DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Moving mechanism” in claims 1 and 4.
“Grinding unit” in claims 1 and 4.
“Load measurement unit” in claims 1 and 4.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeishi (US20210098316), supplied by Applicant in IDS filed 10/22/2025 in view of Kimura et al. (JP2020019082A), attached as a PDF in office action filed 9/30/2025 and hereinafter referred to as Kimura.
Regarding claim 1, Takeishi discloses an origin determination method for use in determining an origin of a moving mechanism (Fig. 2 element 5), where a lower end (0038, where "lower surface of the polishing pad" corresponds to a lower end of the grinding stone) of a grinding stone (Fig. 2 element 76) of a grinding wheel (Fig. 2 element 74) and a holding surface (Fig. 1 element 300a) of a chuck table (Fig. 2 element 30, 0025) capable of holding a plate-shaped workpiece (Fig. 2 element W) thereon (0025) come into contact with each other (0038), in a grinding machine (Fig. 1 element 1) including;
the chuck table that has the holding surface (Fig. 1),
a grinding unit (Fig. 1 element 7) that has a spindle (Fig. 2 element 70) on which the grinding wheel with the grinding stone included thereon is mounted (Fig. 2, 0032) and grinds with the grinding wheel the workpiece held on the holding surface (0057),
the moving mechanism that has a motor (Fig. 2 element 52) and moves the chuck table and the grinding unit relative to each other in a moving direction intersecting the holding surface (Fig. 2, where the Z direction corresponds to a moving direction), and
a load measurement unit (Fig. 2 elements 38, 0030) that has a load sensor (Fig. 2 any one of elements 38) and measures a load applied to the holding surface (0030),
the origin determination method comprising:
an adjustment step of adjusting a positional relation between the chuck table and the grinding unit by the moving mechanism such that the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface are brought into a state in which the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface are not in contact along the moving direction and correspond to an initial contact status (0044),
a moving step of, after the adjustment step, moving the chuck table and the grinding unit relative to each other by the moving mechanism such that the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface are brought closer to each other by a predetermined distance along the moving direction (0046 and 0044, where "preset distance of 50 μm" corresponds to predetermined distance), and
a contact determination step of, after the moving step, measuring with the load sensor an initial load applied to the holding surface when the grinding stones and the holding surface first come into contact, and determining whether the initial load has reached a predetermined threshold (0047-0050, where "preset threshold value" corresponds to a predetermined threshold),
repeating the moving step responsive to the measurement value of the load applied to the holding surface not reaching the predetermined threshold (0051); and
repeating the contact determination step by measuring a subsequent load applied to the holding surface and determining whether the subsequent load has reached the predetermined threshold (0052-0055),
wherein a positional relation between the chuck table and the grinding unit is determined to be the origin of the moving mechanism when the measurement value of the subsequent load reaches the predetermined threshold (0038, where "a relative distance in the Z direction from the holding surface 300a of the holding unit 30 to the lower surface of the polishing pad 76" corresponds to a positional relation between the chuck table and the grinding unit and where the operation used to determine contact between the grinding unit and the wafer described in paragraphs 0044-0054 is the same operation used to determine the contact between chuck table and the grinding unit).
Takeishi fails to disclose that the predetermined distance is less than 15 μm along the moving direction so that a load between the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface does not exceed 500 N when the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface come in contact with each other and the grinding wheel has multiple grinding stones.
Takeishi discloses that “the values for the preset distance…may be changed to suitable values according to the kind of the polishing pad” (Takeishi, 0046), but is silent to the specific claimed distance range. In other words, Takeishi fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the predetermined distance is to possess/range between is less than 15 µm. The predetermined distance is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that accuracy of contact pressure between the polishing pad and the holding surface of the chuck table (and therefore also the possibility of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure) and the speed at which the contact pressure determination is performed are directly proportional to the predetermined distance (0046, 0005, and 0010, where increasing the predetermined distance increases the speed, but decreases the accuracy of contact pressure and decreasing the predetermined distance decreases the speed, but increases the accuracy of contact pressure and therefore also increases the probability of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that there is a predetermined distance, was disclosed in the prior art by Takeishi, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the predetermined distance disclosed by Takeishi to be less than 15 µm based on the grinding stone (i.e. polishing pad) being used. Examiner notes that Applicant has not provided criticality for the claimed predetermined distance range in the specification as paragraphs 0052-0055 of Applicant’s specification contemplate several different predetermined distance ranges and paragraph 0055 of Applicant’s specification states that “another predetermined distance outside this range may be adopted if the possibility of damage to the holding plate 30 and the grinding stones 62 can be suppressed low”.
