DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (7,476,924).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text, a semiconductor
device comprising:
a first contact plug structure (57/57S/74, [0039-0044]) on a substrate (51, [0038]);
a lower spacer structure (55/69, [0039]/[0042]) on a sidewall of the first contact
plug structure (57/57S/74); and
a bit line structure (77/78, [0044]) on the first contact plug structure (57/57S/74),
the bit line structure (77/78) including a conductive structure (77, [0044]) and an
insulation structure (78, [0044]) stacked in a vertical direction substantially
perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (51),
wherein the first contact plug structure (57/57S/74) includes,
a conductive pad (57, [0039]) contacting the upper surface of the substrate (51),
an ohmic contact pattern (57S, [0040]) on the conductive pad (57), and
a conductive filling pattern (74, [0041]) on the ohmic contact pattern (57S), the
conductive filling pattern (74) including metal ([0043]), and including a lower portion
having a relatively large width and an upper portion having a relatively small width (see
annotated FIG. 5 below), and
wherein the lower spacer structure (55/69) contacts a sidewall of the conductive
filling pattern (74),
wherein the lower spacer structure includes:
a second lower spacer 69 contacting sidewalls of the conductive pad, the ohmic contact pattern, and the conductive filling pattern: and
a first lower spacer 65 contacting an outer sidewall of the second lower spacer, and
wherein the first lower spacer is in contact with the conductive pad.
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text an active pattern (52, [0038]) is on the substrate (51), and the conductive pad (57) contacts an upper surface of the active pattern (52), and an area of an upper surface of the conductive pad (57) is greater than an area of the upper surface of the active pattern (52).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text that the lower spacer structure (55/69) contacts sidewalls of the conductive pad (57), the ohmic contact pattern (57S) and the conductive filling pattern (74).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text a capping pattern (65, [0041]) covering a sidewall of the upper portion of the conductive filling pattern (74, see annotated FIG. 5 in the rejection of claim 1), an upper surface of the lower portion of the conductive filling pattern (74, annotated FIG. 5), and an upper surface of the lower spacer structure (55/69), a width of the upper portion of the conductive filling pattern being narrow than a width of the lower portion of the conductive filling pattern (annotated FIG. 1); and
an insulating filling pattern (89, [0047]) on the capping pattern (65).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text an upper spacer structure (79, [0044]) on the capping pattern (65) and the insulating filling pattern (89), the upper spacer structure (79) covering a sidewall of the bit line structure (77/78).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text an active pattern (52, [0038]) and an isolation pattern (53, [0038]) on the substrate (51), the isolation pattern (53) covering a sidewall of the active pattern (52), wherein the first contact plug structure (57/57S/74) contacts an upper surface of a central portion of the active pattern (52).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text a conductive pad structure (56, [0039]) on the active pattern (52) and the isolation pattern (53), the conductive pad structure (56) overlapping at least a portion of the first contact plug structure (57/57S/74) in a horizontal direction substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (51).
Regarding claim 18, Park teaches in FIG. 5 and related text an active pattern (52, [0038]) on a substrate (51, [0038]); a contact plug structure (57/57S/74, [0039-0044]) on the active pattern (52), the contact plug structure (57/57S/74) including, a conductive pad (57, [0039]) on an upper surface of the active pattern (52), an ohmic contact pattern (57S, [0040]) on the conductive pad (57), and a conductive filling pattern (74, [0041]) on the ohmic contact pattern (57S), a lower spacer structure (55/69, [0039]/[0042]) on a sidewall of the conductive pad (57), a capping pattern (65, [0041]) on sidewalls of the ohmic contact pattern (57S, noting 65 is at least indirectly on top, bottom, and side surfaces of 57S) and the conductive filling pattern (74) and an upper surface of the lower spacer structure (55/69);
a bit line structure (77/78, [0044]) on the contact plug structure (57/57S/74), the
bit line structure (77/78) including a conductive structure (77, [0044]) and an insulation
structure (78, [0044]) stacked in a vertical direction substantially perpendicular to an
upper surface of the substrate (51), wherein the lower spacer structure includes:
a second lower spacer 69 contacting sidewalls of the conductive pad, the ohmic contact pattern, and the conductive filling pattern: and a first lower spacer 65 contacting an outer sidewall of the second lower spacer, and wherein the first lower spacer is in contact with the conductive pad.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (7,476,924) in view of Shin (2012/0126426, hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 2, Park et al. teach in figure 5 and related text substantially the entire claimed structure, as applied to claim 1 above, including a conductive pad (57) includes single crystalline silicon or polysilicon (polysilicon, [0039]), and the ohmic contact pattern (57S) includes metal silicide ([0040]).
Park does not explicitly state that the conductive pad (57) includes doped
polysilicon.
Shin teaches in FIG. 2 and related text, a conductive pad (120c, [0038]) includes
doped polysilicon ([0038]), in order to provide a contact plug with reduced resistance
([0029]).
