to the substrate. See also, fig. 1A);
an optic device (Fig. 9, splitter 910a) coupled to the substrate, the optic device configured to split the light beam into a plurality of light beams (Fig. 9, para 84 discloses power splitters dividing emitted light into multiple optical paths. See also, Fig. 8, para 83);
an optical amplifier array (Fig. 9, amplifiers 912, para 84) coupled to the substrate, the optical amplifier array configured to amplify the plurality of light beams received from the optic device to generate a plurality of amplified light beams (Para 96 Arrays of semiconductor optical amplifiers (SOAs / SCOWAs), each amplifying a respective split beam.); and
a transceiver (Fig. 9; Tx/Rx Grating 930. See also, fig. 8 para 83; Tx/Rx Grating 830) coupled to the substrate, the transceiver configured to redirect the plurality of amplified light beams from traveling along the first axis of the substrate to traveling along a second axis of the substrate that is different from the first axis (Skirlo teaches redirecting amplified light from a first axis parallel to the substrate to a second axis out of the plane of the substrate (In-plane guided light redirected out-of-plane via grating 930, Fig. 9 para 46, 56 and claim 1).).
Regarding claim 2, Skirlo teaches the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein the transceiver includes a grating coupler (Fig. 9; Tx/Rx Grating 930. See also, fig 8, para 83; 2D photonic crystal (PhC) 830 that serves as the aperture and grating coupler ) configured to redirect the plurality of amplified light beams from traveling along the first axis of the substrate to traveling along the second axis of the substrate (Skirlo teaches redirecting amplified light from a first axis parallel to the substrate to a second axis out of the plane of the substrate (In-plane guided light redirected out-of-plane via grating 930, Fig. 9 para 46, 56 and claim 1).).
Regarding claim 7, Skirlo teaches the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein: the optical amplifier array is edge coupled to the optic device ( Skirlo (Figs. 7-9) teaches that the optical amplifier array is optically coupled to an upstream optical device (1 to 128 switch matrix/ splitters) via planar waveguides, such that optical signals enter the amplifiers through their end facets.); and the transceiver is edge coupled to the optical amplifier array (Skirlo (Figs. 7-9) teaches that amplified optical signals exit the optical amplifier array through end facets and are laterally guided to the transceiver structure, thereby edge coupling the transceiver to the optical amplifier array.).
Regarding claim 8, Skirlo teaches the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein the emitter, the optic device, the optical amplifier array, and the transceiver are coupled to a first surface of the substrate (Figs. 7-9, para 82, kirlo teaches that the emitter, optical splitting device, optical amplifier array, and transceiver are all coupled to a common surface of the substrate (to the top (first) surface of the substrate. See also, Fig. 1A).).
Regarding claim 13, Skirlo teaches the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein an optical power of the respective amplified light beams output by the optical amplifier array is in a range of 10 decibels greater than an optical power of the respective light beams output by the optic device to 30 decibels greater than the optical power of the respective light beams output by the optic device (Fig. 9, para 84, a power splitter 910b coupled to an array of 30 dB amplifiers 912. See also, fig. 8 para 83, a 1-to-100 passive power splitter 810 to feed an array of 100 20 dB amplifiers 812).
Regarding claim 17, Skirlo teaches the LIDAR system of claim 1, further comprising: a first optic positioned between the optic device and the optical amplifier array along the first axis of the substrate (Fig. 9, splitter 910b is positioned between the optic device (splitter 910a) and the optical amplifier array (amplifiers 912) along the first axis of the substrate); and a second optic positioned between the optical amplifier array and the transceiver along the first axis of the substrate (Fig. 9, lens 920).
claims 19 and 20 recite an autonomous vehicle control system or autonomous vehicle including the same LIDAR system previously discussed (See also, para 82 and 112, 114). Skirlo teaches a substrate-integrated LiDAR system including an emitter, optical splitter, optical amplifier array, and transceiver that redirects amplified beams from a first axis of the substrate to a second axis. The recitation of an autonomous vehicle control system or autonomous vehicle merely specifies the intended environment of use and does not impose additional structural limitations on the LIDAR system. Accordingly, claims 19 and 20 are unpatentable for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9-10, 12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skirlo in view of Pietro et al. (US 20110052114 A1, “Pietro”).
Regarding claim 3, Skirlo fails to explicitly teach the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein: the substrate includes a particular portion that defines an aperture; and the transceiver is configured to redirect the plurality of amplified light beams from traveling along the first axis of the substrate to traveling along the second axis of the substrate to direct the plurality of amplified light beams through the aperture defined by the particular portion of the substrate.
