DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected power storage assembly, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoda et al (2016/0078979.
Hosoda et al disclose an insulating tape comprising a fluorinated resin film which can be molded (by known methods which would include transfer and injection molding in addition to press and extrusion molding [0082], [0119] as well known in the art; instant claim 7) and has a melting point of 220 to 320, preferably 260 to 320, most preferably 280 to 315 o C, (abstract, [0078], claims 1 and 2; instant claim 4). The polymer preferably comprises polymer (A) which preferably comprises (A1), a tetrafluoroethylene (TFE; unit (a)) and perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ether) (PPVE; unit (c)) ([0050]-[0060]). The units of (c) which including PPVE are preferably present in the polymer in an amount of 0.01 to 5 mol % ([0060]), which when calculated, would overlap the lower end of the claimed mass % (~2.7 to 3 given various monomers) meeting the limitations of the instant claim 1.
The number of functional groups is 10 to 60,000 to 1 X 106 carbon atoms, preferably 300 to 5,000 (greater than 50, claim 4; instant claim 1). The melt flow rate may be 0.1 to 1,000 g/10 min, preferably 0.5 to 100 g/10 min, and more preferably 1 to 30 g/10min (0084]). The thickness of the insulating tape is 3 to 3,000 microns (0.003 to 3mm), preferably 15 to 1500 (0.015 to 1.5 mm) microns, more preferably 25 to 750 microns (0.025 to 0.75 mm), overlapping the claimed range as set forth by the instant claim 2 ([0018], [0121]).
With respect to the instant claim 3, the claim presents a limitation drawn to the sealing area of the sealing member, the reference is silent. However, given that the reference material is drawn to a molded fluororesin film-coated insulating member wherein the resin layer seals the insulating layer to protect electric cables and parts and the like ([0003]), [0185]), the sealing area appropriate for the electric part and the sealing area is an obvious modification to seal and protect parts of various sizes based upon the particular application absent evidence to the contrary.
With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 5 for the heat of melting of the copolymer, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 5.
With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 6 for fluorine content of the copolymer, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 6.
Furthermore, with respect to the instant claim 10, the claim is drawn to a sealing member product, but the claim presents an intended use limitation “ wherein the sealing member is in a state of being compressed”. The sealing member itself may be capable of being compressed and possessing a compression deformation rate when used and compressed, but as described by the specification, this property is drawn to when the sealing member is actively compressed and used to seal (such as a gasket in a battery lid similar to figures 2 and 3). Therefore, this is an intended use limitation. However, the claim will be interpreted for examination as possessing this property when compressed, therefore the material of the reference is capable of compression and possessing the deformation rate property. With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 10 for the compression deformation rate, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 10.
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Hosoda et al, choosing as the fluororesin, that having an amount of vinyl ether units and a melt flow rate falling within the scope of the instant claims as taught by the reference and discussed above, wherein the resultant material also meets the limitations of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al (2016/0319089).
Imamura et al disclose a fluorine-containing copolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and fluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE) having 10 to 10,000 functional groups in total per 106 carbon atoms. Preferably 500 (abstract, [0025], [0044], claim 1; instant claim 1). The functional groups are chosen from those claimed in the instant claim 1 ([0046], claims 2; instant claim 1).
The polymer comprises 1 to 10 mass% PAVE units, more preferably 2% or more and preferably 8% or less. Examples 13 and 14 in [0177] demonstrate a polymer wherein the TFE/ PAVE monomer/ allyl ether comprises the units in mass percentages of 92/ 4.5/ 3.5, thus directing one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the polymer having a mass % of the PAVE unit in an amount falling within the range taught by the reference and the resultant polymer also fall within the scope of the instant claim 1.
The melting point is preferably 290 to 315 o C ([0072], [0073]; instant claim 4), and the melt flow rate falls within the scope of the instant claim 1 as described in examples 13 and 14 above (30 g/ 10 min).
Therefore, Imamura et al teach that invention as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 4.
The resin is prepared into a sheet or molded article (injection molding, transfer molding; [0120]), and should have a thickness of 0.01 to 10 mm ([0138]-[0142]; instant claim 2, 7). The range of the reference overlaps that as claimed, and one of skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the material in any thickness within the cited range, including the portion which overlaps with the claimed range as set forth by the instant claim 2.