Park and Shin are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park in view of Shin because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive pad of Park such that it is
doped polysilicon, as taught by Shin, in order to provide a contact plug with reduced
resistance (Park, [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Park et al. teach in figure 5 and related text substantially the entire claimed structure, as applied to claim 18 above, including the conductive pad (57) includes polysilicon ([0039]), the ohmic contact pattern (57S) includes metal silicide ([0040]), the conductive filling pattern (74) includes metal ([0043]), the capping pattern (65) includes silicon oxide ([0041]), and the insulating filling pattern (89) includes silicon nitride ([0047]).
Park does not explicitly state that the conductive pad (57) includes polysilicon
doped with impurities.
Shin teaches in FIG. 2 and related text, a conductive pad (120c, [0038]) includes
polysilicon doped with impurities ([0038]), in order to provide a contact plug with
reduced resistance ([0029]).
Park and Shin are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park in view of Shin because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive pad of Park such that it is
doped with impurities, as taught by Shin, in order to provide a contact plug with reduced
resistance (Park, [0029]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et
al in US 2007/0152257 A1 (hereinafter Park) in view of He in US 2021/0082923 A1
(hereinafter He).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3.
Park does not explicitly state wherein an area of a lower surface of the conductive pad
(57) is greater than an area of the upper surface of the active pattern (52).
He teaches in FIG. 4e and related text, a lower surface of a conductive pad (310,
[0033]) is greater than an area of an upper surface of an active pattern (110, [0027]), in
order to reduce contact resistance ([0056]).
Park and He are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park in view of He because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that an area of a
lower surface of the conductive pad is greater than an area of the upper surface of the
active pattern, as taught by He, in order to reduce contact resistance (He, [0056]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et
al in US 2007/0152257 A1 (hereinafter Park) in view of Cho et al. in US
2004/0217407 A1 (hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3.
Park does not explicitly state wherein the active pattern (52) includes an impurity region
at an upper portion thereof, the impurity region contacting a lower surface of the
conductive pad (57).
Cho teaches in FIG. 8D and related text, an active pattern (110, [0032]) includes
an impurity region ([0043]) at an upper portion thereof, the impurity region contacting a
lower surface of a conductive pad (450, [0043]), in order to reduce contact resistance
([0043]).
Park and Cho are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park in view of Cho because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that the active
pattern includes an impurity region at an upper portion thereof, the impurity region
contacting a lower surface of the conductive pad, as taught by Cho, in order to reduce
contact resistance (Cho, [0043]).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Park et al in US 2007/0152257 A1 (hereinafter Park) in view of Lee et al. in US
2021/0098460 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1.
Park does not explicitly state wherein the lower spacer structure includes: a second
lower spacer contacting the sidewall of the first contact plug structure and including
silicon oxycarbide; and a first lower spacer contacting an outer sidewall of the second
lower spacer and including silicon oxide.
Lee teaches in FIG. 12 and related text, wherein a lower spacer structure (151,
[0107]) includes: a second lower spacer (151c, [0107]) contacting a sidewall of a first
contact plug structure (140, [0107]) and including silicon oxycarbide ([0109]); and a first
lower spacer (151b, [0107]) contacting an outer sidewall of the second lower spacer
(151c) and including silicon oxide ([0109]), in order to reduce parasitic capacitance by
providing a spacer structure having a low dielectric constant.
Park and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park in view of Lee because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such that the lower
spacer structure includes: a second lower spacer contacting the sidewall of the first
contact plug structure and including silicon oxycarbide; and a first lower spacer
contacting an outer sidewall of the second lower spacer and including silicon oxide, as
taught by Lee, in order to reduce parasitic capacitance by providing a spacer structure
having a low dielectric constant.
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches the semiconductor device according to claim
11. Park further teaches wherein the conductive pad structure (56) contacts each of opposite edge portions of the active pattern (52, see FIG. 4), and
the semiconductor device further comprises a second contact plug structure (96, [0047]) on the conductive pad structure (56), and a storage node (97, [0047]) on the first contact plug structure (56).
Park does not explicitly state that the storage node structure (97) is a capacitor.
Lee teaches in FIG. 12 and related text, a capacitor (190, [0089]) on a first
contact plug structure (120, [0078]), in order to store information in a memory device
([0037]).
Park and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are
directed to semiconductor memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would
have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park in view of Lee because
they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park such the storage node is
a capacitor, as taught by Lee, in order to store information in a memory device (Lee,
[0037]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that Park does not “wherein the lower spacer structure includes: a second lower spacer contacting sidewalls of the conductive pad, the ohmic contact pattern, and the conductive filling pattern; and a first lower spacer contacting an outer sidewall of the second lower spacer, and wherein the first lower spacer is in contact with the conductive pad," as recited in claim 1 and 18”, because
“the partially remaining landing pad 57R is not part of the second landing pad 57 that is allegedly corresponding to the claimed conductive pad. That is, the partially remaining landing pad 57R and the second landing pad 57 are physically separate structures. Park also states "the second landing pad 57 and the partially remaining landing pad 57R are separated from each other by the lower contact hole 67." Park, paragraph [0058]. Moreover, the partially remaining landing pad 57R does not contact the upper surface of the substrate 51. Therefore, one skilled in the art would not consider the partially remaining landing pad 57R of Park as corresponding to the claimed conductive pad”.
Park et al. clearly teaches in figure 6 that landing pad 57H is formed as one piece which comprises portion 57R as depicted in figure 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
8/11/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800