However, Pietro (Fig. 1B, para 23-24, the micro-lens 155 can be located in the substrate 105) teaches forming an opening or aperture defined by a portion of the substrate to permit optical signals to pass therethrough. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Skirlo to include the substrate-defined aperture taught by Pietro in order to facilitate efficient out-of-plane optical coupling and mechanical integration, which is a predictable design choice in integrated photonic.
Regarding claim 9, Skirlo fails to explicitly teach the LIDAR system of claim 8, wherein: the substrate defines an aperture extending therethrough; and the transceiver is aligned with the aperture.
However, Pietro (Fig. 1B, para 23-24, the micro-lens 155 can be located in the substrate 105) teaches forming an opening or aperture defined by a portion of the substrate to permit optical signals to pass therethrough. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Skirlo to include the substrate-defined aperture taught by Pietro in order to facilitate efficient out-of-plane optical coupling and mechanical integration, which is a predictable design choice in integrated photonic.
Regarding claim 10, Skirlo, in view of Pietro teaches the LIDAR system of claim 9, further comprising: an optical window coupled to a second surface of the substrate, the optical window is aligned with the aperture (Pietro, Fig. 1B, para 23-24, Pietro teaches coupling an optical window or transparent element to a second surface of a substrate and aligning the window with an aperture to allow optical transmission.).
Regarding claim 12, Skirlo teaches the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein the light beam includes a laser beam (Para 88).
Skirlo fails to explicitly teach but Pietro teaches the emitter includes a distributed feedback laser (At least fig. 1B, para 19, 20; DFB 115).
Skirlo discloses a LiDAR system including an optical emitter supplying a laser beam for ranging. Pietro discloses an emitter including a distributed feedback laser. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the emitter of Skirlo using the distributed feedback laser taught by Pietro, as DFB lasers are well suited for coherent and frequency-modulated LiDAR applications due to their stable single-frequency output.
Regarding claim 15, Skirlo fails to explicitly teaches the LIDAR system of claim 1, further comprising: an optic configured to receive the plurality of amplified light beams traveling along the second axis of the substrate and collimate the plurality of amplified light beams to generate a plurality of collimated light beams.
Skirlo discloses a LiDAR system in which amplified optical beams are redirected out of the plane of the substrate for free-space transmission. Pietro teaches providing a lens (Fig. 1B, para 24-25, lens 155) to receive emitted optical beams and collimate the beams for controlled propagation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the collimating lens of Pietro with the out-of-plane amplified beam output of Skirlo in order to produce collimated LiDAR beams suitable for accurate ranging and scanning. This combination represents a predictable use of a known optical element to perform its intended function in a LiDAR system.
Regarding claim 16, Skirlo, in view of Pietro, teaches the LIDAR system of claim 15, further comprising: a LIDAR scanner configured to transmit the plurality of collimated light beams into a surrounding environment and receive a plurality of return light beams from the surrounding environment.
Skirlo discloses a LiDAR system that scans the surrounding environment by transmitting optical beams in multiple directions and receiving reflected beams for ranging. In particular, Skirlo’s multi-channel photonic architecture selectively routes and emits beams into free space and further discloses receiving reflected beams via a Tx/Rx coupling structure (Figs. 7-10, para 82, 84).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skirlo in view of Rabadam et al. (US 20220404474 A1, “Rabadam”).
Regarding claim 4, Skirlo fails to explicitly teach the LIDAR system of claim 1, further comprising: a heat spreader coupled to the substrate to enclose the emitter, the optic device, the optical amplifier array, and the transceiver within a cavity defined by the heat spreader.
However, Rabadam (at least fig. 2A, 3, 4, para 24, 30, 32, 34) teaches a LiDAR microelectronics package where a lid defines a cavity that encases a photonic integrated circuit (PIC), and the lid/thermal structures provide heat-dissipation pathways (e.g., TIM-coupled heat spreader die to the lid), corresponding to a thermally conductive enclosure/heat spreader coupled to the assembly that encloses the LiDAR photonic components within a defined cavity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the enclosure as a heat-spreading structure coupled to the substrate, defining a cavity that encloses the emitter, optical components, optical amplifier circuitry, and transceiver, in order to improve thermal stability, reliability, and packaging compactness of the LiDAR module. Such an arrangement represents a predictable packaging solution for high-power photonic LiDAR systems.