Takeishi, as modified, then discloses the predetermined distance is less than 15 μm along the moving direction (see modification described in the paragraph directly above) so that a load between the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface does not exceed 500 N when the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface come in contact with each other (according to paragraphs 0052-0053 of Applicant’s specification, when the predetermined distance is 15 μm or less the load will not exceed 500 N).
Takeishi, as modified, fails to disclose the grinding wheel has multiple grinding stones.
Kimura is also concerned with an origin determination method and teaches the grinding wheel (Fig. 1 element 64) has multiple grinding stones (Fig. 1 element 641, 0015). Pursuant of MPEP 2144.06-II, it has been held obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose. Takeishi, as modified, discloses the invention except that the grinding wheel has a single grinding stone instead of multiple grinding stones. Kimura shows that a grinding wheel having multiple grinding stones is an equivalent structure known in the art (i.e. both grinding wheels are used to polish a workpiece). Therefore, because these two grinding wheel types were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute a grinding wheel having multiple grinding stones for a grinding wheel having a single grinding stone.
Regarding claim 2, Takeishi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose the predetermined distance is 1/7,000 or greater and 1/133 or smaller of the distance along the moving direction between the lower ends of the grinding stones and the holding surface. Takeishi, as modified, discloses that “the values for the preset distance…may be changed to suitable values according to the kind of the polishing pad” (Takeishi, 0046), but is silent to the specific claimed distance range. In other words, Takeishi, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the predetermined distance is to possess/range between is 1/7,000 or greater and 1/133 or smaller of the distance along the moving direction between the lower ends of the grinding stones and the holding surface. The predetermined distance is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that accuracy of contact pressure between the polishing pad and the holding surface of the chuck table and the speed at which the contact pressure determination is performed are directly proportional to the predetermined distance (Takeishi, 0046, 0005, and 0010, where increasing the predetermined distance increases the speed, but decreases the accuracy of contact pressure and decreasing the predetermined distance decreases the speed, but increases the accuracy of contact pressure). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that there is a predetermined distance, was disclosed in the prior art by Takeishi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the predetermined distance disclosed by Takeishi, as modified, to be 1/7,000 or greater and 1/133 or smaller of the distance along the moving direction between the lower ends of the grinding stones and the holding surface based on the grinding stones (i.e. polishing pad) being used. Examiner notes that Applicant has not provided criticality for the claimed predetermined distance range in the specification as paragraph 0055 of Applicant’s specification states that “another predetermined distance outside this range may be adopted if the possibility of damage to the holding plate 30 and the grinding stones 62 can be suppressed low”.
Regarding claim 3, Takeishi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose the predetermined distance is 1 µm or greater. Takeishi, as modified, discloses that “the values for the preset distance…may be changed to suitable values according to the kind of the polishing pad” (Takeishi, 0046), but is silent to the specific claimed distance range. In other words, Takeishi, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the predetermined distance is to possess/range between is 1 µm or greater. The predetermined distance is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that accuracy of contact pressure between the polishing pad and the holding surface of the chuck table (and therefore also the possibility of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure) and the speed at which the contact pressure determination is performed are directly proportional to the predetermined distance (Takeishi, 0046, 0005, and 0010, where increasing the predetermined distance increases the speed, but decreases the accuracy of contact pressure and decreasing the predetermined distance decreases the speed, but increases the accuracy of contact pressure and therefore also increases the probability of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that there is a predetermined distance, was disclosed in the prior art by Takeishi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the predetermined distance disclosed by Takeishi, as modified, to be 1 µm or greater based on the grinding stones (i.e. polishing pad) being used. Examiner notes that Applicant has not provided criticality for the claimed predetermined distance range in the specification as paragraphs 0052-0055 of Applicant’s specification contemplate several different predetermined distance ranges and paragraph 0055 of Applicant’s specification states that “another predetermined distance outside this range may be adopted if the possibility of damage to the holding plate 30 and the grinding stones 62 can be suppressed low”.