With respect to the instant claim 3, the claim presents a limitation drawn to the sealing area of the sealing member, the reference is silent. However, given that the reference material is drawn to a molded fluororesin article for electric coating wires, gaskets, optical lens parts, electronic parts and packings and seals ([0142]), the sealing area appropriate for use and seal and protect parts of various sizes based upon the particular application absent evidence to the contrary.
With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 5 for the heat of melting of the copolymer, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 5.
With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 6 for fluorine content of the copolymer, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 6.
Furthermore, with respect to the instant claim 10, the claim is drawn to a sealing member product, but the claim presents an intended use limitation “ wherein the sealing member is in a state of being compressed”. The sealing member itself may be capable of being compressed and possessing a compression deformation rate when used and compressed, but as described by the specification, this property is drawn to when the sealing member is actively compressed and used to seal (such as a gasket in a battery lid similar to figures 2 and 3). Therefore, this is an intended use limitation. However, the claim will be interpreted for examination as possessing this property when compressed, therefore the material of the reference is capable of compression and possessing the deformation rate property. With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 10 for the compression deformation rate, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 10.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al (2017/0260344).
Imamura et al disclose a molded article comprising a fluororesin comprising tetrafluoroethylene (TFE)/ perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE)(claim 6), wherein the resin comprises 500 or less functional groups per 106 carbon atoms in the main chain (claim 7; examples 19-21 have 60), and wherein the PAVE units are present in 1 to 10% by mass, preferably 3.5, more preferably 4%, to 60 mass % ([0092]), with examples at 3.1 (examples 9-11 and 15-18), 3.4 (19-21), meeting the limitations of the instant claim 1. The melt flow rate is preferably 0.1 to 100 g/ 10 min, more preferably 5 g/10 min to 40 g/ 10 min ([0093]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the resin comprising a number of functional groups and amount of PAVE units falling within the scope of the instant claims, as the ranges taught by the reference overlap that clamed ranges, with examples 19-21 falling within the scope of each range.
The thickness of the article is from 0.01 to 3 mm, preferably 0.5 and 2.0 mm or smaller (claim 2, [0049], [0118]), wherein the range overlaps the range set forth by the instant claim 2
The melting point is from 280 to 322 o C, more preferably 290 to 315 o C ([0053], [0062], [0063]; instant claim 4).
With respect to the instant claim 3, the claim presents a limitation drawn to the sealing area of the sealing member, the reference is silent. However, given that the reference material is drawn to a molded fluororesin article for electric coating wires, gaskets, optical lens parts, electronic parts and packings and seals ([0152]), the sealing area appropriate for use and seal and protect parts of various sizes based upon the particular application absent evidence to the contrary.
With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 5 for the heat of melting of the copolymer, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 5.
With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 6 for fluorine content of the copolymer, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 6.
Furthermore, with respect to the instant claim 10, the claim is drawn to a sealing member product, but the claim presents an intended use limitation “ wherein the sealing member is in a state of being compressed”. The sealing member itself may be capable of being compressed and possessing a compression deformation rate when used and compressed, but as described by the specification, this property is drawn to when the sealing member is actively compressed and used to seal (such as a gasket in a battery lid similar to figures 2 and 3). Therefore, this is an intended use limitation. However, the claim will be interpreted for examination as possessing this property when compressed, therefore the material of the reference is capable of compression and possessing the deformation rate property. With respect to the limitations of the instant claim 10 for the compression deformation rate, the resin of the reference teaches units similar to those as instantly claimed, and in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claims and teachings of the specification. Therefore, given the similarity of the reference material and that of the instant claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to possess similar properties and therefore meet the limitations of the instant claim 10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, and 9, of Application No. 17/679789, claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, of Application No. 17/679831, claims 1-7, of Application No. 18/191996, claims 1-7, of Application No. 18/192011, and claims 1-6, of Application No. 18/192077 (reference applications). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited copending applications each claims the instantly claimed sealing member by setting forth limitations to sealing members or gaskets comprising polymers having the same types of units (TFE/PPVE) in unit amounts overlapping the range as claimed, having a number of functional groups of 50 per 106 main chain carbon atoms or more, and a melt flow rate as instantly claimed. The applications each further claim the thickness, melting point and either claim or would inherently possess the claimed sealing area, quantity of heat melting, fluorine content, and compression rate, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the material of any of the applications cited above, wherein the resultant material would also meet the limitations of the instant claims 1-7 and 10 for the claimed sealing member.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722