Regarding claim 5, Skirlo, in view of Rabadam teaches the LIDAR system of claim 4, wherein the heat spreader is coupled to the optical amplifier array to facilitate heat transfer from the optical amplifier array to the heat spreader (Rabadam (at least fig. 2A, 3, 4, para 22-24, 30, 32, 34), the PIC (including LiDAR optical components such as semiconductor optical amplifiers) is thermally coupled to the lid through a TIM and a heat spreader die, providing heat transfer from the heat-generating photonic devices to the thermally conductive lid/enclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to couple the heat spreader directly to the optical amplifier array to facilitate efficient heat transfer, because optical amplifier arrays are among the primary heat sources in LiDAR photonic systems, and improving heat removal predictably enhances performance and operational lifetime.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skirlo in view of Rabadam and Schmalenberg et al. (US 20160223663 A1, “Schmalenberg”).
Regarding claim 6, Skirlo, in view of Rabadam fails to teach the LIDAR system of claim 4, wherein: the heat spreader includes a particular portion that defines an aperture; and the transceiver is configured to redirect the plurality of amplified light beams from traveling along the first axis of the substrate to traveling along the second axis of the substrate to direct the plurality of amplified light beams through the aperture defined by the heat spreader.
However, Schmalenberg (Fig. 2, para 33-34) teaches a LiDAR enclosure that defines an aperture aligned with the optical emission/reception path to permit LiDAR beams to pass between internal photonic components and the external environment.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the LiDAR system of Skirlo to direct the out-of-plane redirected beams through an aperture defined by the enclosing structure, as taught by Schmalenberg, in order to allow optical transmission while maintaining mechanical protection and environmental isolation of the internal components. Such a modification represents a predictable integration of beam-redirection photonics with conventional LiDAR housing design.
Claims 11, 14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skirlo.
Regarding claim 11, Skirlo fails to explicitly teach the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is coupled to the substrate with an epoxy material, a metallic solder, or a brazing material to create a seal between the substrate and the transceiver.
Skirlo discloses a LiDAR system in which the emitter, semiconductor optical amplifiers, and transceiver are integrated on a common substrate (Figs. 7-9; para. [0082]. See also, fig. 1A, para 42). In such substrate-integrated photonic LiDAR architectures, the optical components are intended for operation in automotive and outdoor environments where mechanical robustness and environmental protection are critical. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to couple the transceiver to the substrate using a bonding material such as epoxy, solder, or brazing in order to secure the transceiver in place and to seal the interface between the transceiver and the substrate, thereby improving reliability, alignment stability, and resistance to environmental contaminants. The use of such bonding materials represents a predictable and conventional packaging technique for substrate-integrated photonic systems of the type disclosed by Skirlo.
Regarding claim 14, Skirlo fails to explicitly teach the LIDAR system of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a ceramic substrate.
Skirlo discloses a substrate-integrated LiDAR photonic system that includes heat-generating optical components such as semiconductor optical amplifiers and a laser emitter (Figs. 7-9; para. [0082]. See also, fig. 1A, para 42). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the substrate of Skirlo as a ceramic substrate, because ceramic materials such as alumina or aluminum nitride are well known in photonic packaging to provide electrical insulation, high thermal conductivity, and mechanical stability. Using a ceramic substrate represents a predictable material choice for supporting substrate-integrated LiDAR photonic components and improves thermal management and reliability without altering system operation.
Regarding claim 18, Skirlo fails to explicitly teach the LIDAR system of claim 17, wherein at least one of the first optic or the second optic comprises a lens array that includes one or more collimating lenses and one or more focusing lenses.
Skirlo discloses a second optic in the form of lens 920 (Fig. 9. See also, para 81, The lens may be a 20 nm or 40 nm thick PolySi lenses, para 17 and 156) positioned downstream of the optical amplifier array. Lens 920 receives a plurality of amplified light beams and optically conditions the beams prior to transmission. In a multi-beam LiDAR system, such a lens necessarily performs collimating (making beams parallel) and focusing (directing beams to a desired propagation) functions across the plurality of beams, thereby constituting a lens array including one or more collimating lenses and one or more focusing lenses, as recited in claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nikolai et al. (US 7184386 B2), teaches Integrated Type Optical Head with Sheet Waveguide and Light Coupler
Tirumala R Ranganath (US 7734189 B2), teaches Parallel Channel Optical Communication Using Modulator Array and Shared Laser
Eric Swanson (US 20140376001 A1), teaches Integrated optical system and components utilizing tunable optical sources and coherent detection and phased array for imaging, ranging, sensing, communications and other applications
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645