Regarding claim 4, Takeishi discloses a grinding machine comprising:
a chuck table (Fig. 2 element 30, 0025) that has a holding surface (Fig. 1 element 300a) capable of holding a plate-shaped workpiece (Fig. 2 element W) thereon (0025);
a grinding unit (Fig. 1 element 7) that has a spindle (Fig. 2 element 70) on which a grinding wheel (Fig. 2 element 74) with a grinding stone (Fig. 2 element 76) included thereon is mounted (Fig. 2, 0032) and grinds with the grinding wheel the workpiece held on the chuck table (0057);
a moving mechanism (Fig. 2 element 5) that has a motor (Fig. 2 element 52), and moves the chuck table and the grinding unit relative to each other in a moving direction intersecting the holding surface (Fig. 2, where the Z direction corresponds to a moving direction);
a load measurement unit (Fig. 2 elements 38) that has a load sensor (Fig. 2 any one of elements 38), and measures a load applied to the holding surface (0030); and
a controller (Fig. 2 element 9) that has a processing device (0036, where “a central processing unit (CPU)” corresponds to a processing device) and a storage device (Fig. 2 element 90), and can control the moving mechanism and the load measurement unit according to a program stored in the storage device (0036 and 0038-0039, where the stored values of “relative distance” and “thickness” stored in the storage device correspond to part of a program),
wherein the controller is configured to perform, according to the program,
a procedure of adjusting a positional relation between the chuck table and the grinding unit (0038, where "a relative distance in the Z direction from the holding surface 300a of the holding unit 30 to the lower surface of the polishing pad 76" corresponds to a positional relation between the chuck table and the grinding unit) by the moving mechanism such that lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface are brought into a state in which the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface are not in contact along the moving direction and correspond to an initial contact status (0044),
a procedure of, after the procedure of adjusting the positional relation, moving the chuck table and the grinding unit relative to each other by the moving mechanism such that the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface are brought closer to each other by a predetermined distance along the moving direction (0046 and 0044, where "preset distance of 50 μm" corresponds to predetermined distance), and
a procedure of, after the procedure of moving the chuck table and the grinding unit relative to each other, measuring with the load sensor an initial load applied to the holding surface when the grinding stones and the holding surface first come into contact, and determining whether the initial load has reached a predetermined threshold (0047-0050, where "preset threshold value" corresponds to a predetermined threshold),
a procedure of repeating the procedure of moving the chuck table and the grinding unit relative to each other, the procedure of measuring with the load sensor a subsequent load applied to the holding surface, and the procedure of determining whether the subsequent load has reached the predetermined threshold, the procedure of repeating being responsive to the measurement value of the load applied to the holding surface not reaching the predetermined threshold (0051-0055),
wherein the positional relation between the chuck table and the grinding unit is set to be an origin of the moving mechanism when the measurement value of the subsequent load reaches the predetermined threshold (0038, where the operation used to determine contact between the grinding unit and the wafer described in paragraphs 0044-0054 is the same operation used to determine the contact between chuck table and the grinding unit).
Takeishi fails to disclose that the predetermined distance is less than 15 μm along the moving direction so that a load between the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface does not exceed 500 N when the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface come in contact with each other and the grinding wheel has multiple grinding stones.
Takeishi discloses that “the values for the preset distance…may be changed to suitable values according to the kind of the polishing pad” (Takeishi, 0046), but is silent to the specific claimed distance range. In other words, Takeishi fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the predetermined distance is to possess/range between is less than 15 µm. The predetermined distance is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that accuracy of contact pressure between the polishing pad and the holding surface of the chuck table (and therefore also the possibility of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure) and the speed at which the contact pressure determination is performed are directly proportional to the predetermined distance (0046, 0005, and 0010, where increasing the predetermined distance increases the speed, but decreases the accuracy of contact pressure and decreasing the predetermined distance decreases the speed, but increases the accuracy of contact pressure and therefore also increases the probability of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that there is a predetermined distance, was disclosed in the prior art by Takeishi, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the predetermined distance disclosed by Takeishi to be less than 15 µm based on the grinding stone (i.e. polishing pad) being used. Examiner notes that Applicant has not provided criticality for the claimed predetermined distance range in the specification as paragraphs 0052-0055 of Applicant’s specification contemplate several different predetermined distance ranges and paragraph 0055 of Applicant’s specification states that “another predetermined distance outside this range may be adopted if the possibility of damage to the holding plate 30 and the grinding stones 62 can be suppressed low”.
Takeishi, as modified, then discloses the predetermined distance is less than 15 μm along the moving direction (see modification described in the paragraph directly above) so that a load between the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface does not exceed 500 N when the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface come in contact with each other (according to paragraphs 0052-0053 of Applicant’s specification, when the predetermined distance is 15 μm or less the load will not exceed 500 N).
Takeishi, as modified, fails to disclose that the grinding wheel has multiple grinding stones.
Kimura is also concerned with a grinding machine and teaches the grinding wheel (Fig. 1 element 64) has multiple grinding stones (Fig. 1 element 641, 0015). Pursuant of MPEP 2144.06-II, it has been held obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose. Takeishi, as modified, discloses the invention except that the grinding wheel has a single grinding stone instead of multiple grinding stones. Kimura shows that a grinding wheel having multiple grinding stones is an equivalent structure known in the art (i.e. both grinding wheels are used to polish a workpiece). Therefore, because these two grinding wheel types were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute a grinding wheel having multiple grinding stones for a grinding wheel having a single grinding stone.
Regarding claim 5, Takeishi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 4, as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose the predetermined distance is 1/7,000 or greater and 1/133 or smaller of the distance along the moving direction between the lower ends of the grinding stones and the holding surface. Takeishi, as modified, discloses that “the values for the preset distance…may be changed to suitable values according to the kind of the polishing pad” (Takeishi, 0046), but is silent to the specific claimed distance range. In other words, Takeishi, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the predetermined distance is to possess/range between is 1/7,000 or greater and 1/133 or smaller of the distance along the moving direction between the lower ends of the grinding stones and the holding surface. The predetermined distance is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that accuracy of contact pressure between the polishing pad and the holding surface of the chuck table and the speed at which the contact pressure determination is performed are directly proportional to the predetermined distance (Takeishi, 0046, 0005, and 0010, where increasing the predetermined distance increases the speed, but decreases the accuracy of contact pressure and decreasing the predetermined distance decreases the speed, but increases the accuracy of contact pressure). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that there is a predetermined distance, was disclosed in the prior art by Takeishi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the predetermined distance disclosed by Takeishi, as modified, to be 1/7,000 or greater and 1/133 or smaller of the distance along the moving direction between the lower ends of the grinding stones and the holding surface based on the grinding stones (i.e. polishing pad) being used. Examiner notes that Applicant has not provided criticality for the claimed predetermined distance range in the specification as paragraph 0055 of Applicant’s specification states that “another predetermined distance outside this range may be adopted if the possibility of damage to the holding plate 30 and the grinding stones 62 can be suppressed low”.
Regarding claim 6, Takeishi, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 4, as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose the predetermined distance is 1 µm or greater. Takeishi, as modified, discloses that “the values for the preset distance…may be changed to suitable values according to the kind of the polishing pad” (Takeishi, 0046), but is silent to the specific claimed distance range. In other words, Takeishi, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose (a) definite values the predetermined distance is to possess/range between is 1 µm or greater. The predetermined distance is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that accuracy of contact pressure between the polishing pad and the holding surface of the chuck table (and therefore also the possibility of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure) and the speed at which the contact pressure determination is performed are directly proportional to the predetermined distance (Takeishi, 0046, 0005, and 0010, where increasing the predetermined distance increases the speed, but decreases the accuracy of contact pressure and decreasing the predetermined distance decreases the speed, but increases the accuracy of contact pressure and therefore also increases the probability of preventing damage caused by excess contact pressure). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that there is a predetermined distance, was disclosed in the prior art by Takeishi, as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the predetermined distance disclosed by Takeishi, as modified, to be 1 µm or greater based on the grinding stones (i.e. polishing pad) being used. Examiner notes that Applicant has not provided criticality for the claimed predetermined distance range in the specification as paragraphs 0052-0055 of Applicant’s specification contemplate several different predetermined distance ranges and paragraph 0055 of Applicant’s specification states that “another predetermined distance outside this range may be adopted if the possibility of damage to the holding plate 30 and the grinding stones 62 can be suppressed low”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Taskeishi fails to disclose “a preset distance of less than 15 μm”. While examiner agrees that Takeishi does not explicitly disclose this limitation, examiner has previously rejected this limitation in the Final Rejection filed 2/6/2026. As Applicant has not addressed why examiner’s interpretation is incorrect, examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Takeishi fails to disclose “a predetermined distance of less than 15 μm along the moving direction so that a load between the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface does not exceed 500 N when the lower end of the grinding stone and the holding surface come in contact with each other and the grinding wheel has multiple grinding stones” because Takeishi teaches using a polishing pad which is formed of felt instead of grinding stones. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner finds that 0046 of Takeishi discloses that “the preset distance and the preset lowering speed mentioned above may be changed to suitable values according to the kind of the polishing pad” and that 0033 of Takeishi discloses that the polishing pad being formed of felt is merely an example when it states “For example, the polishing pad 76 is formed from a nonwoven fabric such as felt”. Examiner further finds that Applicant has not defined what classifies a structure as being considered “a grinding stone”. Is it the hardness, is it the grit, is it some other variable, or a combination of these? Examiner finds that the polishing pad of Takeishi is an equivalent structure to a grinding stone as both are capable of removing material from a surface and therefore examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/C.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723